Close
Close
    shnon is offline It's a gold star day...

Default Stopping Business Advice

I just need some advice. I have decided to stop doing wedding and portrait photography. While I did it, it was something that I enjoyed but I didn't want to do it forever. My goal from the beginning was to work for a publication and do more fine art photography. Well, I got a job with a publishing company and I shoot for their magazine and newspaper. I love it and I've been doing my new job full time for about 4 months now. During that time I was still doing the wedding and portrait photography, but now I feel like it is time to stop and focus on my job and doing just the art that I enjoy. In the past few weeks I have referred every inquiry to another photographer that I trust. I plan on keeping my obligations that I have already booked, but am not booking anymore. Here's my question - Should I let my current clients know this? I have two clients left. They are both for weddings and I still have their bridal portraits and weddings to shoot. Both of them are in March. Should I just keep it to myself? I just don't want word to get back to them that would concern them that I might bail. What would you do, or if you have been in this position before, what have you done?

Thank you!

Jim Bryant is offline Stoned Cold Crazy
    2nd star to the left and straight on until morning

Be frank, just tell them that you've decided to take another direction in your career and give them the other photographer's contact info.
    http://pa.photoshelter.com/c/jimbryant
    http://jimbryantphotography.blogspot.com/
    (1) EOS 1D MKIII (3) EOS 1D's, (3) EOS1D MKIIs', (1) EOS1Ds MKII, 14mmf2.8, 16-35mmf2.8, 28-70mmf2.8, 70-200mm f2.8, 300mm f2.8 and a 400mmf2.8, (4) 550 EX and 1 580E speedlite, and a Speed a tron studio flash system.

Biomech is offline World Commended