Nikon Coolpix P7000 Review

0Comments

Having survived a recent avalanche of maxi-zoom compact digicams, it comes as something of a relief to engage with this more modest but still well-featured camera.

Nikon P7000 Review.jpg

The Nikon Coolpix P7000 wins on a number of points: its moderate dimensions, with a pocketable thickness of about 45mm; another is the 15mm CCD, capturing 10.1 million effective pixels; light weight; optical viewfinder; and there is a built in ND filter to aid longer exposures or to deal with excessively bright conditions by a factor of three f stops.

Nikon P7000 Top.jpg

Maximum image size is 3684×2736 pixels or enough to make a 31x23cm print. Movies? Maximum resolution is 1280x720p at 24 fps.

German Shepherd 2.JPG

Nikon Coolpix P7000 Features

In many ways the P7000 could act as a quick-to-use companion to a high level DSLR kit. The larger pitch of the CCD’s pixels points to a higher image quality for starters and the RAW capture will please many.

Backlit trees 1.JPG

Capture using auto as well as Program AE, shutter or aperture priority as well as manual will have great appeal.

However, its startup time is not brilliant: about two seconds from power on; then about two seconds between shots.

In terms of distortion, the lens performs well if not brilliantly: there is a small amount of barrel distortion at the zoom’s wide end, with a very small amount of pincushion distortion at the tele end.

With pro aspirations, the camera has an unusually large number of external control points that may confound the timid. Believe me.

The secret to fully understanding the camera lies in a deep familiarity with all of these controls; I spent two hours trying to set the image size and quality! The PDF manual (which I downloaded from www.nikonusa.com/pdf/manuals/noprint/P7000_ENnoprint.pdf) also led me astray, with wildly out of whack page numbers given by the index. I eventually found succour in the printed manual.

More: next to the mode dial is the exposure compensation dial, giving control of three f stops under or over.

Nikon P7000 top detail

When it comes to setting the ISO, image size and quality, white balance and auto exposure bracketing etc you move your fingers to the left of the top control surface and deal with the tiny quick menu dial and button. It’s a bit of a challenge at first, but familiarity breeds an understanding of its role.

Nikon P7000 back.jpg

The rear of the camera has more: the usual jog wheel, menu button, screen display options, focus lock button and the command dial.

I’m not quite sure how you would use this, but Zoom Memory is another novel feature: hold down the Function button while zooming and the lens jumps to presets, like 28mm, 35mm etc.

ISO Speeds

My test shots run from top to bottom: ISO 100, 400, 800, 1600, 3200, 6400.

Nikon Coolpix P7000 ISO100 f3.5 1.40 sec.JPG

Nikon Coolpix P7000 ISO400 f3.5 1.180 sec.JPG

Nikon Coolpix P7000 ISO800 f3.5 1.370 sec.JPG

Frankly, ISO 100, 400 and 800 are level pegging, with little noise at the higher setting.

Nikon Coolpix P7000 ISO1600 f3.5 1.710 sec.JPG

At ISO 1600 noise is still not a problem, but definition is down a touch.

Nikon Coolpix P7000 ISO3200 f4 1.1150 sec.JPG

ISO 3200 shows some noise and loss of definition but IMHO this is still a useable setting.

Nikon Coolpix P7000 ISO6400 f6.3 1.1000 sec.JPG

At ISO 6400 we’ve pretty well lost the plot, with noise at an objectionable level and definition well down. Not useable.

People and dogs on beach 5.JPG

Comment

Quality: with care, you can get razor sharp pics with this baby; colour is accurate.

Why you would buy it: optical viewfinder; compact shape.

Why you wouldn’t: no swing out LCD screen; not Full HD movie resolution.

This is for the experienced photographer, able to utilize the advanced features on offer. Whilst it could be used as a day-to-day snapshot camera by raw talent, they would be better off with a $200 point-and-shoot.

Loved the enormous and helpful 220+ page manual.

Get a price on the Nikon Coolpix P7000 at Amazon

Nikon Coolpix P7000 Specifications

Image Sensor: 10.1 million effective pixels.
Metering: 256 segment matrix, centre-weighted average, spot, spot AF.
Sensor Size: 14.9mm CCD.
Lens: Nikkor f2.8-5.6/6.0-42.6mm (28-200mm as 35 SLR equivalent).
Shutter Speed: 60 to 1/4000 second.
Continuous Shooting: 1.3 images/second (total 45 shots).
Memory: SD, SDHC, SDXC cards plus 79MB internal memory.
Image Sizes (pixels): 3684×2736 to 640×480. Movies: 1280x720p, 640×480, 320×240 at 24/30 fps.
Viewfinders: Optical and LCD screen: 7.5cm LCD (921,000 pixels).
File Formats: RAW, JPEG, RAW+JPEG, AVCHD, Motion JPEG, WAV.
ISO Sensitivity: Auto, 100 to 12,800.
Interface: USB 2.0, HDMI mini, mic input, AV.
Power: Rechargeable lithium ion battery, DC input.
Dimensions: 114.2x77x44.8 WHDmm.
Weight: Approx. 360 g (inc battery and card).
Price: Get a price on the Nikon Coolpix P7000 at Amazon.

Summary
Review Date
Reviewed Item
Nikon Coolpix P7000
Author Rating
4

Read more from our Cameras & Equipment category

Barrie Smith is an experienced writer/photographer currently published in Australian Macworld, Auscam and other magazines in Australia and overseas.

  • marcel theriault

    Why not do like me, carry 3 around your neck ( tape a Canon logo over the Nikon one) LOL, and swich to another one while the (RAW) is processing?
    Did you updated your firmware? There is 2 vers 1.1 on Nikon site (Nov 2010) and (Jan 2011) It helped a bit for the focussing problem and about 25% faster on the (RAW) processing. Do you set to program or auto? Makes a differences.Program is the best …ISO 200 all the time if you can.
    Why? I’ve been making tests and tests since November and I LOVE that came even though it is HANDICAPED.
    I pray every night and have cramped fingers at the end of the day but I manage about 500 shots a day without my tranqualizers…Maybe God will come and get me soon as everybody have Leicas in heaven. They are not the best but they are FREE. And there is nothing to shoot.

  • American Heretic

    After seven months of light use, the LENS COVER BLADES WILL NOT OPEN. This is a common problem. I should have done more research before buying the P7000. Some buyers have complained about sending the camera back repeatedly.

  • Marcel Theriault

    You did not know of such a problem. It is kind of sad that there is still people buying that camera and getting stuck with those problems and lack of parts to repair them . We are at end of July and I had to send another one for repairs 2 weeks ago and the worst part is that I have to wait again for parts from Japan. Come on Nikon Canada I think this is not professional for such a company.
    They have a problem and a big one if they cannot keep or get parts for repairing the faulty lens blades problem on the P7000.
    Please if you want to help send complains to Nikon and every review you can find on the web and do some cut and paste of these replies here or on other sites you can find to try reach as many people as you can, it is the only way to stop this mess.
    I have another P7000 in an unopened box and I’m afraid to start using it in front of my students as I’m already the laughing stock if the ones who have bought a G12, a Lumix or an Olympus. Please give me a hand by sending these problems to magazines, reviewers and every address you can find with Nikon Canada, US, Japan, Europe or whatever.

  • Marty

    Picked up a P7000 for my wife yesterday. (OK, for my wife and me – looks like the perfect camera to carry around when i don’t want to haul my DSLR+gear around.) We charged the battery for about an hour then went out to do some shooting. Worked well and took about 2 dozen excellent pix. Charged up the battery fully this morning (well, at least the charger indicated it was charged with a solid light) and now the camera won’t power on at all. No noises. No lights. Nothing.
    So, back it goes today for a new unit that works.
    Anyone else run into that problem?

  • Marcel Theriault

    Sorry Marty but it is a bad idea to start a battery that way. Because of some electronics in a battery it should be charged overnight the first time ( 8 hr) and you should have had a little juice in it enough to make tests. I would check the battery first although that camera has a lot of problems. I have 4 of them that I use to teach and each of them have been repaired at least twice while my only G12 never had any problems.
    All my P7000s will leave again soon as all of them came back from repairs with dust between the lenses.

  • Don

    I have some remarkabel pictures that I have taken with my old Nikon 8700 Coolpixs. I bought the P7000 from the advise of the reviews I have read and store clerks I have talked to. After taking pictures for a month I find the picture quality not as good as my old 8 Meg coolpixs. Why. Is their something that I need to do to improve the quality. To much grain in all shots. Can you help?

  • Don

    Tried to update the firmware. The tools screen does not give me the option to upgrade. It just shows current verzion. Now what??

  • Marcel Theriault

    Hello Don.
    I have 4 of them…see above and I have upgraded all last week.
    PLEASE read all the instruction on Nikon update page for the P7000 and you will not have any problems.
    All of my students have done so (18 cameras) without me being there and most of them are French and
    not very good with English instructions.
    1- Download upgrade on desktop, unzip. (The upgrade file is in there, but you have to know what to copy)
    2-Copy the folder described in the instructions on a clean SD card .
    3- Insert SD card in camera, use menu, go to firmware and you will see the new firmware and upgrade…
    do not turn off camera until instructed to.
    Please read all the instruction otherwise you will do something wrong and will not be able to upgrade
    Best of luck and enjoy.

  • Marcel Theriault

    As for the quality, you have to experiment. I can do almost better than my D80, D50, D200 and S8100.
    Set the ISO to 100-200 max , write and I’ll send some sample shots.
    marcther@cgocable.ca

  • Don

    Thank you both for the replys. I followed the firmware update instructions, but the screen on my camera does not give me any options to upgrade. It just says Coolpxs P7000 V.1.1 with no other screen to update like the instructions shown do. I have taken pictures for 65 years. I only know the basics. I just have the eye for the picture , but little else. My pictures haver been used on magazine covers and Rotary Flags, but I am not a pro at all. I thank you for the professional help.
    I have tried the ISO on all settings and believe that my problem might be in the focus mode. I use matrix.

  • GeeH

    Have Nikons so stuck with Nikons. Had P6000 thought P7000 looked better. In many ways it is. But, never had ‘blade issue’ until this camera. Have found that from a failure to fully open every time I have now achieved 50/50 and improving. What reduced the hang up rate with the camera I have was very simple. Recognising that I usually point the camera at the ground when switching on I decided to reverse the process.
    Now, leaving the camera on its back when not in use and switching it on pointing upwards the first and second attempt might still hang but, the third is usually good. If the camera continues to be used, without lengthy shut downs on that day, it continues to open fully.
    The next day we are back to square one. Strange. I am beginning to think the coating of the blades may be at fault or perhaps one of the springs, visible either side, interferes by dropping a wee bit, if the camera is left a particular way. Camera else is great. Pictures from P6000 are better than reviews suggest; this camera is even better.
    This system was not an instant cure but overtime got my camera working better.

  • Marcel Theriault

    Sorry Don it did not work.
    The only time I have seen that happen is the way the card was cleaned = format from the camera and
    the file that was copied to the card. Only that the file (firmware) when unzipped should be copied on the card.
    Make sure nothing else is on that card, insert in camera, go to menu/ firmware version and you should see
    vers 1.1 and the new version, choose the new one , apply, do not touch anything on the camera till told to do so.
    when told to close, do it, turn on again and check if the upgrade was done.

    Best quality I get is ISO 100 or next one (100-200) – anti shake, (I’m getting old) and make test with with NR for low light on or off, Usually I get god advices from Ken Rockwell or searching the web. Send some test to Nikon to see if it is normal. Nikon had to replace ALL my lens assembly on all of my P7000 and some had to be replaced twice. I use P7000 and G12 to teach to my students (retiree) . I like Nikon because almost all my accessories even the SB900 Flash ( SB400, SB600 and latest SB) Remotes, etc.

  • Don

    Marcel, Thank you. I finally got it. My problem was as you suggested. Even though I formated the card there was still a Nikon file on the card. After I deleted that file and download to the blank card the firmware update worked. Will I notice any big changes in the cameras operation? At a new years day lunch I used the video part of the camera using a tripod. I was amazed at the quailty of the picture and the sound. I never intended to use it for video, but….not bad. I bought this camera because in the past I used a Mymia and got tired of the large format size of the entire operation. It just wore me out. I hope this camera works as everyone has suggested it would. I would like to stay in touch.

  • Marcel Theriault

    I’ll answer Geeh first : But when you are teaching to a bunch of people over 60 and half of them have G12, Lumix or Olympus and only the Nikon have some blade problems, you feel….kind of ….
    This morning it’s 18 below (centigrade) here in Quebec and I took a group out for some birdwatching and testing resistance to the cold for batteries and lens and you could see the one who have cameras with too much grease in the lens assembly = Nikon.

    Don, glad you fixed your problems, you can keep in touch. I left my email in a previous message and I’m getting feedback since via my mailbox. Do not have time to set up a website. You should see a difference if you learn to play with the menu and if you plat too much learn first how to reset the menu….very important.
    Have fun it is a good camera but if it was bought last year and have blade problems…get it fixed, it is annoying that you have to “Unlock the trunk, open the windows before you can lift the hood” LOL

Some Older Comments

  • Marcel Theriault January 4, 2012 05:06 am

    I'll answer Geeh first : But when you are teaching to a bunch of people over 60 and half of them have G12, Lumix or Olympus and only the Nikon have some blade problems, you feel....kind of ....
    This morning it's 18 below (centigrade) here in Quebec and I took a group out for some birdwatching and testing resistance to the cold for batteries and lens and you could see the one who have cameras with too much grease in the lens assembly = Nikon.

    Don, glad you fixed your problems, you can keep in touch. I left my email in a previous message and I'm getting feedback since via my mailbox. Do not have time to set up a website. You should see a difference if you learn to play with the menu and if you plat too much learn first how to reset the menu....very important.
    Have fun it is a good camera but if it was bought last year and have blade problems...get it fixed, it is annoying that you have to "Unlock the trunk, open the windows before you can lift the hood" LOL

  • Don January 3, 2012 01:10 pm

    Marcel, Thank you. I finally got it. My problem was as you suggested. Even though I formated the card there was still a Nikon file on the card. After I deleted that file and download to the blank card the firmware update worked. Will I notice any big changes in the cameras operation? At a new years day lunch I used the video part of the camera using a tripod. I was amazed at the quailty of the picture and the sound. I never intended to use it for video, but....not bad. I bought this camera because in the past I used a Mymia and got tired of the large format size of the entire operation. It just wore me out. I hope this camera works as everyone has suggested it would. I would like to stay in touch.

  • Marcel Theriault January 3, 2012 04:57 am

    Sorry Don it did not work.
    The only time I have seen that happen is the way the card was cleaned = format from the camera and
    the file that was copied to the card. Only that the file (firmware) when unzipped should be copied on the card.
    Make sure nothing else is on that card, insert in camera, go to menu/ firmware version and you should see
    vers 1.1 and the new version, choose the new one , apply, do not touch anything on the camera till told to do so.
    when told to close, do it, turn on again and check if the upgrade was done.

    Best quality I get is ISO 100 or next one (100-200) - anti shake, (I'm getting old) and make test with with NR for low light on or off, Usually I get god advices from Ken Rockwell or searching the web. Send some test to Nikon to see if it is normal. Nikon had to replace ALL my lens assembly on all of my P7000 and some had to be replaced twice. I use P7000 and G12 to teach to my students (retiree) . I like Nikon because almost all my accessories even the SB900 Flash ( SB400, SB600 and latest SB) Remotes, etc.

  • GeeH January 3, 2012 03:30 am

    Have Nikons so stuck with Nikons. Had P6000 thought P7000 looked better. In many ways it is. But, never had 'blade issue' until this camera. Have found that from a failure to fully open every time I have now achieved 50/50 and improving. What reduced the hang up rate with the camera I have was very simple. Recognising that I usually point the camera at the ground when switching on I decided to reverse the process.
    Now, leaving the camera on its back when not in use and switching it on pointing upwards the first and second attempt might still hang but, the third is usually good. If the camera continues to be used, without lengthy shut downs on that day, it continues to open fully.
    The next day we are back to square one. Strange. I am beginning to think the coating of the blades may be at fault or perhaps one of the springs, visible either side, interferes by dropping a wee bit, if the camera is left a particular way. Camera else is great. Pictures from P6000 are better than reviews suggest; this camera is even better.
    This system was not an instant cure but overtime got my camera working better.

  • Don January 2, 2012 12:21 pm

    Thank you both for the replys. I followed the firmware update instructions, but the screen on my camera does not give me any options to upgrade. It just says Coolpxs P7000 V.1.1 with no other screen to update like the instructions shown do. I have taken pictures for 65 years. I only know the basics. I just have the eye for the picture , but little else. My pictures haver been used on magazine covers and Rotary Flags, but I am not a pro at all. I thank you for the professional help.
    I have tried the ISO on all settings and believe that my problem might be in the focus mode. I use matrix.

  • Marcel Theriault December 31, 2011 07:02 am

    As for the quality, you have to experiment. I can do almost better than my D80, D50, D200 and S8100.
    Set the ISO to 100-200 max , write and I'll send some sample shots.
    marcther@cgocable.ca

  • Marcel Theriault December 31, 2011 06:51 am

    Hello Don.
    I have 4 of them...see above and I have upgraded all last week.
    PLEASE read all the instruction on Nikon update page for the P7000 and you will not have any problems.
    All of my students have done so (18 cameras) without me being there and most of them are French and
    not very good with English instructions.
    1- Download upgrade on desktop, unzip. (The upgrade file is in there, but you have to know what to copy)
    2-Copy the folder described in the instructions on a clean SD card .
    3- Insert SD card in camera, use menu, go to firmware and you will see the new firmware and upgrade...
    do not turn off camera until instructed to.
    Please read all the instruction otherwise you will do something wrong and will not be able to upgrade
    Best of luck and enjoy.

  • Don December 30, 2011 01:40 pm

    Tried to update the firmware. The tools screen does not give me the option to upgrade. It just shows current verzion. Now what??

  • Don December 26, 2011 01:35 pm

    I have some remarkabel pictures that I have taken with my old Nikon 8700 Coolpixs. I bought the P7000 from the advise of the reviews I have read and store clerks I have talked to. After taking pictures for a month I find the picture quality not as good as my old 8 Meg coolpixs. Why. Is their something that I need to do to improve the quality. To much grain in all shots. Can you help?

  • Marcel Theriault August 21, 2011 12:29 am

    Sorry Marty but it is a bad idea to start a battery that way. Because of some electronics in a battery it should be charged overnight the first time ( 8 hr) and you should have had a little juice in it enough to make tests. I would check the battery first although that camera has a lot of problems. I have 4 of them that I use to teach and each of them have been repaired at least twice while my only G12 never had any problems.
    All my P7000s will leave again soon as all of them came back from repairs with dust between the lenses.

  • Marty August 20, 2011 05:08 am

    Picked up a P7000 for my wife yesterday. (OK, for my wife and me - looks like the perfect camera to carry around when i don't want to haul my DSLR+gear around.) We charged the battery for about an hour then went out to do some shooting. Worked well and took about 2 dozen excellent pix. Charged up the battery fully this morning (well, at least the charger indicated it was charged with a solid light) and now the camera won't power on at all. No noises. No lights. Nothing.
    So, back it goes today for a new unit that works.
    Anyone else run into that problem?

  • Marcel Theriault July 27, 2011 12:59 am

    You did not know of such a problem. It is kind of sad that there is still people buying that camera and getting stuck with those problems and lack of parts to repair them . We are at end of July and I had to send another one for repairs 2 weeks ago and the worst part is that I have to wait again for parts from Japan. Come on Nikon Canada I think this is not professional for such a company.
    They have a problem and a big one if they cannot keep or get parts for repairing the faulty lens blades problem on the P7000.
    Please if you want to help send complains to Nikon and every review you can find on the web and do some cut and paste of these replies here or on other sites you can find to try reach as many people as you can, it is the only way to stop this mess.
    I have another P7000 in an unopened box and I'm afraid to start using it in front of my students as I'm already the laughing stock if the ones who have bought a G12, a Lumix or an Olympus. Please give me a hand by sending these problems to magazines, reviewers and every address you can find with Nikon Canada, US, Japan, Europe or whatever.

  • American Heretic July 26, 2011 04:01 pm

    After seven months of light use, the LENS COVER BLADES WILL NOT OPEN. This is a common problem. I should have done more research before buying the P7000. Some buyers have complained about sending the camera back repeatedly.

  • marcel theriault June 21, 2011 05:30 am

    Why not do like me, carry 3 around your neck ( tape a Canon logo over the Nikon one) LOL, and swich to another one while the (RAW) is processing?
    Did you updated your firmware? There is 2 vers 1.1 on Nikon site (Nov 2010) and (Jan 2011) It helped a bit for the focussing problem and about 25% faster on the (RAW) processing. Do you set to program or auto? Makes a differences.Program is the best ...ISO 200 all the time if you can.
    Why? I've been making tests and tests since November and I LOVE that came even though it is HANDICAPED.
    I pray every night and have cramped fingers at the end of the day but I manage about 500 shots a day without my tranqualizers...Maybe God will come and get me soon as everybody have Leicas in heaven. They are not the best but they are FREE. And there is nothing to shoot.

  • marcel theriault June 21, 2011 05:15 am

    Nikon replaced mine last week, lend me one for my workshops and finely I have one or 2 of three that are new from Japan. Yes I have searched and found other web site with other critiques and some say that most of them have been recalled...lucky you if you are living elsewhere but Canada where Nikon is an independent company
    and I was lucky to find a bunch of competent and understanding people.
    M. Mak, Ms Moulder, M. Lee, Ms Mohamed, etc. Unfortunetly I cannot sell as I have bought cases, lens tubes (3)
    widw angle lens (2), 3 Cpolarizer, 2 SB400, etc. I'm over 2000,00$ in that P7000 adventure and I still have restless nights as sleeping pills were not included and I'm lucky to have a S8100 as a backup when traveling.

  • kim June 21, 2011 04:37 am

    Oh, and it takes a week to save a RAW file.

  • kim June 21, 2011 04:36 am

    I've finally given up on the P7000. It fails to focus 50% of the time, the lens blades jam and focus on infinity isn't sharp. I've had a Lumix LX5 for a week now. Much better. But I'm not happy. How does a company like Nikon get away with making junk like it. Why, given the problems it has, aren't firmware upgrades coming thick and fast. Why isn't it all over this thing?

  • Marcel Theriault June 7, 2011 06:12 am

    Before you buy :
    I have one on repair for over a month. ( cannot get parts for lens blades problem)
    Waiting for a new one from Japan- promised by Nikon (new series)
    Have a loan one from customer tech support (lens blade problem after 2 weeks)
    Bought a new one 3 weeks ago (Lens blade problem after one week)
    Borrowed one from a friend's store, (Unopened box) will use as a backup if needed.
    ....result one is working, sometimes, and one is in an unopened box out of 5 (P7000)
    I teach with them that is why I wanted one.
    And I'll never know when that nightmare will end, Nikon being more patient that me.

  • jmackie May 25, 2011 07:06 pm

    I'm no statistician but, there does appear to be an uncomfortable correlation between P7000 problems and owners. I am about to purchase either a Canon G12 or a Nikon P7000. I have tried both and at a technical level they are both well matched ,1.1 firmware on P7000 makes it not noticeably different from the G12 in terms of performance. P7000 definitely has a better optical viewfinder, but, even then not great. I think the G12 has a slight ergonomic advantage and I like its swiveling screen (why I can't think). Superficially the P7000 is lots better. Looks like a G12 but more designed than evolved. Screen is wonderful, zoom is better and its less noisy in low light. As an uncommitted amateur I could spin a coin for choice but, my heart always chooses the p7000. Oh superficial heart.

  • marcel May 7, 2011 02:29 am

    I'm fit to be locked up ...just got my 4th P7000.
    The 2 first ones bugged up in less than 2 weeks
    Lens blades problems and were replaced by a new
    ones, the third has left for repairs a week ago for
    the same problems and they don't know when they'll
    get the parts. Lens Blades issue, battery compartment,
    white balance going off for no reasons. I bought the
    4th one because I have invested in every imaginable
    accessories, lens tube, wide angle lens, batteries,
    SB400 flash (My SB600 and 900 were too big)
    I'm close to 1,700.CN$ invested in 2 cameras in order
    to have one (if I'm lucky) working while the other is
    on it's way to or from repairs.
    It’s unthinkable of selling, I would need to find a looser
    to buy all the stuff if I don’t want to be one myself.

  • Paul April 29, 2011 08:16 pm

    The P7000 was everything that I was looking for and issues aside I cant see that there currently is any other camera that I would choose to replace it other than possibly a G12 but reports suggest it doesn't have the same image quality. However the firmwre is is pretty bad, auto focus stuggles on flat surfaces and often only locks on on the 2nd attemp, pretty much what others say here. I also have the shutter cover problem and believe its something to do with debris in the mechansim. No matter how well you look after it you will get dust in the lens barrel. I currently have a few specs on the back of the objective and on the internal lenses. I managed to remove some of the dust and solve the lens cover issue buy using a fairy powerful Henry vacuum. After about 10 minutes of constantly placing the lens over the nozzle and taking it away. Eventually I had done enough to make the cover operate properly again. I still have some dust in the lens though. My next plan is to try some dust off spray to see if I can dislodge the remaining dust and then remove it with the vacuum.

  • Marcel April 27, 2011 07:18 am

    April 26
    I'm on my 3rd P7000 and it left for repairs again yesterday.
    Lens cover blades problems. The first 2 cameras were replaced as they were new and the last one gave up after a little over 4000 photos. I love the camera... but besides the blade problems which is a common issue, the slow NRW (RAW) which only works with a few softwares ( Lightroom 3, CS5, Thumbs 4 Plus,), the white balance that goes wild after a few picture (you have to work with NRW if your photos are important), the camera is not reliable and was put on the market without some real testing other than give away gifts to review writers. Trying to catch up to the G12?
    I have a camera around my neck all day long except when I shower and go to bed and even then, when it's new and I love it I take it to bed with me like a new gift like when I was a kid. Today I'm sad and I'm seriously thinking about buying another one today after I finish this article. I have bought every imaginable accessories for that camera, (SB400, wide angle lens, 2 extra batteries, tube to use 52 mm filters, etc) and I prefer that instead of my 3 DSLRs. I should buy an extra one so I would have a chance of having one around my neck while the other is on it's way from or to to repairs. Nikon people in Toronto are very king, professional and understanding but without a P&S camera, I'm like a cab driver without his car. If you want a P7000, get a deal for 2 and cross your fingers.

  • Afolabi Olayinka April 14, 2011 10:57 pm

    i really love nikon product. please, how do i order for nikon D7000? im in Nigeria

  • kim January 14, 2011 09:32 am

    Not in this case it doesn't. Nice try. ;)

  • kirpi January 14, 2011 09:13 am

    @marcel
    Have you ever tried to rename .nrw files to .nef? Chances are that most of the software around will flawlessly process them ;-)

  • kim January 14, 2011 07:21 am

    @marcel:

    "What’s is the story behind that NRW ?"

    I'm not sure. I used write a lot of code dealing with image formats; I'm less familiar with RAW formats but at the end of the day image formats are just strings of RGB values and I'm not convinced there's a need for yet another format. It annoys me intensely when companies do this. We need standards, not diversity and Nikon haven't really helped here.

  • Marcel Theriault January 14, 2011 01:00 am

    Yes NRW tis an issue...for the amateur, far from being easy for a non pro.
    I was able to upgrade the RAW (NRW) pluggin in both (PC) Photoshop CS5 and Lightroom 3, but could not upgrade Element 6,7 or 8 ...bad news for most of my students.
    Got an upgrade also for ThunbsPlus Pro. Have to test for other programs as Corel, Picassa, and some programs on my Macs.
    What's is the story behind that NRW ?

  • kim January 13, 2011 11:59 am

    NX View is very, very slow and it doesn't offer anywhere near what Aperture or Lightroom do. Photoshop wouldn't read either in the first month or two, which meant a slow, tedious conversion on top of the upload. Putting a new file format in the public domain without making sure that at least the major tools were given the chance to get up to speed was disruptive and not very clever. It's not as if a file format is designed on the day before product release, nor is it something you'd need to be secretive about.

    For me it was a very big issue.

  • Mats January 12, 2011 03:02 pm

    Have mine since Christmas and enjoying it very much. I had 4 demands when buying. Compact, easily change ISO, shutter and take RAW format. It does all that and more. I found it very easy to find my way around in the menus. Great pictures. The only thing that is a bit negative is that Nikon started a new compression system for RAW files so you will have files ending with NRW. This means that you have to upgrade e.g. you Lightroom vers. to the latest one if you don´t already have it. Of course Nikon include their version of program NX view to take care of your pics but I found convenient to use Adobe all the way. So my Adobe Bridge couldn´t read these files but as I said, not a big issue.

  • PB PM January 11, 2011 08:58 pm

    Kim, I wrote an indepth review of the P7000 a few months ago, feel free to take a look.

    http://robdphotos.blogspot.com/2010/10/nikon-coolpix-p7000-review.html

  • Marcel Theriault January 11, 2011 06:24 pm

    Bought a SB400 today to make some tests, as good as with my SB600s and SB 900s.
    Good response with IR remote as well but the second upgrade made yesterday 1.1(1) did not fix
    the white balance issue. I'm ready to leave on a trip but will take along a G12 just in case the
    P7000 keeps bugging.
    No response from Nikon support as of this date.

  • Brian January 11, 2011 06:03 pm

    I have owned this camera for 4 months now. I so far have not experienced any of the issues others have posted. This has been nothing short of an exceptional high-end P&S camera. The firmware update downloaded and installed with no issues and has made an excellent camera even better! It is great for carring around when I don't want to drag out my D5000. It works quite well in low light, the flash is fine and I can always add my SB-600 speedlight when necessary (so far once just to test it out).

  • kim January 11, 2011 08:34 am

    When I was thinking about cameras I checked out as many reviews as I could. Not a one of them did any more than listed features and showed some pictures. Which is little more than what the manufacturers do and for a buyer is almost useless. I understand what you're saying, Barrie, but if a reviewer that could give a proper, in-depth review - the kind I used to see when I was younger in magazines - he would gain quite a following.

    I still find this camera frustrating to use but I am getting some great pictures from it. So it's not a complete washout. Check out some of these taken at the weekend:

    http://www.kim-aldis.co.uk/dogdays/2011/01/teignmouth-shore-break/

  • Barrie Smith January 10, 2011 10:55 pm

    In answer to Marcel Theriault's comments: as a reviewer it's impossible to match a real-world, actual owner's experience. Cameras are often in my hands for little more than a week. They have often been mistreated by previous reviewers or are early production models.
    The other point is when you compare the performance of a specific camera with other other cameras, it's important that the tests are made side by side and are of identical subject matter in identical conditions.
    Thanks for your comments. They are invaluable for other buyers out there.

  • marcel theriault January 10, 2011 04:19 pm

    Shot close to 1000 pictures in last 2 weeks and this morning I re-tried the firmware upgrade...who knows?
    I have a lot of wrong readings in white balance (2 out of 20) many lens errors ( about 1 out of every 10 - open camera) noise starting at 400ISO, found a nice case in China (unavailable in Canada) and made a few video tests (worse than my old Olympus FZ550 and Coolpix L710...please let me know if you hear about a new upgrade...or if you know someone who works for Nikon and is working at solving those problems?
    You may see copies of this elsewhere as I'm retired and beside teaching photography, writing reviews I have all the time I needed to get those problems (fixed) solved.

  • Ole January 9, 2011 02:32 pm

    I have just bought the Nikon P7000 Coolpix camera and dislike very much that Nikon does not deliver a complete manual.

  • PB PM January 1, 2011 11:53 am

    Sure I have the same thing happen too, but it works well enough for my needs. Software bugs can be fixed, hardware issues are manufacturing problems (Quality Assurance), totally different things.

  • Kim January 1, 2011 08:11 am

    It's not just some people getting bad units. The firmware is flawed. I got the new firmware update. Saving has improved but it's still not ideal. Now around 3 seconds.

    Focus still lousy. Obviously it could do it properly because it's consistently failing to focus on the first button touch but gets it on the second. Just to prove to myself it really was looking at the same thing both times I set it up on a tripod. Every time, touch once, fail; touch second time, it gets focus. Damn but that's annoying.

  • Jim January 1, 2011 03:12 am

    Had my P7000 for over 2 months now and really enjoy learning all about it. The ONLY problem I have had so far is the adjusting nut directly behind the camera. HAPPY NEW YEAR TO ALL.

  • PB PM January 1, 2011 03:07 am

    I wish I worked for Nikon. My P7000 works just fine, thanks. Sucks that you got some bad units, but it happens. Canon had a big problem with the S90 and failing zooms, yet nobody talked about it like the do the issues with the P7000.

  • Marcel Theriault December 28, 2010 07:29 pm

    I am not a known photographer. I shot thousands of photos in the last 50 years and made my living selling cameras, teaching about cameras and using cameras in Canada, Los Angeles and across the States, Mexico, Europe with Bronicas, Haselblads, Leicas, Olympus, Nikons.
    I cannot talked very much about the quality of the images in low light (hight ISO) and so on about the Nikon P7000.
    The first P7000 failed mecanically (a common issue I've read in other reviews) lens cover blades failing to open or close completely after less than 500 shots,
    The second P 7000 started vibrating instead of focusing,...
    The third one is doing fine sleeping in it's box in my workroom with some other cameras I cannot trust anymore and I will buy a Leica, a Lumix or a G12 if I want to bring back some souvenirs from my next trip and bring my D200 in my luggage just in case...
    Unless PB PM (probably anonymous working for Nikon) can talk to Rob Krist about selling me his which I'm sure Nikon tested before giving him one free and asking him for a review...
    or maybe Ken Rockwell can help me on this.

  • Marcel Theriault December 28, 2010 07:01 pm

    I agree 100% I'm sure Bob Krist did not buy a P7000 off the shelve twice to make a review for Nikon.

  • PB PM December 23, 2010 06:03 am

    "This camera should be good but was not tested by professionals before hitting the market.."

    I'm sure Bob Krist, a well known pro photographer, who tested the P7000 would disagree with that statement.

  • Rae Merrill December 21, 2010 06:28 pm

    The camera looks fair enough but it does resemble the G12. I think I would just go for the G12 as I'm a Canon user anyway.

  • Marcel Theriault December 21, 2010 01:28 am

    I bought a Nikon P7000 november 20th and should be receiving my 3rd one tomorrow. First one the lens cover blades stopped fully closing and opening after less than 500 shots, second one on setup the camera
    started vibrating when trying to focus. After trying every possible combinations in the menus I still have that problem a few times a day.
    This is my 50th year in photography and it was my retirement gift...
    a performing p&s that would use my other DSLR flashes and other accessories. Had to do some arm twisting with Nikon Canada and my local store for replacements.
    This camera should be good but was not tested by professionals before hitting the market. Is look's like Nikon was trying to catch up with Canon but forgot about reliability if not quality. It's not because a camera is heavy and sturdy that it is good, I have a nice S710 that was replaced after 3 weeks and even new one is in a Ziplock sitting on a shelve, the CCD is full of dust after a few months of use.

  • Eyal Gurevitch December 19, 2010 05:55 pm

    Tests confirm the desired improvement by the firmware to the P7000's RAW files writing times.
    Down from 5 seconds per file to roughly 1 second per file. That makes the P7000 a worthy opponent to Canon's G12.
    Let those G12 VS. P7000 tests begin!

  • Nick December 19, 2010 03:51 pm

    I recently purchased a P7000, yesterday I downloaded the new firmware.
    Used RAW mode to shoot a few images of Christmas decorations inside the house in one room. Set the camera on P Mode. Auto Focus Auto ISO. Auto WB. No Flash. All shots hand held.
    I am blown away. The camera selected ISO 6400 for all shots, I don't remember all the settings I chose, I do remember one shot at 1second. f5.6, some others were less than a second, some more. I did very minor adjustments in Aperture (yes Apple just updated the software to accept RAW for the P7000) and sent JPEGS over to iPhoto. The images are amazing, I personally can't see any objectionable noise at all. Incredible.
    In case anyone wonders, I have owned just about every brand of DSLR since digital arrived, prior to that I shot SLR. I currently own a Nikon D2X. NIkon D300s. Nikon F100. Also had a D80 and D90. In my opinion the P7000 6400 ISO quality meets or exceeds all of the above DSLR's.

  • kirpi December 17, 2010 07:58 pm

    Yes, I confirm that a firmware update (version 1.1) has been released by Nikon, positively :-)
    Here you can find the file for the Mac http://nikoneurope-en.custhelp.com/app/answers/detail/a_id/48111/related/1 and here is the file for Windows http://nikoneurope-en.custhelp.com/app/answers/detail/a_id/48110

    Here are the issues addressed:
    - Total image recording times for NRW (RAW) files have been reduced. This includes image recording times for NRW+JPEG file recording options
    - Lens control has been optimised to reduce the frequency with which the “Initializing lens. Cannot focus.” message is displayed.
    - An issue that, in some rare cases, prevented zoom operation has been resolved.
    - An issue that caused the monitor display to exhibit a loss of detail in highlights (blown highlights) when the shutter-release button was pressed halfway with Active D-Lighting enabled has been resolved.

    Hope it helps you all :-)

  • Jim December 17, 2010 01:00 pm

    I apologize.. Nikon UK has the Firmware Upgrade and I've Loaded it., Thanks Lyn.

  • Kim December 15, 2010 06:05 pm

    and http://bit.ly/hFNb4m if you're a mac user

  • Kim December 15, 2010 06:03 pm

    http://bit.ly/fSstVk

    thanks for the heads up Lyn.

  • Jim December 15, 2010 01:00 pm

    Nikon USA website shows no firmware upgrades for the P7000.

  • Lyn Rees December 15, 2010 10:22 am

    Nikon have released a firmware upgrade which addresses some of the issues noted in the comments like RAW write speed.

  • Aziz December 14, 2010 02:45 pm

    which better this one or the Panasonic LX5 ?

  • Kiran December 14, 2010 02:35 pm

    I want this for Christmas :)

  • Jim December 14, 2010 01:03 pm

    I got one and although it is kinda slow at startup and btwn shots I think it is an absolutely amazing camera, I love all those external controls and when you use exp comp there is a little yellow light to remind you its on. Going down to iso 100 is a big plus, but the quality of images that you get when properly used is amazing. I got this camera as a backup to my D300 but find myself using the P7000 more often than not as it is with me everywhere I go.( Except in the Shower). And to have an optical viewfinder is really great on those bright sunny days.. In camera Cropping and the D-lighting feature really adds a lot to the experience. But everyday I'm learning more and more. I guess I can safely say that I really am glad I bought this camera.

  • Jeff W December 14, 2010 08:04 am

    I have to ask why the photos that accompany these reviews are almost always backlit, sidelit, or underexposed. It's difficult to make judgments on ISO quality, as the images are sidelit with a hot spot on the white object with the rest of the image underexposed (check your histograms). Ditto for image quality on all of the remaining photos in this and most other reviews, which are backlit in rather harsh sunlight.

  • Kim December 14, 2010 07:31 am

    Closer to 5 seconds to save RAW. Focusing is flakey. Viewfinder is a million miles off the framing. Otherwise it's not bad but with hindsght I'd have gone for the Canon.

  • Mandeno Moments December 14, 2010 05:38 am

    I’m not quite sure how you would use this, but Zoom Memory is another novel feature: hold down the Function button while zooming and the lens jumps to presets, like 28mm, 35mm etc.

    The Zoom Memory - equivalent to Ricoh's Step Zoom - is very useful for hyperfocal shooting, which eliminates the the delay caused by autofocus.

    You have to work in aperture priority and manual focus (with hyperfocal the focus is set-and-forget).

    I've used a Ricoh GX100 in this way and it's ideal for street photography, kids running around, etc.

    Hyperfocal might sound scarily technical, but you don't have to understand why it works, you only have to know what it does. Eg, adjust a few settings on a Ricoh GX100 and everything from 4.1 feet away from the camera to infinity will be acceptably sharp (commonly and incorrectly described as 'in focus'). Then just compose and press the button with your high speed photographic machine.

    http://www.dofmaster.com/hyperfocal.html

  • Brian Hoffman December 14, 2010 05:35 am

    As a devoted Nikon user, I considered the P7000 because my D700 which usually has a 14 to 24 zoom on it weighs over 6 lbs and scares the general public. Joking. I needed something I could carry all the time. I decided on the larger 4:3 sensor to reduce noise. So I bought a Lumix G1. Although it costs more, image quality is better and I can change lenses.

  • Grey December 14, 2010 03:10 am

    Also, I'm not sure why everyone makes a big deal of the swing out screen. Those irritate me for some reason. Just one of my quirks though....

    http://www.flickr.com/photos/greystgirl/sets/72157625250172865/

  • Grey December 14, 2010 03:08 am

    I've had this camera for over a month now and have really been enjoying it. I'm an amateur photographer with a DSLR, but an advanced amateur, in need of something smaller to carry around everyday. I found the P7000 easy to use since most of the controls are on the body of the camera and not buried in menus. Even with the menus, I found it easy to find what I needed. So, I'm a little surprised by this comment, "I spent two hours trying to set the image size and quality!" In all honesty, I had a $200 Coolpix that was much harder to control/customize than the P7000. The ISO and aperture are right at my fingertips on the P7000, which is what I love.

    Although I didn't do an in depth comparison to the G12, the Nikon felt much better in my hands than the G12. But, I'm a die hard Nikon fan. So, it would have taken a lot to bring me over to the dark side of Canon cameras.

    Bottom line for me, it's a great little camera I can take anywhere and still get near DSLR results.

    Here are some of my examples:

  • Karel December 14, 2010 01:17 am

    This one looks very much like the Canon G12. Which I own since a week.
    Minor differences like Canon ISO from 80-3200 (not 6400 or even 12.800) and only 2 stops exposure compensation. Benefit maybe Canon over Nikon is the swing out LCD screen. I find the Canon G12 also very slow, both on focusing as in writing to memory.
    This size camera is nice and small and ideal for holidays and street photography.

  • doug December 14, 2010 12:07 am

    I bought a P7000 recently, and returned it after a couple of weeks for a Canon G12. Although there was a lot I liked about it (including the numerous manual-requiring controls), the write speed to the memory card in RAW mode was painful: ~2 secs/image. Fire off 5 shots in the AEB mode and you're looking at 10 secs before you can shoot again. WAY too slow. I also found the AF less than ideal in lower light. Too bad - I really wanted to like the Nikon, but I'm much happier with the G12.

Join Our Email Newsletter

Thanks for subscribing!


DPS offers a free weekly newsletter with: 
1. new photography tutorials and tips
2. latest photography assignments
3. photo competitions and prizes

Enter your email below to subscribe.
Email:
 
 
Get DAILY free tips, news and reviews via our RSS feed