Close
Close
Page 1 of 4 123 ... Last
    bridgesro is offline I'm new here!

Default D5100 keeps saying I have no SD card inserted?

I just recently bought my first DSLR camera; a Nikon D5100. Let the battery charge while I was at work, and I just got home and started messing around with it.

I've never used a DSLR before, so maybe I'm doing something wrong, but the camera keeps saying there's no SD card inserted. I have an 8GB SD card in it, and if I pop it out and back in, it'll recognize it. But after I take one or two pictures, it stops and says that I have no SD card again.

Is this a common problem? Am I doing something wrong, or is my camera messed up?

OsmosisStudios is offline Don't Panic

Send it to NIkon: the memory card slot unit needs to be replaced. This will be covered under warranty.

It's a rare but still occasional issue with any camera.
    I am responsible for what I say; not what you understand.
    adammontpetit.com
    Gear List
    500PX | Graphic Design

Ah, solved it. It was (thankfully) the SD card, not the camera. I switched to my backup 2GB, and it worked fine with no problems. Not sure what's wrong with the 8GB, since it works fine in my S8100, but I ordered a 32GB to replace it and hold more photos.

Madog is offline Mike

Did you try formatting the card in your new camera?
    Also what brands of cards are you using?

DelCan is offline dPS Forum Member

Did you get it off of ebay? You really gotta be careful on there. I speak from experience....

Quote Originally Posted by bridgesro View Post
    Ah, solved it. It was (thankfully) the SD card, not the camera. I switched to my backup 2GB, and it worked fine with no problems. Not sure what's wrong with the 8GB, since it works fine in my S8100, but I ordered a 32GB to replace it and hold more photos.
    I'd assumed you'd done that already. Silly me.

DON'T get a 32GB card. That's a LOT of eggs in one basket. I vastly prefer 4GB cards.
    adammontpetit.com
    Gear List