Close
Close
    ICE
    ICE is offline I'm new here!

Default Need help reading shutter speed numbers!

I'm new to this whole shutter speed thing, well actually I'm just confused about how the numbers are displayed. I know what they do....but I can't read them, analyse them properly..

What does 1/250.....1/60....1/8 mean? etc.
    I've tried looking it up online, thye just give me numbers but I need help reading them thanks!

LoveDSLR is offline dPS +1000 Club

Quote Originally Posted by ICE View Post
    What does 1/250.....1/60....1/8 mean? etc.
    Shutter speed is measured in seconds. For example, 1/250 is 1/250th of a second.
    Last edited by LoveDSLR; 12-27-2009 at 08:02 AM.

OsmosisStudios is offline Don't Panic

1/25 can also be expressed as 0.04 seconds.

It's a fraction.
    I am responsible for what I say; not what you understand.
    adammontpetit.com
    Gear List
    500PX | Graphic Design

Skyyton is offline I'm new here!

Like the others said, it's a fraction of a second. It represents the amount of time your sensor/film is exposed to light. The faster the shutter, the less light. That's why a fast shutter speed stops motion.
    Canon 5D, 40D, 40D Infrared Conversion, Canon Glass 17-40mm F2.8 L, 50mm F1.4, 85mm F1.8, 70-200mm F2.8 L, 200mm F2.8 L, Speedlight Canon 580 EX, Light Meter Sekonic L758dr, Manfrotto tripods, studio lights, pocket wizards.

inkista is offline Gear Geek Girl

In my Canon 50D's viewfinder, 1/60s isn't actually displayed as 1/60--it's displayed as 60. Similarly, 1/6s is displayed as 6. 6s displays as 6". So essentially, if you see a shutter speed number, assume it's 1/# seconds, and the higher the number, the faster the shutter speeed, and the less light you'll get in the exposure. But if you see the seconds symbol ("), then the higher the number, the slower the shutter speed, and the more light you'll get in the exposure.