Moo Business and Greeting Cards [REVIEW] - Digital Photography School
Close
Close

Moo Business and Greeting Cards [REVIEW]

Not only does Moo have one of the easiest web addresses to remember (moo.com) they also have created an assortment of products useful to photographers. They are not a all-in-one printer who handles cards, calendars, books, flyers, etc… What they lack in breadth, they make up for in creativity.

A representative from Moo contacted me and asked if I would like to try out their brand. I had heard of and seen their mini-business cards before and was curious about the quality. Until now I had gone the route of using the cheapest printer I could find to send me a stack of 500 business cards. She explained a bit about Moo and that I could choose up to 50 different images for my business cards and still print the same message/info on the back if I liked. I gave her my boilerplate answer, that I only give my honest opinion in reviews and if their product was sub-par, I would be mention it (some companies are looking more for advertisement than an honest review). I was more than intrigued and took her up on the free offer for 50 business cards and 25 4”x6” greeting cards. (They also offer mini-cards, sticker books, holiday cards and postcards.)

First step; setup an account and start uploading. As this isn’t a ‘How To’ post, I won’t get into the specifics, but I will tell you the process at Moo is straightforward when it comes to uploads. Like a lot of sites they have a standard and a Flash uploader to handle files. They can accept JPG, PNG and GIF formats(and PDF for business and mini-cards). Pretty standard fare.

Each Moo product has a recommended size. For instance, the recommendation for business cards is 1039 x 697 pixels at 300DPI, but the minimum accepted is 332 x 223 pixels at 96DPI. The largest recommendation is for greeting cards, which should be uploaded at 1795 x 1287 pixels and 300DPI. They print in CMYK and colors can be proofed using the Coated GRACoL 2006 profile, for those wishing the best color rendition. sRGB and AdobeRGB will be converted automatically and Moo includes a Photo Enhancement feature which can be turned off if images are to be untouched.

A NOTE in the process at this point: after uploading photos, the next screen displays all the images in proper orientation, so a mix of portrait and landscape can be included if printing a pack of 25 greeting cards, for instance. On this screen is the option to click a photo and view the Photo Enhanced and non-Photo Enhanced version side by side and select. I found most of my images better suited to not using the feature as I had the colors set as I liked them. However, this feature can be handy for adding some, dare I say it…”pop” to images needing it. This part of the process can be time consuming if there are 50 images to adjust but Moo does offer a “Don’t Use Photo Enhancement” option for those of us who have already set our colors as we like.  The enhancement doesn’t seem horrible, just overdone on images I had already ‘enhanced’.  A lot of sharpening seems to go on but the image is a bit small to tell.

After choosing Photo Enhancement or not, there are options to zoom, crop or just reject images and not print them. The next step in the process is to insert a message on the inside of the card. Text color can be edited and eight different fonts are available.

The next step is to add print to the back of the greeting cards if desired. A logo image can also be added. There are no font or color selections on this area of the card, just black text. Clicking next brings up a selection of envelopes to go with the cards, noting a few color options are available at a higher price (white envelopes are included). The last step is to choose a quantity of cards and add everything to the cart for purchase. Shipping for greeting cards is $10.50 for 25 via US Postal Service Priority Mail (Express Mail is available if things are needed sooner). This brings the order to just over $2/card shipped. Discounts are given for larger orders.

The process is about as easy as most higher end sites catering to the general public. Business cards work much the same way, with the option to upload up to 50 images (if an odd quantity of images is uploaded, Moo will divide the order between the photos as evenly as it can). Moo also has a number of templates for all of their products to help ensure everything fits on the products. Backs on business cards are kept fairly standard as can be seen in my example shot of what showed up on my doorstep a week later.

Each shipment comes with the Moo Promise; a boilerplate pledge to make sure you love your order or they will do what needs to be done to fix it. My initial order of cards came separate and I used five images on the greet cards and 50 for the business cards. I am pleased with the outcome and was happy how well the color on the products matched what was on my screen (noting it helps to have a calibrated monitor). The stock of the paper is hefty and the business cards are slightly larger than standard, helping them stand out even more in a crowd of average nameplates.

In my order one picture of elephants appeared, to me, to have a very slight purple tint in shadow detail. However, no matter who I showed it to (about 15 people at various times, asking for opinions), no one commented on what I saw. I mentioned it to the representative who sent me the free offer and she told me to call the customer support number and they would be glad to send a new batch. It is entirely possible I was imagining the tint and it could have also have been the light I was under (although I took them into daylight to check and it did lessen to being unnoticeable). I chalked this up to my extreme pickiness and the lighting in my house and did not request a reprint, although I am sure I would have received it.

The color and clarity of detail on the business and greeting cards is of solid quality. These are cards I can hand out and confidently say, “This is my work” because the printing is to my standards.  The biggest problem with them is, to be honest, parting with them. Having 50 cards, I had to decide which to carry with me and which to leave home. But it does make for a good conversation start from a photographer’s point of view; when someone asks for a card I present them with four or five choices that I carry in my wallet and it always garners a reaction. People are expecting boring, maybe neatly designed business cards with basic information. Instead they are presented with colorful options and can pick an image that clicks with them. I have even had friends jokingly fight over who gets which card.

I have since placed a second, paid order with Moo for an assortment of 25 different greeting cards I intend to use as thank you cards. I have found the cards are a great way to say thank you and also give people a nice photo to put up at work or hang on the fridge.

For more information on their pricing and printing options, go to Moo.com.  The ship worldwide and accept major credit cards.

If you enjoyed this article, you might also like...

Peter West Carey is a world traveling photographer who now is spending a large amount of time going back through 6 years of travel photo and processing them like he should have to start with. He is also helping others learn about photography with the free series 31+ Days Of Photography Experiments which builds off of the 31+ Days To Better Photography series on his blog.

  • Thomas

    The on-line design feature works quite well. SImple enough. The cards arrived quick…so that was good. I ordered 100 mini-Luxe cards just to try them out before spending too much money on a larger order. The cards look fine…the printing is fine…the only issue is the price. Including the cost of shipping each mini-card works out to about 41 cents per card and at that price I’m going to be careful how and to whom I give them out. Would I use them again…? Yes probably to test out the regular paper they offer as well. Then it’s a matter of comparing per/card cost with one of the many many many other companies that print business cards.
    The box and wrapping they came in was all very pretty…but at the end of the day…all i want is great printing quality…on great paper…at a fair and reasonable price.

Some older comments

  • Mike Allen

    January 3, 2013 05:55 am

    I ordered through MOO some earlier point to get different images on different cards as a novelty. Was fun..but not needed in the end. Their price points are really expensive for what you get. I second the woman who went to Got Print. I went there when I used to life in west hollywood...would order and pick up in Burbank when on a rush. I now live in NYC and still use Got print. Their pricing is the absolute best and their quality is always spot on for me.

  • Amanda

    July 28, 2012 04:39 am

    When I first started using Moo, they were AMAZING, unfortunately, the difference in the quality started to decline with each subsequent purchase.

    They started messing with the exposures on my photos so cards would come back looking darker than they should have. Also, the quality of the printing on the card was much less sharp than the first time I printed with them. I originally thought the cost was more than worth it, but the side by side comparison of the same exact cards made me look elsewhere for printing. This last time, I went with gotprint.com and they delivered some AWESOME cards for about a third of the price.

  • Jen

    April 13, 2012 02:18 pm

    I never have any luck with Moo Cards. It tells me to upload a larger picture and when I do there is no way to decrease the zoom to make my photo fit within the card. I have tried several times and I just give up.

  • Jane Francis

    February 10, 2012 07:23 am

    I have used moo.com before and frankly I was highly disappointed. The business cards that I had ordered were not only damaged in the packaging but also the print was off either they had been cut or printed at an angle. Needless to say I wasn’t happy so I contacted the customer services and they were rude and short on the phone, in the end I decided just to leave it.
    I then re-ordered my business cards from a different company (printed.com), the prints were perfect. Before I sent them I called their customer services and they were the complete opposite of moo.com. I am relieved to say I can now hand out business cards knowing they are of good quality they were also a good price.

  • Sam

    November 8, 2011 10:15 am

    I ordered a free packet of sample cards. They look and feel absolutely great.

    However, just as some reviewers here have warned, the laminate does in fact peel up at the corners with just the slightest wear. I put a couple cards in my pants pocket for a day as a 'test drive'. Sure enough, the edges start looking messy within hours. I wouldn't want to hand these out.

    I won't be ordering any of these.

  • Jaye Cole

    August 2, 2011 09:34 pm

    I have ordered several times from Moo and generally love their stuff. I find it odd that I can use the same image and have it print differently (colour/contrast/etc) depending on what it is printed on. As a photographer, I am a bit over-tuned to slight hue changes (my husband will shake his head at the small hue shifts I will notice and tell me I am bonkers) so I know it can just be me being nit-picky.

    I have never had a problem with anything peeling apart, so I dunno what that is about. I carry them in several locations and never a problem.

    My big complaint is actually their new stickers - the square ones. The printing on them rubs RIGHT off. I mean, like right off. I used them in place of my usual printing company and I am sooooo disappointed. I feel like I am sending something in the post that will be rubbed off before it even gets to its destination. Nicking them with the side of my fingernail when placing them on the packaging left loads of little white specks where the ink removed. Arrrrgh! Sets me inner OCD nut over the edge! lol

    Additionally, they market their labels as being good as mailing labels, but standard pens won't write on them. Biro pens won't work (too shiny on the outside) and ink pens bead up. So I have to use a permanent marker which looks sloppy. Won't order their label stickers again. Their little round stickers are ace, though.

    Sure, Moo aren't cheap. I could get cheaper at vista print. Would look like poop - but be cheaper. I don't want cheap, I want good. It is my chance to make an impression, why would I pass it up because I am too cheap to stump up for the goods?

  • madaboutgreys

    March 25, 2011 04:12 am

    I've been a loyal Moo customer for the last three years and have always had excellent business cards from Moo. But the last batch received earlier this month were dreadful. Blacks all blocked, contrast pumped up, saturation pumped up too. And no, I didn't elect to have my images "enhanced" by Moo before printing.

    Moo customer service were lovely and a refund is apparently heading to my account soon. But they mentioned that they changed supplier recently and that this might explain the quality change.

    I was also disappointed that for orders of more than 50 business cards, the extras now come loose - they used to supply enough Moo boxes for all the cards they delivered. In my latest shipment, 3/4 of the cards were in loose bundles with the faces of the top cards already marked and the corners dog-eared.

    So where do I go now for decent quality business cards with photographic quality printing?

  • rmcmahan

    March 18, 2011 10:45 am

    The prices for business cards are quite high compared for what I pay locally. I use one of the top printers in the area (Houston, TX) and I get 500 for $98.00 or 1000 cards for $124.00 plus tax (I pick them up, so no shipping charge). My cards are also full color on both sides, 100# gloss cover. Single sided cards are about $25 less. My turnaround is usually 3-4 business days. So, no way I paying 3 times as much for the same thing on line. I would think that they will have to reduce prices significantly if they want to stay in business

  • Brantley

    February 27, 2011 01:32 pm

    Excuse the grammar I my last post. I was writing that from my smartphone. :)

  • Brantley

    February 27, 2011 01:30 pm

    I ordered Moo card and they are good but they are way too expensive for men to keep using them while I'm starting my business. I did see that they would peel some if they were in a pocket or bag. People that saw the cards were impressed with them but it cost $50 ish for 100 cards (including shipping) and I just order some from another company and got 1000 cards for less than what I paid for 100 at Moo.

  • Jan G

    February 27, 2011 04:34 am

    I cannot stand the small "mini" Moo business cards and hate it when people hand them too me: they're hard to hold onto, and too small to read. Nor is there room for me to write something on the back. In my mind, this is a business fail. (Frequently, it's what I write on the back of your card after meeting you that makes me call you back.) Didn't know they made "normal" (3x5) business cards, but from the reviews I'm seeing here, aside from being able to upload multiple images so you have a series of different pictures on a set of 500 cards, I don't see much to recommend them. Many have stated they are not inexpensive, and several have complained about laminate peeling too easily. I've been printing my own business cards my self on demand using templates from Office Depot for years. Been working great. Further, if my info changes, I'm not tossing out the remainder of a box of 500 cards. I also know of other companies that don't cost as much if I want or need to buy in "bulk".

    Aside from being trendy or kitchsy, I'm not seeing a lot to recommend this company.

  • Liz

    February 27, 2011 01:50 am

    Mail Works, Inc @ www.mailworksinc.com is the ONLY company I would have print my business cards or greeting cards. They offer a full line of print services and are GREAT! NO Peeling laminate - these cards are UV coated and the colors are of exceptional quality. Call John or Jenny at 423-283-9875 and tell them Liz sent you... you won't be disappointed!

  • Valarie

    February 26, 2011 02:17 am

    I loved the free sample batch of business cards I ordered from Moo, but since I love to be environmentally friendly, I ordered my paid-for batch on recycled paper. The recycled business cards are probably great for other professionals, but for a photographer who needs their images to be spot-on, they don't have the perfect color that the new paper cards did.

  • Sylvester Robert

    February 25, 2011 07:53 pm

    The entire review seems very interesting. Can Moo service foreign clientele, say Nigerian clients? I would like to try them with a view to introducing them to the Nigerian business public. Appreciate if they can reach out to me by email on camfacesnigeria@gmail.com

  • Elizabeth

    February 25, 2011 01:23 pm

    LOL! I hate this review because if more people use mini-moos mine won't stand out at much.

  • Julie

    February 25, 2011 09:23 am

    Thanks so much for sharing the pros and a little cons of this company. its funny, I was just told about Moo.com the other day from a mag editor..It must be spreading fast. They seem to offer a simple and focused service and I plan on checking them out now for sure! Well written and explained! THANKS!
    Julie

  • Susan

    February 25, 2011 08:14 am

    I ordered stickers from MOO and am delighted with my own photography of animals as stickers for use in art and fun correspondence. These stickers make great gifts for grandchildren or playful adults.

  • Ayden

    February 25, 2011 06:48 am

    I've been using Moo for a while, and honestly, while I haven't had a quality control issue, Moo always seems helpful and informative.

    I'm sure if someone did have an issue, they could easily contact Customer Support and get them to give them a] a refund or b] a new stack of cards.

    As for the laminate issue mentioned above, seems to be a bad order, I've had the cards in my wallet for a while and haven't had that problem.

  • Pamela

    February 25, 2011 06:23 am

    I've used Moo as also note that quality is superior to every other professional lab I've tried - and I've sampled them all. The weight of the paper and color match are key points to me. And I'll also note that their customer service is responsive and helpful.

    A few negatives- one they do not yet offer exclusive / special pricing for professional photographers/designers. As such, they're consumer oriented and the prices are considerably higher. The other negative is the high cost of shipping. Unlike professional labs, they don't offer free shipping with orders over $20 and the few times I used USPS, the order was lost. MOO replaced it, but it was a month in the making.

    They market quite a bit to photographers so I'm hopeful at some point they'll offer different pricing for professionals.

  • Rob Wilson

    February 25, 2011 06:18 am

    Yup, moo.com is great, always creates a conversation when I hand out a biz card - and people ALWAYS remember getting my cards. Great product, great service.

  • Peggy

    February 25, 2011 04:53 am

    I love mini moo cards ! Just ordered the business cards to try. ; )

  • Citizette.com

    February 25, 2011 04:31 am

    I've used Moo before and while I wish they weren't so expensive for so few cards, the quality is amazing. The cards are unique, beautiful, and most of all memorable. I'm a little confused about the comments complaining about quality. I used a business card case and they held up well.

    New Fashion

  • sumit

    February 25, 2011 04:12 am

    Saw some moo business cards couple of weeks ago at a meet up. Quite impressive to be fair.

  • Virginia

    February 25, 2011 03:51 am

    I ordered business cards and I love them! Great packaging, quick turn around, great quality I am getting ready for my second order !

  • chris martin

    February 25, 2011 03:01 am

    Great stuff Moo ! I use them all the time....

  • Virginia

    February 25, 2011 02:46 am

    I love Moo cards. I bought the mini cards and everyone loved and wanted more than one! The problem is that they are fairly expensive and they never had any discounts or deals for return customers. I ordered maybe four or five times and told countless folks about them and paid full price every time. I finally asked for a discount and they threw in free shipping. There are too many other companies that offer nice cards and great deals. I'm not saying I'd never use them again, but right now I'm using another source.

  • Elizabeth Ross

    February 25, 2011 02:43 am

    I ordered my first Mini Moo cards from their original UK site several years ago. I always get the same response when I hand them out, "oh what cute cards", so people remember my cards and my website! The order process is easy, delivery prompt and I've never had an issue with the quality.

  • toomanytribbles

    February 25, 2011 02:38 am

    i've bought both business and mini cards -- love'em. i keep both kinds protected in cases, and i love it when people look through the different images (imported from my flickr acct) to select one they like.
    a few pics with the cards: http://www.flickr.com/photos/toomanytribbles/tags/moo/

  • Mary

    February 25, 2011 02:19 am

    I have used Moo.com for years and love their cards.

  • spaceguydan

    February 24, 2011 11:23 am

    I've ordered their mini cards for my business cards and I was very pleased with the result! I intend to place a second order with them once my first 100 run out. I've had no problems with laminate peeling off, and I keep a few in my wallet at all times.

  • lynette

    February 24, 2011 02:05 am

    I love Moo cards, especially the mini cards. When I was shooting portraits, I would get extras made & give them to my clients....they loved giving them away, with my info on back....!

  • Rabi

    February 23, 2011 02:44 pm

    I ordered a batch of Moo cards a few months ago. They were beautiful, but the laminate peeled almost immediately. They couldn't even stand being put in a pocket. I contacted the company and they quickly sent me a new batch. They seemed to be okay at first, but then peeled as well. I never contacted them back; I got pretty frustrated. The cards look beautiful, but I can't carry around business cards that peel.

  • Kelly Carmichael

    February 23, 2011 12:31 pm

    Thanks PWC, I have been putting off ordering business cards but will now have to try out Moo.com for my future business card order. Like you, I have pretty high expectations for quality, I have been printing them myself for so long so I could distribute my work to potential clients. Thanks for the review!
    @pentaxfan

  • Chromatic Dramatic

    February 23, 2011 11:35 am

    I've used moo.com for postcards, but was under whelmed by their quality.

  • Linda

    February 23, 2011 03:47 am

    I have used moo.com for my business cards for both my photography and my involvement with the Patriot Guard Riders. The comments are always one of surprise at the quality of the card stock and having a different photo on each card. I will be ordering greeting cards in the near future and know they will stand up to my expectations. Thank you for the honest review. I do agree with Keith, having the abilitiy to use a larger font on the front of the business cards would greatly approve them.

  • Sue Daigle

    February 23, 2011 02:24 am

    I belong to a jewelry forum and Moo cards are always the best in any discussion about quality and service. Nice to see them mentioned here.

  • keith

    February 22, 2011 11:39 pm

    Yes, seems to be a great company & their services are quite popular. My only whine - you can't change the font size for the biz cards - even though there appears to be room. I'm sure its user error but I was assembly a variety of images to use for cards but it didn't save. And I didn't have the mojo to start all over.

  • Craig

    February 22, 2011 08:41 pm

    Thanks, one thing that Moo offer as well is the ability to import photos from your flickr collections. So it is really easy to create custom cards with your own photos which are already online. They are a great company that offer fantastic service (in a batch of about 100 cards I had 5 that had problems, so they sent me another batch of 100 for free).

  • david rosen

    February 22, 2011 04:52 pm

    Moo rocks my world. Great quality, good price and pretty quick. Especially fond of the mini cards.

  • Kari

    February 22, 2011 03:57 pm

    I'm on my third order of Moo's mini cards, and I love them because I have the keychain holder, so I'm pretty much never without them (I don't always carry a wallet, but I always have my keys!) I also spent two months traveling in Europe last summer, and they were great to hand out to people I met--definitely got people's attention, and like other people have mentioned, I've had people argue over who got which card.

    I love my Moo minis--what a great company and great product! :-

  • Matthew Dutile

    February 22, 2011 03:30 pm

    Moo.com is always a win.

  • Gudrun

    February 22, 2011 02:53 pm

    A friend handed me one of his Moo cards last fall. I really like the look and feel, but was disappointed that within a few days of carrying it around in my wallet, the fine clear film overlay started peeling at the corners. I wouldn't want my customers to be left with the impresion that I'm that fly-by-night.

  • Colleen Coppock

    February 22, 2011 01:09 pm

    As you mentioned, I've also had people argue over what card they want. They make a very positive impression and people keep them for the art where they throw out other business cards.

  • Bob Colameco

    February 22, 2011 11:39 am

    Ditto everything that has been said!

  • Shanna

    February 22, 2011 10:58 am

    I love love love moo!

  • Scott Webb

    February 22, 2011 10:34 am

    Moo is an awesome company - love associating with them. I have moo mini cards and business cards from them. My business cards need a massive update as they are so old now - I'll be ordering from Moo again as per the usual.

    Want stickers too.

  • Nina Rodriguez

    February 22, 2011 10:11 am

    I LOVE LOVE LOVE Moo.com. I recently ordered their sample packet and loved how my images turned out. I've recently place a full order for business cards and plan on using their services again for other items.

  • Erik Kerstenbeck

    February 22, 2011 08:34 am

    Hi

    Greeting Cards are a great way to get your Photography Business name out to prospective clients and also are just nice to give as Thank You's after a shoot. I recall Peter Lik started his empire on the sale of Greeting Cards (here's hoping). I will certainly check Moo Products, they sound very attractive!

    Regards, Erik
    Kerstenbeck Photographic Art

  • April

    February 22, 2011 08:06 am

    LOVE moo cards! They used to (maybe still do) have a special sized business card that's only half the size (same length, but half the depth) that I love. Then I ordered a set of regular size cards, printed on recycled paper, full-color both sides. I mean, the quality and price can't be beat.

  • Philippe

    February 22, 2011 07:50 am

    I ordered from Moo a couple of months ago and was very disappointed by the result. 2 problems with their cards:
    - While the cards were cuts within the trim, it was kind of the worse case scenario so they didn't look as good as they could. That's minor and to be expected from time to time but still disappointing considering the price.
    - After a week, I noticed that the cards in my wallet and the cards in my camera bag started to look pretty ugly as the laminate was peeling off. Any kind of rubbing on the cards edge seems to trigger that problem. I had to throw away a lot of pretty expensive cards...

Receive a FREE SAMPLE of our Portrait Photography Ebook

  • Guaranteed for 2 full months
  • Pay by PayPal or CreditCard
  • Instant Digital Download

Receive a FREE SAMPLE of our Portrait Photography Ebook

  • Guaranteed for 2 full months
  • Pay by PayPal or CreditCard
  • Instant Digital Download

Receive a FREE SAMPLE of our Portrait Photography Ebook

  • Guaranteed for 2 full months
  • Pay by PayPal or CreditCard
  • Instant Digital Download

Sign up to the free DPS PHOTOGRAPHY COURSE

  • Guaranteed for 2 full months
  • Pay by PayPal or CreditCard
  • Instant Digital Download

GET DAILY free tips, news and reviews via our RSS Feed

Sign up to the free

DPS PHOTOGRAPHY COURSE

  • Guaranteed for 2 full months
  • Pay by PayPal or CreditCard
  • Instant Digital Download

GET DAILY free tips, news and reviews via our RSS Feed

Sign up to the free

DPS PHOTOGRAPHY COURSE

  • Guaranteed for 2 full months
  • Pay by PayPal or CreditCard
  • Instant Digital Download
DPS NEWSLETTER
DPS NEWSLETTER
DPS NEWSLETTER

DPS offers a free weekly newsletter with: 
1. new photography tutorials and tips
2. latest photography assignments
3. photo competitions and prizes

Enter your email below to subscribe.
Email:
 
 
Get DAILY free tips, news and reviews via our RSS feed