Close
Close
    varu121 is offline I'm new here!

Question Help needed to start...

Hi,
    let me start off by saying that i am completely new to professional photography...
    I know a lot of theoritical stuff, but all i ever used ws a Sony DSC S700 (pretty old, i know...), so i could not do anything practically. A gift given almost 6 years back, it made me take up photography as a hobby.

So, now i want to improve my photography skills using sumthing bigger than this...
    I ws thinking of buying Sony HX200V. All the reviews said mostly positive stuff....so i wanted to get some advice from professionals.

What do you think?

If it is not a good one to start off with, then please suggest some other cams.

Thank you...

Welcome to DPS and welcome to (more in-depth) photography. The kind of advice that might be helpful will be better if you say what kind of photography you're interested in. Also, do you aspire to be a professional? That would define even different paths of learning and growth.

The camera that you have and what you're looking at is a little different than the "usual" path, but certainly not wrong in any way. Often, once you buy a camera you stay with that brand for compatibility with the components and accessories. In your case, your s700 is a self-contained unit and you wouldn't lose anything by considering any other brand.

Not that you need to go with a different brand, but you have many options that are not constrained by your existing equipment.

So, back to the two most important questions for starting out:
    1) what kind of photography are you interested in?
    2) what is your budget?
    Dave.
    It's not even about the pictures; it's about the memories and communication.

I am not thinking of taking up photography as a career, but i would love to use it as a hobby...

And to answer your questions:
    1) I am not interested in sumthing particular, but i would love to experiment with stuff like:
    a) night sky
    b) motion blurring