#1 (permalink)  
Old 06-21-2010, 01:44 AM
macromike's Avatar
Uhggg
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Fresno Ca. USA
Posts: 458
Default Flickr Piracy

I found this on another site thought i would share this info. For those of you who may not already know that have Flickr account. You may have photos pirated off Flickr and posted on another spanish web site to be used for wallpaper free in Hi5, Myspace & Facebook etc. To check to see if your photos are there go to:
http:// www. fotosimagen.com/imagen.php?imagen=Reg, highlite out the REG and put your Flickr screen name in and it will show all of your photos they have and maybe some that are not yours.
__________________
My gear: Olympus e-3/ e-30 / e-500: 14-42, 14-45, 40-150kit...zuiko 50mm f2 macro..35mm macro 12-60 zuiko 50-200 f2.8-3.5 swd ec-20 teleconverter ex-25 ex tube some om glass.........

Last edited by wulf; 06-21-2010 at 09:00 AM. Reason: Broke URL (see report below on possible danger of visiting site)
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 06-21-2010, 01:59 AM
dPS Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Hamilton, Ontario
Posts: 201
Default

When I put mine it it seems to act just like a search engine for Flickr and opens the image in Flickr not like the original that opens in a new screen.

I have my photos set to Copyright, All Rights Reserved so maybe that has something to do with it.
__________________
Flickr

Website
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 06-21-2010, 03:07 AM
OsmosisStudios's Avatar
Don't Panic
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Mississauga / Ottawa
Posts: 11,351
Default

I've been able to find images from my website, though it seems to archive both photos and background (layout) images. I prefer TinEye
__________________
I am responsible for what I say; not what you understand.
OsmosisStudios
Gear List
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 06-21-2010, 06:09 AM
Woody's Avatar
Loves the Sharkies
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Sydney Australia
Posts: 644
Default Flickr thieves

The rotten dirty mongrels,

They have many of my photos. Any solutions, any redress?

Flickr is getting the flick

John W
__________________
John
Sydney Australia

Canon 7D, Canon EOS 450D, Canon EFS 18-55, Canon EF 100-300 f5.6, Canon EF 50 f1.8 11; Canon Speedlite 430 EX11, Fuji FinePix F40 and now with new and improved Canon EF-S 18-135mm f/3.5-5.6 IS, Sigma 18-200mm F3.5-6.3 DC and Mamiya ZE-2 35-70mm F3.5-4.5 Macro
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 06-21-2010, 06:28 AM
Woody's Avatar
Loves the Sharkies
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Sydney Australia
Posts: 644
Default Danger Danger Danger

In regard to the post below, if you go into the Spanish site, it tries to load a worm or trojan horse that appears to scan you computer looking for more of your photos to steal.

Flickr Piracy

Just be careful. This site is a disgrace. Does anyone have an answer?

Cheers,

John W
__________________
John
Sydney Australia

Canon 7D, Canon EOS 450D, Canon EFS 18-55, Canon EF 100-300 f5.6, Canon EF 50 f1.8 11; Canon Speedlite 430 EX11, Fuji FinePix F40 and now with new and improved Canon EF-S 18-135mm f/3.5-5.6 IS, Sigma 18-200mm F3.5-6.3 DC and Mamiya ZE-2 35-70mm F3.5-4.5 Macro
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 06-21-2010, 07:02 AM
dPS +1000 Club
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Sydney, Australia
Posts: 4,581
Default

See this flickr thread:

Flickr: The Help Forum: [closed] Another site scraping Flickr? [fotosimagen.com]
__________________
Flickr stream.
http://www.flickr.com/photos/34094515@N00/

500pics stream
http://500px.com/Richard_Taylor
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 06-21-2010, 07:03 AM
dPS +1000 Club
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Sydney, Australia
Posts: 4,581
Default

See this flickr thread.
Flickr: The Help Forum: [closed] Another site scraping Flickr? [fotosimagen.com]
__________________
Flickr stream.
http://www.flickr.com/photos/34094515@N00/

500pics stream
http://500px.com/Richard_Taylor
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old 06-21-2010, 07:14 AM
Woody's Avatar
Loves the Sharkies
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Sydney Australia
Posts: 644
Default

Thanks Richard,

Just a little bit relieved.

Cheers,

John W
__________________
John
Sydney Australia

Canon 7D, Canon EOS 450D, Canon EFS 18-55, Canon EF 100-300 f5.6, Canon EF 50 f1.8 11; Canon Speedlite 430 EX11, Fuji FinePix F40 and now with new and improved Canon EF-S 18-135mm f/3.5-5.6 IS, Sigma 18-200mm F3.5-6.3 DC and Mamiya ZE-2 35-70mm F3.5-4.5 Macro
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old 06-21-2010, 02:52 PM
macromike's Avatar
Uhggg
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Fresno Ca. USA
Posts: 458
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Woody View Post
In regard to the post below, if you go into the Spanish site, it tries to load a worm or trojan horse that appears to scan you computer looking for more of your photos to steal.

Flickr Piracy

Just be careful. This site is a disgrace. Does anyone have an answer?

Cheers,

John W
Thanks john I did not realize that I just remove the cookies and block these cookies in my browser (good looking out)
__________________
My gear: Olympus e-3/ e-30 / e-500: 14-42, 14-45, 40-150kit...zuiko 50mm f2 macro..35mm macro 12-60 zuiko 50-200 f2.8-3.5 swd ec-20 teleconverter ex-25 ex tube some om glass.........
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old 06-21-2010, 03:02 PM
freybear3's Avatar
Storm Chaser and Aviation
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Northern Illinois
Posts: 638
Default

Alot of my photos have been pirated from flickr. I am kind of used to it by now. The photos I do care about being pirated, I keep them "private" so they arent pirated. But the ones that are "public" usually get pirated. I gave up trying to go after the sites, no lawyers want to go after them, without loads of cash up front!

So, my point is - If you don't want your photos pirated, make them "private" otherwise they are going to be pirated! This has happened too many times with me.




.
__________________
Trigger Photography Northern Illinois Best Photography Site
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2012, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.

What’s Your Preference?

Daily Digest

Each day we send out a quick email to thousands of DPS readers to notify them of updates. This email is just short excerpt of the first few lines of our latest post with a link if you want to read it all. You can unsubscribe from this this service at any time.

This service is provided by a third party (Feedburner) and you can subscribe to it by leaving your email address in the following field and confirming your subscription when you get an email asking you to do so.

Enter your email address for
Daily Updates:

Weekly Summary

For those wanting a weekly summary of what happens on this site this free email newsletter is probably your best option. It includes a summary of the tips posted to the site each week. This newsletter is subscribed to by over 25000 readers (many who also subscribe to the other options above) - come join the community!

To subscribe to this weekly newsletter simply add your email address to the following field and then follow the confirmation prompts. You will be able to unsubscribe at any time.

Enter your email address for
Free Weekly Newsletter:

 
SEO by vBSEO 3.3.0