Close
Close
    A1_VISION is offline I'm new here!

Default Need Help with lighting

Hey everyone I really need help on using these new mono lights i have brought. There are the Impact 2 mono light kits 100 watts each light, Today was my first time in the studio and i was excited to try these out. But i was a little confused since this is my first time using it and also i am new to studio lighting. When i take a photo there is no light added to it, and i have my pop up flash up since it triggers both of them. But i'm not sure if its on full power or not, It still looks dark on the photos, How can i get a better understanding on these lights and also want to get more experience on studio lighting. I am asking the experts for help so please no negativity all positive (: .

Thanks
    Bryan Nunez

RichardTaylor is online now dPS +1000 Club

What exposure/camera settings are you using?

cdmicha is online now i shoot people

If they are triggered by flash, and your camera is shooting on auto flash, it might be firing with the preflash instead of the exposure flash.

As well as the exposure/camera settings Richard mentions, can you verify that they are popping with your flash? Also, what camera are you using?
    Chris
    6D/70D/EM5

rspears is offline The Wedding Guy

I'm not sure I'd use your pop-up flash to trigger the studio lights. When I've tried that, you get unpredictable results because your camera will pre-fire the pop-up to measure exposure, and it will throw your exposure off. If you have a speedlight you can put on your camera, set it to manual (not TTL) and aim the light backwards so it just triggers your studio lights, you should get a better result. If you are going to be using studio lights in the future, it's a good idea to make the investment for some wireless triggers. I use Cybersync by Paul C. Buff, and I have a Yongnuo set of triggers as my backup. I got the Yongnuo triggers (set of 3) for about $30 and they work surprisingly well.