Go Back   Digital Photography School - Photography Forums > General Discussion > General Chit Chat


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 07-30-2009, 07:53 PM
katia's Avatar
dPS Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Canada!
Posts: 572
Default anyone heard of the "boulevard of photographers?"

i got an email from Boulevard of Photographers saying that one of my photos was going to be featured in a Best of 2009 Photography anthology. I am to reply saying i allow or deny permission, and i have the option to order a copy of it for myself for $69. They don't accept paypal, only credit cards. I don't particularly remember entering this photo anywhere on this website, but i did go around looking for photo contests, etc. and Boulevard of Photographers sticks out in my mind somewhere, but i don't remember weather i actually submitted it or not. Could it be that they got my name and photo from somewhere else on the web?

is this a scam to get my $69? i'm certainly not going to buy the athology, but i would give permission to publish my photo, IF i knew this was legit. anyone else ever heard of Boulevad of Photographers?
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 07-30-2009, 08:14 PM
m.c.adams's Avatar
Super Secret Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: O'Fallon, MO
Posts: 1,178
Default

I hate to throw a wet blanket on things, but it sounds alot like a scam to me.
Mark
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 07-30-2009, 08:16 PM
beatles2's Avatar
dPS +1000 Club
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Airdrie, Canada
Posts: 2,937
Default

I know of a few others that do the same. Seams very cool at first but it's just a way to get you part with your money.
__________________
[http://www.flickr.com/photos/paullacroix/ Life is what happens while you are busy making other plans

http://www.lacroixphoto.net/
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 07-30-2009, 08:21 PM
I'm new here!
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 3
Default

www.boulevardofphotographers.com

Here is their web site.
JimmyJames
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 07-30-2009, 08:45 PM
Murtasma's Avatar
Critique Moderator
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Ann Arbor, MI
Posts: 4,162
Default

I remember something like this in the past, they wanted you to purchase a book to have your photo put in it. Needless to say nobody got a book but they lost some money in the process.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 07-30-2009, 08:56 PM
katia's Avatar
dPS Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Canada!
Posts: 572
Default

thanks guys, i definitely figured as much. i emailed them to find out how they got my photo. i was just wondering if anyone else has had something similar happen to them
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 07-31-2009, 06:31 AM
elvenprincessjo's Avatar
dPS Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Grafton, OH
Posts: 125
Default

Looking at the website, it seems like half the links don't work, such as the "About" page and the "Testimonials" page. Also, there is no copyright anywhere on the site... These are only a couple of things I remember from sometime in high school where we learned about scam websites and such. My English teacher would be proud... Anyways, I wouldn't trust them.
__________________
I have no special talents, I am only passionately curious.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old 07-31-2009, 07:16 AM
kencaleno's Avatar
dPS +1000 Club
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: New Zealand
Posts: 2,189
Default

A very similar one is "Photo Laureates"- where they ask you to enter a photo competition,tell you yours has been chosen to be printed in a special edition book,then ask you to buy the book. Ken
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old 07-31-2009, 07:52 AM
wulf's Avatar
Ninja Moderator
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Oxford, UK
Posts: 9,830
Default

I think there are places where you can get a whole book of your own photos printed for less than $69. If they run off with the money and never send the books, it's an illegal hustle but, even if they diligently provide the promised books while respecting copyright, they stand to make a fair amount of cash.

I don't think I'd reply. Without a positive statement of permission, they can't use your image without breaking your copyright.

Wulf
__________________
Wulf Forrester-Barker << Sites: blog / flickr >>
Gear: Nikon D40, Nikon AFS 18-55mm f/3.5 - 5.6G, Nikon Series E 50mm f/1.8, Nikon AF 70-300mm f/4-5.6G, Vivitar 90mm f/2.5 macro, Raynox DCR-250, Lensbaby 2.0k, SB600
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old 07-31-2009, 07:53 AM
vsa's Avatar
vsa vsa is offline
Mebmer
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Tampere, Finland
Posts: 500
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by elvenprincessjo View Post
Looking at the website, it seems like half the links don't work, such as the "About" page and the "Testimonials" page. Also, there is no copyright anywhere on the site... These are only a couple of things I remember from sometime in high school where we learned about scam websites and such. My English teacher would be proud... Anyways, I wouldn't trust them.
About and Testimonials pages work just fine for me at this moment. And websites don't have to have any copyright notice just like photos. But yea the site looks a bit dodgy.

And mighty weird that they don't accept PayPal since it says "Copy us refer@boulevardofphotographers.com on your email sent to 25 friends to invite them to the contest and we will send $4 to your Paypal account or deduct $8 from your order." in the Photo Winners page.
__________________
flickr | deviantArt | personal website
Me: a photographer, a designer, a geek and awesome.
Gear: Ohh a link?
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2012, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.

What’s Your Preference?

Daily Digest

Each day we send out a quick email to thousands of DPS readers to notify them of updates. This email is just short excerpt of the first few lines of our latest post with a link if you want to read it all. You can unsubscribe from this this service at any time.

This service is provided by a third party (Feedburner) and you can subscribe to it by leaving your email address in the following field and confirming your subscription when you get an email asking you to do so.

Enter your email address for
Daily Updates:

Weekly Summary

For those wanting a weekly summary of what happens on this site this free email newsletter is probably your best option. It includes a summary of the tips posted to the site each week. This newsletter is subscribed to by over 25000 readers (many who also subscribe to the other options above) - come join the community!

To subscribe to this weekly newsletter simply add your email address to the following field and then follow the confirmation prompts. You will be able to unsubscribe at any time.

Enter your email address for
Free Weekly Newsletter:

 
SEO by vBSEO 3.3.0