The Bowler, A fun camera bag by Acme Made - Review

The Bowler, A fun camera bag by Acme Made – Review

0Comments

Sorry guys, move along, you probably won’t like this post…

This one is just for us girls!

If you are like me you take your camera everywhere. I have a hard time using a compact camera or a camera phone, I just like my DSLR, it’s familiar.

Camera bags have greatly improved over the past few years, we see some pretty funky colors now, such as lime green, red, etc. I love camera bags and I have my favorites: a reliable rolling bag for work, a rugged backpack for travel and a light messenger bag for photo walks. Have you ever found yourself all dressed up for a night in town and really wishing you could take your camera without looking like a photojournalist or a tourist? Who says you need to sacrifice looks for practicality?

The Bowler by Acme Made is designed just for that. With a classic bowling bag look, it is sized to fit most DSLRs (without a battery grip) and a small lens such as the kit lens or your favorite 50 mil for example. It is pictured here with my old Canon 20D with room for the strap and small accessories.

It’s really cute and light. It features a padded interior and an adjustable divider. There are two hidden side pockets where you can fit memory cards, car keys, etc. You can also use it as a regular purse!

It does not pretend to be a rugged gear bag, it’s just fun!

Internal dimensions are as follows: Height 6.25”/15.9 cm, length:  7.5”/17.8cm, width: 4”/10.2cm, weight: 0.7lbs/0.32kg.

It normally retails for $44.99 but I’ve seen it on Amazon for as low as $24.99.

More details on the Acme Made site.

Summary
Review Date
Reviewed Item
The Bowler
Author Rating
5

Read more from our Cameras & Equipment category

Valerie Jardin I live and breathe in pixels! Photography is more than a passion, it's an obsession, almost an addiction. When I'm not shooting or writing, I spend my time teaching this beautiful craft during photo workshops all over the world! I am also thrilled to be an official X Photographer for Fujifilm USA. Visit my Website Follow me on Facebook , Twitter , Instagram. And listen to my Podcast!

Some Older Comments

  • Melly December 4, 2011 08:17 am

    I bought this bag and, although it does look amazing, it is really impractical. I am quite small and there's still no chance in hell that I could slip it over my shoulder. Very awkward to carry around.
    It's cute if you're just using it to store your camera in ,at home or travelling, but it's not something you can walk around with.

  • Dawn K. Thomson August 6, 2011 12:35 am

    It is bigger on the inside than it looks. I can put my body and my 70-300mm lens in it just fine. Hope that helps.
    It has a divider in it to make two pockets inside. If your lens is off your camera, it will fit.

  • Emeldir July 30, 2011 11:21 am

    Ohhh! I still hesitate between this one and the kelly moore's..
    it is too small for a body and a 6" long lens doesn't it ?

  • Sistereinstein June 14, 2011 10:28 am

    I love it when we women improvise! Here is my camera bag, and I had this stashed in a closet never knowing what it would be used for.

    Note: link is not mine, just to show for representation!

    http://www.junque-ez.com/images/catalog/recreational/Picnic_Backpack_Coffee_Gevalia.html

    There is a brown piece to go around the thermos, which fits around my main lens that is attached to my camera. I have my other lens wrapped in a bubble-wrap envelope.

  • Valerie Jardin June 6, 2011 01:53 am

    Hi there! I also wrote a product review for the BlackRapid rs-W1 strap on dPS several months ago, you can see it here: https://digital-photography-school.com/black-rapid-rs-w1

  • Dawn June 6, 2011 01:09 am

    I have seen the Blackrapid camera strap. The guy who created it lives in Seattle, just up the road from me.
    That is the next thing on my list of camera gear to get.

  • Sara Hazeldine June 6, 2011 12:41 am

    But Ken - there are a million and one other bags around that are designed for men. So butt out. ;)

    I know a few people who have the Blackrapid camera strap and they all say it's brilliant (I do think it sounds like a sex toy though).

  • Julie :-D June 5, 2011 03:55 pm

    Love the bag, think i may have to invest in one, pity there is no shoulder strap.
    Dawn i have just bought myself the Blackrapid ladies camera strap and i love it. Travelled around France and Ireland and had it on all the time.It sits between the breasts and hangs just at your back butt cheek comfortably. Best look on the Blackrapid site to get the gist of it. No neck ache like the usual camera strap.

  • Ken May 30, 2011 05:25 am

    yeah, I can see all the guys carrying that around.

  • Valerie jardin May 30, 2011 12:56 am

    Thomas: the best camera bag in disguise I've ever seen ;-)
    Nicole: the bowler doesn't come with a shoulder strap, nothing was missing from yours.

  • Nicole May 28, 2011 02:28 pm

    It's so funny to see this article. I bought this bag at best buy a year ago because I thought it was cute but I was a little self conscious using it to go on jobs, but I will proudly use it now seeing it's so fashionable! P.S. I love the divider and side pockets, I'm looking for a strap since one didn't come with mine.

  • Sara Hazeldine May 27, 2011 05:19 pm

    I have this bag too, am I the only one who finds it too small?!! Don't get me wrong, I LOVE it, but I can fit my camera in it and very little else. Actually I now have a very long, flat purse (wallet) that will fit on the top of the camera so that's not so bad, but I can't get my phone and keys in there too. I can't bring myself to sell it though, as it looks so good. :)

  • Mary May 27, 2011 07:31 am

    On a related note, I wrote to Think Tank last week asking if they had any plans to create a camera backpack ergonomically designed for women. No plans are in the works, but perhaps if enough of us write with the suggestion they may reconsider.

    I love this bag, and am adding it to my wishlist for my husband :).

  • Mary May 27, 2011 07:25 am

    I wrote to Think Tank last week, asking them to consider a camera backpack ergonomically designed for women. no plans are in the works, but perhaps if enough of us suggested it, we might be help to make something happen :)

    I love the bowling bag, and am going to add it to my wish list for my husband.

  • Kyla May 27, 2011 01:31 am

    @Dawn- I do the same thing! The bag is the perfect size, but the strap is a pain.

    I wish this bag had shoulder straps. It would be perfect for me if I could use it just like my purse.

  • Dawn May 27, 2011 01:09 am

    I have this bag also. I love it. It is the perfect size when you just want to take the camera body and a lens.

  • birgitte May 25, 2011 03:04 am

    I have it - and I love it!!!

  • Lovelyn May 24, 2011 09:10 pm

    That is the cutest bag. I want one. I hate lodging around my not-so-cute camera bag, but I want to take my camera with me most places I go. That bag looks like a great solution for me.

  • Cindy May 24, 2011 11:51 am

    I love my Bowler bag! Someday I'll need a larger gear bag, but for now this fits the bill, and is totally fun.

  • Dawn May 24, 2011 08:53 am

    Funny, I was just complaining to my friend this weekend that I think most camera bags are designed by men for men. I have a Lowepro Slingshot 200 AW. It's great and holds many lenses and accessories. But the shoulder strap cuts right across my chest. It's a very wide strap, so it's not something I can just try to nestle between "the girls". There's a second support strap that comes up to secure the bag and add to the torture. I imagine the bag is wonderfully comfortable on a man, or even on a smaller chested woman. I still use it, but I just sling it over one shoulder rather than wear it backpack-style as intended.

  • Thomas May 24, 2011 08:45 am

    You may not believe me, but I use this for my camera for two reasons:
    - No one would ever steal it from me.
    - It was my little daughter's favorite bag, and one day she decided to give it to me becaus I had no camera bag!

    [eimg url='http://ecx.images-amazon.com/images/I/41q8BcPQYBL._SL500_AA300_.jpg' title='41q8BcPQYBL._SL500_AA300_.jpg']

  • kristin May 24, 2011 08:25 am

    Awesome - I DO have two of these bags :) ONe for each of my DSLR's. They are awesome for riding in the car when you don't want the camera just loose sitting on the seat, or for carrying just the camera and a single lens for a family outing. The bags are adorable!!

    Kristin

  • tanya May 24, 2011 08:19 am

    i bought one used on amazon for $18 and love it for when i want to go out with my camera but not be too conspicuous. I use a canon 20d and have used it with my kit lens, 50mm and 28-70mm...don't think anything larger would work. i have room in the interior for my strap and my a few small items (cell phone, keys, etc) and use the side pockets for ids/money. i love it!

  • Valerie Jardin May 24, 2011 08:06 am

    Sara, it is definitely made to be a handbag, one would have to be very, very tiny to use the handles as shoulder straps.

  • Sara May 24, 2011 08:02 am

    That is so cute! I wonder though are the straps long enough to fit on your shoulder?

  • Liana May 24, 2011 07:36 am

    I bought this bag sometime back for my DSLR from the Amazon warehouse. I think it was about $18. I like to use this bag for is has protective storage for my camera. It fits the camera with the lens on and all it's wires and battery charger.

  • Ghadir May 24, 2011 07:06 am

    I really like it, but i think i need more space for my personal stuff :)