#1 (permalink)  
Old 10-15-2011, 09:33 PM
dPS Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Wellington. New Zealand
Posts: 51
Default cheap photoshop

Not sure if this has been covered before, But i came across this website

OEM Software // Home

Now my main concern is it legit?, is it cracked?, is it unsafe etc. Has anyone else downloaded from here and what are his/her thoughts?. A $100 bucks sounds to good to be true?

cheers
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 10-15-2011, 09:40 PM
Sweetlifephoto's Avatar
Photographer / Artist
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Raleigh, NC
Posts: 170
Default

OEM software is intended to be bundled and resold with a product typically a hardware device of some kind and cannot be sold as a standalone product.

More information here

Sorry like most things, if it sounds too good to be true...

Last edited by Sweetlifephoto; 10-15-2011 at 10:08 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 10-15-2011, 10:04 PM
Jonbar18's Avatar
Clickity click
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 1,220
Default

I ran into a similar thing recently (lightroom for $55) and there were a couple good answers here. Id link the thread but I can't on my phone... search threads started by me (click my name, then statistics) and tread through the thread "legit?"

Edit: got on the computer, so here you go: Legit?
__________________
Jon
FLICKR
If you don't know where you're going, any road will get you there.
D3100, Nikon N60, Canon Powershot, 28-803.5-5.6 D, Sigma 70-300 4-5.6 Macro

Last edited by Jonbar18; 10-15-2011 at 10:29 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 10-15-2011, 10:25 PM
SwissJon's Avatar
Enjoys shooting people.
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Switzerland
Posts: 4,511
Default

Selling OEM software at a discounted price is a form of piracy that's been ongoing for many years. They'll take your money.. They might even supply you with some software.. But then again I can get software downloaded from Torrent sites.. Doesn't make it legal.

OEM software scams on the rise ? The Register
__________________
A photo needs to start and finish in your imagination, if it passes through your camera in between, that's cool, if it doesn't, that's cool also.
Flickriver Portfolio 500px Flickr NSFW
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 10-15-2011, 11:23 PM
Bruce A's Avatar
Nah, just kidding!
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Gold Coast Qld Australia
Posts: 3,187
Default

I purchased a CS5 download from this same crowd ages ago, the supplied serial worked - only for a while. I contacted them, they gave me several codes to alter to no avail - I got my money at least and learnt my lesson!
__________________
Nikon D700, MB-D10 grip, Nikon AF-s 16-35 f/4 VRll, Nikon AF-s 28-70mm f/2.8D ED, Nikon AF 80-200 f/2.8D ED, Nikon AF-s Micro 105 f/2.8 G ED VR.
My flickr
My500px
banphotography.com
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 10-16-2011, 12:13 AM
HATES to type
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 247
Default

It's my understanding that if you make significant hardware changes then you are, technically, an OEM. It is possible , therefore, to buy OEM versions of outdated software that were never distributed with new PCs due to upgrades. I could be completely wrong about that. However, Adobe never issued an OEM license for Photoshop, so any alleged OEM version is a pirated copy.

Last edited by Mike367; 10-16-2011 at 12:26 AM. Reason: punctuation
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 10-16-2011, 06:53 AM
dPS Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Wellington. New Zealand
Posts: 51
Default

thanks for the reply guys, learnt my lesson with cracked software long ago so i've downloaded gimp just to get me by in the mean time..

thanks again
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old 10-16-2011, 08:35 AM
SwissJon's Avatar
Enjoys shooting people.
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Switzerland
Posts: 4,511
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mike367 View Post
It's my understanding that if you make significant hardware changes then you are, technically, an OEM. It is possible , therefore, to buy OEM versions of outdated software that were never distributed with new PCs due to upgrades. I could be completely wrong about that.
I just want to correct this information as it's incorrect:

OEM Licences (as far as Microsoft are concerned) are licences that are purchased by licenced "OEM System Builders" with the sole intention of selling on to end users. They are not intended to be used by hobbyists who change their systems. There are some fairly stringent rules over OEM licences, and reselling OEM software is strictly prohibited.

In fact, picking up on what you said. If you purchased a system with an OEM licence, and then upgraded the motherboard, then Microsoft counts this as a completely new product for which you must buy a licence other than the OEM one.

http://www.microsoft.com/OEM/en/lice...hobbyists.aspx

As far as what Bruce says, that just goes to prove they're selling pirated software.

Sorry guys.. The licencing by M$ stinks, but they have to keep their CEO's rich somehow!!
__________________
A photo needs to start and finish in your imagination, if it passes through your camera in between, that's cool, if it doesn't, that's cool also.
Flickriver Portfolio 500px Flickr NSFW
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old 10-16-2011, 09:20 AM
ChrisAdval's Avatar
Model Photographer
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Hazleton, PA
Posts: 818
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by shed301 View Post
Not sure if this has been covered before, But i came across this website

OEM Software // Home

Now my main concern is it legit?, is it cracked?, is it unsafe etc. Has anyone else downloaded from here and what are his/her thoughts?. A $100 bucks sounds to good to be true?

cheers
softstore4business.net itself sounds "fishy" to me even....
__________________
Chris Adval: Learning Model Photography Website & Blog | Facebook Fanpage | Facebook | Twitter | Flickr | 500px | Gear Page | Model Mayhem Profile | Like my portrait/model photography critiques? Want more or one of your own? Submit some photos to me here and it will be featured on my blog! | Want your photos get Honest Constructive Critiques in Model Photography? Check out my Flickr Group here!
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2012, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.

What’s Your Preference?

Daily Digest

Each day we send out a quick email to thousands of DPS readers to notify them of updates. This email is just short excerpt of the first few lines of our latest post with a link if you want to read it all. You can unsubscribe from this this service at any time.

This service is provided by a third party (Feedburner) and you can subscribe to it by leaving your email address in the following field and confirming your subscription when you get an email asking you to do so.

Enter your email address for
Daily Updates:

Weekly Summary

For those wanting a weekly summary of what happens on this site this free email newsletter is probably your best option. It includes a summary of the tips posted to the site each week. This newsletter is subscribed to by over 25000 readers (many who also subscribe to the other options above) - come join the community!

To subscribe to this weekly newsletter simply add your email address to the following field and then follow the confirmation prompts. You will be able to unsubscribe at any time.

Enter your email address for
Free Weekly Newsletter:

 
SEO by vBSEO 3.3.0