Close
Close
    mrodgers is offline dPS Forum Member

Default Lightroom vs. Paint Shop Pro

I have been using Paint Shop Pro for many years with graphic work in gaming (car skins for sim racing). I just got my camera a few weeks ago and am diving into simple photo post processing for the first time. I have downloaded Lightroom to try out since it seems to be so popular. Just now, I thought to look at some of the photo processing items in Paint Shop Pro now that I am reading more about contrast and levels and such.

I loaded up a picture in Paint Shop Pro and noticed that it was much sharper, much better color and much better contrasts than I could remember in Lightroom. Picture is outdoor shot of my small SUV, taken from the back and has very clear blue sky. So, I fired up Lightroom as well and loaded the same image (has previously no processing done in Lightroom). In Lightroom, the photo looked washed out, the sky wasn't anywhere close to the brilliant blue that shows in Paint Shop Pro, and it seemed there was a ton of noise in the shadow areas of under the bumper and the tires.

Would there be any reason why Lightroom looks so horrible compared to PSP? Is it a setting or something, like needing to correct the gamma in Lightroom itself? I really like the way Lightroom is setup with the Library and Developing areas, but I was truely shocked when I compared the yet to be edited image in each program. Unfortunately, I am not fond of Paint Shop Pro's system of windows when you want to edit something because you really have to hunt it down in the menus, then the popup window with the tools is too large to view the photo while making changes. But the quality of the unedited shots were just fantastic in comparison to viewing in Lightroom.