Go Back   Digital Photography School - Photography Forums > General Discussion > Earning with Photography


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 04-02-2011, 10:07 AM
inlina's Avatar
Arcing in Xenon
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 74
Default Anyone had to send a 'Cease and desist' for copyright infrigement

Hi all,

found a company using a couple of my pics on their website. One includes my copyright watermark, the other is only part of my pic so they have cropped it out.

Has anyone sent a 'Cease and Desist' type letter? Did it work? Did you also suggest that they can purchase a licence to use the pic? Did you convert it to a licence sale?

CG
__________________
CG
blog.inlina.com | xenonphoto.com.au | Flickr
Canon 1D MKIV | Canon 450D | EF16-35 F2.8L II | EF24-70 F2.8L | EF70-200 F2.8L II | EF50 F1.4 | EF-S IS 18-55 | EF-S IS 55-250 | EF 50mm Macro | Canon IXUS65
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 04-02-2011, 11:34 AM
BuddhaPi's Avatar
Middle School Graduate
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Jupiter, Florida
Posts: 1,605
Default

I've sent out several, usually along with the statute and penalties included.when they see those numbers, they usually comply quickly..or you could go the route of demanding payment as by law you don't have to send a cease and desist, but thats the mean way to play the game..you might want to visit the wayback machine (archive.org) and get some screen captures so you not only have proof, but you'll also be able to see when they put the image up, just in case you need to sue for damages, you'll have a timeline to base those damages on..

::EDIT:: just noticed your an aussie...the law in regards to cease and desist may be different there..
__________________
Nikon D7000:18-105mm VR Kit, Nikkor 35-70mm 2.8AF, Nikkor 50mm f/1.8d AF, Sigma 150-500mm f/5-6.3 AF, SB600
Web Design of Palm Beach
Photo Blog
Become a Fan on Facebook
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 04-02-2011, 12:50 PM
slh slh is offline
dPS Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Illinois
Posts: 238
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by inlina View Post
Hi all,

found a company using a couple of my pics on their website. One includes my copyright watermark, the other is only part of my pic so they have cropped it out.

Has anyone sent a 'Cease and Desist' type letter? Did it work? Did you also suggest that they can purchase a licence to use the pic? Did you convert it to a licence sale?

CG
How did you find your pics on their website?
__________________
Steve
My flickr
500px
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 04-02-2011, 02:15 PM
OsmosisStudios's Avatar
Don't Panic
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Mississauga / Ottawa
Posts: 11,351
Default

Using the Way Back machine is definitely a good idea. Consulting a lawyer would be a good idea, but I'm the kind of person to go the nasty route: Send them an invoice. If they balk at it, then send the cease and desist. If they still don't comply, time for court.
__________________
I am responsible for what I say; not what you understand.
OsmosisStudios
Gear List
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 04-02-2011, 05:26 PM
jdepould's Avatar
Critique Moderator
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Cleveland, OH
Posts: 5,485
Default

If it's online, a DMCA takedown is probably the easiest thing to do. Send it to their hosting company, just do a Google for DMCA takedown, you'll get everything you need.
__________________
JamieDePould.com + OneYearPhoto.com
Nikon D300, D700, Sony NEX5n
Zeiss 2/25; 1.4/50; 1.4/85

Please read the rules before posting a critique thread. Rules here.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 04-02-2011, 06:29 PM
BuddhaPi's Avatar
Middle School Graduate
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Jupiter, Florida
Posts: 1,605
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by jdepould View Post
If it's online, a DMCA takedown is probably the easiest thing to do. Send it to their hosting company, just do a Google for DMCA takedown, you'll get everything you need.
agreed this would be easiest, might even get the entire account suspended.
__________________
Nikon D7000:18-105mm VR Kit, Nikkor 35-70mm 2.8AF, Nikkor 50mm f/1.8d AF, Sigma 150-500mm f/5-6.3 AF, SB600
Web Design of Palm Beach
Photo Blog
Become a Fan on Facebook
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 04-02-2011, 08:08 PM
jdepould's Avatar
Critique Moderator
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Cleveland, OH
Posts: 5,485
Default

As an addition, you need to do a WHOIS lookup on the site to get the info for the hosting company. Not sure how savvy the OP is with that kind of stuff, but Google will get you where you need to go either way.
__________________
JamieDePould.com + OneYearPhoto.com
Nikon D300, D700, Sony NEX5n
Zeiss 2/25; 1.4/50; 1.4/85

Please read the rules before posting a critique thread. Rules here.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old 04-02-2011, 08:12 PM
BuddhaPi's Avatar
Middle School Graduate
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Jupiter, Florida
Posts: 1,605
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by jdepould View Post
As an addition, you need to do a WHOIS lookup on the site to get the info for the hosting company. Not sure how savvy the OP is with that kind of stuff, but Google will get you where you need to go either way.
I think the Op should just name and shame the site in question, we can help do the whois!
__________________
Nikon D7000:18-105mm VR Kit, Nikkor 35-70mm 2.8AF, Nikkor 50mm f/1.8d AF, Sigma 150-500mm f/5-6.3 AF, SB600
Web Design of Palm Beach
Photo Blog
Become a Fan on Facebook
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old 04-02-2011, 09:50 PM
jdepould's Avatar
Critique Moderator
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Cleveland, OH
Posts: 5,485
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by BuddhaPi View Post
I think the Op should just name and shame the site in question, we can help do the whois!
Just noticed that they're Australian, though if the site is in the US it's still an option.
__________________
JamieDePould.com + OneYearPhoto.com
Nikon D300, D700, Sony NEX5n
Zeiss 2/25; 1.4/50; 1.4/85

Please read the rules before posting a critique thread. Rules here.
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old 04-03-2011, 12:53 AM
inlina's Avatar
Arcing in Xenon
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 74
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by slh View Post
How did you find your pics on their website?
In short, by luck. I shoot a lot of BMX events and I am heavily involved in the sport (as president of a BMX club). I was clicking around and clicked on the event sponsor's link for last years state championship. Was looking at the pics in their banner and looked at one that was an event I covered from an angle I was shooting. Went back through some of my promo shots from that event and found it was in fact mine and had been cropped (cropping out the copyright) along with some other adjustements. I showed my wife who then looked deeper in their site and found another promo shot from another event with my copyright still on the pic.

It frustrates me, because I will help out the clubs and state association by giving them a free pic for promo purposes as I am all for promoting the sport, it is in my interests as a business with equity in the sport and a club president. But this infringment was by a company that distributes bikes and equipment (not just BMX) and ultimately make money from the hard work I do as a president and my club of volunteers do to promote the sport. I have actually spoken to the manager of the department that would have been responsible for this at races and trade shows, but I wouldn't say we are on a first name basis.

I have the Whois covered. As it turns out, despite it being an Australian company, the website is hosted by a US company. A DMCA complaint should work, but I don't think that will be my first port of call. Will see what the archive.org avenue shows up also.

The website belongs to a larger company. I like the send an invoice option first. I will send it to their accounts payable people and see what happens. If I get no joy, then on to the cease and desisit or DMCA complaint.

Has anyone been paid for sensing an invoice in a case like this?

Corey
__________________
CG
blog.inlina.com | xenonphoto.com.au | Flickr
Canon 1D MKIV | Canon 450D | EF16-35 F2.8L II | EF24-70 F2.8L | EF70-200 F2.8L II | EF50 F1.4 | EF-S IS 18-55 | EF-S IS 55-250 | EF 50mm Macro | Canon IXUS65
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2012, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.

What’s Your Preference?

Daily Digest

Each day we send out a quick email to thousands of DPS readers to notify them of updates. This email is just short excerpt of the first few lines of our latest post with a link if you want to read it all. You can unsubscribe from this this service at any time.

This service is provided by a third party (Feedburner) and you can subscribe to it by leaving your email address in the following field and confirming your subscription when you get an email asking you to do so.

Enter your email address for
Daily Updates:

Weekly Summary

For those wanting a weekly summary of what happens on this site this free email newsletter is probably your best option. It includes a summary of the tips posted to the site each week. This newsletter is subscribed to by over 25000 readers (many who also subscribe to the other options above) - come join the community!

To subscribe to this weekly newsletter simply add your email address to the following field and then follow the confirmation prompts. You will be able to unsubscribe at any time.

Enter your email address for
Free Weekly Newsletter:

 
SEO by vBSEO 3.3.0