Close
Close
    lorganne is offline I'm new here!

Default Too much processing?

So, I kind of did things backwards. Before I got into photography, I was really into image editing (Photoshop CS2+ to begin with, I've recently become obsessed with Lightroom). I got into photography through my image editing. I've seen people here who take beautiful natural unedited photos, so this is my question. Is this photo too heavily edited? I'm worried that I'm getting too into post-processing, maybe that my photos are looking too over-done? I'm kind of new to photography, so I just want to know if I need to tone it down a bit, or should I just go wild, or does it even matter? If you were a customer, would you pay for a photo this processed? I'm not sure if it's a good thing, a bad thing, or just a me thing.

But of course, not all of my photos are so heavily processed, and I do try my best to take great photos without processing.

Canon 60D
    f/1.8
    1/100s
    125 ISO
    50mm
    Edited in Lightroom 3

Sorry for writing a novel!
    Facebook | DeviantArt |
    Canon EOS 60D | EF-S 18-135mm f/5.6 IS / EF-S 55-250mm f/5.6 IS II / EF 50mm f/1.8 II

JFSanders is offline Someone else guy

It is your art and as such there is no right and wrong. Would it sell? For every seller there is a buyer. But you may never meet! If you were Andy Warhol this would sell. If you were Jim Sanders your mother would not even post it on the fridge... So that is a subjective thing and not really answerable.

It is a nice image in that it is interesting but it isn't engaging or compelling. It doesn't tell a story so to speak. The shadows are mixed and uneven which hurts the composition which is meh. Being dead center in the image really doesn't hurt but doesn't help it either.

I like the fact that you are on an adventure of discovery and I am sure that you will find many fascinating things to photograph and process in your artistic vision. That is a good thing.

jim