Close
Close
    shutterbug1972 is offline I'm new here!

Default Collaborating with a designer

Hey All,

I'm looking for some expert advice on a topic that I'm not an expert on.

A friend of mine is a designer (college educated) working in the field. She approached me several months ago about an idea she has for a fashion blog and asked if I would be the photographer for it. After hearing a little bit about the idea, naturally I said yes! I thought it would be a great way for me to work on my skills and challenge myself.

After sometime I've become a bit confused on how this "role" should work. Often times when I edit a photo and send it off to her to post she'll ask me to adjust something (add/remove certain colors or hues), one time she even cropped one that I submitted. She would also pick all the pictures after a shoot for me to edit, with little input from me. I have to admit I was a bit miffed.

All in all my question is, as a freelance photographer that's doing "free" work for this blog (for a friend), how do I DO what she wants but yet maintain my own artistic creativity in the process? And after explaining this what does it seem like my role really is? She calls it a collaboration, but it doesn't seem to be that way....???

Thanks in advance.

mshockley is offline Take A Shot

I may be mistaken but a "collaboration" should result in a benefit for both parties. She is benefiting from your professional quality images for her website/blog, so the question becomes are the viewers and readers of said site your potential market/client's? If they aren't, it's not what I would call a collaboration.

I would say what i would call it, but you get the idea

moreinmind is offline I'm new here!

Sounds bogus - what are you actually getting out of this? Blogs are a dime a dozen...you could just as easily start your own and post your work as you intend it to be presented, without all the bs.