#1 (permalink)  
Old 11-23-2009, 12:45 PM
I'm new here!
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 11
Default Rolandtrade online shop?

Hi i am Peter from Slovenia and i want to buy a camera online, so i am looking for best prices and i came across this site...

ROLANDTRADE

It says its brand new shop, but the prices are crazy low.... and nobody yet knows if this is true or not...

Any opinions about this or any suggestions about shop with lowest prices on cameras?

TY.
__________________
my photo blog
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 11-23-2009, 01:14 PM
wulf's Avatar
Ninja Moderator
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Oxford, UK
Posts: 9,830
Default

If it appears to be a new shop with crazy-low prices, it probably falls into the "if it sounds too good to be true, it probably is..." category. They might be legit but, if saving money is so vital, it is probably wiser not to risk it on the chance that they are a dodgy operation.

Wulf
__________________
Wulf Forrester-Barker << Sites: blog / flickr >>
Gear: Nikon D40, Nikon AFS 18-55mm f/3.5 - 5.6G, Nikon Series E 50mm f/1.8, Nikon AF 70-300mm f/4-5.6G, Vivitar 90mm f/2.5 macro, Raynox DCR-250, Lensbaby 2.0k, SB600
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 11-23-2009, 01:55 PM
sk66's Avatar
Lovable Contrarian
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Harrisburg, PA
Posts: 6,741
Exclamation Don't do it!

There's going to be a bunch of these "new online shops" popping up. They are mostly scams. A popular rouse is for thier Paypal/Credit Card checkout to be "broken" and they tell you you'll have to send a check or moneyorder in order to get these "great introductory prices".
__________________
Steve
the Photographic Academy.com
My Portfolio, My Flickr, My Blog
D4, D7000, G10, 1030SW and a bunch of other stuff....
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 11-23-2009, 07:43 PM
Quo Fan's Avatar
WARNING: Sarcasm likely
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Southington, CT
Posts: 1,168
Default

Read their "About Us" page, and even though they say they have offices in the UK, the verbage reads like poorly translated Chinese. This would be a HUGE red flag for me.
__________________
OK to edit and re-post in DPS forum only.
flickr
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 12-09-2009, 07:38 PM
AnnaV's Avatar
dPS Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 493
Default

Have a look at this thread about them Rolandtrade: safe or fraud? - Talk Photography
__________________
Anna : snap-happy
D40, 18-55mm kit lens, Sigma 50-150mm f2.8, SB600 flash, some cheap lighting gear


flickr "Your first 10,000 photographs are your worst" - Henri Cartier-Bresson

*it's fine to edit and post my photos in DPS only*
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2012, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.

What’s Your Preference?

Daily Digest

Each day we send out a quick email to thousands of DPS readers to notify them of updates. This email is just short excerpt of the first few lines of our latest post with a link if you want to read it all. You can unsubscribe from this this service at any time.

This service is provided by a third party (Feedburner) and you can subscribe to it by leaving your email address in the following field and confirming your subscription when you get an email asking you to do so.

Enter your email address for
Daily Updates:

Weekly Summary

For those wanting a weekly summary of what happens on this site this free email newsletter is probably your best option. It includes a summary of the tips posted to the site each week. This newsletter is subscribed to by over 25000 readers (many who also subscribe to the other options above) - come join the community!

To subscribe to this weekly newsletter simply add your email address to the following field and then follow the confirmation prompts. You will be able to unsubscribe at any time.

Enter your email address for
Free Weekly Newsletter:

 
SEO by vBSEO 3.3.0