Close
Close
Page 1 of 2 12 Last
    Mutter22 is offline CANONestlysaysheluvsdslrs

Default Canon 1100D / 450D / 500D / 550D / 600D???

OK I'm getting money for christmas from people to go towards my first DSLR. I was originally thinking a 1100D but have looked on Which and it has recommended these other models too. So now I'm really confused as to which to go for so any help / pointers from you guys would really be appreciated. I'm brand new to dslrs though so I don't know that much about the technical aspects. I'm sure I'll learn through being on this forum, reading the manual and practice but I don't understand all the jargon just yet.

Also, other than the camera body and the standard lense they come with, what else would I need other than a bag? Flashes? I have a tripod already Anything else?

Thanks in advance guys

inkista is offline Gear Geek Girl

Here's a chart of all the Canon dSLR models. The table goes (vertically) through the tiers from Pro down to entry-level, and across [left to right] by time, through the generations.

Template:Canon DSLR cameras - Wikipedia, the free encyclopedia

Generally speaking, the farther to the left the model is, the newer it is, and the better the sensor technology will be. The farther to the top the model is, the higher the tier, and the more features and heavier the build quality will be.

The 450D/500D/550D are all older models. The 600D is the current dRebel model. It's an entry level camera, good for beginners, and for lower budgets. The 1100D is one tier below the 600D. It has fewer features, but it less expensive.