#1 (permalink)  
Old 08-04-2011, 05:09 AM
I'm new here!
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 18
Default BestPricePhoto.com

Hi guys. I hope this is the right place for this thread. None of the other forums seem to quite fit this topic.

I've had my Canon 30D for a long time now. This year I made the decision to upgrade. I was holding out for the 5D Mk. III, hoping that it would be released this year, but from what I can tell a 2012 release date is looking more likely. I've decided to take the plunge and just get the Mk. II.

A quick search on pricegrabber.com indicates that $2,179 is the lowest price, available from Best Price Photo (Canon EOS 5D Mark II 21.1 Megapixel Digital SLR Camera Body Only - Compare Prices and Reviews on Canon 2764B003 Digital Cameras at PriceGrabber). When almost every other retailer has it priced at $2,499 and over, I'm wondering if this is too good to be true? I've researched reviews of the company quite extensively, and there actually appear to be a lot of happy customers, but the bad reviews still make me want to err on the side of caution for some reason. The main issue with a lot of people seems to be the fact that you're guaranteed to get a "confirmation call" after you place your order where someone will try to sell you additional products. If this is the worst thing that happens, I'm actually not too concerned. I can understand this being a legitimate business model and I do a ridiculous amount of research before buying any kind of camera equipment anyway, so I'm not going to be swayed into buying stuff I don't need by a salesperson. No, my main concern is if something happens to be wrong with the camera and I have to return it, as there are claims of 30% "re-stocking fees," which given the price of the camera would be a hell of a lot. There also seem to be claims of grey market merchandise.

I've rambled on quite a bit. I guess I just want to know if anyone or anyone you know has had dealings with this company (or Best Price Electronics, which I think it's an offshoot of). If so, do you have any feedback? I've also noticed that 42nd St. Photo also offer the Mk. II at a decent price. Has anyone had any experience with them either?

Any advice would be greatly appreciated!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 08-04-2011, 05:34 PM
Krusty79's Avatar
Smart ass (_e=mc2_)
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: San Francisco Bay Area
Posts: 3,364
Default

I've never heard of them. It does sound fishy. If you did buy from them, I would make sure you're buying a brand new body with the full manufacturer's warranty. And get all the details about their return policy in writing.

Most folks here seem to favor B&H and Adorama.
__________________
GREG - Canon XS with 18-55 kit
flickr
flickriver
My 500px
"You can't be young forever, but you can always be immature." - Larry Andersen.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 08-04-2011, 06:07 PM
Twinpanther's Avatar
dPS Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Palm Harbor, FL
Posts: 206
Default

Never heard of them myself either. Resellerratings lists them good but it looks like they are fairly new and it my not have caught up to them as of yet. Other reviews mention that same typical "Call to Verify" scam so I would not buy from them anyway.

The price you quote for the 5D MKII is most likely for a Grey Market camera so if it does go through don't expect any warranty coverage. The USA version they are selling for $2,699.
__________________
There is no greater incentive for a person than to see their boss do an honest days work.
Nikon D90
Nikkor 18-105mm VR | Nikkor 70-300mm VR | Nikkor 50mm f/1.8D | SB600
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 08-04-2011, 07:59 PM
zona5101's Avatar
Molon Labe
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Boise, Idaho
Posts: 7,058
Default

Adorama or B&H - great service, easy purchasing, fast shipping w/ tracking numbers, returns and adjustments are no problem... worth the extra dollar or two especially when you're spending that much.
Also check your local camera store...every once in a while they will surprise you - worth a phone call anyway...

good luck.
__________________
They call me Bruce
www.brucebphotography.wordpress.com
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 08-05-2011, 07:21 PM
I'm new here!
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 1
Default

Hello to All!
Thank you for your interest with Bestpricephoto.com! We offer wholesale pricing on brand name cameras & electronics. Our company monitors and respond to all inquires regarding our products & services. Please rest assured when ordering a product from our company we guarantee the following:
1. Brand New Merchandise
2. Full 1 Year USA Warranty Parts & Labor
3. 30 Day 100% Money Back Guarantee
4. No Restocking Fee unless the product had been used or mishandled
5. Friendly & knowledgeable staff
Bestpricephoto.com strives to keep all our consumers happy with the service & products we offer. When a consumer post negative comments understand that they never contacted us to make our company aware of their concerns. This is why we actively view the internet and respond to all our potential & existing consumer needs. Our goal is to be your #1 destination for your electronics needs & look forward to your business.
Sincerely,
Bestpricephoto.com Staff
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 08-05-2011, 10:19 PM
StillFocus's Avatar
the Burninator.
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 197
Default

Ooh neat, an advertising robot! *shutterbutton*

I read into them a few months back when I was looking to upgrade my camera body. From what I could gather, you'll get a call trying to upsell you. If you refuse the additional products, it's possible that your order will become "back-ordered" indefinitely. It's also possible for the too-good-to-be-true price to be a foreign model of said camera, with the US model costing the same or more than it would elsewhere. Do what you think is best, but I'd be leery.

Last edited by StillFocus; 08-05-2011 at 10:23 PM.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2012, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.

What’s Your Preference?

Daily Digest

Each day we send out a quick email to thousands of DPS readers to notify them of updates. This email is just short excerpt of the first few lines of our latest post with a link if you want to read it all. You can unsubscribe from this this service at any time.

This service is provided by a third party (Feedburner) and you can subscribe to it by leaving your email address in the following field and confirming your subscription when you get an email asking you to do so.

Enter your email address for
Daily Updates:

Weekly Summary

For those wanting a weekly summary of what happens on this site this free email newsletter is probably your best option. It includes a summary of the tips posted to the site each week. This newsletter is subscribed to by over 25000 readers (many who also subscribe to the other options above) - come join the community!

To subscribe to this weekly newsletter simply add your email address to the following field and then follow the confirmation prompts. You will be able to unsubscribe at any time.

Enter your email address for
Free Weekly Newsletter:

 
SEO by vBSEO 3.3.0