Close
Close
Page 1 of 2 12 Last
    TTh0r is offline I'm new here!

Default 50mm f1.4 versus f1.8

I am an avid amateur in photography; I currently have a Nikon D60 (considering upgrading in the coming years), and the standard 18-55mm VR AF-S lens and 55-200mm AF-S lens.

I currently want to get a prime lens; I've decided on a 50mm because its a decent distance, and is a good range for things like portrait photography. However, now I am having a hard time deciding between whether I want to spend $220 on an f1.8 lens or go the extra mile and spend $485 on the f1.4 lens. the ability to reduce the depth of field so far seems like it would super useful, and plus the faster shutter speed would be really nice. But is the f1.4 worth the extra $260 over the f1.8?
    If I was looking at AF lenses instead of AF-S, I feel like I would easily be able to justify spending $365 on the 50mm f1.4 AF lens, but $485 seems like so much, I feel conflicted.
    Is it worth the extra price to go for the f1.4 now, or will the f1.8 do perfectly well?

(if someone has a link to comparative photos using f1.8 aperture versus f1.4, that would also be helpful)
    Last edited by TTh0r; 04-16-2012 at 06:26 PM.

Hill Country Hack is offline dPS +1000 Club

Welcome to DPS. You have asked a frequently asked question. I did a quick Google search of "50mm f1.8 vs f1.4 digital photography school" and here is one of the related links. 50mm f1.8 vs. 50mm f1.4 I suggest you read through it and the others. If you still have questions or want to bounce ideas around, please feel free.

I will tell you I did obtain a Canon 50mm f1.8 without image stabalization and hve not regretted it for a second. It came down to weather I wanted to spend the extra $ for little return. I didn't, so I went with the 1.8. There is also a 50mm challenge thread here. Check it out to see what this little beauty can do if used properly.
    Last edited by Hill Country Hack; 04-16-2012 at 07:09 PM.