Nikon D90 DSLR [REVIEW] - Digital Photography School

Nikon D90 DSLR [REVIEW]

On its launch the Nikon D90 caused something of a stir with its near-HD movie capture mode … more of that later I worked with the D90 with the f3.5/18-105mm VR-stabilised kit lens fitted and at no time found the kilo plus weight a bit of a burden.

nikon_d90_review.jpg

Main features: 7.6 cm LCD screen plus optical pentaprism; continuous shooting of 4.5 fps —that’s a run of full size shots; HDMI output; SD/SDHC card storage; dust, the main enemy of DSLRS, is handled by shaking a cover filter over the CCD.

Viewing with the pentaprism finder was bright and clear. It presented a view of not only the scene but a read out of correct focus, thanks to an eleven point AF system. You can also select a single point (static subjects), dynamic area (moving), auto area (rapid capture) or 3D tracking for constantly changing subjects.

The Live View LCD is not only large but noticeably bright and sharp. It not only confirms focus but presents a read-out of the D90’s operational status.

The CMOS sensor packs 12.3 million pixels into its DX format surface that measures 23.6×15.8mm; this makes a 18-105mm lens equivalent to a 27-157.5mm lens in 35mm SLR terms.

A decent-sized sensor such as the D90’s lets you shoot 4288×2848 pixel images that can account for a print 36×24 cm at 300 dpi.

The mode dial gives access to auto exposure as well as Program AE, shutter or aperture priority and manual exposure settings; added to this is a selection of dedicated settings that take care of macro shots, sports, landscapes and portraits. And, like most digicams, the D90 has a face detection mode.

Shutter speeds run from 30 seconds to 1/4000 second — and Bulb — while the flash sync is triggered at speeds up to 1/200 second. You can shoot single frames as well as fire a run of continuous shooting at 4.5 fps. To guarantee you get at least one correctly exposed frame, the D90 can shoot a group of three frames with variations from a third of an f stop up to two stops.

Now to Movies

Possibly due to the demand that many press photographers these days have to shoot not only top quality stills but video sequences as well, the majors — Nikon and Canon — have recognised the need for DSLRS to shoot footage for a newspaper’s Web site as well as possible TV broadcasting.

The D90 can shoot AVI shots at three resolutions: 1280×720 (16:9), 640×480, 320×240 (both 4:3) and all at the movie speed of 24fps.

The 1280×720 pixel resolution is not full HD but does possess higher resolution than SD quality and sits very well on a full HD 1920×1080 pixel TV screen.

Unfortunately, you must set focus, white balance etc before you start shooting as AF etc is not operable after you start shooting. Another limit is the running time of five minutes at the top resolution. Audio capture (mono) is only via the camera’s (inadequate) internal microphone.

The pluses of the HD capture feature — and these are not found in consumer level camcorders — are that you can slap on any of Nikon’s lenses high quality lenses like ultra long teles or fisheyes. Another benefit is the provision of HDMI output for High Def teles as well as composite video out for the old ‘steam-driven’ TVs.

Comment

There are few cameras that can match the excellent optical and LCD viewing options of the D90. It has excellent image capture quality both in colour quality, dynamic range and resolution. If you want to shoot at ISO 400 and much higher, go ahead … this one’s a low light leader.

Get a price on the Nikon D90 at Amazon

Nikon D90 Specs

Type: Digital SLR.
Lens mount: Nikon F mount (with AF coupling and AF contacts).
Shutter Speeds: 30 to 1/4000 second.
Metering: 3D-Color Matrix, centre-weighted, spot.
Exposure Control: Digital Vario-Program, programmed auto, shutter and aperture priority, manual.
Auto Focus: Single shot, continuous, manual.
Sensitivity: Auto, ISO 100 to 3200.
Sensor: Nikon DX format (23.6 x 15.8 mm) CMOS; 12.3 million effective pixels.
Image Size: 4288×2848, 3216×2136, 2144×1424. Continuous mode: 100 full size JPEG shots at 4.5 fps.
Movies: 124×720 and 640×424 at 24fps; 32×216 at 24fps.
Formats: NEF (12 bit compressed RAW), JPEG, NEF+JPEG; AVI (Motion JPEG compression format with monaural sound). PictBridge and DPOF compatible.
Built-in Flash Modes: Front and rear curtain sync, slow sync, red-eye reduction, red-eye reduction with slow sync.
Flash Sync: X-contact only; flash sync up to 1/200 sec.
Flash Output: Guide number of 12 (metres) at ISO 100.
Viewfinders: Eye level optical pentaprism; 7.6 cm colour LCD (920,000 pixels) with Live View.
Storage: Removable SD/SDHC memory card.
Interface: USB 2.0, composite PAL/NTSC AV, HDMI, DC input, GP-1 (GPS unit).
Power: Rechargeable lithium battery, optional AC adapter.
Dimensions (WHD): 132x103x77mm.
Weight: 620 grams (without card, battery, body cap).

If you enjoyed this article, you might also like...

Read more from our Cameras & Equipment category.

Barrie Smith is an experienced writer/photographer currently published in Australian Macworld, Auscam and other magazines in Australia and overseas.

  • Anne

    Sorry, Jane, but what do you mean you have some quick things you do in Photoshop to fix the distortion. What exactly do you do? I have that lens, so I need to find out everything about it. Thanks.

  • Jane

    Hi Anne
    In Photoshop, there is an lens distortion filter. You can find it under Filters menu, Distort, Lens correction. It’s been in that area for a few versions of Photoshop now, but it’s definitely in CS3 and CS4. I use this filter when I occasionally want to straighten a pic, but it has the ability to fix Chromatic Aberation (not a problem with this lens that I know).

    The main reason I use it (and what I was discussing here) is to reduce the Vignette, and to Remove Distortion. Occasionally there is a bit of a bulge in the photo (Try photographing a tall building straight on). The ‘remove distortion’ slider lets you straighten it up.

    I have a set figure that tends to be the amount I have to fix everything with, and so I made a photoshop action to do this quickly. I love this filter, and it is a photographer’s best friend in photoshop! Play around with all the sliders in this filter, and you’ll get a feel for what this can do for your photos.

    Good luck with it all Anne.
    Cheers
    Jane

  • Anne

    Thanks, Jane, for the info!

  • http://www.mccoshphotography.com John McCosh

    Hi Anne,

    If you check out the article in the Link on my original post you will see what Jane is talking about.

    John

  • Peter

    I’ve noticed some distotortion on my lenses as well, but the previous commentor is correct. Photoshop fixes those minor imperfections, and it’s not that big a deal…Great discussion from all…

    On a different note. I just purchased a Kingston 32gig sd card for the space, and after some debate; it is compatible with the D90…for those of you that never wish to worry about memory storage… i get 2.1K on the reader with RAW shooting… and 80min HD recording time… Hope this is useful….

  • sarah

    I finally got to exchange my faulty soft shot D90 for another D90 and the difference is amazing.. NOW im happy with the Nikkon D90 and i am glad i didnt just opt for using photoshop to sharpen images. The fault was very real and very apparant.

  • Ujjal Dey

    I am a proud owner of D90. Bought just 3 months back. But ‘Err CHA’ is the only problem that’s bothering me a lot. It happened 7/8 times in the last 3 months. It simply gets hung when the error occurs. The only way to solve is reinsert battery and the memory card.

    Any help regarding this would be highly appriciated. :)

    TiA…

  • Jim News

    @ujjal dey

    My D90 did the same, or similar thing a few days ago. It’s the first time I’ve seen it. It read Err and nothing worked until I took the battery out of it and put it back in. Once I did, it was fine and has not done it since. Do you, or anyone else, have an idea what causes this? The only idea I have is that I was shooting sports and clicking off a lot of frames just before it happened. I’ve had the camera since it came out and it’s only happened once.

  • Jean-Michel

    Hi ujjal and Jim.

    I also had the same problem with my brand new D90 after only a few days after I bought it!!
    Exactly the same, the D90 freezes with a “Err CHA” and the only way to move on is to take the battery out!
    I tried all sort of different SD Cards….and the same happened at randon with all of them.

    I went back to the store and Nikon and managed to get it exchanged for a new D90. This one, so far, has not given any such problem. Nikon never argued whatsoever; this made me think that I was not the only one with the problem.
    Reading your comments makes me think that there is definitely a problem on some of the D90 cameras produced. Maybe, this is a bad batch. I bought the D90 in South Africa 3 weeks ago.

    I really think that you should contact Nikon and get an exchange if the camera is still under warranty, as this sort of fault will not “go away” and will keep on creeping up at radom! Nothing to do with how fast you shoot, I have tested all that already. If you do not fix the problem with an exchange, it will continue an make your life miserable and affect the pleasure of using your D90…….that is (when working well) a great camera that should give you many years of happy shooting!

    Hope my comments helps you, and that Nikon will exchange your camera.

    Good luck!

    Jean-Michel

  • ujjal dey

    Hi Jean,

    Thanks for sharing the info. At least, the problem is not occurring only with me.

    It’s nice to know that you got your camera replaced. I will check for another 1/2 months and then will take some steps accordingly.

    Btw… I purchased the camera from a very popular camera shop in London.

    Regards,
    UDey

  • Jim News

    Jean-Michel
    Thanks for the info. I guess I’ll be checking in with Ritz. I got my D90 in December, right after it was available.

  • http://capturelight.ca Brent

    I upgraded from the D70 to the D90 recently, including the grip and 2 Lexar 8gb 133 Pro cards. Wow! What a difference from the D70. The AWB is so improved, with the exception of Incandescent which is a huge weakness. The large LCD, the low noise at high iso, the D-lighting, the wired remote port, the video…etc. Its just great. If you are a D70/s owner and are thinking of upgrading but cannot afford the D300, get the D90.

  • francis

    I’ve been using D90 almost two months from now and i have no regrets. Great piece of equipment for a great price. 3” LCD display is fine. low picture noise at high ISO, even at ISO 6400. Picture quality is exceptional for a DSLR with this price tag. Ergonomics great, fits exactly when holding. A great camera for avid photographers, amateurs and professionals

  • Paul

    I purchased my D90 with the 18-105MM lens and also splurged and bought the 70-300mm VR Lens plus the SB600 flash. I have the camera now for about 3 weeks and have taken close to 900 pictures so far. Mostly to learn what the camera is capable of doing. And so far I am quite impressed with it. I haven’t really used the 70-300 that much yet, but I will shortly. The built in flash is awesome. I went into my garage and it was totally dark and snapped a picture of my car and wow, it was like I had all the lights on…that was something. I will also use the sb-600 soon to see what it can do. One problem I have, I noticed that when I used the close-up setting, the camera just doesn’t take the picture. I am not sure if it is something that I am doing or is it the camera. Has anyone else experience that problem? I am an amateur at this and have a lot to learn. Overall, I think I made a great purchase.

  • http://www.mccoshphotography.com John

    I believe that the D90 won’t allow you to take a picture when the camera can’t focus on the subject when in Auto focus mode. Either move back a little so that the subject is not within the minimum focusing distance or switch to manual focus should fix the problem.

    John

  • http://www.mccoshphotography.com John

    See page 55 of the Manual.

    John

  • PVB Jeff

    After taking several years off from semi-professional photography, I have decided that it has been long enough and am making my way back into this great hobby.

    Past experience includes extensive film photography specializing in media and nature subjects using mostly Canon equipment. Towards the very end, I began using digital equipment but did not dive too deep to consider myself educated enough to make the decision that I am about to make.

    My question is… Taking into my previous experience and subject matters, what is the better “bang for the buck” dslr to purchase? I am looking at either the Canon 50D or the Nikon D90.

    Any opinions would be greatly appreciated.

  • Jim News

    pvb jeff
    They are both great cameras. I use a D90 and I love it, especially in low light. I’ve got friends that shoot Canon and they love them. My first serious DSLR was a Fuji S2Pro, which uses the Nikon F mount. With 2 very expensive peices of 2.8 glass already, Nikon was the smart choice for me. If you still have any Canon glass on hand you could use with a 50D, that might be the way to go. I did a lot of research before I went with the D90 and I beleive it offers the best “bang for the buck”. Excellent sensor, same as the $5,000 D3, and it works with my 40 year old 50mm 1.4.
    By the way, welcome back to photography!

  • amit jung kc

    Ya i have also D90. I am a student of journalism and i love to take picture yet not very good at all.I bought Nikon D90 1months ago and i find really nice. Its LCD and high ISO is good to me.

  • Moe

    I just purchased a D90 and so far I’m ecstatic with it. Took it to shoot a hockey game and the difference from my D50 to this is amazing. I’m looking forward to learning more about it. Ability to capture action in low lighting with clarity is very appealing to me. More steps between ISO settings was very helpful. My D50 goes straight from 800 to 1600. The D90 allowed me to use a few steps in between. Larger LCD display is nice, but that could just be my age…;-)

    Now for those of you ripping the reviewer. Very disappointing. Why not just write something about your experience with the D90 like so many others did. No need to write a personal attack. If you don’t like the article…just move on.
    One of the reasons I liked this site is it seemed there were lot of regular folks on here and not as many of the “photography-snobs” as my friends and I have dubbed you.

  • http://ujjaldey.in/ Ujjal Dey

    Hey… i had commented on this topic on May 1st, 2009 at 2:13 am. I had a concern regarding some error I used to get with my newly bought D90.

    But after one year of using the camera, i must tell that i am very much happy and satisfied with the camera. I did have recommended few of my photographers friend to opt for a D90. Guess, they are happy too..

    Just to share, currently i am having some issue with the VR system of my 18-105 kit lens. The VR elements are shaking while switching on the camera and during AF. But it seems these kind of behaviors are quite natural in VR lenses. Have just bought a 50mm f1.8. It takes awesome photographs with D90.

    Lastly just one line… if you are looking for a good SLR camera for doing serious photography, you can go for D90 blindly….

    happy D90ing…

    cheers :)

  • http://www.rammyimages.com/ ramesh

    Ya i have also D90. love to take picture yet not very good at all.I bought Nikon D90 months ago and i find really nice. Its LCD and high ISO is good to
    any budy tere to tell low ligithing tips

Some older comments

  • ramesh

    April 15, 2011 11:07 pm

    Ya i have also D90. love to take picture yet not very good at all.I bought Nikon D90 months ago and i find really nice. Its LCD and high ISO is good to
    any budy tere to tell low ligithing tips

  • Ujjal Dey

    March 13, 2010 08:34 pm

    Hey... i had commented on this topic on May 1st, 2009 at 2:13 am. I had a concern regarding some error I used to get with my newly bought D90.

    But after one year of using the camera, i must tell that i am very much happy and satisfied with the camera. I did have recommended few of my photographers friend to opt for a D90. Guess, they are happy too..

    Just to share, currently i am having some issue with the VR system of my 18-105 kit lens. The VR elements are shaking while switching on the camera and during AF. But it seems these kind of behaviors are quite natural in VR lenses. Have just bought a 50mm f1.8. It takes awesome photographs with D90.

    Lastly just one line... if you are looking for a good SLR camera for doing serious photography, you can go for D90 blindly....

    happy D90ing...

    cheers :)

  • Moe

    March 6, 2010 08:59 am

    I just purchased a D90 and so far I'm ecstatic with it. Took it to shoot a hockey game and the difference from my D50 to this is amazing. I'm looking forward to learning more about it. Ability to capture action in low lighting with clarity is very appealing to me. More steps between ISO settings was very helpful. My D50 goes straight from 800 to 1600. The D90 allowed me to use a few steps in between. Larger LCD display is nice, but that could just be my age...;-)

    Now for those of you ripping the reviewer. Very disappointing. Why not just write something about your experience with the D90 like so many others did. No need to write a personal attack. If you don't like the article...just move on.
    One of the reasons I liked this site is it seemed there were lot of regular folks on here and not as many of the "photography-snobs" as my friends and I have dubbed you.

  • amit jung kc

    March 1, 2010 02:03 pm

    Ya i have also D90. I am a student of journalism and i love to take picture yet not very good at all.I bought Nikon D90 1months ago and i find really nice. Its LCD and high ISO is good to me.

  • Jim News

    December 16, 2009 03:07 pm

    pvb jeff
    They are both great cameras. I use a D90 and I love it, especially in low light. I've got friends that shoot Canon and they love them. My first serious DSLR was a Fuji S2Pro, which uses the Nikon F mount. With 2 very expensive peices of 2.8 glass already, Nikon was the smart choice for me. If you still have any Canon glass on hand you could use with a 50D, that might be the way to go. I did a lot of research before I went with the D90 and I beleive it offers the best "bang for the buck". Excellent sensor, same as the $5,000 D3, and it works with my 40 year old 50mm 1.4.
    By the way, welcome back to photography!

  • PVB Jeff

    December 16, 2009 12:40 pm

    After taking several years off from semi-professional photography, I have decided that it has been long enough and am making my way back into this great hobby.

    Past experience includes extensive film photography specializing in media and nature subjects using mostly Canon equipment. Towards the very end, I began using digital equipment but did not dive too deep to consider myself educated enough to make the decision that I am about to make.

    My question is... Taking into my previous experience and subject matters, what is the better "bang for the buck" dslr to purchase? I am looking at either the Canon 50D or the Nikon D90.

    Any opinions would be greatly appreciated.

  • John

    October 7, 2009 01:17 pm

    See page 55 of the Manual.

    John

  • John

    October 7, 2009 12:02 pm

    I believe that the D90 won't allow you to take a picture when the camera can't focus on the subject when in Auto focus mode. Either move back a little so that the subject is not within the minimum focusing distance or switch to manual focus should fix the problem.

    John

  • Paul

    October 7, 2009 10:00 am

    I purchased my D90 with the 18-105MM lens and also splurged and bought the 70-300mm VR Lens plus the SB600 flash. I have the camera now for about 3 weeks and have taken close to 900 pictures so far. Mostly to learn what the camera is capable of doing. And so far I am quite impressed with it. I haven't really used the 70-300 that much yet, but I will shortly. The built in flash is awesome. I went into my garage and it was totally dark and snapped a picture of my car and wow, it was like I had all the lights on...that was something. I will also use the sb-600 soon to see what it can do. One problem I have, I noticed that when I used the close-up setting, the camera just doesn't take the picture. I am not sure if it is something that I am doing or is it the camera. Has anyone else experience that problem? I am an amateur at this and have a lot to learn. Overall, I think I made a great purchase.

  • francis

    September 4, 2009 03:32 am

    I've been using D90 almost two months from now and i have no regrets. Great piece of equipment for a great price. 3'' LCD display is fine. low picture noise at high ISO, even at ISO 6400. Picture quality is exceptional for a DSLR with this price tag. Ergonomics great, fits exactly when holding. A great camera for avid photographers, amateurs and professionals

  • Brent

    June 19, 2009 12:37 pm

    I upgraded from the D70 to the D90 recently, including the grip and 2 Lexar 8gb 133 Pro cards. Wow! What a difference from the D70. The AWB is so improved, with the exception of Incandescent which is a huge weakness. The large LCD, the low noise at high iso, the D-lighting, the wired remote port, the video...etc. Its just great. If you are a D70/s owner and are thinking of upgrading but cannot afford the D300, get the D90.

  • Jim News

    May 7, 2009 02:09 pm

    Jean-Michel
    Thanks for the info. I guess I'll be checking in with Ritz. I got my D90 in December, right after it was available.

  • ujjal dey

    May 7, 2009 08:21 am

    Hi Jean,

    Thanks for sharing the info. At least, the problem is not occurring only with me.

    It's nice to know that you got your camera replaced. I will check for another 1/2 months and then will take some steps accordingly.

    Btw... I purchased the camera from a very popular camera shop in London.

    Regards,
    UDey

  • Jean-Michel

    May 5, 2009 02:35 am

    Hi ujjal and Jim.

    I also had the same problem with my brand new D90 after only a few days after I bought it!!
    Exactly the same, the D90 freezes with a "Err CHA" and the only way to move on is to take the battery out!
    I tried all sort of different SD Cards....and the same happened at randon with all of them.

    I went back to the store and Nikon and managed to get it exchanged for a new D90. This one, so far, has not given any such problem. Nikon never argued whatsoever; this made me think that I was not the only one with the problem.
    Reading your comments makes me think that there is definitely a problem on some of the D90 cameras produced. Maybe, this is a bad batch. I bought the D90 in South Africa 3 weeks ago.

    I really think that you should contact Nikon and get an exchange if the camera is still under warranty, as this sort of fault will not "go away" and will keep on creeping up at radom! Nothing to do with how fast you shoot, I have tested all that already. If you do not fix the problem with an exchange, it will continue an make your life miserable and affect the pleasure of using your D90.......that is (when working well) a great camera that should give you many years of happy shooting!

    Hope my comments helps you, and that Nikon will exchange your camera.

    Good luck!

    Jean-Michel

  • Jim News

    May 1, 2009 08:20 am

    @ujjal dey

    My D90 did the same, or similar thing a few days ago. It's the first time I've seen it. It read Err and nothing worked until I took the battery out of it and put it back in. Once I did, it was fine and has not done it since. Do you, or anyone else, have an idea what causes this? The only idea I have is that I was shooting sports and clicking off a lot of frames just before it happened. I've had the camera since it came out and it's only happened once.

  • Ujjal Dey

    May 1, 2009 02:13 am

    I am a proud owner of D90. Bought just 3 months back. But 'Err CHA' is the only problem that's bothering me a lot. It happened 7/8 times in the last 3 months. It simply gets hung when the error occurs. The only way to solve is reinsert battery and the memory card.

    Any help regarding this would be highly appriciated. :)

    TiA...

  • sarah

    April 30, 2009 01:06 pm

    I finally got to exchange my faulty soft shot D90 for another D90 and the difference is amazing.. NOW im happy with the Nikkon D90 and i am glad i didnt just opt for using photoshop to sharpen images. The fault was very real and very apparant.

  • Peter

    April 30, 2009 12:55 pm

    I've noticed some distotortion on my lenses as well, but the previous commentor is correct. Photoshop fixes those minor imperfections, and it's not that big a deal...Great discussion from all...

    On a different note. I just purchased a Kingston 32gig sd card for the space, and after some debate; it is compatible with the D90...for those of you that never wish to worry about memory storage... i get 2.1K on the reader with RAW shooting... and 80min HD recording time... Hope this is useful....

  • John McCosh

    April 30, 2009 08:43 am

    Hi Anne,

    If you check out the article in the Link on my original post you will see what Jane is talking about.

    John

  • Anne

    April 30, 2009 08:40 am

    Thanks, Jane, for the info!

  • Jane

    April 30, 2009 08:35 am

    Hi Anne
    In Photoshop, there is an lens distortion filter. You can find it under Filters menu, Distort, Lens correction. It's been in that area for a few versions of Photoshop now, but it's definitely in CS3 and CS4. I use this filter when I occasionally want to straighten a pic, but it has the ability to fix Chromatic Aberation (not a problem with this lens that I know).

    The main reason I use it (and what I was discussing here) is to reduce the Vignette, and to Remove Distortion. Occasionally there is a bit of a bulge in the photo (Try photographing a tall building straight on). The 'remove distortion' slider lets you straighten it up.

    I have a set figure that tends to be the amount I have to fix everything with, and so I made a photoshop action to do this quickly. I love this filter, and it is a photographer's best friend in photoshop! Play around with all the sliders in this filter, and you'll get a feel for what this can do for your photos.

    Good luck with it all Anne.
    Cheers
    Jane

  • Anne

    April 30, 2009 08:26 am

    Sorry, Jane, but what do you mean you have some quick things you do in Photoshop to fix the distortion. What exactly do you do? I have that lens, so I need to find out everything about it. Thanks.

  • Anne

    April 30, 2009 08:25 am

    Hi, John, I'm just a begnner, so can you explain what you mean by the remarks you made on cons on that lens? Thanks.

    Conclusion - Cons
    Pronounced distortion across much of the range
    Extremely soft at 135mm
    Rather average close-up performance

  • John McCosh

    April 30, 2009 08:17 am

    Hi Jane.

    Thanks for the feedback from someone who has used this lens. I was just going on the review and your comments from a user point of view are very interesting and I totally agree with you that at times it will be the best thing since slice bread.

    John

  • Jane

    April 30, 2009 07:53 am

    Hey Josh,

    I've been using this lens for 6 months now, and the Cons that you list are all minimal, at best. The distortion is so easily fixed in Photoshop, I have an action that can do it in just a couple of seconds. The main point is that as an international traveller, your baggage and weight is so restricted these days, that too many lenses is not only impractical, but costly to carry around. Zoom creep does occur, but only due to the weight of gravity when I'm pointing directly down.

    I have the 18-105mm kit lens that came with my D90, and I also acquired the 55-200mm. If anything, this lens is far better at the 55-200 range than the dedicated lens, which has always been awkward, at best. Even my 70-300mm non VR lens feels better than it does.

    Again, each to his own, but I will be putting myself down on the one lens team when it comes to international travel. Smoggy parts of Europe - I really don't want to be changing lenses in the middle of the street.

  • John McCosh

    April 30, 2009 06:35 am

    Hi Gregcissold,

    Why one lens. Why indeed when super zooms are not without there problems. Check out this review on this lens http://www.dpreview.com/lensreviews/nikon_18-200_3p5-5p6_vr_afs_n15/

    The conclusion of this review.

    Conclusion - Pros
    Huge 11.1x focal length range, ideal travel lens
    Decent build quality - much better than Nikon's 18-55mm kit lens
    Very effective vibration reduction system, at least 3 stops benefit
    Excellent fast, silent autofocus with manual override
    High image quality in the normal to short telephoto range, and good at 200mm

    Conclusion - Cons
    Pronounced distortion across much of the range
    Extremely soft at 135mm
    Rather average close-up performance
    Zoom creep

    This lens is a compromise, jack of all trades master of none. Personally quality is more important than the convenience of changing lenses. I would much rather work with two camera's one with a wide zoom and one with a telephoto zoom that way I can have other settings in the camera preset for each type of shot.

    Is there a place for this lens, defiantly. Just not in my bag, Nikon need to perfect it a little more before I would consider it.

    Happy shooting everyone. John

  • GregCissold

    April 29, 2009 12:32 pm

    I am a snapper heading into the realm of DSLR .
    Why D90 - Simply the best quality you can get for the $ spent.
    Why One lense 18 - 200m zoom
    One lens
    reduces the risk of Dust in your camera
    Reduces the risk of damage the mount changing the lens
    Do not have to carry a second lens
    Catch the moment while you are fiddling changing the lens I have already taken 4 photos
    Once the money is spent it is forgotten

  • jane

    April 24, 2009 01:27 pm

    I really love photography and I'm longing to have one someday a digital professional camera like D90. But for now I just praying for it because I can't afford one. But I love this site that even I can't practice it I learn a lot and hoping and excited to apply it if there will be chances to have one.

  • Bram

    April 23, 2009 09:03 pm

    I am a D90 user too and i love this camera a lot..
    I mostly used this camera for work, and am really satisfied with the result.. btw, i am using a nikkor 18-200mm lens.. its noise is so low & its image quality is awesome..
    My older D60 really is no match to this camera..
    But, i don't really need the video feature,i really hope that Nikon didn't give this feature on D90, and the price will be reduced :)
    but still i love this camera..

  • Anne

    April 22, 2009 08:38 am

    Thanks, loads. I had no idea this was available. I plan to study it! I appreciate it!

  • John McCosh

    April 21, 2009 01:36 pm

    Anne,

    Have a look at this site:

    http://www.wonderhowto.com/how-to/video/how-to-operate-the-nikon-d90-digital-camera-251894/view/

    It has video's on how to use every function on the D90 and should help any beginner understand the camera.

    Hope it helps.

    John

  • Anne

    April 20, 2009 08:24 am

    Hi, I really love your site. It has helped me so much. I have a question about the D90. I bought the DVD Magic Lantern book to help understand it, and there is one thing I don't understand. It has to do with focusing, rather where to focus. The DVD explains that under the custom setting menu, go to autofocus, then AF-area mode, then use single point focusing 100% of the time. I just don't understand the explanation. Does that mean even if you have a moving subject such as taking children who are always moving, you have to always change your focus area, or what? That's one of my biggest problems is understanding where to focus while looking through the lens. If I focus on the eyes, and the person moves, then, do I change my focus point. Can someone explain this better to me? Thanks, everyone, for all your help!

  • John McCosh

    April 15, 2009 10:17 am

    Hi Tim, This is a great site and has many wonderful and informative articles. The D90 has everything I want in a camera and more.

    I use it professionally and have looked at the more costly so called professional cameras but don't believe the addition features for me any way justify the extra cost. (to be honest I don't believe there is any additional features that I need that the D90 doesn’t have).

    Enjoy the camera and this web site and enjoy taken hundreds of shots of your new baby. As a farther of two kids (5 year old son and 22 month old daughter) I know where you’re coming from.

    John

  • Tim

    April 15, 2009 05:50 am

    My wife and I just purchased a D90 several weeks ago. It is our first SLR camera. Up until now we have owned mostly $100-$200 point and click jobs. She has been wanting a "nice" camera for awhile now and since we have a baby we decided to take the plunge. Portrait studios cost an arm and a leg so we figured for the price of a high quality camera we could do them ourselves cheaper and the camera would pay for itself in about a year.

    We didn't do a whole lot of research (read: none!) So we went to our local Best Buy and asked a few questions. Fortunately the people there were actually helpful and somewhat informed about the gear. It was a pleasant change from the Circuit City store which closed up. Comparing the two, its easy to see why CC went out of business!

    The D90 was the most high end camera they had so that's what we went with. We couldn't be happier!! This thing has so many more features than we'll ever know how to use and that is great for us. It means it will be a long time before we outgrow its capabilities. We didn't want to get something that was just a little better than a point and click even though the only real feature we were after was the capability to turn off the auto-focus and other crap to be able to take pictures faster to capture our little girl better. (Any parent will know what we mean. You click to take a picture and by the time it actually fires off a shot the child is no longer in the frame! LOL) We're of the "go big or go home" school of thought when it comes to major purchases. The theory being that way we won't be looking for something with more power and features a year from now.

    Being the tech-geek of the family, it's my job to learn how to use the camera and then explain it to my wife. She does better in a hands on situation and has little patience for manuals or tutorial books so its easier for her to learn with me telling/showing her what to do. My search for info on the D90 is what led me to this site and I love it!! Lots of great info here.

  • JetKaiser

    April 14, 2009 04:27 pm

    A sweet little camera for the price. I can't wait to see version 2

  • John Trammell

    April 13, 2009 02:22 pm

    I have just bought the D90, and I am not disappointed. It is one great camera

  • Anne

    April 13, 2009 10:33 am

    Sorry, everyone, I feel like an idiot. I figured out I needed the memory card in to perform all the functions above.

  • Anne

    April 13, 2009 10:26 am

    Question: When I go to the Playback Menu, I can click on some of the words, but some are not highlighted, and it says "This option is not available with current settings."And, in Retouch Menu, none of them are highlighted,and it says the same thing. I put the camera back to default, but that does not help. I tried changing to different settings such as Aperture, Shutter, Program, Auto, etc., but that didn't make a difference. Can you please tell me what that means? Thanks, everyone, for all your input.

  • Ron

    April 13, 2009 03:59 am

    I'm an amateur that purchased the D-90 two weeks ago. All of my 35 mm equipment was stolen at Mardi Gras in 1982 and I've had nothing but cheep point an shoot cameras since. My first day with the D-90 I had several shots that were better than anything I ever did in 35 mm over 5 years. This camera has renewed my passion for photography and it lets me be as creative or as lazy as I chose. I just completed a 3 day Texas Hill Country photo shoot and now have 12 gb of RAW photos to go through. The 18-105 mm with the huge RAW format lets me do things in amazing detail from quite a distance. Some of my shots are from an air show and what seemed nothing more than a tiny spec on the 3" display have developed into very nice shots at full size on my PC. I was also quite amazed at the comments I received at the airshow by other photographers. It seems there were a number of people that wished they had my camera. This is a hobby for me and any time I am using this camera it is FUN. I guess thats about the best thing I can say about it. No matter your experience level you can pick this system up and shoot great photos. I am really looking forward to exploring long exposure night shots and somehow I think I will become a Macro nut. The only way I could have been happier about the D-90 is if it were a gift!

  • Lyndon

    April 12, 2009 09:32 am

    My wife recently purchased the D90 for me to replace my D80. I had wanted to get it, but couldn't justify the expense. On receiving it I insisted we take it back for a refund as my D80 is a great camera. Before we did that however, I ran a few comparison tests - taking photos with the same settings and same lenses.
    My biggest frustration is taking low light photographs indoors. My D80 never rendered the colours exactly as I was seeing them - no matter how I changed the white balance, ISO and other settings. I should say that I don't do the 18% grey card, raw and photoshop thing to correct the colours - I simply don't have the time.
    The biggest surprise therefore was that the D90 DID render the exact colours I was seeing, and then some. The details in the shadows came out. My wife, who is not a fan of my expensive hobby, was instantly converted and wondered how Nikon got away with selling something as bad as the D80. Of course the end of the story is that I kept the D90 and I have since found numerous other reasons for doing so: Movie mode, DPS, No Flash preset (which I use all the time - previously I had to go to P, change the WB, ISO and disable the flash), Live View to name a few.

  • Paul Bauscher

    April 11, 2009 11:06 am

    Review was a bit weak but the D90 is a great piece of equipment. I bought it on the advice of a local pro.

    Anne, put the owners manual in your pocket or camera bag and start shooting. Read into the manual until you find a feature you don't understand, even if it's the first few pages and shoot like crazy playing around with that feature. Once you understand what it does and how it effects your images, move on to the next one. As you go you will pick up speed and gain a good working knowledge of the equipment. All new digital SLRs have too many options to learn all at once. Aperture and/or shutter priority will give you the opportunity to let the camera help you on with part of the exposure while you experiment with the other. After that you an move into full manual mode. Do yourself a favor and stay away from that green Auto mode. You might as well own a point and shoot camera if you use it. There are also after market books that describe the features of the camera in more depth than the owners manual that may be of some help to you.

    Good luck and just keep shooting.

  • John McCosh

    April 11, 2009 04:47 am

    Thanks Anne,

    Most of the photo's were with the D90, some were with my older D70S if you go to the gallery page and stop the slide show then go to gallery. If you hover your mouse over the photo you can click on the data for each photo to show which camera and what camera settings were used. Along with viewing the original size image.

  • Anne

    April 11, 2009 01:04 am

    And, John, you are so right. I didn't buy this camera for the movie mode. In fact, I'd rather turn it off to save on the battery. I bought it because it was recommended as a good camera. So, thanks, everyone, for all your input. It helps a lot. I am driven to learn this camera, and it's frustrating when I want to take the pics, and the color is wrong. I reset my custom settings and set the camera back to default. So, I am going to start from gound zero to figure it out. Anything else you can help with would be greatly appreciated.

  • Anne

    April 11, 2009 12:21 am

    So, John, did you take most of the pictures on your website with the D90 or another camera? They were very nice.

  • Michael Duggan

    April 10, 2009 11:53 pm

    The Nikon D90 is a tremendous camera and a very good value for the money. My first DSLR was the Nikon D70 and I loved it. I next upgraded to the D80 and continue to use it. Just 2 weeks ago I bought the D90 and find that it is very responsive and produce quality color, clarity and sharpness. The weight is not an issue since it is darn near the same (D80 23.6 oz/668 g to D90 24.8 oz/703 g). What I find the best for my personal shooting this the rapid rate of exposure. With the frame burst set to high you can run through an amazing number of exposures before you know it. Very important aspect when shooting sports, but keep in mind you need a fast memory card to take full advantage.

  • Matt

    April 10, 2009 09:46 pm

    @ Jane. There is a handy tip on Ken Rockwells site. On the D90 you can assign your favourite menu's to the assignable button on right of lens, so when pushed it brings up the user menu. I have assigned the ISO as my first choice on menu so one push and I can adjust ISO immediately. Worth a look. I tend to avoid this type of function but imo it is well worth it.
    Matt

  • sarah butler

    April 10, 2009 09:04 pm

    I purchased my rotten D90 three weeks ago, in that time it has been to the repairer twice due to the auto focus not seeing the same vision as the lens. It has been a nightmare for me from woe to go and this has been exacerbated by the shop of purchase washing their hands of me after two weeks and Nikon refusing to assist in any way at all. I am more disapointed in Nikon than anything else, i called their head office and spoke to a team leader in sales support who told me they couldnt help me, i asked to talk to a manager and was told the manager was too busy to talk to me and to tell me that they couldnt help me.

    I have since then sought legal advice and the shop of purchase is responsible for replacing, fixing or refunding the camera. Replacement being a necessity as the camera has been fixed and is still showing the same soft focus result in many, many pics.

    For anyone out there who is finding they have problems with a shot looking 'soft' dont accept it. It could well be the same fault my D90 has shown.

    Nikon are awful to deal with and i wish to god i didnt love THE nikkor lens as much as i do... because Nikon as a company are just cold, unhelpful and greedy.

    Im a very sad Nikon customer at this moment in time. Very sad.

  • Jim News

    April 10, 2009 09:03 am

    @anne
    You might try Ken Rockwell'ss D90 users guide. It's written is pretty easy terms, without so much tech speak. I found it to be very usefull when I got my D90.
    I tend to agree with everyone that this was not a very well written review, but it is a great camera.
    @emil - you are absolutely correct. You have a great camera in the D80. The camera is not the photographer, you are. Some of my favorite shots are those I've taken with my Fuji S2 Pro. That's a 7 year old DSLR, a relic by today's standards.

  • Denis Avery

    April 10, 2009 07:37 am

    I have owned a D90 for around 4 months. I bought it becuase of teh new CMOS sensor and the low light capability which is very good for the price I don't really use the movie mode but It may come in handy one day. I shoot video with a Sony HiDef which is much more convenient. I imported a GPS-1 unit for the camera which works fantastically well for accurate geotagging, BUT! beware the port this unit and also the cored remote use is very fragile and I have already had it in for a three week repair as when the remote or GPS is plugged in it provides lots of leverage and little support the the port. One accidental knock of the plug and theport will snap off iside the camera. Previos models had a much better soution. But overall its a great camera and fantastic when used with a Nikon speedlight. I have never shot better indoor picture. Enjoy!

  • Jesse J. Anderson

    April 10, 2009 07:14 am

    You may think it's just semantics... but saying

    is not full HD but does possess higher resolution than SD quality

    is entirely false and confusing.

  • Jesse J. Anderson

    April 10, 2009 07:12 am

    Umm.. 720p IS Full HD. It's just not 1080p.

    90% of HD sources today are either 720p or 1080i (which is the basically the same resolution).

    The only true 1080p source I can think of off-hand is Blu-Ray, everything else (cable, satellite, itunes, etc) is 720p or 1080i.

  • John McCosh

    April 10, 2009 06:58 am

    I have also upgraded my D70s to the D90 the day the D90 was released. I have found the camera to be a vast improvment and I have slowly worked through all the extra functions and I'm slowly coming to terms with them all. To get the best out of the camera I find you have to keep using it and keep exploring.

    You can view some off my images taken with the D90 in original size by visiting my web page at www.mccoshphotography.com.

    I don't use video mode much but it does come in very handy when I do decide to use it. This is a graet camera on it's own right and the movie mode is a bonus. It is not and never was intended to be a video camera.

  • Deborah Bifulco

    April 10, 2009 02:11 am

    I am a late adapter from film to digital, but I must say that I love my D90! I got it with a 18-200 zoom, which enables me to get great closeups and detail. Since it is spring on this side of the globe, I am in heaven with everything blooming (and just begging to be photographed.) Haven't used the video feature, so can't comment on that.

  • Mike

    April 10, 2009 12:02 am

    I only take issue with one statement in the article, "inadequate" microphone within the camera. Though the sound quality is not high tech so the sound tones are a little hollow or microphone in a box type sound, the volume is adequate (even good) especially since the camera is not intended to replace Hollywoods present film cameras.

    I like the video capabilities but it definitely has issues. 5 minutes is severely limiting. No auto focus is fine IF your subject stays the exact same distance from the camera or you want to attempt manual focus during recording -right. If you are like me I ALWAYS use the viewfinder and shooting Video from live view is very difficult if you are used to using the viewfinder.

    Don't get me wrong, my Video from my D90 flat out, hands down blows away Video from a 3yr old JVC digital camcorder. So it does a very nice job for a "first attempt and DSLR video. Again 5 minutes is not very long.

    Overall I love my D90.

  • Jane

    April 9, 2009 07:51 pm

    This review might have had some better feedback if you simply asked those who have a D90 what they most like and dislike about it. Do the same for the other major cameras, and then you have a series of honest reviews from a range of users with different skill levels. That would be far more entertaining and useful to read, and similar to what they do on other technology blogs.

  • Gerry Coe

    April 9, 2009 06:23 pm

    The one thing I will say about this review, although not great, at least it has got a few people talking.
    There are many in depth reviews and there is one on "Luminous Landscape" regarding the Video mode.
    see here: http://www.luminous-landscape.com/reviews/cameras/d90.shtml
    Ken Rockwell gives his comparisons here: http://www.kenrockwell.com/nikon/d90/sharpness-comparison.htm
    And for Anne, here is how he sets up his camera, this might help you understand some of the controls a bit better. I have not read it all but generally they are quite good. http://www.kenrockwell.com/nikon/d300/picture-control.htm
    As a professional photographer and a member of a Local Camera Club I do understand the problems Anne and people like her have in getting to grips with the basics. It is all very confusing and that is why so many people leave the camera on "Auto" nothing wrong with that, I do it when it suits me.
    I hope some of the info above is useful.
    Gerry Coe

  • Jane

    April 9, 2009 05:35 pm

    I've had my D90 since December, and I find the comment about the weight erroneous. Really, it doesn't feel any heavier than lugging around a Canon, and the 18-105 lens it came with is lighter than the 18-200 I keep on there all the time.

    Not really a telling review but a features list. I can tell you one thing from 4 months use. Keep the live view off, and you get spectacular battery life. By spectacular, I mean you can shoot a whole wedding on one battery if you keep the live view off. The quality at low light is superb, with the littlest noise ever.

    My only beef was that the lowest ISO was 200, but you can set it to LO to emulate 100. But I am over that now. i have been told that the Active D Lighting is nothing to write home about, but I have not had any horrible results from it. Changing ISO is a little awkward, but I'm used to it now.

    Video mode? Meh. Auto focus does not work in video mode, the battery drains quickly, and apparently it doesn't go any more than 5 minutes at a time, as the sensor can overheat. Keep it on a tripod and set it up for a theatrical type of video and you'll get ok results.

    Here are some shots I've taken with my D90 since December:
    http://smg.photobucket.com/albums/v492/azhure/?action=tags&current=D90

    Video sample Here (quality obv. reduced on youtube): http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=9OvYb3n8kjU

    My only criticism was price, price, price, and the fact that the version of Adobe's Camera RAW that works with this camera, only works with Photoshop CS4. If you are looking to buy this and still use Photoshop CS3, then you need to upload to CS4, or the latest version of Adobe Lightroom if you prefer. I do use a Mac, but I am unsure of RAW under the Apple image editing software. The Nikon software that comes with it is ok, but you can't do much in the way of RAW editing with the free software.

    I hope this helps you where this review may have been lacking. Cheers, Jane

  • Jeremy

    April 9, 2009 02:39 pm

    This is not a review, it's a generic summary of a camera that's many months old. Come on DPS, you're not even trying with these! Either do proper reviews or don't bother, but this kind of stuff is a waste of everyone's time.

  • Anne

    April 9, 2009 12:18 pm

    Thanks for your help, Barrie. I have been shooting for awhile, mostly using the D70, and I have tried to stay off of the picture modes so I can further understand more of how to use aperture and shutter priority and manual modes. But, the intricasies of the D90 just baffle me. How would I learn the camera better with the exception of using the manual, which is little help. I have bought the DVD, and I'm in the process of learning through it, but there's so much to understand and so many ways to set the camera. Do most pros use RAW or JPEG? Do most use Program, Aperture, Shutter or Manual settings to do most shoots? How about using manual focusing rather than autofocusing? Would that way be better? And, the metering modes confuse me a bit. Are they for light or where to set the focus? And, when I look throught the viewfinder, should it be on spot metering if I want to focus on one main spot?
    Someone I know uses the D40, and the color on that camera seems to be so much better than mine, and I know it's just operator problems. I do have a 18-200 VR ED telephoto, and I really like it. Any other suggestions on a better one to get, possibly the fixed 50 mm 1.4 or 2.8 lens? Thanks to anyone who can help me!

  • Anne

    April 9, 2009 08:46 am

    I bought a D90 a few months ago. I know it can do lots of things, but I guess it has a steep learning curve for me, and I still don’t know how to operate it in different settings. Anyone got a recommendation to learn my camera better? Thanks!
    (Sorry, I didn't mean to repeat these questions, but I meant to click the notification of followup comments via email.)

  • Anne

    April 9, 2009 08:44 am

    I bought a D90 a few months ago. I know it can do lots of things, but I guess it has a steep learning curve for me, and I still don't know how to operate it in different settings. Anyone got a recommendation to learn my camera better? Thanks!

  • Lawrence

    April 9, 2009 12:27 am

    I didn't find this to be a review so much as one individual's limited opinion and a rehash of technical data that could be copied from any number of sources not the least of which is the Nikon on-line specifications. There was one sentence about the reviewer finding the lens heavy to carry around all day and one opinion about the inclusion of the movie mode which was conjecture. Two sentences do not "a review make!"

    There was absolutely nothing about the handling or image quality, not a photo or two or even a discussion about the image quality learned from a systematic study of the camera. While I agree that one can shoot higher than 400 iso with the D90, what exactly does "much higher" indicate. While it is reasonably good at iso's as high as 800 and acceptable at 1200, I would go to my D700 to shoot at those iso's and higher given the choice and keep my D90 shots to iso 800 and below unless there was no other way than to boost the iso higher to get a desired shot.

    The D90 is an excellent camera and deserves a much better review than was presented.

  • Cedric

    April 9, 2009 12:06 am

    Since when 720p is near-HD? It's not Full HD but it is still HD.

  • Andrew

    April 8, 2009 07:59 pm

    A very poorly written review. Has the "experienced" writer not learnt how to use sentences and paragraphs? Each sentence here seems to be just bullet points. Expected better.

  • Emil Avasilichioaiei

    April 8, 2009 05:25 pm

    I have a D80 (bought second hand). I've been also looking the D90, because 'it's better'. Yeah, it is. But every time i just go out and shoot with what I have I realise 'Hey! My camera is great! I can (sometimes) do great shots regardless of the camera I use".
    Maybe I'll upgrade one day. But for now. The D80 does the job. It's me that needs to improve, not the camera.

  • Jim News

    April 8, 2009 01:42 pm

    I bought a D90, just after they became available. As I've said in several DPS posts, I love this camera. In low light, it has no equal. Okay, the D3 is equal, for about four thousand dollars more money. Great battery life, excellent internal features and easy to use. I added a MB-D80 power pack, which adds weight, but it's incredibly balanced, especially with a large lens. It works great as a sports camera, portraits, you name it. I've never really used the automatic settings, though I've read they are quite nice.

  • X. Phoenix

    April 8, 2009 01:01 pm

    @chrisc
    Well that's precisely what is meant by the term Full HD, 1920*1080...he's not saying that 720 is some sort of sub-par wanna be HD format, simply pointing out the fact that its not what is referred to in the market as Full HD, which may be a deterrent to some consumers.

  • Nicole in Japan

    April 8, 2009 10:52 am

    I've recently purchased a Nikon D90 myself, and am loving it! I didn't do much research before the purchase, just buying it knowing that I wanted to upgrade my D50. I'm amazed by how much Nikon has improved since the D50. I never expected there to be so many new functions. I'm going to have a lot of fun getting used to this camera!

  • Dan Rode

    April 8, 2009 10:03 am

    I've had the D90 for a few months now and I absolutely love it. The weight has never been an issue. I suspect this is a result of great ergonomics and balance. I have never even tried to take a video. I just didn't care about video HD or standard. I'm sure it works well for those that do use it. I didn't care about Live View either and, although I rarely use LV, there are situations where the camera is in a place where I can't use the viewfinder. In these situations, Live View is the difference between getting a framed shot and getting something random. Try getting a shot holding the camera over your head to capture something in a crowd.

    The High ISO performance is stellar. I can shoot sports in a dimly lit arena at ISO 1600 and get great pictures. Even at ISO 3200 I get usable pictures. ISO 400 has no more grain than ISO 200 in any prior camera and ISO 800 is nearly as good.

    The viewfinder is bright and has excellent coverage. If I can see the scene better, I can compose better shots. The built-in flash, set to commander mode, wirelessly triggers my pair of SB600s without fail (indoors). I really don't think I could get better pictures from a more expensive camera. The more I use it the more I like it.

  • ChrisC

    April 8, 2009 09:17 am

    720p @ 24fps is definitely "full HD". It's not the highest resolution in the HD spec, but it's not a sub-HD resolution.

  • Gerry Coe

    April 8, 2009 08:51 am

    I bought the D90 as a back up to my D300 and as a pro. photographer I have found it brilliant. I have not done any exhaustive tests but I can see no difference in Quality. I can get portraits done easily up to 40" by 30".
    See portraits here http://www.coe-photographer.co.uk
    Would thoroughly recommend this camera.

  • withlime

    April 8, 2009 08:05 am

    Love my new D90!

    I used to shoot with a D70s and was hesitating to upgrade. I finally decided to for two reasons:
    a) I drawn by a few key features - larger LCD display (I can't see very well), more focus points (maybe it would help my ability to focus correctly, see first comment), and higher megapixels (ability to crop tighter and still print sharp) and b) I received cash for Christmas from every family member to help fund the purchase.

    I was absolutely shocked at the difference between the two cameras - even when sharing the same lens. Granted my D70s went through the school of hard knocks, but overall the clarity and depth of the photos taken with the D90 is noticeably superior.

    If you have a D70s and are thinking of upgrading, I recommend doing so.

    Note: The 18-200 VR lens is heavy, but I find the convenience of not carrying two lenses outweighs the extra weight. I also purchased a 50mm f1.4 for low light and light weight situations... and feel in love.

Receive a FREE SAMPLE of our Portrait Photography Ebook

  • Guaranteed for 2 full months
  • Pay by PayPal or CreditCard
  • Instant Digital Download

Receive a FREE SAMPLE of our Portrait Photography Ebook

  • Guaranteed for 2 full months
  • Pay by PayPal or CreditCard
  • Instant Digital Download

Receive a FREE SAMPLE of our Portrait Photography Ebook

  • Guaranteed for 2 full months
  • Pay by PayPal or CreditCard
  • Instant Digital Download

Sign up to the free DPS PHOTOGRAPHY COURSE

  • Guaranteed for 2 full months
  • Pay by PayPal or CreditCard
  • Instant Digital Download

GET DAILY free tips, news and reviews via our RSS Feed

Sign up to the free

DPS PHOTOGRAPHY COURSE

  • Guaranteed for 2 full months
  • Pay by PayPal or CreditCard
  • Instant Digital Download

GET DAILY free tips, news and reviews via our RSS Feed

Sign up to the free

DPS PHOTOGRAPHY COURSE

  • Guaranteed for 2 full months
  • Pay by PayPal or CreditCard
  • Instant Digital Download
Today’s Deal: 70% off Photoshop Artistry: Fine Art Grunge Composition courseVIEW DEAL
DPS NEWSLETTER
DPS NEWSLETTER
DPS NEWSLETTER

DPS offers a free weekly newsletter with: 
1. new photography tutorials and tips
2. latest photography assignments
3. photo competitions and prizes

Enter your email below to subscribe.
Email:
 
 
Get DAILY free tips, news and reviews via our RSS feed