Close
Close

Thread: LakeCity

Avijeet is offline I'm new here!

Red face LakeCity

I am very new to photography and got my hands on D5100 just 2 weeks back.
    This is in my town Raipur (India)

I shot this one evening recently. I wanted the small vehicle trails so exposed it for long. But had no tripod so took it somehow keeping the camera on a bag that too on a bike.

How could I have made the shot better? Please suggest..

Exif- f/10 10s ISO100 (focal length 40mm)
    ----------------------------------------------------------
    Nikon D5100 18-55mmVR
    ----------------------------------------------------------
    Nikon D5100 . just started....

paiges is offline rockstar

The horizon should be level.
    Paige

"Those who don't believe in magic will never find it." ~Roald Dahl

My flickr

navcom is offline Out staring at the sun

Hi and welcome!

The exposure looks fairly decent but a tripod would definitely have helped. For long exposures it's a necessity. And Paiges is right...the horizon is very crooked. Easy to fix in post processing though.

I think what you need to do most to improve shots like this is think more about the composition versus just capturing a picture. Placement of elements in a scene like this is critical.

A couple books I would recommend to learn more about landscape composition and how to "think" like a photographer...

Developing Vision and Style by Charlie Waite
    Mastering Photographic Composition by Alain Briot
    Visual Flow by Ian Plant

Hope that helps!

Jeff
    Landscapes and Light Painting, Nikon and Pentax equipment
    Eagle Vista Studio - Light Painting - Getting Started With Sunrise Photography
    "Anybody can make the simple complicated. Creativity is making the complicated simple." Charlie Mingus

Darren C is offline Used to be shruggy63

Well done with the makeshift 'bikepod'! Whilst ideally the horizon should be level, I'm wondering if a clockwise rotation to level it may make the buildings slant?