Sony A33 and A55 DSLRs [REVIEW]

Sony A33 and A55 DSLRs [REVIEW]

0Comments

Sony A33 1.jpg

It’s been a great year for the DSLR. Not only have we seen the top models capture stills of amazing quality, leading to many serious workers questioning the need for medium format digital capture … and then, to many an amazed onlooker, we’ve seen TV series and feature films shot with high end stills cameras. ‘Mazing!

So, in typical fashion, we now see Sony hit the Go! button and pack even more capability into these two new cameras.

Then, a few days ago, heavily disguised, I snuck into Sony HQ to get a top secret preview of the new cameras. And ‘mazed I was.

On leaving, I was given a review camera to bring you the good news. As it was early days, I had to be satisfied with the lesser of the two models — A33 (pictured above) — because there was only one A55 (pictured below) to hand, and this was in the Sony techo’s hands. Ne’r mind, you’ll still get the full whiff of excitement this pair generates as, aside from a few specs, the cameras are near-identical.

Sony A55 2.jpg

Initially I was surprised at the smallness and lightness of the A33, barely larger than some maxi zoom, fixed lens models. The Exmor CMOS sensor is APS-C size, with a 1.5x lens factor, when compared to 35 SLR glass.

Sony A3355 1.jpg

The feature list would seem to satisfy even the most desperate photographer, anxious to bedeck him- or herself with the toppest end camera around.

Features like: 4592×3056 pixels maximum size (A55: 4912×3264), leading to a print size of 39x26cm (42x28cm); writing to SD/SDHC/SDXC and Memory Stick Pro Duo/Pro HG Duo cards (but not to CF); SteadyShot image stabiliser; RAW and JPEG capture in stills; MPEG4 and AVCHD at a maximum res of 1920×1080 pixels; Sweep Panorama shooting; 7.5cm LCD screen that swings 180 degrees vertically and 270 degrees laterally; exposure modes that include auto, auto+, Program AE, shutter and aperture priority, manual and scene selection; face and smile detection; flash compensation; ISO sett8ings to 25,600; GPS (A55 only); three exposure HDR.

Shopping centre pano.JPG

The Sweep Panorama feature is to die for. Works quickly and accurately.

High Speed

Then we get to the continuous shooting figures: with the A33 you can pull in shots at a rate of 7 per second — and, amazingly, 10 images per second with the A55!

So, how does it do this? Simply because there is no flipping mirror to slow it down! Instead, there is a semi-reflective mirror in the light path that transmits 66.66 per cent of the light to the CMOS sensor in the back of the camera — and 33.33 per cent of it to a tiny LCD built into the camera’s roof. When you move your eye from the large LCD at the camera’s rear to the eye level viewfinder you view the action via the smaller LCD.

Pellicle mirror.jpg

Remove the lens and you can see how it works, with the mirror in place throughout the shooting cycle. Outside of shooting, the mirror can be tilted up in order to clean the sensor, but normally remains in place at a 45 degree angle.

Canon Pellix 1.jpg

For this neat trick you can thank a pioneering invention by Canon in their 1965 Pellix camera in which the traditional moving SLR mirror was replaced by a fixed, semi-transparent pellicle mirror splitting the light rays from the lens: two thirds of an f stop went to the film, with the rest passing to the viewfinder. The objects: simpler construction, quieter operation, no finder blackout, faster continuous shooting.

Of course, you can ask the question: why didn’t Sony build in a pentaprism to provide a full live optical experience — a la Pellix? The LCD view is a little murky and an optical view would have been far superior. Perhaps the third of an f stop loss for viewing is the reason: a dark finder view.

Movies

With even the occasional compact able to shoot High Def video these days you could expect this little DSLR duo to lead the band — and they do.

You have a choice: record in Full High Definition 1920x1080i AVCHD or MPEG4 1440×1080.

Kick off the dedicated record button adjacent to the viewfinder, pan around, zoom as you wish… and the system follows you, pulling focus firmly on everything you point the camera at and taking care of exposure right through the shot.

Four movie frames.jpg

These four frames come from an AVCHD sequence: the AF and exposure working hard and well.

One caution: you may find the AF and stabilising functions leave some noise on the audio. A fix: turn off the stabiliser and place the camera on a tripod. There is an input for an external stereo microphone, which may help as you will find the wind noise from the camera mic excessive if shooting outdoors.

But overall, I absolutely loved the video feature!

ISO Settings

Sony A33 ISO 100 f5.6 1:13 sec.jpg

Sony A33 ISO 800 f5.6 1:100 sec.jpg

Sony A33 ISO 3200 f5.6 1:400 sec.jpg

These shots cover the ISO settings at 100, 800 and ISO 3200. All show excellent resolution, low noise, colour fidelity.

Sony A33 ISO 12,800 f5.6 1:1600 sec.jpg

At ISO 12,800 the wagon falls over: definition is down, noise well up, along with colour artefacts. Not useable.

Man and rail station ISO 6400.JPG

This shot was taken at ISO 6400 and cropped to a quarter its original size: as you can see, the right shot can take advantage of high ISO settings.

Post Office 2.JPG

Comment

Quality: overall, excellent, good colour, high sharpness.

Why you would buy one of these: small size and light weight; superb video capture; rapid stills rate.

Why you wouldn’t: card compartment is in the base of the camera, so if using it tripod-mounted, it’s a hassle to remove and reload the card.

Part of the pleasure of the A33/55 is its compact size and light weight. Even with one or two more lenses, this outfit would make a painless traveling companion.

Sony A33 Specifications (A55)

Image Sensor: 14.2 (16.2) million effective pixels.
Metering: Multi-segment, centre-weighted metering and spot.
Effective Sensor Size: 23.4×15.6 — APS-C sized — CMOS.
35 SLR Lens Factor: 1:5x.
Compatible lenses: Sony and Minolta A-mount, Konica Minolta Alpha/Maxxum/Dynax.
Exposure Modes: Auto, Program AE, shutter and aperture priority, manual, scene selection, sweep panorama.
Shutter Speed: 30 to 1/4000 second, Bulb. Flash sync: 1/160 sec.
Memory: SD/SDHC/SDXC/Memory Stick Pro Duo/Pro HG Duo cards.
Image Sizes (pixels): 4592×3056 to 2288×1280 (4912×3264 to 2448×1376).
Movies: 1920×1080 to 640×480 at 25/29.97 fps.
Continuous Drive: 7 frames (10 frames).
Viewfinders: Turret 1.1cm LCD; rear 7.5cm LCD (921,600 pixels).
File Formats: RAW, RAW+JPEG, MPEG4, AVCHD, Dolby Digital (AC-3).
Colour Space: Adobe RGB, sRGB.
ISO Sensitivity: Auto, 100 to 25,600.
Interface: USB 2.0, AV, HDMI, microphone, wireless remote, DC input.
Power: Rechargeable lithium ion battery, AC adaptor.
Dimensions: 124.4x92x84.7 WHDmm.
Weight: Approx. 492 g (with lithium battery and card).
Price: $TBA.

Summary
Review Date
Reviewed Item
Sony A33 and A55 DSLRs
Author Rating
3

Read more from our Cameras & Equipment category

Barrie Smith is an experienced writer/photographer currently published in Australian Macworld, Auscam and other magazines in Australia and overseas.

Some Older Comments

  • Sergio September 29, 2011 06:48 am

    In the sixties I had a Canon FX. Since I wanted a TTL meter I was tempted by the Pellix but luckily I waited until the FT was released, since the Pellix proved a big flop. The problem was with the fixed mirror in front of the film that was gathering dust spoiling the image quality. I like the A33 or A35 but I can't understand why it shouldn't be a flop for the same reason of the Pellix. In fact Sony says you shouldn't touch the screen for any reason and since on the long run you can't avoid getting dust on the mirrror I'm afraid that within a year the A33 would become completely useless. Anyone had some experience about this issue?

  • ch August 16, 2011 10:46 pm

    Purchased the A55, the video do shuts off in less then 9 minutes when IS is on, I heard it will go till 30 minutes when IS is off. Size is small, feels like a toy but great for one hand shooting.

  • Ed July 4, 2011 10:43 pm

    I have read the camera will shutdown when IS is turned on for videos, does this happen also after pro-longed use?

  • Maneesh June 14, 2011 03:35 am

    Keith,

    A33 uses a different sensor so the direct comparison may be a moot point. In fact, it is about to be replaced with the same sensor as A55 but the new model will be called A35. I would assume that at least a part of the reason for the change is energy consumption (hence battery life) in A33 compared to A55.

  • Keith June 9, 2011 08:00 am

    Simple question, but it would require experience with both cameras, so I doubt many people can help. I would speculate that the a33 should have superior low-light performance because the sensor pixels are larger. I have not found any comparisons on this matter at all. The closest I've come is snapsport's claim (to the contrary of my theory) that the a55 is the better of the two in low light, but I'm just not sure I believe that. It doesn't make any sense...and dpreview doesn't have a full analysis of the a33, only the a55, so there is no possibility for comparison using their measurements.

    Thoughts?

  • Lucita May 19, 2011 07:03 am

    Hi, I don't have experiences in photography I got an A33 and i want to buy lens for a landscape and close up. Any suggestions? thnx

  • Paul April 23, 2011 04:34 am

    Just bought an A55. Thrilled. I had two good lenses (28-85 and 70-210) from a Minolta Maxxum 7000 I bought 26 years ago and thought might be garbage when I discovered Minolta was out of the camera business. It was a big win to find Sony had bought Minolta and that they fit on the A55 and others. Instead of buying just the body for an extra $100 I bought the package with the 18-55 Sony lens to recover the wide angle lost when my 28-85 became 42-128. For $800 I moved 26 years and into the digital SLR realm! Hope Graham Burrows (see post above) had good luck with his Konica lenses. Cheers.

  • Siddhesh March 24, 2011 03:04 pm

    Hi am point and shoot user but want to uprgade to better camera.
    Finalising btw Sony HX100V and Sony A33.
    Pros of HX100V : High zoom.
    Pros of A33: DLSR quality.(ulmost no zoom with 18-55 lense)(high cost for zoom lences which i am not ready to buy)
    Can you please guide me?
    will HX100V produce good images indoor/oudtdoor?
    will A33 image quality quality significatly better than HX100V?

    Please help.
    SIDDHESH

  • firsttimesonyuser March 10, 2011 10:47 am

    when you are filming with the a55, it make's a weird kind of nois(like he is getting ready to explode:P) that's a shame:(

  • Barrie Smith February 14, 2011 07:13 am

    To Duckman
    the main differences between the A55 and A33 are:

    A55
    CMOS with 16.2 effective megapixels
    Max image size: 4912x3264 pixels.
    Burst of 6 images/second. Maximum of 28 Fine JPEGS.

    A33
    CMOS with 14.6 effective megapixels
    Max image size: 34592x3056 pixels.
    Burst of 3 images/second. Maximum of 14 Fine JPEGS.

  • Duckman February 10, 2011 09:29 am

    I cant figure out for the life of me what the main differences are between the a33 and a55!!!

    I am a novice photographer but want to spend the money on a great all in one, can someone shed some light between the 2 models?

    Thanks in advance!

    D

  • Gordon Doxey February 9, 2011 04:10 pm

    I have both the a700 and an a55. I prefer the responsiveness of the a700 and prefer it with outdoor sports shots but the a55 gives me better indoor sports shots. I think that is related to iso performance and the focusing system of the a55. I have been shooting basketball games for the first time. Since it is just a church league I can stand right under the basket if I want. I alternated the cameras with the same minolta 50mm f1.7 lens. The sharpness is better with the a55. The gym has poor lighting but I am able to get 1/320, f3.2 at 1600 iso. The continous autofocus feature on the a55 for video is great. Zoom in and out all you want and camera can actually adjust the focus very well. The focusing ability of dslrs with video with zooming is poor, just blurry. I think the video and still combination with the a55 is very good. I am a cyclist and really like the size and weight of the a55 with a sony 18-200mm lens when on the go. I can now leave my Panasonic fz28 at home. I won't have the range of the fz28 but I am looking for better image quality and the hdr and panorama features in the a55 for landscapes are great. I am waiting for on update of the a850 to have live view and better iso performance before going to a full frame model.

  • Alex February 8, 2011 06:49 am

    I'm also thinking of buying A55 and Tamron 18-200mm. When you get them, let us know how it works for you.

  • Actionshots February 5, 2011 10:20 am

    Thats what i am going to buy done my homework and i think that would be the best, A55 with tamron 18-200. Let you know how it is once i purchase it after looking for over a month went to have a look again 4 days ago, they tell me yes in stock, yesterday went to puchase they couldn't find any lenses even though stock showed 3 in stock. Have to wait now again. NOT HAPPY i was so looking forward to using it this weekend.

  • Scott January 22, 2011 03:01 pm

    Get the A55 body only and a Tamron 18-200 and save yourself the lens swaps while having the better camera.

  • Terry January 22, 2011 06:27 am

    Weighing up between a A33 and 2 lenses (18-55 & 55-200) and simarly priced A55 with 18-55 lens - ????? What to do???

  • Terry January 22, 2011 06:23 am

    Weighing up between a A33 and 2 lenses and A55 and single lense which would be the wisest decision - the price obviously similar ????? please help!

  • Scott January 17, 2011 03:58 am

    Spammer

  • Carl January 16, 2011 10:03 pm

    Excellent Blog!

    I have this great a Semi-pro to Pro Canon XH A1 video camcorder

    of mine that I would like to sell. It is a high quality

    HD video machine for small production films or

    professional.

    http://www.ikonzeiss.com/for-sale-canon-xh-a1-hd-video-camcorder/

    Thanks!

  • Carl January 16, 2011 10:02 pm

    Excellent Blog!

    I have this great a Semi-pro to Pro Canon XH A1 video camcorder

    of mine that I would like to sell. It is a high quality

    HD video machine for small production films or

    professional.

    http://www.ikonzeiss.com/for-sale-canon-xh-a1-hd-video-cam

    corder/

    Thanks!

  • lambros January 11, 2011 10:58 pm

    I am mixed now ! It seems to me that i must forget everything i know about light !I thought that it was simple :
    More light = More speed = More sharp = More good photos !
    I am terrible in consuming every new idea of the companies but...I think the principle never will change .
    Light is the A on Capturing....light.
    Sorry but i like Sony consuming video cameras very much .As for semi pro user i find the 10 fps interesting to see results with a lens provide.....light .
    Try to think like this in the decision : With the same money what combination could beat your needs..And keep you happy for the future....needs.
    As for me..I really stick on photo..For the Video capability i m not so sure that is something to mix but...I know for fact...That Great Lenses...Catching Great Light...Leads you on amazing results .Focus on Light...& you ll see the bodies...and the companies..

  • matty78 January 11, 2011 08:03 am

    I saved up and went for the a55 over the a33 and it's great. Mainly i wanted the 10fps but the gps has proved great fun also. This was an upgrade on my a220 and the difference in quality is just what i wanted. Plus, after getting used to the smaller size, i can't believe how big and bulky it makes the rest of the alpha range look! Very happy.

  • kojack January 10, 2011 02:00 am

    i have an A33 and this is a good camera. I'm satisfied by its ISO performance and movie recording abilities

  • firesox December 24, 2010 01:29 am

    If u r a new dslr user like me, u will find a33/55 a god send. They are much easier to use than the canons n nikons for someone who is unfamiliar with dslr. U have to try n compare them at the shop to know what i am saying. I was comparing it with 550d n d3100. Value for money with all the 'extraordinary' features that other dslr in the same price range do not have. The panorama sweep is useful as well as the continuous AF in video mode.

  • Arturo galindo December 20, 2010 04:51 pm

    Wow, am flattered with the Sony Dslr alpha 33. A 7FPs, not bad the 60d only carriers a 5 FPS if am not mistaking. Am looking to buy my first DSLR, am I have narrow it down beetween the T2I, 60D, and the a-33. But I my view the Sony alpha series are too easy to use. Ok If you want something simple and quick to use, go for the Sony a-33. Really easy to use, loving the LCD, instead of using the viewfinder. The nice thing about the Lcd of the a-33 your able to twist it around and is convinent for graduation, weddings, or if your short. The t2I has a 30FPS on video mode and your able to use a microphone, I like the video quality from the t2I. But it's a hard one, my money is on the 60d buts a little expensive. Decisions, decisions.

  • Rob December 20, 2010 12:07 am

    To Barrie Smith's comment about getting a Canon SX 30IS.....I owned this camera for two weeks and this was a HUGE disappointment. The photo quality is no better than a $ 100.00 point-and-shoot, except that you have this huge zoom to play with. If this topic is about the Sony SLT line, this Canon is not even close to being in this category of product.

  • Barrie Smith December 12, 2010 07:59 am

    If you're a real beginner you may be better off with a fixed lens camera, with a decent zoom. Like the Canon SX30 IS or Panasonic FZ100. Easy to use. No extra lenses to buy etc.

  • Actionshots December 11, 2010 01:39 pm

    I am beginner looking for a camera that is simple and easy to use, want to take good sporting action shots indoor and outdoors. Do you think a33 would be good enough.

  • michael December 9, 2010 09:31 am

    About dust on the sensor. That's seldom a problem and the new Sony's shouldn't be any different than other brands in this regard.

    About shooting basketball games. The camera is not the determining factor but the lens. You will need a lens that extends to 200-300mm. Again, this is true for any brand SLR.

    About the mirror and ISO. Sony has taken the mirror into account when computing ISO so you don't have to do any conversions. The practical result is that the camera loses a bit of high ISO (low light) performance. The bad news is that other cameras with the same sensor (Pentax K-5 and Nikon D7000 - both much more expensive) get a bit over a stop of improvement. The good news is that the sensor is so good that it still out performs all cameras with similar sized sensors made before this year. The great news is that the mostly transparent mirror makes the new Sony excellent video cameras.

  • Scott December 9, 2010 08:24 am

    Self-cleaning functions are standard for DSLRs; I would consider a camera missing that feature to be fatally flawed.

  • Barrie Smith December 9, 2010 06:55 am

    DSLRs all have self cleaning. It is the price to pay for interchangeable lenses.

  • Barrie Smith December 9, 2010 06:54 am

    If you want tlo shoot sport why not consider a camera like Canon SX30 IS. It will shoot exc pics and video. Cannot bet the long lens.

  • MPT December 9, 2010 01:07 am

    My wife and I are thinking about a camera to capture indoor pictures of our daughter playing basketball and also trying to capture some video at the same time. I really want an SLR type camera because of the picture quality. If you had one camera to buy to do both video and quality SLR pictures, would this be it?

  • Jeff Como December 8, 2010 11:41 pm

    I just purchased the A33 and it looks like an incredible camera. I read the instuction manual and became alarmed with the emphasis on keeping the mirror clean - free from dust, etc. The fact that they incorporated a self cleaning function has me spooked for the future. Will the A33 become a maintenance prone camera? Does anyone have the same concerns?

  • Amanda Perez December 8, 2010 10:54 am

    how much would this turn out to in total price plus tax?

  • Kyle Clancy December 7, 2010 05:03 pm

    Hi.....I'm new at photography.......and i need some advice from the pros.....
    for someone who is new like me, which would be better?
    This SONY A33 or Canon EOS 550D?

  • Andrew November 25, 2010 06:01 pm

    I have had the a55 for over a month and it is super easy to use. I have always known what I wanted to do with video and stills but did not have the gear or much knowledge. The a55 makes it easy to learn and execute the shots I visualize getting. Many of the video's I saw online seemed really shaky, but my own videos are really pretty smooth on handheald and really good with a tripod. The auto focus is loud in video but I use external microphones and manual focus when shooting serious projects. I continue to be amazed by this camera...I really dig this website too. I will be back often I think.

  • Marinus Vesseur November 10, 2010 01:39 am

    The A77 is only a few months away, it seems: http://www.engadget.com/photos/sony-3/#3385849

  • zhenna November 7, 2010 11:37 pm

    Hi. Between D5000 and Sony Alpha A33, which is better?

  • suleyman October 26, 2010 08:13 pm

    Hi, what is the maximum recordable video length at FullHD ? Is there something like Nikon's 10min limit, or is it possible to record video for as long as the memory card can hold?

  • Graham Burrows October 4, 2010 03:21 am

    Does anyone know whether the Sony A55-A33s lens mount work with my early Konica FS1 35mm SLR lenses.
    Due to the Konica-Minolta connection. Also, would my old Vivitar 283 flash be compatible. I've often wondered with these new generation of digital SLRs. Cheers Graham

  • TonyB September 30, 2010 03:01 pm

    I am a Alpha 700 user. Agree that they nice cameras, but PLEASE SONY, when are we going to see the substitute of the alpha 700,800 and 900, in a way to compete directly with the pro- and semi pro models of Canon and Nikon?
    The alpha 700 is a great camera but .....I am about to give up waiting.
    SONY MOVE IT PLEASE AND SUPPORT THE AMATOUR AND PRO FOTOGRAPHER. THANKS

  • davesalpha September 20, 2010 03:05 am

    Does anyone know if the mirror locks in the up position for sensor cleaning?
    How well does it work with the Sony flashes (like the hvl-f58am) already out on the market?

  • Gaba September 18, 2010 02:48 pm

    Well technically its not a DSLR, because it doesn't have the lens reflex anymore.
    I agree with Keith, what if... they turn their back on these in a year or two. Going by the price these also look like consumer level to me. I wouldn't even consider buying these until Ive seen Sony made a real commitment to them for the future.

  • Rob September 13, 2010 06:14 pm

    Excellent kit. I'm holding out to see what Sony give us in the A77 as I'm sure there will be A control in video and buffer write time improved. My faith has been restored in Sony and I'm happy to have stayed with them. Well done...8-))

  • Ronny Hermans September 8, 2010 07:13 pm

    it all looks great but I have a question about the 2/3 of the light that reaches the sensor.
    Does this mean that in reality the sensor is pushed to a sensitivity of 166 to give the result of an iso100.
    That would mean that the 12.8K Iso's really are with the sensor working on 19.2K Iso. what is stunning.
    Pentax rumors tell that this sensor will be used for their next pro-sumer the K5, I'm really interested if this is real.

  • Keith Horn September 4, 2010 02:45 am

    Big deal Sony releases some new cameras. The problem is they don't bother to support the ones that they've already released. Sure they do for the PRO models, sending out FIRMWARE upgrades on the A900's and such. But they continue to turn their backs to the consumer level ALPHA OWNERS.

    This won't change until more of us protest by making our camera purchases with the companies that support us. Like Canon,,,,,Panasonic,,,,,, Olympus.

    WAKE UP SONY.......gosh they update their walkmans even....... HELLO We're treated like CRAP.

  • Cherie August 31, 2010 01:36 am

    this is a done deal for my upgrade from a sony a300 Im so excited about this camera. Like a 10 year old.

  • Marinus Vesseur August 30, 2010 07:10 am

    @ jumbybird: sell your A700. The body alone will still fetch 800 bucks if you're lucky, which should suffice for one of these babies. But hurry up, before everyone finds out about the quantum leap Sony has made here.

  • peter kovak August 30, 2010 01:54 am

    Sounds good compared to my A350, but I've got the same question as Danferno: what about the issue with less light (1/3 less !) hitting the sensor ?...slower shutter speed ?...or maybe wider aperture or higher ISO ? Does anybody have the answer ?

  • Shaun August 29, 2010 09:55 pm

    This is great news!

    I currently have a Sony A450 (upgrading from a A200 earlier this year)

    My only concern with Sony was that hopefully one day Ill progress to a full frame pro model (the A900 as it is at the moment) but reading reviews of the A900 against the pro Nikons and Cannons, the A900 falls down quite a bit.
    BUT
    The release of these two new models shows Sony are doing what they do best, they are striving to become the best in the feild!
    Cant wait to see what Sonys pro models will be like in 2 or 3 years time
    GO SONY!

    Shaun

  • lagun August 29, 2010 12:58 am

    NO manual exposure in movie mode :(((

  • Ameen Cyrus August 28, 2010 05:16 pm

    I took a lot of time in choosing my first to-be DSLR which would have been Canon 550d. I cannot deny my love at first sight with the a55 but at the moment am terribly confused as to which to go for as am on a budget and dont want to make a mistake.

  • Juan August 27, 2010 12:25 pm

    I recommend heading to dpreview's A55's review. This camera is really something in spite of its few downsides (seeming aggresive NR from ISO 800 upwards, AF not as accurate or reliable for action shots). Its metering system coupled with its 9 stop dynamic range ensure you are not blowing highlights or missing detail in the shadows. This is a fine piece of equipment.

  • Scott August 27, 2010 05:13 am

    GPS in the A55 only? Bummer.

  • Tahir August 27, 2010 04:23 am

    I am a Canon and Minolta/Sony photographer (Canon 40D, Minolta 7D and Sony A230). Now, Canon 60D is a disappointment I think, while Sony A55 is packed with revolutionary and useful innovations. So the upgrade path for me this time is clear. it will be Sony A55 for my money.

  • Danferno August 27, 2010 04:21 am

    If part of the light goes to the AF-sensor instead of the camera sensor, doesn't that essentially "darken" your final result? Aka, you need to overexpose compared to a normal camera with mirror?

    I'm probably missing something here.

  • jumbybird August 27, 2010 01:57 am

    I'm jealous, my Alpha 700 is only 2 years old and antiquated, but there are no funds to upgrade :(

  • davesalpha August 26, 2010 11:35 am

    I think the a55 is the one I've been saving for. I thought about getting the a550 but I decided to hold out for the video. I'm not sure if I'll like the video on a 35mm dslr but I can see where it will have its uses. I own an a350 and have been quite pleased with it, but I wanted to have more ISO settings. The Sweep Panorama feature cinches the deal, and at the price of $750 for the body isn't too bad.

  • michael August 26, 2010 10:11 am

    Looks like an interesting camera. One thing I haven't seen mentioned is any kind of remote shutter release or bulb mode.

  • Teknisyan August 26, 2010 09:30 am

    nice review... now my heart is thorn between Canon 550D and Sony A55. I sure hope that Nikon will release a new one and not the D3100, which is for entry level photograher. :)

    http://www.teknisyan.net