Close
Close
    teri2512 is offline I'm new here!

Default My 1st attempt...pointers please

I'm a newbie here. After owning the Panansonic FZ45 for about 3 years I have finally attempted to learn about apperture etc my low light shots have alawys been terrible but I think I'm geting there, any suggestions on how to further improve my photo would be appreciated. Thanks
    Attached Images Attached Images

It looks like you've already noticed how deep and rich some of the hues can be in low-light photography. You're also getting strong silhouttes (which is normal and even "good"). My (only?) pointer for now is not technical or camera related, but about composition.

The silhouetted lines are all reduced to two dimensions. What you see with your eyes is in 3-D and you can see the distance between the tree branches overhead and the trees on the opposite bank. However, the camera can't. Your silhouettes are getting all jumbled up with each other. Keep the lines simpler and (continue to) make sure that each shape is recognizable.
    Dave.
    It's not even about the pictures; it's about the memories and communication.

Thanks for replying Dave, great advice ! I admit my choice of location could have been better. I will do better next time

windrider86 is offline Super Moderator

You mentioned your aperture setting but didnt post it for us. Can you tell us what you exif settings were?

Erm I didn't pay attention to what I was setting at the time so have just looked back and my camera is telling me it was f5.6 iso 400 and 8 (I'm assuming that's the shutter speed ?) exposure was +3. I really am just learning as I go.Practice makes perfect eh ?

Krusty79 is online now You kids get off my lawn!