Close
Close
    despairbear is offline I'm new here!

Default Colour Temperature

I am new to digital photography and want to get by with what I have if possible. I have a constant light source comprising 2x 400watt tungsten/ halogen lamps each with a colour temp of 3000K.They are R7S lamps. Does this mean that the colour temp is 6000K or still 3000K please ? I have already used them bouncing off an umbrella with very acceptable results ( by my beginners standards )
    Second question is will it be better to use a bounce technique or shoot through ?

autofocus is online now I'm old here...

Doubling the number of units doesn't change the temperature...still 3000
    Vince "...the law of unintended consequences, sometimes, you get a truly memorable photograph"
    Gear: Canon G2, Canon 20D, Nikon D300...bunch of lenses
    My Flickr
    www.montalbanophotography.com

Default Colour Temp

Thanks Autofocus-just my luck ! anything on the Bounce or Shoot through please ?

autofocus is online now I'm old here...

Quote Originally Posted by despairbear View Post
    Thanks Autofocus-just my luck ! anything on the Bounce or Shoot through please ?
    Can't really say which is better..it really depends on the quantity, quality, and the characteristic of the light you are going for. So, no real right or wrong
    Vince "...the law of unintended consequences, sometimes, you get a truly memorable photograph"
    Gear: Canon G2, Canon 20D, Nikon D300...bunch of lenses
    My Flickr
    www.montalbanophotography.com

Elmo is offline Almost as Old as Dirt

Color temperature equals color of light. So if you bounce the light it picks up some of the color of the surface reflected off of. Same for shoot through except it picks even more of the objects color.

Elmo is offline Almost as Old as Dirt

I might also add changing voltage to lamp changes color temp. So normal power line variances change the color temp.

Default Colour Temp