Close
Close
Page 1 of 2 12 Last
    ajax_andy is offline dPS +1000 Club

Default Urgent advice needed RE licence usage & who owns the photos!

I have a fashion shoot tomorrow morning and i've never done anything like this before... I told the client they would have 'unlimited licence usage'... but what does that actually mean?!

I know I retain copyright, and they can do what ever they want with the pics... but can I use them in my promotions, social media, website etc? Or can I only do it once they've used them?

If the model asks for copies can I say yes, no or yes but for x amount... or do the pics belong to the client?

Probably should have looked in to this more than a day before admittedly

sk66 is offline Lovable Contrarian

What is in writing?

You can give the client unlimited usage rights while still retaining all of your usage rights as long as you did not assign the client "exclusive" rights.
    The model's usage rights will be portfolio use of whatever is provided to her, at a minimum (unless she/he waves them), and as further dictated by the TOU she agrees to (signs).

If the model is from an agency, or provided by the client, then that is probably decided between them. Most agencies will provide a release and TOU's in their own contract (voucher)...and they will charge according to the rights released by the model/agency and the "profile" of the client/job.

Yeah, you really should have looked into this before...if no-one really knows what they agreeing to at this point, tomorrow might be a bit late. I suppose if you are in charge of it all you can put together your own agreements as you think should fit everyone and just try to slip it by...

Edit: BTW, you *cannot* give the client "unlimited usage rights" unless the model/agency has first given them to you and there is some wording in the release that makes it "transferable" to the client...
    Last edited by sk66; 01-11-2013 at 02:36 PM.

Quote Originally Posted by sk66 View Post