Close
Close
    rohan_iiitc is offline dPS Forum Member

Post SLR Lens for Dummies

Hello pbotographers

I have been doing photography for last 2 yrs with my P&S. but now I want to but a DLSR. Please suggest me some good DSLR with good set of lens.

My stream of photography is :
    - Landscape & Wildlife
    - Street , Black & White photography

So I am looking for a better entry level DSLR. I came across nikon D5000. I went through various blogs. But still I have few Questions which are mentioned below:

1) What are FX and DX lenses ?
    2) What is the difference between AF-S & AF ?

3) Please can you tel me how what does a lens model
    ie: AF-S VR Zoom-NIKKOR 70-300mm f/4.5-5.6G IF-ED identifies
    What are their functions?
    AF-S: Autofocus Motor in lens
    ED: great glass inside
    IF: internal focus
    VR: Vibration reduction

4) How do i understand about lenses. Like different set of lenses for Macro, Tele, wide angle etc. SO by looking at what I can make out that its a macro or tele.

Looking forwards for some advice and answers on my Questions.

Thanks
    Rohan
    Nikon D7000 | Nikkor 35mm | Nikkor 70-300mm | Slik F740 Tripod | Nissin Di622 Mark II |

My Website | Flickr
    Rohan's Photo Journal

LoveDSLR is offline dPS +1000 Club

inkista is offline Gear Geek Girl

Quote Originally Posted by rohan_iiitc View Post
    1) What are FX and DX lenses ?
    Lenses for full frame and crop bodies, respectively.

2) What is the difference between AF-S & AF ?
    AF-S lenses have a silent wave motor. They autofocus quietly and quickly. AF lenses do not have a motor, but can autofocus if the body has an AF motor. The D5000 doesn't.

3) Please can you tel me how what does a lens model
    ie: AF-S VR Zoom-NIKKOR 70-300mm f/4.5-5.6G IF-ED identifies
    What are their functions?
    AF-S: Autofocus Motor in lens
    ED: great glass inside
    IF: internal focus
    VR: Vibration reduction