Close
Close
Page 1 of 3 123 Last
    DannyF1966 is offline dPS Forum Member

Question Does a RAW file *have* to be processed?

Hi,

I'm pretty new to this photography lark and have been shooting in RAW almost since day one, since everyone says you have so much more opportunity to alter the photograph afterwards than with a jpeg.

My question is, though, do you *have* to post-process a RAW picture? Maybe it's because I'm so new to all this that I'm not seeing the full potential of my photographs, but when I look at it on the screen I'm usually happy with the way it's turned out. Maybe I should be posting more photos to the critique section!

Are you more often than not happy with the way your pictures look SOOC, or do you do some post-processing to each and every one of them?

As a little aside, if I'm going to be reducing a photo to 800px for inclusion in the assignments, is it worth thinking about sharpening it at all, or is sharpening only really needed if you're going to be getting a proper print made up?

Cheers,

Daniel
    Nikon D40, 18-55 lens, 55-200VR lens

My photo gallery and Project 365 for 2010

yorkiemom is offline dPS Forum Member

Well, I'm sure someone else will come along and explain it better but a RAW file is just a file containing the unprocessed raw data captured by the sensor of the camera. The RAW file does not contain the image really; it has to be converted. Camera settings for color space, sharpness, saturation, and white balance are not in the RAW file. So yes, you have to process the RAW file parameters. I shoot in RAW and always process my images.

Dirt_Bike_Ryda is offline ...God...

so what happens if one were to shoot 1300 RAW photos in one day, does each one have to be converted? or can u do them as a big bunch, and go back to the RAW file if the need arises ?
    Body Canon 5D mkII
    Lenses Canon 24-105 F/4L - 24-70 F/2.8L - 70-200 F/2.8L II IS
    Tripod Manfrotto 190CXPRO3 w/ 468MGRC2 head