Close
Close
Page 1 of 2 12 Last
    nick32 is offline I'm new here!

Default Giving customers rights to my images?

I recently started shooting weddings.

I would like to know the best way to give the customer all of the right to the images I take at their wedding. So i can give them a CD with all the images and they can make prints as they wish

is there a form that takes care of this? just looking for some more information on giving clients the rights to the images

thanks
    nick

CheaperKings is online now I've got a headache...

I'm sorry but, I can only answer your question with another question; why would you ever want to do that? You'll make more money off of the prints when they need more made. If they have all the rights, then they no longer need you.

Photoboothguy Guest

I don't have the words right in front of me, but I usually say "royalty-free" followed by "you can print, copy, or display however you please".

To answer the "why would you ever", it's simple business strategy, which is to find holes in the market in which there is a demand that's not being fulfilled. Clients want full rights to their photos. I talk to people all the time that say this, and don't want the hassle of dealing with the photographer everytime they want a print. They want to be able to display them on Facebook and e-mail them to friends. To a client, the extra fees of prints and "royalty-free" DVDs doesn't make a whole lot of sense. They paid for your services...why should they pay more for the end product?

At my workplace, we have a newsgroup in which people ask for recommendations. About once a week I see a "Need recommendation for a photographer who will give royalty-free rights to all photos on a DVD". The demand is there, so it's only natural that a smart business person would model their business around what the customer wants.