Close
Close
    BexJarratt is offline dPS Forum Member

Default brightly lit building v.s dark, dark night

Upon an eerie hill

78 sec, /16, ISO 800, 130 mm; 62 sec, /16, ISO 200; same RAW image reduced by 3 stops in Samsung RAW converter.

I'd been meaning to take photos of this scene at night for a while now, and finally got round to it. "Correctly" exposed it had no detail on the cornice of the mausoleum, the trees behind were barely visible and the church tower was also lacking its delicate metalwork. HDR programs I tried using didn't seem to understand what I wanted, they turned it into a horrific mess of light and noise. So I sent the day painting in and out layer masks in GIMP to get the details without too much noise.

I'm fairly happy with how it turned out considering I'm pretty new to photography, processing, HDR, etc. I'm sure there are a million things I could do to improve it though. I'd love to hear any you can think of and any other comments on subject, composition, WB, etc. And did I miss a trick with the HDR software? I tied Luminance HDR and FDRtool.

Many thanks, Becky
    Samsung NX5 14.2MP (MILC or CSC) with 18-55mm kit lens. +1, +2, +3 and +10 close up lens. 50-200mm zoom lens. Sigma APO DG 70-300mm (pentax mount with adapter)
    Olympus Mju 790SW Tough P+S
    Husband: "Depth of field calculator? Does that tell you how far down your potatoes are?"

Linnea is offline dPS Forum Member

It's a really nice image with a nice subject but for it being multiple exposures there's a lot more you can do about it. Try Photomatix Pro for example, it's an amazing software with so many controls to play around with that I'm sure you'll find something that will work for your photo.