Close
Close
Page 1 of 3 123 Last
    Omi
    Omi is offline I'm new here!

Default Camera advice - Nikon D90 vs D5100?

I'm thinking of getting a new camera (upgrading from a very old D40) and considering either the Nikon D90 or D5100. I'm an avid photographer (although not expert) and want to focus on the functionality of the camera and capabilities rather than having a load of gimmicks with the camera.

Does anyone have any thoughts about the 2 or can advise on the better camera?

Bruce A is online now dPS +1000 Club

Well, the D90 is a fine camera. The D5100 has the movable LCD screen which can come in handy once in a while, but it's also prone to snapping if not handled carefully (keep kids away from it). Also I think the D90 will allow a wider range of lens (those with and without focussing motor). I believe the D5100 has no internal focus drive.
    Nikon D810, MD-12 Grip, Nikon AF-S 24-70mm f/2.8G ED, Nikon AF-S 16-35 f/4G ED, Nikon AF-S 70-200mm F/2.8G ED VRll, Nikon AF-S 80-400mm F4.5-5.6 G ED VRlll, Nikon AF-S 105mm Micro f/2.8 if-ED, SB-600, SB-910, Nikon T14E teleconverter, Benro tripod.
    My flickr
    My 500px store

metallion58 is offline We Are Stardust

Quote Originally Posted by Bruce A View Post
    Well, the D90 is a fine camera. The D5100 has the movable LCD screen which can come in handy once in a while, but it's also prone to snapping if not handled carefully (keep kids away from it). Also I think the D90 will allow a wider range of lens (those with and without focussing motor). I believe the D5100 has no internal focus drive.
    +1 on what he says. I had the same decision to make a while back and opted for the D90 because half of my lenses wouldn't autofocus on the D5100.
    I must say that I'm very happy with my choice. The D90 is a great camera.
    Marc B. equipped with:
    Nikon D50 and D90, Nikkor 18-55, Nikkor 70-300, Nikkor 55-200VR, Nikkor 50 1.8, SB700 (2), Vivitar 4000 and a bunch of knick-knacks.
    Still learning...