Go Back   Digital Photography School - Photography Forums > General Discussion > General Chit Chat


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 01-09-2010, 08:35 AM
Japaslavian's Avatar
dPS Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: San Francisco
Posts: 660
Default I heard you're not a real photographer until...

...some random website takes one of your photos for a "Photoshop this picture" thread without permission!
FARK.com: (4899882) Photoshop this dock on the bay

Of course I e-mailed them to remove it, or at least credit me, and heard nothing back...

Just saying...


Though the thread is sort've amusing...
__________________
7 d | g l a s s | n e u t r a l d e n s i t y | l i g h t | p e r c e p t i o n

Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 01-09-2010, 09:33 AM
dPS Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Stillwater, OK
Posts: 348
Default

I really don't know what to think! First off... yeah, it sucks that they would do that, and if you ask and they don't take it down... I'd be thinking legal options... if you really want it down. Second off... its actually sort of a twisted honor... they thought your shot was pretty darned good! Third... some of those pictures are absolutely hilarious.

You take your pick.
__________________
KT
So here I stand on shaky ground and I’m reaching out.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 01-09-2010, 10:32 AM
Japaslavian's Avatar
dPS Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: San Francisco
Posts: 660
Default

There's really no harm being done, so I really won't waste my time with it, it's just a little annoying.
I found it pretty funny that someone wanted to print out one of them, so the 'creator' apparently e-mailed them a "larger and... better quality" version.
Not quite sure how they're going to get a good print from a 600x600/72dpi image, but they can feel free to try.

That being said, I thought this one was pretty hilarious:
http://homepage.mac.com/dclayto/.Pic...ay_in_dock.jpg
__________________
7 d | g l a s s | n e u t r a l d e n s i t y | l i g h t | p e r c e p t i o n

Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 01-09-2010, 12:18 PM
gnownad's Avatar
dPS Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 183
Default

Lol, that's cheeky! But kudos to you I guess!

*edit*: I just had a look through that site, and there are pretty funny 'shops!! I like the Tornado one! But then again I like planes, so a bit biased there.
__________________
Check out my Flickr!

Nikon D5000 "Mathilda"
AF-s Nikkor 24-70mm F2.8G ED, AF-s Nikkor 35mm f1.8G, AF-s Nikkor 50mm f1.4G

Last edited by gnownad; 01-09-2010 at 12:21 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 01-09-2010, 02:08 PM
OsmosisStudios's Avatar
Don't Panic
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Mississauga / Ottawa
Posts: 11,358
Default

You kept your cool: I'd have lost it.

Do you have a link to the actual flickr page (because what Fark is doing goes against the TOS)
__________________
I am responsible for what I say; not what you understand.
OsmosisStudios
Gear List
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 01-09-2010, 04:00 PM
douglas's Avatar
dPS +1000 Club
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: ontario canada
Posts: 1,962
Default

It is hard to prevent things like this...but at least they could have acknowledged the source.
__________________
Douglas
Sites flickr

Sony DSC-p72 and Olympus E410
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 01-09-2010, 04:43 PM
Digidave's Avatar
Class Clown
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Beaver Dam,Wisconsin
Posts: 3,318
Default

First off, let me say that some of those are pretty cool!! Secondly, if you click on the Flickr emblem towards the top, all it does is open the picture in a new window/tab. It does not link back to your account. I'm not sure why they would do that. Seems to me that it would be pretty simple just to link back to your account to keep within the rules that Flickr has set up.

Going back to check it out a little closer. I'm kind of partial the one that's NSFW.
__________________
MY GEAR

Flickriver

I turned out to be the only hell my Momma ever raised.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old 01-09-2010, 04:53 PM
BabetteKD's Avatar
dPS +1000 Club
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 1,072
Default

It's Fark. Sites like Fark, Break and some others just grab images without permission. It's just one of the dangers of putting stuff on the internet.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old 01-11-2010, 09:01 PM
hibou's Avatar
dPS Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 222
Default

Good times on the internet. One of my photos got on failblog once, except that it was photoshopped to be wrong first. The entry was promptly deleted when I pointed this out.
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old 01-11-2010, 09:48 PM
Jim Bryant's Avatar
Stoned Cold Crazy
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: WA
Posts: 8,100
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Japaslavian View Post
...some random website takes one of your photos for a "Photoshop this picture" thread without permission!
FARK.com: (4899882) Photoshop this dock on the bay

Of course I e-mailed them to remove it, or at least credit me, and heard nothing back...

Just saying...


Though the thread is sort've amusing...
I'd send them a bill!!!!!!!! One bill for each photo they screwed with.
__________________
url:www.jimbryantphotography.com
http://pa.photoshelter.com/c/jimbryant
http://jimbryantphotography.blogspot.com/
(3) EOS1D MKIIs', (1) EOS1Ds MKII, 14mmf2.8, 16-35mmf2.8, 28-70mmf2.8, 70-200mm f2.8, 300mm f2.8 and a 400mmf2.8.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2012, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.

What’s Your Preference?

Daily Digest

Each day we send out a quick email to thousands of DPS readers to notify them of updates. This email is just short excerpt of the first few lines of our latest post with a link if you want to read it all. You can unsubscribe from this this service at any time.

This service is provided by a third party (Feedburner) and you can subscribe to it by leaving your email address in the following field and confirming your subscription when you get an email asking you to do so.

Enter your email address for
Daily Updates:

Weekly Summary

For those wanting a weekly summary of what happens on this site this free email newsletter is probably your best option. It includes a summary of the tips posted to the site each week. This newsletter is subscribed to by over 25000 readers (many who also subscribe to the other options above) - come join the community!

To subscribe to this weekly newsletter simply add your email address to the following field and then follow the confirmation prompts. You will be able to unsubscribe at any time.

Enter your email address for
Free Weekly Newsletter:

 
SEO by vBSEO 3.3.0