Close
Close
    dancingolive is offline I'm new here!

Default Birthday Party- What to charge?

A friend I work with wants me to take photos of his little girl's princess party, they want a
    5X7 print of each little girl with the princess they are going to hire. I have never charged anything because I am still learning and "getting my footing" with photograpy.
    I am assuming the event will last 2 hours and there will be around 10-15 little girls. I will obviously charge for the cost of prints, but does anyone have any advice on how much I should charge for my time?

Any advice is appreciated!
    Thanks,
    Carissa

BCampbell is offline verb noun

First thing you need to do is make sure they've cleared this with the agency they're hiring this "princess" from. It's very likely that they also provide a photo service, and your freind opted not to do that and hire you instead, cheaper. At the least, you'll need to have the pricess sign a model release as this would be "commerical" work.

Jim Poor is offline Class Curmudgeon

I am assuming . . .
    Don't do that. Find out for sure.

As for "commercial," that's not really the case here. "Commercial" work requiring a model release really doesn't apply to prints of birthday party children with a "character" like a princess.

BCampbell is offline verb noun

Quote Originally Posted by Jim Poor View Post
    As for "commercial," that's not really the case here. "Commercial" work requiring a model release really doesn't apply to prints of birthday party children with a "character" like a princess.
    It's definitely not editorial. It might be retail, I suppose. But commercial or retail, he's going to want his bases covered; model release at the least, and I would talk to the agency that's providing the "princess".

Brian Mullins is offline dPS Forum Member

Quote Originally Posted by BCampbell View Post