Close
Close

Thread: Which Lens?

Rae
    Rae is offline dPS Forum Member

Default Which Lens?

I am currently saving to buy a telephoto lens for landscape and maybe some bird photography and would like your recommendations as to the best lens. I have been looking at the EF 100-400mm F/4.5-5.6L IS USM Telephoto Lens; however, would it be best to just buy a 400mm lens. I know one that is f/2.8 would be better but also a bit pricey. I may be wrong, as I'm new to this whole thing, but believe I would get more use from the 100-400. Your opinions and recommendations are greatly appreciated. BTW, I have a 20D. TIA

-Rae

chrisgarrett is offline I'm new here!

I don't know the lenses personally but the 400mm f/2.8 would perform better in low light (although 2.8 isn't super fast) and would perform ever-so-slightly better optically but I have my doubts that would be visible to the naked eye. The advantage obviously with 100-400 is if the bird moves towards or away from you then you can follow it by adjusting your focal length. IS doesn't really help in the moving situation but when the bird is still you will be able to fire off solid shots without a tripod. Of course with f/2.8 you can go for a higher shutter speed without needing IS in the same light.

What it comes down to is what are your priorities?
    1. flexibility
    2. price
    3. weight
    4. optical performance
    5. f-stop

For what its worth I get quite a lot of use out of my 70-300mm IS and chose it over the prime because of flexibility

Saralonde is offline Administrator

If you are looking to photograph a large variety of wildlife you would need more versatility. Birds, being notoriously shy, probably do better with 400 or longer. Of course, price usually has to be considered.
    Did you check this site? http://www.the-digital-picture.com/Reviews/
    It may help you decide.
    Linda
    My Gear
    OK to re-edit and repost my shots on dps
    flickr

inkista is offline Gear Geek Girl