#91 (permalink)  
Old 05-28-2010, 09:29 PM
SusanH1970's Avatar
Am I in trouble again?
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Connecticut, USA
Posts: 9,171
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by BigFuzzy View Post
Thanks everyone for the support.. these types of people persist because we allow them to.

I don't. I won't. I refuse.

PS Susan.. that's what you get for being a grammar nazi, even while only joking around..haha.
Hats off to you, Al!

Regarding my being a grammar nazi...I know, I know! My bad. LOL!
__________________
Susan
Mostly Canon stuff
My Flickr
Facebook - new photos always posted and always happy for new "likes"!
Website going through an overhaul!
  #92 (permalink)  
Old 05-29-2010, 05:34 PM
Dodge's Avatar
Online Frivolity Tour 97-
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Northumberland, England
Posts: 544
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by BigFuzzy View Post
Ok, I'm putting and end to this arrogant BS right now Benji.

Stop saying you have a "degree" in photography. What you DO have (allegedly) is, according to your website:
A CERTIFICATE from NY Inst. of Photography, they do NOT have a degree program. http://www.nyip.com/ see for yourself. Quite a good program, but not even close to a "degree".

"continued his photographic studies at the world renowned Winona International School of Professional Photography"
First, that's not even it's real name, the word "international" never appears in their own description on their website! And it's not an accredited university and you can get this "World Renowned" "degree" for 550$ over a whole four days.. wow!
Check out this "world renowned" "school" at Home | The Winona Experience.

So, unless you've not updated your website, you don't have any 'degrees'. If you still claim to, then from where? If you prove it, I'll publicly apologize and retract my comments.

"He is also the head photographic instructor at a local community college." which school is this Benji? Name names so I can check to see if you're..um.. uninformed..about this as well. How does one claim to be a instructor and NOT mention the school?? I'm calling you out right here right now to tell us where you're teaching as "head" photographic instructor. And if you're no longer there, still tell us, I'm sure all of us are interested in knowing what "prestigious" "world renowned" institution you were/are teaching at.

So let me help you rephrase that part of your website more accurately so that you don't get into any legal troubles Benji:
I've been a "photographer*" for over 28 years and have a certificate from a four-day course and another from an online program.
* style and techniques also 28 years old

I wouldn't take issue with you (or others like you) if I simply thought your photography sucked (I do). Where I take serious issue with is when people (like you) falsely representing themselves while purporting to 'help' others especially while calling others "amateurs" and "internet 'pros'".

I seriously hope people don't listen to you. Maybe it's because I'm new here and everyone else already figured out what your "degrees" really mean and pay attention to your website so they can weigh your 'advice' properly. Then, I'll back off. But if you continue to claim being something you're not, I'll continue to chip away at your credibility/integrity. It's up to you. And stop being so arrogant and thinking your opinion is the only one, you come across as badly as a photo taken in front of a mottled 1980's background.. ooops.

I'm done. And sorry for hijacking this thread original poster.
PWND !

How the hell did I miss this?
  #93 (permalink)  
Old 05-30-2010, 03:52 AM
Indigo November's Avatar
Honest as a brick
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Wisconsin
Posts: 1,633
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by BigFuzzy View Post
Ok, I'm putting and end to this arrogant BS right now Benji.

Stop saying you have a "degree" in photography. What you DO have (allegedly) is, according to your website:
A CERTIFICATE from NY Inst. of Photography, they do NOT have a degree program. http://www.nyip.com/ see for yourself. Quite a good program, but not even close to a "degree".

"continued his photographic studies at the world renowned Winona International School of Professional Photography"
First, that's not even it's real name, the word "international" never appears in their own description on their website! And it's not an accredited university and you can get this "World Renowned" "degree" for 550$ over a whole four days.. wow!
Check out this "world renowned" "school" at Home | The Winona Experience.

So, unless you've not updated your website, you don't have any 'degrees'. If you still claim to, then from where? If you prove it, I'll publicly apologize and retract my comments.

"He is also the head photographic instructor at a local community college." which school is this Benji? Name names so I can check to see if you're..um.. uninformed..about this as well. How does one claim to be a instructor and NOT mention the school?? I'm calling you out right here right now to tell us where you're teaching as "head" photographic instructor. And if you're no longer there, still tell us, I'm sure all of us are interested in knowing what "prestigious" "world renowned" institution you were/are teaching at.

So let me help you rephrase that part of your website more accurately so that you don't get into any legal troubles Benji:
I've been a "photographer*" for over 28 years and have a certificate from a four-day course and another from an online program.
* style and techniques also 28 years old

I wouldn't take issue with you (or others like you) if I simply thought your photography sucked (I do). Where I take serious issue with is when people (like you) falsely representing themselves while purporting to 'help' others especially while calling others "amateurs" and "internet 'pros'".

I seriously hope people don't listen to you. Maybe it's because I'm new here and everyone else already figured out what your "degrees" really mean and pay attention to your website so they can weigh your 'advice' properly. Then, I'll back off. But if you continue to claim being something you're not, I'll continue to chip away at your credibility/integrity. It's up to you. And stop being so arrogant and thinking your opinion is the only one, you come across as badly as a photo taken in front of a mottled 1980's background.. ooops.

I'm done. And sorry for hijacking this thread original poster.
WOW!!!! It's about time someone did that!!! Thank you! Adding you to my list of awesome people!
__________________
-Indigo
D90, Minolta xg-9, Petri gx-1
A bunch of glass, mostly old, manual lenses.
Flickr
  #94 (permalink)  
Old 05-30-2010, 04:29 AM
lputman's Avatar
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Olive Branch, MS
Posts: 7,325
Default

Time to move on...
__________________
Lori Putman flickr
~No one can drive us crazy unless we give them the keys
~~Life isn't about waiting for the storm to pass, it's about learning to dance in the rain!
7D | 300L f/4 IS | 135L | 35L | 100/2.0 | 50/1.4
430 EX, 580 EX II Speedlites
  #95 (permalink)  
Old 05-30-2010, 06:58 AM
Sime's Avatar
Must. Get. Coffee. Quick.
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 6,319
Default

jklomo, welcome to dPS... it's not always this much fun, honest....

Isn't a good portrait lens the one that gets the shot you want? I assisted a fashion photog on Thursday, he spent half the time with a 50mm f/1.4 on and the rest of the time with an 85mm f1.2 on... and even swapped out to a 100-400 for a couple of shots... those shots went into a magazine... I don't think the editor really cared what lens he used...

Use what you like, right?

Your portrait, I like the depth of field, though I'd like your eye to be sharper and it to be a bit brighter.

Sime
Closed Thread

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2012, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.

What’s Your Preference?

Daily Digest

Each day we send out a quick email to thousands of DPS readers to notify them of updates. This email is just short excerpt of the first few lines of our latest post with a link if you want to read it all. You can unsubscribe from this this service at any time.

This service is provided by a third party (Feedburner) and you can subscribe to it by leaving your email address in the following field and confirming your subscription when you get an email asking you to do so.

Enter your email address for
Daily Updates:

Weekly Summary

For those wanting a weekly summary of what happens on this site this free email newsletter is probably your best option. It includes a summary of the tips posted to the site each week. This newsletter is subscribed to by over 25000 readers (many who also subscribe to the other options above) - come join the community!

To subscribe to this weekly newsletter simply add your email address to the following field and then follow the confirmation prompts. You will be able to unsubscribe at any time.

Enter your email address for
Free Weekly Newsletter:

 
SEO by vBSEO 3.3.0