#1 (permalink)  
Old 09-13-2010, 05:08 PM
dPS Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Camberley Surrey
Posts: 108
Default Is this Real!

Hi all I got an email today and its contents was this.

Dear Dennis Keene <------ me lol

I am contacting you from Photography Monthly magazine and Archant Publishing.
We are launching a new bookazine this autumn which will solely feature all of our favourite images uploaded to the gallery on www.photographymonthly.co.uk. Over 1,000 images will be considered, each image will be credited to the photographer and the location and the camera / lens used for each image will also be featured.
We would like your image ‘ Jurrasic Coast ‘ to be considered for inclusion. There will no payment for image usage and the copyright will remain with the photographer but a model release form must be available on request.
If you would like to be considered please email your image towop@photographymonthly.com, high resolution (300 dpi, A4) named in the below format and with the following information provided on the email:
Image name_photographer name.jpeg
Location shot or why the image was shot:max 40 words
Camera:
Lens (including make):
Please confirming you are willing to grant us permission for the use of your image, with the correct information supplied.
I look forward to hearing back from you.
Kind regards,
Jessica




This email and any attachments to it are confidential and intended solely for the individual or organisation to whom they are addressed.
You must not copy or retransmit this e-mail or its attachments in whole or in part to anyone else without our permission. The views expressed in them are those of the individual author and do not necessarily represent the views of this Company.

Whilst we would never knowingly transmit anything containing a virus we cannot guarantee that this e-mail is virus-free and you should take all steps that you can to protect your systems against viruses.

Archant Life Limited, is registered in England under Company Registration Number 3518941, and the Registered Office is Prospect House, Rouen Road, Norwich NR1 1RE.


Now I subscribe to this magazine online and have uploaded images to the site. I don't think my email is visible to other users (will check in a little bit).

I would love to have one of my images published even if it is among 1000 others lol.

Is this a genuine offer to publish?

RD
__________________
Kit : Nikon D3000, SB 900, Cactus V4, Nikon AF-S DX VR 18-55mm, Nikon AF-S DX VR 55-200mm, Nikon AF-S DX 35mm f1.8G

flickr
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 09-13-2010, 05:13 PM
Jim Poor's Avatar
Class Curmudgeon
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Northern VA
Posts: 3,501
Default

Quote:
Please confirming you are willing to grant us permission . . .
That right there is enough to make me ignore them at best, or set scam bells a ringing at worst.

So, they want to make money on your photos, but don't want to pay you to do so?

Why bother?
__________________
Best,
Jim
Facebook
Visit my website
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 09-13-2010, 05:22 PM
maxharvard
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default

Yea it's real... a real scam.

Getting a photo published will not instantly help you get more business, sorry.

~Eric
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 09-13-2010, 05:29 PM
dPS Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Camberley Surrey
Posts: 108
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by maxharvard View Post
Yea it's real... a real scam.

Getting a photo published will not instantly help you get more business, sorry.

~Eric
Hi Eric.

Im an amateur, with about 4 months experience behind the camera. I take photographs as a hobby and no ambition at the moment to create a business, let alone look for more,

My photographs are generally for me to enjoy. I do post online though to try and get critique so I can Improve.

If it were real I would even if i was only credited for taking it.

RD
__________________
Kit : Nikon D3000, SB 900, Cactus V4, Nikon AF-S DX VR 18-55mm, Nikon AF-S DX VR 55-200mm, Nikon AF-S DX 35mm f1.8G

flickr
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 09-13-2010, 06:22 PM
sk66's Avatar
Lovable Contrarian
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Harrisburg, PA
Posts: 6,735
Default

It looks legit...you get "published", they get images for free...you keep the copyrights.
The only real negative I see is that this kind of thing makes it hard for people to actually sell thier photos.
__________________
Steve
the Photographic Academy.com
My Portfolio, My Flickr, My Blog
D4, D7000, G10, 1030SW and a bunch of other stuff....
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 09-13-2010, 06:32 PM
TheDarkReaver's Avatar
dPS Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Lincolnshire, UK
Posts: 758
Default

Think of it as saying:

"Hi, we're making a book for as little money as possible to maximise our profit margins. Would you let us use your image for free so we may achieve this goal? We're not offering you a percentage but a credit is enough, right?"
__________________
Equipment: Sony ɚ200 (DT 18-70mm), Hitachi HDC-1061e | Software: Adobe Photoshop CS5, Sony Image Date Converter SR

deviantART | flickr
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 09-13-2010, 06:39 PM
jsherp's Avatar
dPS Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Bloomington, Illinois, USA
Posts: 415
Default

I see this as a twist on the old "Who's Who" scheme. While not an actual scam, it is a sort of come-on. When our son was in high school, he was "honored" to be included in the "Who's Who in American High Schools" book all four years. Each year, we were given an "opportunity" to purchase a copy of the book for some ungodly sum, just so we could look up our son's information and then put the book on a shelf.

I think what they are trying to do is publish about 1,000 photos hoping that a percentage of those whose work is included will buy their book. How much are you willing to pay to see your name in lights, as it were?

Just my opinion.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old 09-13-2010, 06:43 PM
WooD's Avatar
Critique Moderator
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: St. Augustine, FL
Posts: 3,821
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by RecceDen View Post
Hi Eric.

Im an amateur, with about 4 months experience behind the camera. I take photographs as a hobby and no ambition at the moment to create a business, let alone look for more,

My photographs are generally for me to enjoy. I do post online though to try and get critique so I can Improve.

If it were real I would even if i was only credited for taking it.

RD
Photography isn't all about the money for everyone.

If you want to submit your image, then you should,
__________________
My Gear


http://www.kevinfair.com
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old 09-13-2010, 07:41 PM
CheaperKings's Avatar
I've got a headache...
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Beyond the Sun...
Posts: 1,063
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by TheDarkReaver View Post
Think of it as saying:

"Hi, we're making a book for as little money as possible to maximise our profit margins. Would you let us use your image for free so we may achieve this goal? We're not offering you a percentage but a credit is enough, right?"
Haha! That about sums it up!
__________________
wHy sO sErIoUs?
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old 09-13-2010, 08:27 PM
TheDarkReaver's Avatar
dPS Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Lincolnshire, UK
Posts: 758
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by jsherp View Post
I see this as a twist on the old "Who's Who" scheme. While not an actual scam, it is a sort of come-on. When our son was in high school, he was "honored" to be included in the "Who's Who in American High Schools" book all four years. Each year, we were given an "opportunity" to purchase a copy of the book for some ungodly sum, just so we could look up our son's information and then put the book on a shelf.

I think what they are trying to do is publish about 1,000 photos hoping that a percentage of those whose work is included will buy their book. How much are you willing to pay to see your name in lights, as it were?

Just my opinion.
Yeah, they do that sort of thing over here too.
__________________
Equipment: Sony ɚ200 (DT 18-70mm), Hitachi HDC-1061e | Software: Adobe Photoshop CS5, Sony Image Date Converter SR

deviantART | flickr
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2012, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.

What’s Your Preference?

Daily Digest

Each day we send out a quick email to thousands of DPS readers to notify them of updates. This email is just short excerpt of the first few lines of our latest post with a link if you want to read it all. You can unsubscribe from this this service at any time.

This service is provided by a third party (Feedburner) and you can subscribe to it by leaving your email address in the following field and confirming your subscription when you get an email asking you to do so.

Enter your email address for
Daily Updates:

Weekly Summary

For those wanting a weekly summary of what happens on this site this free email newsletter is probably your best option. It includes a summary of the tips posted to the site each week. This newsletter is subscribed to by over 25000 readers (many who also subscribe to the other options above) - come join the community!

To subscribe to this weekly newsletter simply add your email address to the following field and then follow the confirmation prompts. You will be able to unsubscribe at any time.

Enter your email address for
Free Weekly Newsletter:

 
SEO by vBSEO 3.3.0