500px Review [and Giveaway] - Digital Photography School

500px Review [and Giveaway]

A Guest post by Will Burrard-Lucas

500px-logo.jpg
500px.comis a photo sharing website that has exploded in popularity recently. The website isn’t that new – in fact it has been around in various forms since 2003 – but its most recent incarnation seems to have hit upon a magic formula.

On visiting the site, the first thing you’ll notice is the impressively high standard of photography on display. This isn’t just a result of 500px tempting many of the web’s finest photographers to move across from other photo sharing sites, but also a testament to the effectiveness of its popularity engine.

It is free to sign up for a standard account, which will allow you to share up to 20 photos per week. Your photos are beautifully displayed with large thumbnail previews and a clean, uncluttered interface.

500px-photo.jpg

The site isn’t bloated with features but it has all the basics such as commenting, favoriting and following. I have been impressed by the responsiveness and diligence of the site’s staff; they seem to be working tirelessly to improve and expand the website and I have noticed a number of incremental improvements over the last month or so. If you contact them for any reason you will usually receive a rapid response.

Popularity

You can either “Like” or “Dislike” each photograph on 500px and these votes are used to calculate a score. If the score is high enough, the image will appear on the popular photos page and this results in a ton of exposure for you and your work. Over time, the algorithm gradually decreases each photo’s score so the popular page always remains fresh. With every vote, you can watch in real-time as a picture’s score goes up or down. This allows you to track your images as they climb the popularity rankings, which can be quite addictive! I like this system because it is much more transparent than other sites, for example Flickr’s explore rankings, which remain a mystery to me! One of the biggest achievements of the ranking engine is that a user’s prominence in the community has a limited impact on the popularity of their photos.

This means brand new users often upload just one or two photos and (if they are good pictures) they can make it straight onto the front page of popular photos.

As a result I have noted that it is much easier to get noticed than it is on other photo sharing sites such as Flickr. For me, one of the biggest draws of 500px is the potential for exposure and the ability to get my work in front of new eyeballs. I have been pleasantly surprised by how much traffic 500px is generating. I already have more followers after six weeks on 500px than I have after several years on flickr and each new photo I upload to 500px generally receives many more views than the same picture on other photo sharing sites. Purely from a marketing point of view, this makes 500px a worthwhile time investment for me.

Tips for establishing yourself on 500px

Here are a few tips to help you get started on 500px:

500px-profile.jpg

  • Start by filling out your profile and uploading a few (but not all) of your best photographs. This will allow visitors to decide if they want to follow you.
  • Explore other users’ photographs on 500px and leave a few meaningful, worthwhile comments. People will see your comments and often click on your name to checkout your work. This is how you can start to collect a following.
  • If you are on twitter, facebook or other social networks, post a link to your 500px profile so your friends can follow and “like” your work.
  • Every day or two upload a new photo. Spreading out your uploads means you will always have fresh photos appearing on the homepage of people who follow you. This will result in more views and votes in the long run.
  • Be selective and keep the quality of your uploads as high as possible. Most of the people on 500px are photographers so they tend to appreciate photographs that are technically good (i.e. sharp, well composed and well processed).

Portfolios

500px-portfolio.jpg
Portfolios are a nice feature of 500px. They allow you to create a basic standalone website with the photos you have uploaded to 500px. You can pick a theme from a selection of slick designs, include your contact details and add information to your biography page. You can checkout our portfolio here: http://wildlife.500px.com

Awesome Accounts

Upgrading to an “Awesome” account costs $50 and gives you a number of benefits. For starters you can upload an unlimited number of photos per week. You also get a number of additional portfolio features such as exclusive designs, custom logos, website analytics and the ability to use your own domain name.

Awesome Account Giveaway!

The generous people over at 500px have kindly given me 5 Awesome accounts, worth $50 each, to giveaway to DPS readers! All you have to do to become eligible for this draw is complete two simple steps:

After the deadline I will go through my list of new followers and select 5 accounts at random to receive a free 1-year Awesome account worth $50! The deadline is 10 days from today [2nd August].

I will announce the winners of the giveaway on my 500px blog. If you can’t wait and want to purchase an Awesome account, you can get 20% off using the promo code “friends“. I look forward to seeing your photos on 500px. Make sure you leave a link to you profile in the comments below so everyone can find you!

Will Burrard-Lucas is a professional wildlife photographer from the UK. You can view his work on his Burrard-Lucas.com, Facebook and of course, 500px!

If you enjoyed this article, you might also like...

Guest Contributor This post was written by a guest contributor to DPS. Please see their details in the post above.

Become a Contributor: Check out Write for DPS page for details about how YOU can share your photography tips with the DPS community.

Some older comments

  • Grant

    August 25, 2013 03:11 pm

    So much talent and great work on here. Thanks for sharing, here is my page hope you check it out :-)

  • JJ

    July 24, 2013 04:07 pm

    Also recently joined 500px. http://500px.com/JJLynxPhotography It is great! Still I wonder how to get more followers -)...well maybe I'm not good enough yet :)
    Also, how do you thank those people who liked and faved your photograph, or visiting and maybe liking their work is sufficient enough&

  • david kolbush

    March 18, 2013 07:03 am

    New to 500px – Love it!!!
    http://500px.com/david6

  • moelbar

    February 13, 2013 02:05 am

    Shooting with cameras because laws prevent me from shooting with guns...

    http://500px.com/MoHamedElBarkani

  • Josh Yellon

    December 19, 2012 01:35 am

    http://500px.com/JoshYellon

    I have been using 500px since the begining of the year and have been happy with the site. I like the simplicity of it verses Flickr and the ability to share and learn by looking at other photographer's work.

  • Okasha

    December 3, 2012 11:57 am

    http://500px.com/Okasha

  • Tammy

    May 9, 2012 10:03 am

    Does anyone use the site to sell their work?

  • markus

    April 5, 2012 05:14 am

    follow me on 500px

  • Vasu

    March 6, 2012 10:57 pm

    I always try to make my photos creative. Do have a look :)
    http://500px.com/vasuagarwal

  • Juliana

    December 23, 2011 05:14 pm

    I'm late, but this was a great opportunity. I just got started with this site.

    https://500px.com/sparksfly

  • Chazz

    December 11, 2011 02:56 am

    I have been using 500px for a few weeks now, so far I really like it except for a few things could be drastically improved.

    The worst thing is regularly an overabundance of Nudes that are not properly tagged so they do not get filtered out. Most of the time when you report them it takes them days to do anything about it. By then the photo will have gotten old and disappeared anyway.

    This is very annoying to me and should not be tolerated. It makes it unsafe to use around anyone especially family or at work. A person always has to be looking over there shoulder to see who is around before going to the site. Apparently the people at 500 do not seem to care to much about this since it has been going on for quite a while.

    I would suggest anyone that uses the site to email them and complain. If 500 is not going to do anything about it they could at least automate the user reporting, like it two people report it as "should be nude" then the server just auto switches its tag or something... and then have consequences for users that continue to misstag there pictures on purpose like freezing there accounts for a period of time for multiple offenses.

    Sorry about the semi rant, all the other sites I have used have been fairly well regulated on this matter. I am not sure what is up with 500 but they won't be getting any of my money for an "awesome" account until this is fixed. I feel like I can't even tell most of my family about the site because of this. :)

    If they get some of these things fixed it has the potential to be the best site for sharing your best pictures.

  • Ron

    September 1, 2011 10:55 pm

    I just discovered 500px and was impressed by the huge thumbnails.
    http://500px.com/ronots

  • Jean-Pierre

    August 16, 2011 11:32 pm

    Badass place to post photos!

    http://500px.com/MidnightRook

  • Martin

    August 12, 2011 12:51 am

    I love 500px, I literally spend hours voting for stuff. http://500px.com/landscape

  • Raghunath

    August 9, 2011 04:48 pm

    Great Post! 500px is awesome and I signed up the moment I saw it...

    Visit my gallery @

    http://500px.com/Raghunath

  • Jay

    August 4, 2011 11:08 pm

    I found 500px because Zack Arias started using it and tweeting about it. It's great! Anyone know how to add watermarks to the previews only? I see Will has some on his.
    Find mine at http://500px.com/casesensitive

  • Malcolm

    August 4, 2011 09:16 pm

    By chance I happen to come across Will Burrard-Lucas twice in one day. I joined Google+ yesterday and he was one of the first additions to a circle. I was reading this review and after joining 500px realised it was the same person. Unfortunately I am too late and missed the deadline.

    http://500px.com/malfotographi?cs

  • Sangeeth VS

    August 3, 2011 09:40 pm

    Mine can be accessed from http://500px.com/sangeethvs

  • Holly

    August 3, 2011 08:35 am

    Hope it's end of day today, the time just slipped by! Created by account (http://500px.com/hollysisson) and am following you.

  • Madison Raine

    August 2, 2011 04:54 am

    I hope it works.

    I love being able to see all the different photos from DPS readers.

  • Lisa B.

    August 1, 2011 11:45 pm

    Your pictures are "Awesome"! I am failry new to photography but truly enjoy all of the great information and guidance.

    I know I will have fun roaming around 500px!

    http://www.500px.com/YourJourneyPhotography

  • Lynn Tan

    August 1, 2011 10:43 pm

    @Madison
    Thanks. Will try out your suggestion.

  • Kate Wang

    August 1, 2011 01:16 pm

    Hello,

    I've been thinking about joining 500px for some while and this review helped me finally decide to make an account!

    please take a look at my photos: http://500px.com/katewangfoto

    Thanks!

  • Heike Accorsi

    August 1, 2011 06:27 am

    I truly feel like 500px.com has changed the way we look at photographs online. I absolutely love it and am very addicted to it. It also really encourages one to improve their photography skills, in order to post excellent pictures. Perfect! :^)

  • Steve Savoie

    July 31, 2011 11:55 pm

    Thanks Will ! This looks like a great site and i love the feature that we can sell our pics too!!!

    My account : http://500px.com/Dragon2573

  • SwissJon

    July 31, 2011 11:22 pm

    Thank you sooo much.. I was wondering how to get my pictures on line to sell and so on.. You've solved my problem.. I like the small limit so you have to be very selective.. It means your portfolia is the best of the best.. And it's made me focus.. Thanks a million :) By the way, I'd love a pro account so I can link one of my URL's to it ;)

    Oh.. Here's me.. http://www.500px.com/swissjon

  • Nadim Hajjar

    July 31, 2011 08:13 pm

    I really love this photo sharing website, it's very encouraging and photographers out there are highly talented

    www.500px.com/NadimHajjar

  • Madison Raine

    July 31, 2011 01:04 am

    @ Lynn,
    it was slow for me the first ten I uploaded but then it started working faster. Maybe it's because I had the photos on the computer and not the memory card and I restarted the computer. Try restarting your computer. 500px is awesome

  • Lynn Tan

    July 31, 2011 12:19 am

    I checked out 500px after reading the review, liked the look of it, joined it and tried to upload some of my pics ..... and it was unbelievably slow. Maybe it's because they dont have an asia server (where i am). I gave up after one picture and think i'm going to un-join it and stick to flicker, which is a pity 'cos i really liked the look of 500px.

  • Russell

    July 29, 2011 08:59 pm

    Hi Will,
    I found 500px a couple of months ago and couldn't agree more with your summary. Great quality and truly inspiring work from so many amazing photographers.
    http://500px.com/WesternLightsStudio

  • Mon

    July 29, 2011 05:51 pm

    Thanks for sharing your insights on 500px. You have an awesome gallery, by the way! Here's my profile: http://500px.com/monlitratista

  • Brian Carson

    July 29, 2011 07:56 am

    Hey Will,

    Thanks for the heads up on 500px. It is really really nice.

    My brand new gallery on 500px:

    http://500px.com/thelearningcurve

  • Jenn

    July 29, 2011 07:44 am

    Great article. Just signed up with 500px.
    http://500px.com/knittybaker

  • Alex

    July 29, 2011 04:52 am

    Well, now I've found a better alternative to Flickr, it seems! What a great site - just getting started there now.

    http://500px.com/delrae

  • Madison Raine

    July 29, 2011 04:32 am

    I've been on here a week now, and have seen many DPS readers. It took me a while to pick and shoot my favorite 20 photos.
    LOVE THE SITE! it's my first ever photo sharing website (never been on a social network like facebook or myspace, but I am on a band website...) anyways It's a great site!

    http://500px.com/MadisonRaine

  • Thomas Leuthard - 85mm

    July 29, 2011 04:19 am

    Check out my blog on 500px

    http://500px.com/85mm

  • Don

    July 29, 2011 03:37 am

    I've just recently started trickling images into my 500px account:

    http://500px.com/DonMcKee

    I haven't received much "Affection" yet, but then I haven't given much, either. ;-) I'll likely continue to use Flickr for my daily 365 posts, then "promote" my favorites to display on 500px. As mentioned many times, 500px presents your work very nicely, and the overall quality of work displayed is very high (so far, anyway).

  • Stephanie

    July 29, 2011 03:37 am

    Beatiful website! Love it already and I can't wait to get started!

    Love the blog too!

    http://500px.com/scharlesphotos

    Thanks for the post!
    Steph

  • Alex Bruce

    July 29, 2011 03:24 am

    Love your newsletter! I just loaded my first pics on 500px and really like the interface.

    http://500px.com/Abruce

  • HAbed

    July 29, 2011 03:05 am

    I already have an account and I love it. Still some things need to get worked like editing in lots. Doing one by one is tired and I don't find it as user friendly as I expected but I hope they are working on it

    Here's my account

    http://500px.com/haphotographer

  • Ruby

    July 29, 2011 02:56 am

    I opened an account: http://500px.com/RubyT

    And I am following you. ?

  • Jamie

    July 29, 2011 02:41 am

    Post more pictures later. I love the clean crisp format!

  • Tony

    July 29, 2011 02:12 am

    I love 500px. The photos on it are amazing. I've been a long time Flickr user, and thought it was great. But 500px somehow seems to have gone one better. Here's my portfolio http://500px.com/brotherofapesod

    Comments and criticism very much welcomed.

  • Christine

    July 29, 2011 01:40 am

    This would be totally awesome to have for someone like me.
    I am dedicated to my photography and plan on doing it for the rest of my life.

    I am 21 years old and headed to Durham College in the fall, for a two year program: Digital Photography & Video Production.

    http://cfrog62.500px.com/

  • Andrei

    July 29, 2011 01:21 am

    Here is my profile: http://500px.com/andreisiran Still a beginner, but I simply love photography!

  • Steve

    July 29, 2011 01:15 am

    I'm really impressed with the layout and overall program of 500px. I'm glad to see DPS doing a review.
    http://500px.com/StevenFines

  • Scott

    July 28, 2011 10:13 pm

    http://500px.com/scottsmith I'll be uploading a few images later.

    Looks like a very interesting altenative to flickr. I've another 12months to run on my flickr account but being able to have a blog and my own domain name could help me condense the services I use.

  • Matthew

    July 28, 2011 04:52 pm

    Year 12 Photography student, kinda new to it all, but people seem to like my stuff..

    http://500px.com/matthewralph - is the adress

  • Justin

    July 27, 2011 08:21 am

    I really like 500px. The quality of photos is so good. I'm just getting started with photo-social networking, so this review and the comments above are very helpful. Thanks!

    http://500px.com/just-in-musing

  • Lauren Sobkoviak

    July 27, 2011 06:04 am

    Good information on 500px. I really like your Komodo Dragon shot. I enjoy imaging the much littler lizards I have around here. Someday, I hope to go after the larger ones. Now to check out some more photographers.

    500px.com/LaurenSobkoviak

  • Misty Dawn

    July 27, 2011 03:28 am

    I see comments from a few of the people I already follow on 500px. I'm off to check out the rest of your sites. :-)
    http://500px.com/MistyDawnS

  • Ervin Ter

    July 27, 2011 02:51 am

    I hope to get this giveaway.

    Just signup and start following you
    http://500px.com/ervinter

  • Pushkar

    July 27, 2011 02:32 am

    http://500px.com/PushkarGujar

  • Christoph Heinrich

    July 27, 2011 01:43 am

    Hi you guys. A nice article on 500px. I've started taking a look at it a few weeks ago and like it more than flickr. (even though I've just bought a pro account on flickr a few weeks back).

    Here's my account anyways.
    http://500px.com/christophheinrich

    Best regards,
    Chris

  • Stefan Thallner

    July 26, 2011 06:28 pm

    Hey nice article, i just created an account, and uploaded a few pics. It's really nice. Looks much better than my old flickr portfolio.
    http://500px.com/stth

  • Andy

    July 26, 2011 10:09 am

    thanks for the great review.....I've been using 500px for a couple weeks now and like it a lot better than flickr.

    Come by and take a look:
    http://500px.com/ruefy

  • Scott

    July 26, 2011 09:15 am

    Just added another photo sharing account to my list :)

    Awesome photos though!

  • Patrick

    July 26, 2011 05:50 am

    http://500px.com/sleepingiant

  • Kunal Bhatia

    July 26, 2011 02:52 am

    I created an account on 500px today morning, and I am loving it already! I think the clean, large interface is its best selling point. My account is at: http://500px.com/kunalbhatia

  • zaurik

    July 25, 2011 09:43 pm

    thanks for the great review. Been looking for a flickr alternative. http://500px.com/zaurik (although there's nothing in it as yet =P)

    i was wondering though, is it possible to keep a picture private so as no one sees it?

  • Giuseppe Muccioli

    July 25, 2011 06:45 pm

    Thanks for this useful review!
    http://500px.com/beppino

  • Fotograf Poznan

    July 25, 2011 05:36 pm

    I created account and I added first photo - look at http://500px.com/skrzypol

  • Michael C

    July 25, 2011 09:42 am

    http://500px.com/descrystudios

    Thanks for the tip on this community. Its such a fun place. I can't wait to post more work.

  • Brock Copus

    July 25, 2011 07:53 am

    Finally decided to get on 500px
    http://500px.com/brockus

  • Martijn

    July 25, 2011 04:45 am

    The quality of the images on there is great indeed!
    http://500px.com/waveparticlepixel

  • AvdBoom

    July 24, 2011 11:56 pm

    Great post.

    I started an free account and enjoying it very much! I will deffinitely upload my photo's here!
    And I like your work, very inspiring I think! So I keep folowing you ever after the prise is givven away ;-).

    My account is: http://500px.com/AvdBoom

    Kind regards,

    Alexander

  • Jeremy Montgomery

    July 24, 2011 01:58 pm

    Awesome thx! http://500px.com/jmont

  • Luis Macedo

    July 24, 2011 07:58 am

    http://500px.com/luismacedo

  • Michael Lawson

    July 24, 2011 07:54 am

    Been using 500px since Scott Kelby blogged about it a few weeks ago. I have had the same experience of getting more exposure on 500px in a few weeks than I have on Flickr or Facebook in years.

    http://500px.com/michaeljlawson

  • Matt

    July 24, 2011 07:04 am

    Been thinking about trying out 500px for a while but this post has finally persuaded me !

    Would be great if some of you guys could take a look at my profile, I have only uploaded a few of my favorite pictures at the moment :)

    http://500px.com/chasingtheshot

    Thanks

  • Rahul Jain

    July 24, 2011 04:01 am

    I joined in April. Its my First of its kind site to joined in. I am not on flicker but after this i even not want to join that now. :P :)

    You can check me on www.500px.com/rahuljain

    my portfolio

    rahuljain.500px.com

  • Raphaël

    July 24, 2011 02:39 am

    Done ;) thanks a lot for a review.
    Here is my account : http://500px.com/quicksil7er

  • Sergios

    July 24, 2011 01:48 am

    Joined 500px a while ago (http://500px.com/sergios); really looking forward to checking out how much it can offer - hosting your blog and building your own website sound appealing.
    Also, quite interesting to see how the community will react i.e. will photographers promote their work through 500px, Flickr or both.
    Thanks for sharing!

  • Natalie Becker

    July 24, 2011 12:49 am

    http://500px.com/NatalieBecker

  • Meagan

    July 24, 2011 12:07 am

    I love it! Just signed up for my own account! Thanks for the article, I may not have found it otherwise!

    http://500px.com/mklem

  • cpando

    July 23, 2011 11:51 pm

    got my account, I just hope I can get good pics to share there

    http://500px.com/CarlosPando

  • Daniel Krger

    July 23, 2011 11:36 pm

    I just set up an account...I've been with Photoshelter for a while now, but I think I'll make the switch. I'll start getting some photos up soon on my 500px account. http://500px.com/djkregerphotography

    Love your work, Will and Matt!

  • Barry

    July 23, 2011 11:07 pm

    Interesting site, I have signed up and put a few pictures up. This seems like a great starting point to get some contacts for the site as well, I am going to keep track of the people who comment here to watch some of the people who are on DPS regularly.

    http://500px.com/stochasticmotions

    Barry

  • Mike

    July 23, 2011 09:35 pm

    I just signed up on 500px yesterday and I like the clean photo centric interface of both the site and the portfolios.

    http://500px.com/mikeschelhorn

  • Russ

    July 23, 2011 09:24 pm

    Signed up a couple of days ago before reading this, only been dabbling with photography this year so far
    My profile is http://rustla.500px.com

  • erfin nugroho

    July 23, 2011 08:14 pm

    Thanks for great review, here's my link http://500px.com/erfin3000

  • Arjay Talosig

    July 23, 2011 05:02 pm

    ever since I signed up with 500px.com, I been hooked on how it is. thanks for the 500px tips! :)

    http://500px.com/arjayboy

  • Joe Miller

    July 23, 2011 02:57 pm

    http://joemillerphotography.500px.com/#/0

  • Jamie

    July 23, 2011 12:15 pm

    Seems like a great site so far! Here's my link: http://500px.com/jamieleigh

  • Josh

    July 23, 2011 11:04 am

    Here's my link too...

    http://slantlab.500px.com/#/0

  • Josh

    July 23, 2011 11:00 am

    I wish I had found 500px before I went with SmugMug. I really like 500px's system a lot better. It's simple and easy to understand where as Mug's is overly complex and a bit annoying. Glad you guys reviewed it. I signed up and already received some affection.

    Great review!

  • Isoterica

    July 23, 2011 10:43 am

    I am on it! Had already just joined 500px too!

  • Alexander Istratov

    July 23, 2011 10:01 am

    Thanks for the review ! I was actually looking for such a website for some time now, and dunno how I could miss 500px ! Very good alternative to Flickr even if I feel a bit out of my league ...
    Here's my profile link, I'll post my first photos this weekend

    http://500px.com/istratov

  • CalebD

    July 23, 2011 09:54 am

    I'm crossing my fingers!

  • Vince

    July 23, 2011 09:22 am

    Wow by the sounds of this review this sounds like a great site to be on and to motivate me to do more regular work. I like the sound of they way they determine the popular photos feature. Must sign up today

  • Madison Raine

    July 23, 2011 08:43 am

    WOO HOO, I finished uploading and adding logos. YAY, took forever, Now everyone please look and give me feed back, I'll appreciate it alot!

  • Jason Wright

    July 23, 2011 07:39 am

    Hoping the quality stays high and it doesn't go the way of flickr - i.e. if you're a cute girl your photos magically seem to rank higher.... http://500px.com/colourandlight

  • Katie

    July 23, 2011 06:03 am

    I just opened an account this past Wednesday, and have found that it is the easiest thing to work with since sliced bread! One of the best photo sites ever!

    http://500px.com/kateaustinphotography

  • Madison Raine

    July 23, 2011 06:01 am

    I don't have anything uploaded at all yet, i just NOW got the account!!!
    But I would be super happy if in 2 days or so someone, ANYONE would view it.
    Thanks

    And once I have photos on it, I would be happy to get ANY opinions on them.

    500px.com/MadisonRaine

  • Vaibhav

    July 23, 2011 05:56 am

    it's amazing http://500px.com/VaibhavBhosale

  • Henrik Emtkjær Hansen

    July 23, 2011 05:53 am

    Swing by and say hi!
    www.500px.com/Hansenhenrik

  • Alex

    July 23, 2011 05:53 am

    Ok I set up my portfolio and started to follow you guys :) All in all it may have taken me an hour to come up with that one here: http://alexfotografiert.500px.com/
    :)

  • Robert

    July 23, 2011 05:52 am

    I'm following! This is me, by the way robertbrkljaca.500px.com

  • Rich Kolasa

    July 23, 2011 05:09 am

    your photography is incredible, and I hope I can win! I love the site, and it's been a great alternative to flickr.

  • A.S.

    July 23, 2011 04:56 am

    I signed up about 2 weeks ago. loving it so far. check my photos here http://500px.com/astormwithinastormwithout

  • Dave Dabour

    July 23, 2011 04:47 am

    Great idea - thanks! http://500px.com/dabour

  • filipe

    July 23, 2011 04:45 am

    http://500px.com/filipe-oliveira

  • Damien

    July 23, 2011 04:44 am

    stunning work

    My 500px is 500px.com/DamienCox

  • Alex

    July 23, 2011 04:37 am

    A friend of mine told me recently that he switched to 500px (http://500px.com/ChristopherStephenson). But I really guess that this review here sold that page to me now :) The puristic uncluttered design and everything is just cool. Guess I will use that now instead of flickr. Or maybe both? Ah there are too many sites.

  • Some Guy

    July 23, 2011 04:35 am

    Holy Crap! It's like facebook meets flickr WITH A DISLIKE BUTTON!

  • Alec Hosterman

    July 23, 2011 04:22 am

    I signed up for 500px a few weeks ago. Now I'm scouring my photos for the good ones to upload. This process is teaching me to be even more critical than in the past, which is a good thing. Here are a few that I've uploaded to test out the site: http://500px.com/alechosterman

  • Wrenchead

    July 23, 2011 04:18 am

    I was going to get an awesome account to host my portfolio but some things about the site made me change my mind.
    1) The site is really really slow here. This might be because they don't have an asia server but since my client base is in asia that was a deal breaker.
    2) For a week after I made my profile, the site was broken for mobile devices, the background would load but none of the pictures would.
    3) The site went down on me a couple of times a week. That's a definite no-no.
    4) The templates were broken for a few days. When the site would load, all the images would load full size instead of thumbnails.
    So, despite absolutely loving the interface and UI, I couldn't afford to direct my clients to a site that would not be guaranteed to work without fuss most of the time. Therefore, I'm now using wordpress to host my site. It's a real shame...

  • Dave flynn

    July 23, 2011 04:07 am

    http://www.500px.com/daveflynn

  • Dave flynn

    July 23, 2011 04:03 am

    Amazing site, I just joined last week
    http;//www.500px.com/daveflynn

  • JWaggoner

    July 23, 2011 03:55 am

    Loving 500px! My link is 500px.com/JWaggoner

  • bibousiq

    July 23, 2011 03:53 am

    I'm on this site for a whle, here is my 5500px: http://500px.com/bibousiq

  • John Boyd

    July 23, 2011 03:39 am

    I just joined 500px. Such a better alternative to Flickr... Very easy on the eyes.

    http://500px.com/jozboyd

  • Peter West Carey

    July 23, 2011 03:37 am

    Totally agree about the quality and style of 500px. Only been using it for a week and love it.

    http://500px.com/peterwestcarey

  • Philipp

    July 23, 2011 03:27 am

    I love the popular algorithm - i cant get enough- Spending hours in front of my note/netbook :D

    Here am I: http://500px.com/philipp

  • Don Saavedra

    July 23, 2011 03:20 am

    Being new to photography, I don't have any experience with any other photo sharing sight except Facebook, but I do quite like 500px. I heard about them from the TWiP podcast, and draw so much inspiration from the photography that I see there, I can't be bothered to worry about the ratings on my photographs. As a student, it almost doesn't matter so much that my stuff gets seen, but that I have the joy of browsing through so many great frames without having to dig deep or search for them.

    FWIW, my profile is http://500px.com/DonSaavedra

  • Lara

    July 23, 2011 03:16 am

    @Premal (and anyone else who is interested) - I don't want to take away from the awesomeness of DPS, but I have also been following ScottBourne as long as I have DPS, and he wrote a post about the copyright itself which can be found here: http://photofocus.com/2011/07/12/500px-mini-review/. Sorry if anyone is offended by my posting something from another blog here.

  • Richard

    July 23, 2011 03:03 am

    I'm not sure if I want to renew my Flickr pro account so I wanted to check this service out. Thanks for the reminder!

    Here is my account: http://500px.com/RichardPastenes

  • Ann

    July 23, 2011 03:00 am

    Giving this a go!

    http://500px.com/akathryna

  • Amber Michelle

    July 23, 2011 02:50 am

    Alright, I've just signed up and followed you. Here is my 500px:

    http://500px.com/amophotography

    I am a new photographer, though I've had a camera for a while, I wouldn't consider myself of any great skill. Any constructive comments would be wonderful.

    @Fuzzypiggy: I have a DA as well, but the website is often full of malware - I don't get on it anymore. :(

  • ursulakatariina

    July 23, 2011 02:47 am

    The site looks good and I created an account for me at http://500px.com/ursukata - only time will tell if I choose this over the aminus3.

  • Brian Fuller

    July 23, 2011 02:40 am

    The site does a much better job of displaying your best work vs. Facebook or Flickr. It stands out.

    http://500px.com/zelus

  • Imran

    July 23, 2011 02:40 am

    Been on flickr for a long time. Just discovered 500px a couple of weeks back & signed up. Loving the clean interface. I'm at:

    http://500px.com/alrihlaimages

  • Geoff

    July 23, 2011 02:38 am

    I LOVE 500px!! Having a free awesome account would be, well...
    AWESOME!!!!

    http://500px.com/GT_Dezines

  • Stevie Beats

    July 23, 2011 02:37 am

    Really interesting read. I have just joined the site a few backs and think it's awesome, it's what Flickr should have been.

    http://500px.com/StevieBeats

  • Stefano Gianazzi

    July 23, 2011 02:35 am

    Hi guys,
    very nice shoots !

    http://500px.com/gianazzi

  • Fuzzypiggy

    July 23, 2011 02:19 am

    Quite a plethora of site springing up with high quality photo sharing. I personally use DeviantArt. I am not a great photographer so I like the mixture of photographers, traditional artists, sculpters, jewellry and model makers that hang about on DA. You get to communicate with all sorts of artists, not just photographers and with 13 million members, there's plenty of people to talk to!

  • Gail Wiley

    July 23, 2011 02:18 am

    Thanks so much for this review and the contest. I have already joined this site and like it so far. The great advice will be very helpful. this inspires me to really up my game.

    I am located here http://500px.com/gailwileydesigns please feel free to check it out.

  • Aaron

    July 23, 2011 02:17 am

    Great advice. I'm liking the simplistic {no nonsense} interface approach of the site!

  • Rui Nelson Silva

    July 23, 2011 02:15 am

    I just got addicted to it, a few weeks ago!

    http://500px.com/ruinpsilva

  • Paul

    July 23, 2011 02:15 am

    Wow, your photos are absolutely stunning!

  • Donna Shreck

    July 23, 2011 02:14 am

    Hi,
    Love 500 px and really enjoy your work. My link is http://500px.com/shrecksimages
    This site reminds me that only my best will do.

  • Alexander

    July 23, 2011 02:14 am

    I guess I'll jump on the bandwagon and post my link: http://500px.com/sollie

    I'll try to follow some other people too.

  • Lindsay Colley

    July 23, 2011 02:10 am

    http://500px.com/lindsaycolley

  • Lou Wheeler

    July 23, 2011 02:06 am

    Been on 500px for a good while now... My profile is at http://500px.com/LouAllenWheeler

    Sacramento, CA portrait and music photographer

  • btdown

    July 23, 2011 02:02 am

    I signed up: http://500px.com/rbrong

    Will post pics when I get home from work.
    If this site is decent, I might even migrate from picasa.

  • Yvette

    July 23, 2011 02:00 am

    Thanks for the great review!!
    Just got my 500px account:
    http://500px.com/YvetteVanTeeffelen

  • Aleksdem

    July 23, 2011 01:41 am

    This is a cool site! I decided not to spoil it less interesting photo and gave myself a limit of 18 photos. To add a new, I remove the less interesting. :)

  • StephanieS

    July 23, 2011 01:16 am

    Maybe I should post my link here...duh... http://500px.com/StephanieShier

  • StephanieS

    July 23, 2011 01:14 am

    Done! I made an account a few days ago....but I'm SOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOO outta my league!!!

  • madison raine

    July 23, 2011 01:12 am

    @ David Cleland,
    I saw your photos. on your website and your 500 account, very talented, I like them a lot.

    @ Lara,
    you said awesome copy right terms and conditions, how awesome are they? Because I would really like to know. :) You say your an amateur, but your photos are very nice, I like your animal pictures a lot. A lot of your photos really bring out colors.

  • Premal

    July 23, 2011 01:11 am

    Will & Matt Burrard-Lucas, I have been following your work for long time. Really lice. I learn a lot from your pictures.

    I would appreciate a free account on 500px.
    http://500px.com/Premal_Dhruv_Photography
    Thank you in advance.
    -Premal

  • Paul Adams

    July 23, 2011 01:08 am

    I signed up not long ago but kinda forget about it - hectic schedule and all that! Will have to start playing some more because you're right, it is a gorgeous site.

    http://500px.com/CannonballJones

  • Lara

    July 23, 2011 01:05 am

    Here is my 500px acount. I got it shortly after reading about how awesome the copyright terms and conditions are on the site. I am still an amateur and all, but really liked the sound of the site and have been loving it so far despite my few followers. I think I made the fatal error of adding too many pics too fast. Oh well. Hopefully I will be discovered at some point or other.

    http://500px.com/evanescent

  • Madison Raine

    July 23, 2011 12:57 am

    I've been thinking about being on a photo sharing but I'm scared of people stealing my photos. Does this website have ant sort of copy right thing or a way so that people can't steal my photos? Because I'm interested into this site.

    Please anyone answer me. Thanks.

  • David Cleland

    July 23, 2011 12:47 am

    Loving 500px the layout is brilliant, a breeze to use and some of the work up there is stunning. I am http://500px.com/flixelpix on there. I have followed you.

Receive a FREE SAMPLE of our Portrait Photography Ebook

  • Guaranteed for 2 full months
  • Pay by PayPal or CreditCard
  • Instant Digital Download

Receive a FREE SAMPLE of our Portrait Photography Ebook

  • Guaranteed for 2 full months
  • Pay by PayPal or CreditCard
  • Instant Digital Download

Receive a FREE SAMPLE of our Portrait Photography Ebook

  • Guaranteed for 2 full months
  • Pay by PayPal or CreditCard
  • Instant Digital Download

Sign up to the free DPS PHOTOGRAPHY COURSE

  • Guaranteed for 2 full months
  • Pay by PayPal or CreditCard
  • Instant Digital Download

GET DAILY free tips, news and reviews via our RSS Feed

Sign up to the free

DPS PHOTOGRAPHY COURSE

  • Guaranteed for 2 full months
  • Pay by PayPal or CreditCard
  • Instant Digital Download

GET DAILY free tips, news and reviews via our RSS Feed

Sign up to the free

DPS PHOTOGRAPHY COURSE

  • Guaranteed for 2 full months
  • Pay by PayPal or CreditCard
  • Instant Digital Download
Today’s Deal: 70% off Photoshop Artistry: Fine Art Grunge Composition courseVIEW DEAL
DPS NEWSLETTER
DPS NEWSLETTER
DPS NEWSLETTER

DPS offers a free weekly newsletter with: 
1. new photography tutorials and tips
2. latest photography assignments
3. photo competitions and prizes

Enter your email below to subscribe.
Email:
 
 
Get DAILY free tips, news and reviews via our RSS feed