Close
Close
    draskol is offline I'm new here!

Default Canon 75-300 vs. 70-300 IS vs. 55-250 IS

Here's the price breakdown (roughly):

EF 75-300mm f/4.0-5.6 III USM: $160
    EF-S 55-250mm f/4-5.6 IS: $280
    EF 70-300mm f/4-5.6 IS USM: $550

I have a Digital Rebel XT with the kit lens and have been sucked into the Canon money pit. I've never owned a telephoto lens but have used friends' cameras with them and would really love one. I go to school in upstate New York and am a senior, so I decided that I'd like to spend a good amount of time photographing fall colors. That's how I started browsing the different models. I'm a student so I'm very much on a budget.

The 75-300 has very obvious appeal: it's cheap. I've read reviews and it seems that the consensus is that the lack of IS really is an issue and that you need to use a tripod, it focuses slowly, etc.. I don't necessarily mind using a tripod for the sort of shooting that I have in mind (fall colors), but I don't want to limit myself for when I'm traveling in the future, etc. to having to always have my tripod.

Reviewers who don't like the 75-300 say the 70-300 IS is the next step up and the IS is worth the price. They say it's a good piece of glass, is a little soft between 280-300, but is otherwise good. It's expensive.

After reading those reviews I started to think of how I could go about hitting my parents up for $550 (+ the $90 UV filter, I'm guessing I'd be stupid not to get?). I then stumbled upon the 55-250 IS. Nobody mentions it in reviews of either the 75-300 or the 70-300 IS. Why not? It seems like a perfectly good alternative. Am I missing something? Especially with DSLRs, the 55-250 is multiplied by some constant and becomes longer, right? Is 250 x X (whatever it comes out to) not long enough - to the point that people are willing to pay another $300?

Any advice would be greatly appreciated.
    Canon EOS Digital Rebel XT, 18-55mm f/3.5-5.6, 55-250mm f/4-5.6 IS, 50mm f/1.8