#1 (permalink)  
Old 10-26-2009, 06:26 PM
cherrygirl's Avatar
Loves the moderation team!
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: San Antonio, Texas
Posts: 378
Default Bad decision

A friend of mine tested my Canon 50d and loved it. He was very anxious to purchased one and ended up buying a new Canon 50d, along with several lens, filters, tripod, backpack and some other accessories for like $1,400 off Ebay. I tried to tell him not to that he may not get the quality items he thinks he is getting. They even talked him into "upgrading" to digital lenses, which he did.

I"m not one to buy items like that online, I'm one that needs to see it, touch it etc.

Do you guys think he just wasted $1,400? I sure do! Has anyone purchased camera "kits" like this? I'm sure it is too late for him to change his mind but I was just curious what yall thought.

Thanks!
__________________
************************
Cherrygirl
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 10-26-2009, 06:46 PM
WooD's Avatar
Critique Moderator
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: St. Augustine, FL
Posts: 3,776
Default

I've seen a lot of those ebay deals. All the stuff they add to the kits are usually junk, and I've heard some of the cameras are refurbished.
__________________
My Gear


http://www.kevinfair.com
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 10-26-2009, 06:49 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Dallas, TX
Posts: 171
Default

I don't think it's waste of money. It is more risky depending on how established the seller is and whether manufacturer's warranty applies. If he is using a credit card and the products are defective, he can always back out of the deal.

I buy all my gear online and reputable stores like B&H and Adorama, it's cheaper and more reliable than local stores - in my view.I have a friend that buys a lot of his equipment from craigslist locally - he's always had a positive experience, even with expensive items.
__________________
OlgaBe
Canon 5D, Canon Xsi, 24-70mm f4, 100mm f2.8, 50mm f1.4, 100-300mm f4-5.6, 580 EX II, 430 EX II. And a LensBaby!!
http://www.ollophotography.com/
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 10-26-2009, 07:19 PM
milosh's Avatar
A photo opportunist..
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Bosnia & Herzegovina
Posts: 1,515
Default

I don't think it is necessarily a waste of money, depends like Olgabe said on sellers reputation and warranty. Usually the main items in those deals are ok, but all the other accessories they put in are junk. And the main items are those that count. I've had many positive experiences with eBay.
__________________
Nikon D60 + Nikkor 18-105mm f/3.5-5.6 DX + Nikkor 35mm f/1.8 DX + Tamron AdaptAll 80-210mm f/3.8 Macro

Flickr
Webshots
500px
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 10-26-2009, 07:26 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 77
Default

I bought my Canon 20D in a "kit" off ebay and most of it was good stuff - some was junk. I purchased my Canon 50D and other lens from B&H - by purchasing on-line I saved a few hundred in sales tax.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 10-26-2009, 07:56 PM
cherrygirl's Avatar
Loves the moderation team!
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: San Antonio, Texas
Posts: 378
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by olgabe View Post
I don't think it's waste of money. It is more risky depending on how established the seller is and whether manufacturer's warranty applies. If he is using a credit card and the products are defective, he can always back out of the deal.

I buy all my gear online and reputable stores like B&H and Adorama, it's cheaper and more reliable than local stores - in my view.I have a friend that buys a lot of his equipment from craigslist locally - he's always had a positive experience, even with expensive items.
I have heard great things about B&H and Adorama. I would consider buying from them but I admit I am more skeptical about craigslist and other similar sites.

Thanks for all the input!
__________________
************************
Cherrygirl
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 10-27-2009, 12:32 AM
disappearingmist's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Homer, Alaska
Posts: 81
Default

It's a gamble for sure. I bought my camera body off of ebay and it has been fine. Those kits look very sketchy to me, though. Hopefully, he will end up with a good camera body and maybe a couple decent lenses. Everything else may be junk.
__________________
Website | Blog | Flickr | DeviantArt | Facebook | Twitter
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old 11-04-2009, 06:37 PM
cherrygirl's Avatar
Loves the moderation team!
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: San Antonio, Texas
Posts: 378
Default

You guys were right! The camera body looks new and compared to mine seems to be identical.....the lenses however, except for the Tamron zoom were crap!! They were the kind that screw on to your other lenses...weird! He did get a nice backpack though!
__________________
************************
Cherrygirl
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old 11-05-2009, 11:45 AM
Loves the moderation team!
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: North Somerset, UK
Posts: 738
Default

I got my Speedlite 580 EXII from an Ebay seller, for £120 less than the standard UK retail price, and it was absolutely spot on - brand new, boxed, wrapped, etc, and delivered free and very quickly (ordered on Friday, delivered on Monday). I've not been ripped-off on Ebay yet, although I tend to only buy from sellers with high positive feedback figures (and I check through any negative ones to see what kind of thing they relate to/complain about first).

Russ.
__________________
I shoot Canon, and use Elinchrom lights.
My Flickr Page - feel free to leave comments
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old 11-05-2009, 03:43 PM
PowerPix's Avatar
Maverick
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 1,589
Default

We've bought from eBay before (not electronics, though. Got camera from B&H). We do NOT purchase anything from a seller with less than 100% positive feedback. UNLESS, the negative feedback is something petty and not something we would worry about. Most of the time camera packages like the one you mention are ripoffs. Most of them come from "chop shops" where they take all the good brand name stuff (like Canon batteries) and replace them with cheaper goods that break. I have heard horror stories about packages like this and the companies that sell them. You must (or anyone purchasing) beware that the majority of these cameras are NOT AMERICAN MODELS, they are imported from third world countries. SCAM!!!! Refurbed, replicate, etc. Do not buy packages that promises 1000 goodies for an all low price (Even lower than you could just purchase the BODY!!!). I say stay away from these things. Period.
__________________
Canon 50D: Sigma 10-20mm f/4-5.6 EX DC HSM , Canon EF-S 18-55mm f/3.5-5.6 IS, Photoshop CS5


Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2012, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.

What’s Your Preference?

Daily Digest

Each day we send out a quick email to thousands of DPS readers to notify them of updates. This email is just short excerpt of the first few lines of our latest post with a link if you want to read it all. You can unsubscribe from this this service at any time.

This service is provided by a third party (Feedburner) and you can subscribe to it by leaving your email address in the following field and confirming your subscription when you get an email asking you to do so.

Enter your email address for
Daily Updates:

Weekly Summary

For those wanting a weekly summary of what happens on this site this free email newsletter is probably your best option. It includes a summary of the tips posted to the site each week. This newsletter is subscribed to by over 25000 readers (many who also subscribe to the other options above) - come join the community!

To subscribe to this weekly newsletter simply add your email address to the following field and then follow the confirmation prompts. You will be able to unsubscribe at any time.

Enter your email address for
Free Weekly Newsletter:

 
SEO by vBSEO 3.3.0