Close
Close
Page 1 of 2 12 Last
    Mattrichards is offline I'm new here!

Default Product Photography Advice

Hi all.

I have been shooting for about a year and a half now. I own a a Canon 60D with a Tamron 17-50 f/2.8, a 430EXII speedlite and an Interfit 32-inch 5-In-1 Reflector.

I have recently started a job as a product photographer for a small furniture company in my town but I'm having some negative feedback on the quality of my images from my boss as of late. I have only been working with the company for about 3 weeks but I feel like I should be producing consistent quality work by now but I'm just not there yet. I have no formal education in photography, I am purely self taught.

At the moment I am working with two Lastolite rayd8 heads with a tungsten bulb plus reflectors, usually facing towards the items, a standard white backdrop and my 430EXII on camera I usually bounce this off a reflector or the ceiling. The problem that I'm having is background lighting. The lastolites are not powerful enough to light the white sheet, so I often end up with shots that are supposed to have a white background but instead are nowhere near. Is there any body who works in the field that could give me some tips?
    There is only you and your camera. The limitations in your photography are in yourself, for what we see is what we are.

zona5101 is offline Molon Labe

Use your 430 to light the BG. (You'll need a way to trigger it and probably a short stand and hot shoe mount).
    Use the RayD8s to light the product and the reflector to add any needed fill.
    Use a tripod as your main lights don't put out a lot of power so your shutter speed will need to be slow enough to get you decent depth of field.

mottyboy is offline Banned

Have you calibrated your camera with a grey colour card in the same lighting conditions

idcanyon is offline dPS Forum Member