#1 (permalink)  
Old 01-23-2012, 03:45 PM
ArmySoldier777's Avatar
dPS +1000 Club
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Concord, NC
Posts: 2,325
Default Be Careful

Anybody can be ripped off, and I wasn't any exception for somebody to try it on today.

I put my 450D on craigslist last night, just to see if I would get any hits on it because I'm upgrading to the T2i sometime in the near future. I figured if I could sell it for a reasonable price, then I wouldn't lose out on the move up. I threw it on there for $550, not expecting to actually get anybody to offer $550 for it. You always set the price for more than you're looking to receive, that's how internet bartering goes. Well, within a couple hours I received an email from somebody who said they were interested and they even asked a lot of questions about the camera to find out what condition it was in.

The guy said he was USAF, so I figured he must be alright, a lot of times military guys just tend to have a little more trust in each other. But it turns out the whole thing was a scam. And that really pissed me off, because that's something you don't just pretend to be. He said he was interested in purchasing the camera and asked for me to send him an invoice from my paypal in his following email.
"Sounds good, i am in the U.S. Air Force currently on duty right now. I am getting it for my son as a surprise gift. I accept your price and will be paying total sum of $650 for item cost & shipping fee. I will provide you with his shipping info for shipment as soon as the payment is done. I can only pay through PayPal so send me request invoice to this address for the payment."

That should have been a red flag right there, "total sum of $650 for item cost&shipping", because you can order one online used for around $500+shipping. But I gave him the benefit of the doubt and figured he hadn't done his research and that if he was overseas, that the shipping and handling was going to run me pretty close to that anyway. So first thing this morning, I check my email and there's a "Paypal Confirmation of Payment" from "service@paypal.com", and this thing looks completely legit with links going back to PayPal, a receipt number, and everything. I've seen a TON of scam emails, but this one almost had Me. ALMOST. Everything about this email seemed to be legitimate, except for one thing. While the name said "service@paypal.com," the email address hidden behind it in it's half transparent greyish letters said "service@paypail.com."

So the first thing I did when I read this email was to call PayPal customer service to confirm my suspicions and they had me send it in to them so they could warn other people about that specific scam.


If you read through all that, the main point is, always be alert and aware of what's going on. Pay attention to detail, because it might save your ass.
__________________
David
Equipment
Camera: Canon EOS Rebel 550d | Battery Grip | Lens: 18-55mm, 55-250mm, 50mm F/1.8 | Attachments: Zeikos Macro Extension Tubes | Flashes : 430ex II | Umbrellas: 60"
Portfolio
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 01-23-2012, 04:00 PM
CheaperKings's Avatar
I've got a headache...
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Beyond the Sun...
Posts: 1,063
Default

That sux, bro - glad you caught it! Thanx for the info.
__________________
wHy sO sErIoUs?
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 01-23-2012, 04:21 PM
dlambert's Avatar
Take better pictures.
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Ohio, USA
Posts: 1,762
Default

Nice catch. I don't know about you guys, but I used to kind of chuckle at the stories of people getting sucked into "Nigerian Prince" schemes. Some of the scams out there today are getting pretty sophisticated, though -- it's pretty easy to see how people get caught on some of these.
__________________
David Lambert
lambertpix.com
More photos in my gallery and 500px
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 01-23-2012, 04:34 PM
Still learnin'
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 232
Default

MAN are you lucky.... glad you made that call arent ya?!?! Shoot I'M glad you made that call!
__________________
Nikon D40
Nikkor 18-105 VR
Promaster 7500EDF speed light
If your struggling listen to this!
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 01-23-2012, 05:28 PM
ArmySoldier777's Avatar
dPS +1000 Club
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Concord, NC
Posts: 2,325
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by CheaperKings View Post
That sux, bro - glad you caught it! Thanx for the info.
Me too man, I would've been out more than I could afford right now. And no problem, I wanted to share so other people could be aware just how real these scams can seem sometimes.

Quote:
Originally Posted by dlambert View Post
Nice catch. I don't know about you guys, but I used to kind of chuckle at the stories of people getting sucked into "Nigerian Prince" schemes. Some of the scams out there today are getting pretty sophisticated, though -- it's pretty easy to see how people get caught on some of these.
I used to be the same way. Especially about those scams where people want you to transfer money to bank accounts saying you'll get paid thousands, if not millions, of dollars for helping them out. I've gotten a few of those emails and laughed at them.

Yes they are unfortunately. If I wasn't already paranoid I might've not caught this one. I bet people have already gotten caught up in it though. Hopefully reporting it to paypal will help somebody else out.

Quote:
Originally Posted by bigben6 View Post
MAN are you lucky.... glad you made that call arent ya?!?! Shoot I'M glad you made that call!
I sure am. The guy's waiting for me to reply to him and tell him I shipped the package. I'm seriously considering messing with him after this.
__________________
David
Equipment
Camera: Canon EOS Rebel 550d | Battery Grip | Lens: 18-55mm, 55-250mm, 50mm F/1.8 | Attachments: Zeikos Macro Extension Tubes | Flashes : 430ex II | Umbrellas: 60"
Portfolio
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 01-23-2012, 05:50 PM
Photoboothguy
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default

Don't get mad, get even

The Powerbook Prank: He wanted a Powerbook. We gave him a P-P-P-Powerbook!
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 01-23-2012, 06:01 PM
gptwins's Avatar
I'm new here!
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: DFW area of North Texas
Posts: 49
Default

That is a classic CL scam. They always offer you more than you are asking. This is usually accompanied by some sob story about why they cannot pick it up.

These scams work because the play to an individual's sympathy or greed.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old 01-23-2012, 06:17 PM
ArmySoldier777's Avatar
dPS +1000 Club
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Concord, NC
Posts: 2,325
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Photoboothguy View Post
Love it. If I could shell out the $70 for shipping, I'd do this. I already have the address and phone number. I love the idea of posting a huge value on the package too, that's awesome. I'd love to be able to screw him over like that. But even in that guy's case, it almost backfired on him. Still great though.
__________________
David
Equipment
Camera: Canon EOS Rebel 550d | Battery Grip | Lens: 18-55mm, 55-250mm, 50mm F/1.8 | Attachments: Zeikos Macro Extension Tubes | Flashes : 430ex II | Umbrellas: 60"
Portfolio

Last edited by ArmySoldier777; 01-23-2012 at 06:25 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old 01-23-2012, 06:35 PM
Krusty79's Avatar
Smart ass (_e=mc2_)
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: San Francisco Bay Area
Posts: 3,364
Default

Man, that's scarey how realistic they can make it look! If I ever sell anything on Craigslist, I'm just going to deal with local customers.
__________________
GREG - Canon XS with 18-55 kit
flickr
flickriver
My 500px
"You can't be young forever, but you can always be immature." - Larry Andersen.
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old 01-23-2012, 06:44 PM
windrider86's Avatar
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Trinidad, Co
Posts: 16,143
Default

The part that he said he was in overseas in the service made me sooo mad> I'd like ot find him myself and rip their face off!
__________________
Olympus user, Fuji E900, a canon & last but not least a Minolta 35mm and some really old large format box cameras.Not to mention a whole bunch of other stuff. Paint Shop Pro X3, CS3,CS5, Portrait Professional, Topaz Adjust, Lucis Art and the list goes on........
www.alockintime.com



Facebook
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2012, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.

What’s Your Preference?

Daily Digest

Each day we send out a quick email to thousands of DPS readers to notify them of updates. This email is just short excerpt of the first few lines of our latest post with a link if you want to read it all. You can unsubscribe from this this service at any time.

This service is provided by a third party (Feedburner) and you can subscribe to it by leaving your email address in the following field and confirming your subscription when you get an email asking you to do so.

Enter your email address for
Daily Updates:

Weekly Summary

For those wanting a weekly summary of what happens on this site this free email newsletter is probably your best option. It includes a summary of the tips posted to the site each week. This newsletter is subscribed to by over 25000 readers (many who also subscribe to the other options above) - come join the community!

To subscribe to this weekly newsletter simply add your email address to the following field and then follow the confirmation prompts. You will be able to unsubscribe at any time.

Enter your email address for
Free Weekly Newsletter:

 
SEO by vBSEO 3.3.0