Close
Close
    Stoogie22 is offline Pentaxian

Default Bald Eagle on a telephone pole

Driving in to work yesterday in the pouring rain, I saw a big bald eagle hanging out on a telephone pole, overlooking the lake. It was, as I said, pouring rain, and I didn't have my camera with me (of course). I've seen eagles in the area a couple times, and I drove by again today, this time with my camera in the hopes that he'd be there again.

It's not the most exciting shot, and I was somewhat limited by the fact that he's on a pole 30 feet up in the air. Also, I tried shooting from some different angles, but there was too much water and/or blackberry bushes in the way for me to try and get a shot without the wire in it.

I tried to take the rule of thirds into account, and not to have his head smack dab in the middle of the picture. I'm pretty happy with this shot, but then again, I'm a photography noob, so I don't really know what to look for. Many of the shots of eagles here have a lot more life to them, I think it's something to do with their eyes, but I have no idea what it might be, or how to capture it in my own shots.

Taken with a Pentax K-r with a Pentax FA 80-320mm, hand held
    1/640s
    F/8.0
    320mm
    ISO 200

Thanks for your feedback!

sat1971 is offline I'm new here!

Nice capture of a majestic bird in less then ideal conditions

KurtM is offline Support Public Radio

If it were mine, I'd put it in the Great Snapshots folder, though not in the Great Photographs one, because I like the focus, exposure, and head angle. (Head is a little blown out, but that's a real toughie since the body is so dark.) I'm not so sure about the body posture, and in any case, the telephone pole rig just looks awful. But if the context was meant to be how badly we're defacing the landscape, then maybe....