Close
Close
Page 1 of 2 12 Last
    GadgetRick is offline dPS Forum Member

Default Contract for an MMA event

Just got a go from a promoter to be paid to shoot (nice to already have my time/expenses covered!) an event on October 2. I don't have an example of a contract I can send him and was wondering if any of you may have something I could use.

It's not like a portrait session or a wedding. Basically, they're getting my services (next to the cage and for weigh-ins). I'll be giving them some low-res images and a handful (if that) of high-res images. They will pay me my fee and give me access to contact info for the fighters, schools and sponsors so I can market photos to them.

It'll be nice to have my time/expenses paid before I show up to the event for a change!

Thanks.

Anyone? Anyone? Buehler? Buehler?

Daisho is offline Light, I need more light!

Well, I am not a lawyer but why don't you just create your contract like this?
    Stating the parties involved (you and the promotion)
    Covering third-party rights, aka. the fighters and audience agreeing to appear in the pictures allow you to take and publish the pictures (and that the promotion makes sure that the third parties agree to that (by contract etc. and you are not liable for anything).
    Then you outline your service (coverage of weigh in + fights at cage site with a total of X hours on day one and X hours on day two) plus what images you provide (resolution, number, terms of use) including the fee.
    Then you go smart and put in that what ever damage you or your equipment will suffer is completely covered by the promotion.
    And then you put in that you are the only one to market or provide the pictures to the sponsors/gyms/fighters and that the promoter is to be held responsible for nobody else to picture the event. And that the promotion is to provide you with contact info (Names, Address, Phone number, Email) of each individual gym/fighter/sponsor taking part in the event.