#1 (permalink)  
Old 09-09-2011, 02:18 AM
I'm new here!
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Philly
Posts: 29
Default Camera websites - yay or nay

I don't know if this was placed in the right section, but I figured it fits.

I'm looking to purchase the Tamron 17-50mm f/2.8 VC for my Nikon D3000. The two sites that have it at the lowest price are

tristatecamera.com
- http://www.tristatecamera.com/lookat...=TAMAF1750VCN*

and

simplyelectronics.net -
Tamron Lens - Tamron B005 SP AF 17-50mm F/2.8 XR Di-II VC LD Aspherical (IF) - Nikon Mount

Most other stores and websites sell it for $650. I was wondering if anyone has had any experience with these two websites, if they're trustworthy, etc. Any information would be helpful, thanks so much!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 09-09-2011, 02:29 AM
autofocus's Avatar
Live Life, Take Pictures
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 4,521
Default

I've not used either of these vendors, but if it's too good to be true it usually is. Personally, for big purchases I stick to B&H and Adorama
__________________
Vince "...the law of unintended consequences, sometimes, you get a truly memorable photograph"
Gear: Canon G2, Canon 20D, Nikon D300...bunch of lenses
http://www.flickr.com/photos/20127329@N06/
www.montalbanophotography.com
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 09-09-2011, 02:35 AM
Izzy's Avatar
Thomas Neubauer
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Insane Asylum
Posts: 1,357
Default

Tri state appears to be bonded through Liberty Mutual and or Travelers Ins. Look up "buysafe" - the people that are offering the bonding and see just what it means. If they check out you will save a bunch on that lens.

https://www.buysafe.com/Web/Seal/Ver...bl7dD7cg%3D%3D
__________________
Heavily medicated for your protection
Flickriver

http://www.photoblog.com/thomasneubauer/
http://thomasneubauer.com
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 09-09-2011, 02:44 AM
I'm new here!
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Philly
Posts: 29
Default

Well, if buysafe is a legitimate website, then it seems that tri state is too!
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 09-09-2011, 04:37 AM
3bayjunkie's Avatar
dPS +1000 Club
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 1,245
Default

why don't you try b&H or amazon? or that adorama one?
__________________
please add me on facebook even if you don't like my photos. much appreciated!
Colby Jack Photography on facebook

:: Nikon D7000 :: Nikkor 18-20mm f/3.5-f/5.6 :: Nikkor 50mm f/1.4 ai ::
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 09-09-2011, 10:35 AM
amy_bb's Avatar
Shoot 200 Delete 195
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Western NY
Posts: 199
Default

I don't know about the other company, but I would stay as far away from Simply Electronics as possible. Here are a few references for you:

SimplyElectronics - simplyelectronics.net - Reviews, Ratings and Prices at ResellerRatings

Simplyelectronics.net Reviews - SiteJabber Consumers Review Simplyelectronics.net

.
I have also read that they sell "grey" market products, are based in HK and have hidden this fact from buyers. Refunds are said to take a long time or not come at all and warranty claims are not able to be processed.

There are a few sites that show a more favorable review but honestly, I wouldn't take the chance,

If I'm going to make an informed, expensive, important photography purchase, I would stick to the reputable retailers like B&H and Adorama. Better yet, if you have a local pro/semi pro camera shop in your town, buy from them. I like to touch, feel, hold, try and ask lots of questions. Usually if I mention an internet price they will try and match it for me. Then when and if I have an issue, I have a consultant to talk to and get my problems resolved.

Just my 2cents.
__________________
Nikon 7000 w/18-105mm kit lens, Sigma 70-200mmf/2.8 OS HSM, SB700, Nikkor 50mm 1.8
http://www.flickr.com/photos/amy_bb/
http://whenamysnapsphotography.com/
Please feel free to edit my photos on DPS!
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 09-09-2011, 11:23 AM
SwissJon's Avatar
Enjoys shooting people.
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Switzerland
Posts: 4,511
Default

Ever heard the saying "if it seems too good to be true, it probably is"?

Very very rarely will a retailer sell a product at substantially less than their competitors, it doesn't make financial sense.. They undercut each other, sure, but with profit margins usuallt at around 20%, it's unlikely they'll sell smething at a loss.
__________________
A photo needs to start and finish in your imagination, if it passes through your camera in between, that's cool, if it doesn't, that's cool also.
Flickriver Portfolio 500px Flickr NSFW
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old 09-09-2011, 07:03 PM
I'm new here!
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Philly
Posts: 29
Default

I bought my last lens from B&H, I was just looking around and found these prices. I figured it was too good to be true, but I also figured it was too good to not look into further. Does anyone have any experience with tristate camera? I've looked around and found good reviews, and actually just found a lot of bad ones too. Maybe I will stay away. Thanks everyone!

Last edited by Zdaman; 09-09-2011 at 07:14 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old 09-09-2011, 07:18 PM
dPS Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Vail, CO
Posts: 92
Default

Personally, I've had bad luck with sites that provide seriously low prices. I think you should spend the extra money and go B&H, adorama, or amazon, or direct from manufacturer.
__________________
---------
Learn to shoot action sports at Action Photo School
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old 09-09-2011, 07:39 PM
Jonbar18's Avatar
Clickity click
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 1,220
Default

Look at camera stores, and maybe a big electronics store (maybe future shop?) that have the lens. A lot of the bigger ones offer some sort of price match. Unfortunately, they usually have conditions, such as the price their matching being based in the same country, but with a little researching, you can save money, and be assured that you're buying from a safe source,
__________________
Jon
FLICKR
If you don't know where you're going, any road will get you there.
D3100, Nikon N60, Canon Powershot, 28-803.5-5.6 D, Sigma 70-300 4-5.6 Macro
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2012, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.

What’s Your Preference?

Daily Digest

Each day we send out a quick email to thousands of DPS readers to notify them of updates. This email is just short excerpt of the first few lines of our latest post with a link if you want to read it all. You can unsubscribe from this this service at any time.

This service is provided by a third party (Feedburner) and you can subscribe to it by leaving your email address in the following field and confirming your subscription when you get an email asking you to do so.

Enter your email address for
Daily Updates:

Weekly Summary

For those wanting a weekly summary of what happens on this site this free email newsletter is probably your best option. It includes a summary of the tips posted to the site each week. This newsletter is subscribed to by over 25000 readers (many who also subscribe to the other options above) - come join the community!

To subscribe to this weekly newsletter simply add your email address to the following field and then follow the confirmation prompts. You will be able to unsubscribe at any time.

Enter your email address for
Free Weekly Newsletter:

 
SEO by vBSEO 3.3.0