Close
Close
Page 1 of 3 123 Last

Thread: Landscape gear

a_drummer is offline I'm new here!

Default Landscape gear

OK, I'm new here so I'm not sure this is in the right place, but bear with me.

I'm a completely amateur photographer; I know most of the theory, but I haven't had much practice, so I don't really know equipment I need.

At the moment I have:

Canon EOS 400D
    Canon EFS 18-55mm (kit lens)
    Canon EFS 55-250mm IS
    Sigma 10-20mm EX DC (1:4-5.6 if that makes a difference)
    A selection of Cokin filters I inherited from my parents (A 102 +2, a split frame, champagne, A 198, A 127 and an A 160 POLA)
    HOYA Skylight
    HOYA UV(C)

I am planning on getting the Lee digital starter kit soon.

What would you recommend I get on top of this?

PS. The filters don't fit my Sigma lens.

RichardTaylor is offline dPS +1000 Club

(1) A good tripod with a ball head.

(2) Remote release for your camera.

Nicole is offline Dr. Super Moderator

I'd recommend a Grad ND (or two) and an ND filter (or two). You might want more than one strength (or you might be happy combining filters)... but it looks like that Lee digital starter kit will get you just that. And I'd definitely make sure that they fit your 10-20mm. I used a Cokin P-Series wide angle holder for a while, but I wanted to hold more filters, and now I use a regular P-Series holder, but I have to zoom to about 12mm to avoid vignetting.

So I'd say the only things which you may or may not be missing are: (1) a tripod, and (2) a remote. That will make sure you're set for any long exposures.

Edit: D'oh, I'm slow tonight.
    Nikon D600 | D90 | Sony NEX-3
    Nikkor 24-70 f/2.8 | Nikkor 70-300 | Lensbaby 2.0 | Nikkor 85 f/1.8D | Nikkor 105 f/2.8 VR | Sigma 10-20 f/4-5.6 | Nikkor 10.5 f/2.8 Fisheye | Sony 16 f/2.8 | Sony 18-55 | 2xSB600 | Orbis Ring Flash Adapter
    My Flickr