Close
Close
Page 1 of 2 12 Last
    EdBickfordCPA is offline I'm new here!

Default Nikon D90 vs D5100

I had been planning on buying the D90 body as an upgrade from the D60 I currently have. Now that the D5100 has been announced I'm not sure hwich way to go. What do you think? I'm not a beginner, but not a pro either, sort of in the middle.

Almond.Butterscotch is offline I love me some Purple.

The D5100 is going to be more of a sideways step from your D60- new imaging sensor and processor and all, but the same ergonomics. No built-in screw motor, top LCD, etc. If those things didn't bother you with the D60 and you really want the swivel screen then the D5100 is the way to go. (It also has a newer sensor/processor than the D90 which had the same internals as the D5000).

OsmosisStudios is offline Don't Panic

Agreed. The "upgrade" would actually be the D7000
    I am responsible for what I say; not what you understand.
    adammontpetit.com
    Gear List
    500PX | Graphic Design

Footski is offline dPS Forum Member

I agree with the others. Go for the D90 or if your budget will stretch that far the D7000
    Nikon D7000 with 50mm f1.8 prime and 18-1055mm VR with 55-200 mm Nikkor Zoom len's

mike84 is offline I'm new here!

I'm agree with you too!. This cam have good quality have a menu with a good number of options but keeping the simplicity and also have good lens.

At least that is the opinions of some friends of mine, you could read it with more details here.

candleman is offline Bad at explaining

a D90 is CERTAINLY an upgrade to a little old D60
    you should get a D90 pretty cheap now that the D7000 is around.

I would NOT consider a D5100
    it doesn't have built in CLS,
    lacks the dual control dials,
    does not support HighSpeedSync, (so you're limited to 1/200th with flash photography)
    does not have a built in focus motor like the D90 does., the menu based system of changing settings is painfully slow.