Close
Close
    jsl
    jsl is offline I'm new here!

Default Difference between zoom, macro, and telephoto lens

Hiya all,

I'm fairly new to DSLR photography and was wondering whether someone can help me with this seemingly basic question. I think some of the categories overlap but I keep getting different advice/comments. Basically, what is the difference between zoom lenses, macro lenses, and telephoto lenses?

Is say a telephoto lens the same thing as a zoom lens? Are some telephoto lenses, macro lenses? Are all telephoto lenses, macro lenses?

A comprehensive clarification would be really helpful if that wouldn't be too much trouble.

Thank you all!
    I would hugely appreciate your comments on my pictures: http://www.flickr.com/photos/scott-lee/
    Body: Canon EOS 450D (Rebel XSi)
    Lenses: Canon EF 50mm f/1.8 II; Canon EF-S 17-85mm f/4.0-5.6 IS USM

inkista is offline Gear Geek Girl

A zoom lens is simply a lens with a variable focal length. It simply distinguishes it from prime lenses, which have fixed focal lengths.

Prime lenses are an older, simpler technical design, and primes are often smaller, sharper, and cheaper than their zoom counterparts. They also have the largest maximum apertures. A prime with a maximum aperture that's f/2.8 or larger (smaller f-number) is also known as a "fast" prime, because the large max. aperture allows for faster shutter speeds.

The categories by focal length (smallest to largest) are:
    ultrawide (~10-20mm)
    wide angle (~17-35mm)
    normal or standard (~30-50mm, depending on crop factor of sensor)
    telephoto (~70-300mm)
    supertelephoto (~>300mm).

Obviously, the crop factor of the camera has some determination on whether a lens is wide angle or normal, or normal vs. short telephoto, but these are the general definitions.