Close
Close
    DebbyS is offline I'm new here!

Default Prints Are Too Dark

Not sure if i'm posting in the right place, but here goes.

When I open a photo in Photoshop CS3 or PSE 10, it looks fine to me. When I print the photo using either of these programs, the print is way too dark. I have a (new) Epson Artisan 835. If I print the SAME photo to my little Canon Selphy CP800 4 x 6 printer, the photo looks fine and seems to match the screen. If I print the same photo using Epson Easy Print software to the Epson printer, it looks much lighter, but not as good as the pic on the Canon. In other words, if I take Adobe out of the equation, the pics look much better, but that is where I do my editing!

I have tried researching this online and there is much talk of monitor calibration, which I do not understand so have not purchased any calibration software yet. Nor would I know which one to get should I decide to do so.

I'm a novice at all this and I'm feeling overwhelmed and frustrated. I just want to print nice pics, not aiming for pro quality because I am definitely not a pro. Any advice? THANKS!!
    Canon EOS 60D
    EFS 18-135mm IS
    EF 50mm 1.8
    EF 24-70 :2.8L

doctorjames is offline Dont change this!

ok, well without going into too much detail:

the canon and epson software are likely 'correcting' your image to what it thinks is an acceptable exposure.

printing from photoshop, if you do not use these 'enhancements' will result in a print that should represent the actual image.

If you are running an uncalibrated system then the chances are your screen brightness is far to high, so rather than your printer printing too dark, your screen is actually 'printing' too bright.