Close
Close
    ChanzM is offline I'm new here!

Default Rule of thirds???

Hey Peeps,

Would you say by looking at this photo that I do have some understanding about rule of thirds? As a beginner I find it quite a task to think about the rule of thirds togther with the composition (phew) Btw, aren't rules meant to be broken??

Canon EOS 1100D
    f/5
    Iso 100
    1/250s

Thanks
    Attached Images Attached Images
    Last edited by ChanzM; 01-19-2013 at 09:12 PM.
    Live~Laugh~Love

Linnea is offline dPS Forum Member

I would not really class this as an example of rule of thirds, I mean you got its nose in one of the rule of thirds intersections but that's about it. I would rather say that this is more about diagonal/leading lines. And yes rules are meant to be broken so if you went for breaking the rule on purpose then you succeeded, but if you were trying to go for a strict rule of thirds then a different vantage point (more to your left and down) would have been better to place it in a more horizontal line. But that's just my opinion, others may think differently.
    Photography student with a burning passion for wildlife and nature.
    Canon EOS 60D
    Sigma DC 18-250mm f/3.5-6.3 | Canon EF 50mm f/1.8 | Metz 36 AF-5 + other accessories
    Follow me on: Facebook | deviantArt | dayviews | Flickr | ViewBug

Trader is offline dPS +1000 Club

To answer your question I would say that you do not understand the rule of thirds. I don't think they apply to this image at all.

flickr
    - - Nikon D3S & D300; Nikkor 28-300mm AF-S f/1:3.5-5.6G VR, 50mm f/1.4D, 105mm f/2.8G, 18-200mm f/3.5-5.6G, 70-300mm f/4.5-5.6G, 300mm f/2.8G ED AF-S VR IF, Tamron 18-270mm f/3.5-6.3, Nikon AF-STC-20Eii 2.0x Teleconverter and 2 SB-900s with reflectors, light stands, LumiQuest Softbox iii, & umbrellas.