Food Photography: From Snapshots to Great Shots (Book Review)

0Comments

Hi, my name is James and I am not a food photographer. However, I love food and could be considered a foodie to some extent. I also wouldn’t mind perusing food photography in the future and incorporating it into my business here and there. I think because of these facts, I fall right into one of the key target markets for Nicole Young’s brand new book Food Photography: From Snapshots to Great Shots. In this review I’ll go over this book and let you know the pros and cons if you’re looking to explore food photography (whether for fun or as a business). Be sure to stick around till the end though because Nicole was kind enough to send me two copies of the book, which means that I can give one away here at DPS!

Meet Nicole 🙂

Nicole is a photographer and also a friend of mine thanks to the incredible new Google+ community. You can follow both of us on Google+ by going to either Nicole’s profile or mine. If you need an invite to Google+ (still an invite only community) then follow this link. At the time of writing this article that link is still good for 99 more invites so act quick!

I met Nicole through my good buddy Brian Matiash of onOne Software and we all hangout from time to time over at G+. I won’t get into how incredible the hangout feature on G+ is, but you can probably tell by Nicole’s photo there on the right.

Nicole is primarily a stock photographer and is one of the few that actually makes a living doing it. She has written several books for Peachpit Publishing, as well as several more for David DeChumin’s ebook company Craft and Vision. Her food photography is absolutely top notch and the images she posts to her Google+ stream often cause me to leave the computer and head out for lunch or dinner. Now that you a bit about Nicole, let’s start digging into this book.

First Impressions

When I got the copy of this book at my front door I was pretty excited, and so was my wife. She is absolutely a certified food nut and she sat down and read most of it right away. In fact, during my trip to California last week she was sending me pictures of the food she was making (and I was missing out on) and telling me all about how she was using tips from the book to make her pictures better.

The book just makes you happy reading it. I don’t know what it is, but I think good looking food just has that effect on people. Food brings people together from all cultures, families, backgrounds and more. We eat food every day of our life so it’s certainly near and dear to us. But I think the reason this book is so attractive is that it makes you feel and believe that these shots are within reach because the book seriously goes through every detail of creating these shots.

Who This Book Is For

In the opening pages of the book, Nicole dedicates the book to: “…foodies, food bloggers, home cooks, and chefs…and to anyone who craves a delicious meal, chases beauty, and wants to make people hungry with their photographs.” I think that’s a pretty accurate representation of who will enjoy this book. I say that because I think that description covers just about everyone. Even if you have no plans of making money with food photography, it’s still quite fun to take professional level images of your food creations. Cooking is an art in and of itself, and photographing something you’ve worked so hard to create is a great way to top off the experience (well, besides eating it!).

Who This Book Isn’t For

People who hate food and hate photography will not enjoy this book. If you fall into either of those categories we probably won’t get along very well

What The Book Covers

Chapters 1 and 2 – The Fundamentals

Each chapter of the book covers different aspects of learning food photography. Like any good photography book, the first couple of chapters cover photography fundamentals like aperture, shutter speed, ISO, white balance, file types and more. Chapter 2 goes over all the equipment you will need to start taking these pictures. She makes the point that at the very least you will need a camera, a lens and a light. You can start at this point and take great food pictures, but if you really want to step it up she goes over the essential gear as well. The book touches on lens selection, tripods and accessories, cable releases, reflectors, lights and more. If you’re looking for a food photography gear list, then look no further.

Chapters 3 through 5 – Pre Production and Getting The Shot

After the fundamentals are covered, the meat of this book starts to unfold (pun intended). Chapter 3 is all about light and is full of even more incredible, mouth watering images. Light in food photography is incredibly important, and any photographer venturing into this genre needs to learn to read light and also know how to manipulate it to get the best results. This section of book covers all of this, with real world tips that you can put into practice right away. The images in the book are also split in half for the most part, with half being shot with natural sunlight and the other half being shot under studio conditions. This is important because it shows that you don’t have to have a studio to get incredible shots, but if you have one you can really start to take control of the way the image looks.

Each section usually beings with a few pages called “Poring Over The Picture.” These are usually full, two page spread images where Nicole breaks the image down and goes over what went in to creating the shot. It’s really interesting to see just how much goes in to making a shot that looks so simple and elegant. It becomes apparent that every aspect of the images are done with purpose and for clear reasons. From the color of the table top, to the garnishes on the food, to the details in the background. These parts of the book are my favorite, and they really make me hungry!

Chapter 4 is all about styling your food photography and what props to use for certain effects. Presentation is everything in food photography. So once you have you camera settings down, once you’ve created the optimal lighting environment, now it’s time make the food look it’s best. This was a really interesting section to read through because I’m always interested in what parts of food photography are real and what is fake. I never know whether I’m looking at edible food, or food that has been ruined for the sake of making it look good in a photograph. This book is appealing to me because it seems like Nicole prefers food that still edible whenever possible, because she usually likes to eat it when the photo is done! The tips and tricks in this section are so cool too. From using decorative rocks in the bottom of a bowl to push the contents up to the top, to adding a sheet of cardboard in-between layers of a sandwich, to using fake ice for background cups, to using a charcoal starter to burn grill marks into meat, and more. There really are so many cools tricks in this section that you can put into practice right away.

Chapter 5 goes into framing and composition of your food. This is an incredibly important step towards creating an inviting photograph of food. You can use the best equipment, spend hours creating the perfect lighting conditions, and even hire a food stylist, but if your composition is boring the image is ruined. This chapter covers the rule of thirds, the use of triangles, background and foreground elements, vertical and horizontal considerations, shooting angles, depth of field and lens compression, and so much more. Everything in this section is useful and important.

Chapter 6 – Post Production

I was really impressed when I saw that Nicole included a post production section in the book. Most authors tend to shy away from these sections because they take so much time to write and prepare. Post production is the icing on the cake (another intended pun). It’s how you take a great photo and make it perfect. It’s where you take that tiny little blown highlight and recover the detail before sharing the image with the world. Post is where the image comes to life.

This section is chalk full of screen shots from Adobe Camera Raw, Bridge and Photoshop. Each screenshot is completely dissected and shows what each tool does and which ones to use for completing the task at hand. From editing RAW images, adjusting white balance, using clipping warnings to ensure proper exposure, reading a histogram, adding fill light, boosting clarity, masking in photoshop, changing blending modes, cloning and more, Nicole seriously covers it all in this section. If you have these programs, you can literally just take this book and follow it step by step with your own images to get the same results.

Chapter 7 – Behind The Scenes

Don’t you love these sections? The Behind the Scenes chapter of this book shows more of what goes into creating these photos. It includes full shots of lighting setups, graphic diagrams for planning out shots, little gadgets to use for different situations, more tips and ticks, and complete start to finish guides for several photos.

Conclusion

This book is incredible. It really is. While I am friends with Nicole, I tried to be as objective and unbiased as possible when I read through this book, but I honestly couldn’t find anything bad to say about it. My only complaint is that the book didn’t come with samples of food somehow :).

Food photography is for everyone. It’s just a fun thing to do and a great way to show off the dishes you are most proud of. Food is a universal language that everyone can understand. Cook up a dish, use the tips from this book to create a beautiful shot, share it with the world, and watch the love pour in.

Book Giveaway

If you remember from the beginning of this review, I have one extra copy of this book that I’m willing to give away to a lucky reader. I’ll make it as easy as possible to enter too: Just leave a comment below either about the article, the book or why you think you’d benefit from receiving this book. After 48 hours I’ll pick a random winner and shoot that person an email with further instructions on how to receive the book. Have at it!

Grab your copy of Food Photography: From Snapshots to Great Shots on Amazon today.

Read more from our Tips & Tutorials category

James Brandon is a landscape photographer and educator residing in Dallas, Texas. Join 20,000+ photographers and get access to his free video tutorial library at his website. James also has an online store full of video courses, ebooks, presets and more. Use the coupon code "DPS25" for an exclusive discount!

  • Janice

    My husband and I are winemakers and I am just getting behind the camera to document all we do. This book would be an enormously helpful resource to have. Thank you for the opportunity to win!

  • Luci

    Wow,
    I wish I had known about this book three weeks ago! My son, an up and coming chef, was asked to make a cookbook for a youngster who was moving away from our community. He asked me to take pictures of his food creations that would accompany the actual recipes.. He wanted particular angles, etc. I wish I had known which lens to use, angles, etc. I just punted. The book came out beautiful and the youngster loved it. My son has received many many requests for a copy of the book. He wants to make the book perfect before further sharing. So now I have a second chance to improve on my photography!

    This book would really help me help him!

  • Susan M

    Thanks for the lovely review of Nicole’s book. I would appreciate the book! It would be useful for me, just starting out photographing food.

  • John

    I could try Pleading, Begging, whining, annoyingly emailing you at every opportunity.
    But I know those tactics wouldn’t work!
    My back story … I am changing careers again (or perhaps it is back again) I was in the photo business in the late 70’s and 80’s – (my portfolio is Showing its age). I went into computers till the millenium and then went into cooking. Now I recently purchased a new digital camera and am busily training myself. I am fascinated by the techniques that software now offers … many hours of darkroom, masking re -shooting airbrushing now replaced by a click. I had ideas back then that were complex to say the least – combining images of jewelry and fruit that were going to entail at least three sessions and a good deal of luck can be replaced by photoshop or Gimp and 10 – 15minutes.
    I would be grateful to win this book to help me progress on my new old career to see how I can now express my self using digital imagery.
    Thank you.

    PS the name …. Some Old Geezer with a Camera.

  • Lawrence

    While I enjoy watching food photography in cook books immensely, I have often tried to replicate it without much success and have a great respect for those who do this as a craft. I would love to get a copy of this book if it gives the inside scoop on how to take such beautiful photographs of a subject that unites everyone.

  • Anne

    My husband and I are both food nuts! Although I am grateful that I don’t have to be the one to do all the cooking, I just wish we’d take it in turns nicely, instead of fighting over the oven! I think this book could be the answer to the problem; I’m the one with the photography passion, so following the advice in Nicole’s book, I could concentrate on taking great photos of what he’s cooking and leave him to it! (I would do the dishes though).

  • Mei Teng

    I would love a copy of this book as I absolutely adore food and food photography. I take time to browse through food photos on http://www.tastespotting.com which has also helped and inspired me in my own food photography.

  • I agree with you, where are the food samples? The photos are amazing and being a foodie, I can’t help but think this is a direction for me.
    If I don’t win the book it will be first on my list of ‘must have’ books.
    Thanks for choosing such a great book to review. Can’t wait to get a copy.

  • Brent Borgundvaag

    Very interesting article! Thank you. I’m always struggling to make food look good when i photograph it.

  • Bruce Douglas

    I love filming food (I`m a motion photographer – not still) but am sometimes hampered by not having professional food stylists on the shoot. So books like this are very important for my work.

  • Lois DiCicci

    I’ve been taking photos of our meals for years! Your review is excellent. I definitely want this book.

  • Anita

    Your great review makes us want to read Nicole’s book so we can all take the photos that make us want to eat the food!

    This sounds like a very complete book with every detail available to the aspiring photographer, I clicked on the Amazon link right away (will have to wait for pay day to click on the buying link but I’m definitely bookmarking it right now) and I’m sure I wasn’t the only one.

  • li

    this book looks awesome! would love it.

  • Tricia

    Thanks for the review. I enjoyed the description of the chapters. The pictures alone make me want to buy this book.

  • Andrew

    thanks for the review! would love to lay my hands on the free copy too!

  • dedi ari

    James, a million thanks for great review for Nicole’s book, its really to convince me to have this book to complement earlier my collection book before (Digital-Food-Photography & Food Styling for Photographers).

    Greeting from Indonesia 🙂

  • Molly Rose

    I’ve been reading about taking picture of food lately, but this book dropped off my radar. I think it’ll definitely be looked into soon…the picture and review just managed to push me over the edge. :p

  • I’d like to read something sweat during the winter time 🙂

  • Jenna

    Came across this food blog.
    Although the food photography is not that great, it it not bad either for an amateur. And there has been some good progress compared to the earlier posts
    http://opencookeat.blogspot.com/

  • I loooove this! I’m a foodie along with my sisters, and I love taking photos of what I eat, most of the time. But what will really benefit from this book is when I cook food myself at home. I usually take a picture of what I cooked and post it online along with its recipe. My pictures come out good, but I am still learning. I hope I get a copy of this, sooner or later. 🙂

  • Dario

    Very detailed tutorial, challenging enough to get into food photography!

Some Older Comments

  • leni December 23, 2011 03:13 am

    I loooove this! I'm a foodie along with my sisters, and I love taking photos of what I eat, most of the time. But what will really benefit from this book is when I cook food myself at home. I usually take a picture of what I cooked and post it online along with its recipe. My pictures come out good, but I am still learning. I hope I get a copy of this, sooner or later. :)

  • Jenna September 22, 2011 01:01 am

    Came across this food blog.
    Although the food photography is not that great, it it not bad either for an amateur. And there has been some good progress compared to the earlier posts
    http://opencookeat.blogspot.com/

  • Lukas September 5, 2011 09:05 pm

    I'd like to read something sweat during the winter time :)

  • Molly Rose September 3, 2011 09:31 pm

    I've been reading about taking picture of food lately, but this book dropped off my radar. I think it'll definitely be looked into soon...the picture and review just managed to push me over the edge. :p

  • dedi ari September 3, 2011 01:42 pm

    James, a million thanks for great review for Nicole's book, its really to convince me to have this book to complement earlier my collection book before (Digital-Food-Photography & Food Styling for Photographers).

    Greeting from Indonesia :)

  • Andrew September 3, 2011 06:59 am

    thanks for the review! would love to lay my hands on the free copy too!

  • Tricia September 3, 2011 12:19 am

    Thanks for the review. I enjoyed the description of the chapters. The pictures alone make me want to buy this book.

  • li September 2, 2011 11:47 pm

    this book looks awesome! would love it.

  • Anita September 2, 2011 10:47 pm

    Your great review makes us want to read Nicole's book so we can all take the photos that make us want to eat the food!

    This sounds like a very complete book with every detail available to the aspiring photographer, I clicked on the Amazon link right away (will have to wait for pay day to click on the buying link but I'm definitely bookmarking it right now) and I'm sure I wasn't the only one.

  • Lois DiCicci September 2, 2011 09:18 pm

    I've been taking photos of our meals for years! Your review is excellent. I definitely want this book.

  • Bruce Douglas September 2, 2011 08:01 pm

    I love filming food (I`m a motion photographer - not still) but am sometimes hampered by not having professional food stylists on the shoot. So books like this are very important for my work.

  • Brent Borgundvaag September 2, 2011 07:12 pm

    Very interesting article! Thank you. I'm always struggling to make food look good when i photograph it.

  • Kerry Andrew September 2, 2011 11:45 am

    I agree with you, where are the food samples? The photos are amazing and being a foodie, I can't help but think this is a direction for me.
    If I don't win the book it will be first on my list of 'must have' books.
    Thanks for choosing such a great book to review. Can't wait to get a copy.

  • Mei Teng September 2, 2011 10:53 am

    I would love a copy of this book as I absolutely adore food and food photography. I take time to browse through food photos on www.tastespotting.com which has also helped and inspired me in my own food photography.

  • Anne September 2, 2011 10:46 am

    My husband and I are both food nuts! Although I am grateful that I don't have to be the one to do all the cooking, I just wish we'd take it in turns nicely, instead of fighting over the oven! I think this book could be the answer to the problem; I'm the one with the photography passion, so following the advice in Nicole's book, I could concentrate on taking great photos of what he's cooking and leave him to it! (I would do the dishes though).

  • Lawrence September 2, 2011 10:10 am

    While I enjoy watching food photography in cook books immensely, I have often tried to replicate it without much success and have a great respect for those who do this as a craft. I would love to get a copy of this book if it gives the inside scoop on how to take such beautiful photographs of a subject that unites everyone.

  • John September 2, 2011 07:43 am

    I could try Pleading, Begging, whining, annoyingly emailing you at every opportunity.
    But I know those tactics wouldn't work!
    My back story ... I am changing careers again (or perhaps it is back again) I was in the photo business in the late 70's and 80's - (my portfolio is Showing its age). I went into computers till the millenium and then went into cooking. Now I recently purchased a new digital camera and am busily training myself. I am fascinated by the techniques that software now offers ... many hours of darkroom, masking re -shooting airbrushing now replaced by a click. I had ideas back then that were complex to say the least - combining images of jewelry and fruit that were going to entail at least three sessions and a good deal of luck can be replaced by photoshop or Gimp and 10 - 15minutes.
    I would be grateful to win this book to help me progress on my new old career to see how I can now express my self using digital imagery.
    Thank you.

    PS the name .... Some Old Geezer with a Camera.

  • Susan M September 2, 2011 07:29 am

    Thanks for the lovely review of Nicole's book. I would appreciate the book! It would be useful for me, just starting out photographing food.

  • Luci September 2, 2011 05:29 am

    Wow,
    I wish I had known about this book three weeks ago! My son, an up and coming chef, was asked to make a cookbook for a youngster who was moving away from our community. He asked me to take pictures of his food creations that would accompany the actual recipes.. He wanted particular angles, etc. I wish I had known which lens to use, angles, etc. I just punted. The book came out beautiful and the youngster loved it. My son has received many many requests for a copy of the book. He wants to make the book perfect before further sharing. So now I have a second chance to improve on my photography!

    This book would really help me help him!

  • Janice September 2, 2011 05:17 am

    My husband and I are winemakers and I am just getting behind the camera to document all we do. This book would be an enormously helpful resource to have. Thank you for the opportunity to win!

  • Diane September 2, 2011 04:39 am

    just starting out as a photographer my passion is cooking I would love to know the best way to take the photos shots of my cooking

  • Rebecca F September 2, 2011 03:44 am

    I am a total foodie & have been thinking about compiling my recipes into a book to give to family members for Christmas. This book would be perfect to help me with the images!

  • Lala September 2, 2011 02:50 am

    Great review for what looks like a must-have photography book.

  • Lisamarie Miranda September 2, 2011 02:42 am

    Awesome review of this wonderfully enticing book, James! I would be honored to have this in my hands! I love photographing food and have been doing it for over a year now. Have entered a few contests, no win yet, but always a close second! No matter how long, you can never learn too much! I would love to receive this book due to the fact of learning techniques that I can use to share my view of food with others as I see it, or even better. I love chapter 7, behind the scenes, how cool. You wrote this in a manner that even if I don't win it, I will go buy it.

    LisaMarie!

    (had to submit this a few times, hope it doesn't show up over and over...if so, I apologize!)

  • Selwyn Uy September 2, 2011 02:32 am

    Great review and I hope to win your extra copy of this book. I have a blog and am also a foodie at heart. I've recently also ventured into photography so this book will help me discover and learn about myself.

    Not only that, if I win, I promise to make a review of it as well in my blog.

  • Mireille September 2, 2011 01:57 am

    wow why not let the book travel all the way to South Africa, love food , love food photography and would love to find out how I can make my photo's make somebody run out and buy lunch or super!

  • Nathan September 2, 2011 01:51 am

    I've done one food shot that turned out well in college, but I'd like to get into it more. This book sounds like it would be useful in my library.

  • Eric September 2, 2011 01:47 am

    OMG!! My wife is a cook nut as well. This book would be absolutely perfect for her! I'd love to have it, but I guess I will buy if I don't get it after the giveaway. ;-)

  • Maja September 2, 2011 01:01 am

    I love taking portraits and nature photos, but i need some tips on food photography, this book looks great, it's a pity I can't get it (and many other books) since Amazon is not shipping to Serbia :(

  • Louis R. September 2, 2011 12:59 am

    Each time I go on vacation, I come back with shots from the food I got at the restaurants we visited and each time, I come back with dull results. I think you made it clear that this book could help me, finally, to snap great pictures to show to my friends on these long vacation slideshows ;)

  • Christina September 2, 2011 12:34 am

    OMG!!! the images alone have left me drooling... desk drooling doesn't make for productive days at the office!! Hoping to play with the recipes one day- they look incredibly inspirational!!! Not I only would I enjoy this but our chef here at BananaKeet! Spice & I love to peruse cook books- this would be an amazing addition to our collection! Cant wait to meet you Dan this afternoon for a shoot of ~Spice's Banana Chutney Jerk Pork Loin~
    see you for another beautiful sunset here on Windy Hill:)

  • Scott September 2, 2011 12:21 am

    Wow... this looks like a great book! The sample photos you have in your article make me wish I wasn't stuck at work...

  • Kim September 1, 2011 11:49 pm

    I am right there with you. I love food and love to photograph food, although I know I could do a better job at it. Food has everything for a photographer who wants to work on their craft - color, curves, textures, etc. And it is always there right in front of you. You don't even have to leave your home.

    I liked your comprehensive review and clearly stating who it is for and who it is not. Loved the cover and will definitely consider buying this book.

  • Matthew/Grace September 1, 2011 11:08 pm

    My friend Grace and I are big foodies and always take pictures of our food standing over it. It has been named, doing “Grace” before meals by our friends. With this book, we could learn how to take pictures of our food and do “Grace” the right way!!

  • Matthew/Grace September 1, 2011 11:05 pm

    My friend Grace and I are big goodies and always take pictures of our food standing over it. It has been named, doing "Grace" before meals by our friends. With this book, we could learn how to take pictures of our food and do "Grace" the right way!!

  • Ester Liquori September 1, 2011 10:18 pm

    Hi! I love photography and the tasty food. Nicole's book looks amazing! looking inside on the Amazon site I've immediately loved it. I'm a good in coocking and want to improve my techniques in photo-food genre. I really hope to win a copy!
    Thank you for the opportunity!
    Ester

  • Sagar September 1, 2011 06:45 pm

    I was just like you I was not into food photography but I have just started with it and I am loving it and really trying to understand artifical lighting although i am loving available light but i think this book would be really helpful for me to understand food photography on broader level. I am following nicole's blog from last two months and she has really made me interested in food photography and she's too running the contest in fact i am going to participate over there too. Hope i win somewhere..here or there :)

    Thanks for the article it was really helpful...

  • Sagar September 1, 2011 06:43 pm

    I was just like you I was not not a food photographer guy but I have just started with food photography and I am loving it and really trying to understand artifical lighting although i am loving available light but i think this book would be really helpful for me to understand food photography on broader level. I am following nicole's blog from last two months and she's too running the contest in fact i am going to participate over there too. Hope i win somewhere..here or there :)

    Thanks for the article it was really helpful...

  • Leonora Uy September 1, 2011 04:58 pm

    This is by far one of my favorite article and topic here in digital photography school! Since I am one of those food photography enthusiast and hopefully to be a professional food photographer soon! Everytime my partner and I would go and eat out at any restaurants, we never fail to take pictures of the food we order, either burger or any of those 5-course meals. We always make sure to document what we eat! I have done a few food photography shots for some friends who owns a restaurant, but I haven't really done it professionally, but I am getting there and this book would be a great help if ever I get to own one for free! Every time i go to a bookstore i make sure to brows food photography books, and hopefully to buy one soon! Anyway, thanks for sharing this article it's really a nice read! =) get me all pump up to pursue my photography to the next level!

  • tutness September 1, 2011 04:49 pm

    Like many of the folks who posted on this thread, I too am just starting to learn the ropes in the world of photography. I'm trying a bit of everything to help me find what interests me most -before- I put money I don't have into gear I want XD

    Lately I've been leaning towards toying around with food photography, partially because I love food & cooking and I have lots of friends who do too (which I sometimes stalk with my camera while they cook). I also subscribe to a bunch of food blogs, and I've come to terms with the fact that I actually do it for the pictures more so than the recipes :) I just love food photography (sometimes more than the actual food because I'm a picky eater XD).

    After reading the review I gotta say that all the topics it covers sound like they could benefit my photography a great deal, but I'm particularly interested in the post-production section, probably because I consider that my area of expertise and I'm always keen to add another layer of new thoughts & ideas on post. Though trust me, everything before post would be probably even more useful for me all things considered :)

    Either way, if I don't win the book from the giveaway, I think I might end up buying it. It just looks really promising.

    Cheers,
    Reut.

  • lila braga September 1, 2011 02:58 pm

    Please enter me in,I’d love to have a copy of this book. :) !
    I loveeeee food photography, so much so, that at the moment I'm taking a course in the subject and this book would be a God send to me!
    I would love to learn to take shots like these,they look fantastic and so mouth watering and the pictures looks Simply fabulous,almost 3D,they kind of jump at you...how can I not wish to have it?
    If I do not win this book in the next 48 hours,I will have to rush to the nearest book store, here in Dubai, and order a copy,as to be honest,this book is simply fantastic and a great addition to any serious photography hobbyist,like myself.
    I see this as a real opportunity to improve my photography and let me tell you that this book would help me immensely!!!
    Thank you for this article and for the opportunity to win this book.This is is another Great Article,with the most awesome pictures of various types of food,my mouth was watering just by looking at them!
    hugs
    LilaBraga

  • George September 1, 2011 02:19 pm

    I would love to learn how to take pictures that are a feast for the eyes and feed one's soul at the same time... ;)

  • Boris September 1, 2011 02:16 pm

    I am trying food photography but I am far from being successful. This book would definitely help a lot.

  • Jason Sandeman September 1, 2011 02:12 pm

    Oh, how I would LOVE to get my hands on a copy of this today! I just broke my lens to my Rebel T2i, and while I am waiting for Canon to fix it, I would love to know what I need to buy. Food is my life; an obsession. Writing, taking photos, and eating it are all what I love doing the most!

  • Jeff Baldwin September 1, 2011 01:08 pm

    Great article, I will be buying this book if I don't get the giveaway. However, being a Westwood College Online student I don't have much money so the giveaway would help tremendously. Not to mention, my final project is a photo shoot involving food so this really would just make my day.

  • Tim September 1, 2011 11:40 am

    Great article. My wife is wanting to submit photos with her recipes for recipe contest. This book would be great to help me take better food pictures for her.

  • Jon September 1, 2011 11:19 am

    I am always photographing my food, whether in a restaurant or at home. 99% of the time it's with my old iPhone 3G, but occasionally I do have my DSLR with me. I would love to win this book and improve my food photography. Thanks for the opportunity.

  • Rachel September 1, 2011 11:10 am

    My two great hobby passions: cake decorating and photography. I am convinced I can do a better job with my baking photos, but I'm a long way off yet, this would help immensely!

  • mastazeko September 1, 2011 10:30 am

    As a cook and photo amateur I would love to make such beauty food shoots with the help of this book :)

  • Eichel Calaguas Alfonso September 1, 2011 10:07 am

    Hello,

    I would love to have a copy of this book for it will benefit me a lot since I am planning to focus also on food photography and my sister is a food blogger so that book will help us a lot. I am really praying for it :)

    Thank you so much and GOD bless! :-)

  • Rebecca Ednie September 1, 2011 09:34 am

    I'd love to check out this book! I've been in so many restaurants where I'd love to photograph the food but I didn't know how. And I'd also love to take better pix of the desserts I've made.

  • Dave September 1, 2011 09:33 am

    You will have some job choosing a winner ;). I think I would benefit from the book because it is about food and photography and such and I just would like to thank my Mum... sorry thought I was in a pageant for a moment. IN our house we love food. in our house we love photography. In our house to be able to afford food for much longer we may need to get better at photography and maybe get paid for it..this book could help in that regard

  • PamiE in Olalla September 1, 2011 09:32 am

    I have GOT to get a copy of this book. I make homemade bread and goat cheeses...chevre, cheddars, feta, etc...and occasionally post pictures of them on my blog. So far I have just muddled through with trying to do an adequate job, but would love to learn good technique for food photography. Thanks for the great review of this book!

  • Sam September 1, 2011 08:36 am

    Sounds like a great book and one I'd find very useful,

    I work in a community cafe and we're just working on our new menu. I'd love to be able to take some spot on photos to illustrate them. In addition, my friend has dared me to write a "kick ass" veggie cookbook for him which is going to find it's way out into the world as a blog... something that will need visual accompaniments.

    I recently took a 2 day beginners' DSLR course to get me out of auto and into manual and started reading this blog to inspire me to keep my practise going. Now here you are with what sounds like the perfect book to combine my new interest and my age old passion... What could be better?!

  • Andre delfini September 1, 2011 08:12 am

    I was searching such a book.

  • GoGayleGo September 1, 2011 07:09 am

    I'm doing a P365, so I've taken a few shots of food for that. Would love to improve on this...

  • Sam September 1, 2011 06:36 am

    I am a food blogger -- perhaps "food humorist" is more accurate. With so little photography background, however, my shots are spotty at best, and sometimes worse. This is compounded by the fact that as a professional, I can only cook at night -- when it seems the most brilliant, gorgeous food photography looks as though 'twere shot on a deck in morning sunlight on the coast.

    Suffice it to say, I could gain a lot from becoming further acquainted with my camera in a food context, and in the other advice Ms. Young might give!

  • karen September 1, 2011 06:05 am

    About 2 months ago, that "light" went off in my brain that said, "even though everything around you is a mess, you can still be in control of SOMETHING!!" I realized that my unhealthy eating habits needed some serious tweaking and on that I day I decided to become a healthier eater. Not only do I analyze just about everything that I digest now--and don't eat it if it won't do my body any good, but I try to make it look yummy and pretty on the plate. Now, I'd really like to start a blog to share the good things I eat with the world. I am a serious photography hobbyist and see this as a real opportunity to improve my photography and improve my well-being at the same time. This book would help me immensely!!!! And I'm sure in my blog, I will gladly give thanks to the book and Nicole for their help! Thanks for your consideration (and for your great book review).

  • Jarthur September 1, 2011 06:00 am

    I try to eat local and in-season as much as possible. Even though the produce is not always "perfect looking", I have found that with the right perspective it is downright beautiful. I love showing that through my food photography. Thanks for the book review-sounds wonderful. Hope I win it.....if not I may have to treat myself.

  • Lucy September 1, 2011 05:29 am

    I am a passionate chef that neglected my great interest in photography for my career and have now decided that I want to be a food photographer , I can cook , all I need to learn now is to take pictures , this book is exactly what I need.

  • Dharmesh September 1, 2011 04:57 am

    This is a great article. Besides the solid content it informs you enough about the book but withholding information subtly. At the end of the article, you just want more (pun intended) :)

  • venkatesh September 1, 2011 04:45 am

    Great article, and more importantly, awesome pictures of various types of food! My mouth was watering just by looking at them! I'd love to have a copy of this book. :)

  • Alyssa September 1, 2011 04:41 am

    Thank you for the review! I've been wanting to purchase a food styling & tips book for awhile now and I'm really hoping to win this giveaway!

  • Jennifer September 1, 2011 04:19 am

    Hi, I am interested in the book as well. I love food, and have recently gotten into taking pics on my iphone. The book would be a great way to merge these 2 hobbies! And maybe show off the food I make. The food I make tastes great, but doesn't look so good in pictures. hahaha at least i know my food is tasty!

  • Stephen September 1, 2011 04:08 am

    Hey,

    Great article. I like your sentiments- fan of food, fan of photography, if you don't like either of those we won't get along. I kind of laughed when I read that. Anyway, I am looking to expand into food shots also. I am also thinking of putting together a cookbook of my recipes. I am kind of excited by this idea.
    Hope to see more articles on here from you soon.

  • joe September 1, 2011 03:50 am

    I could put this book to good use to help improve my food photography.

  • KathieChomps September 1, 2011 03:32 am

    I have been considering venturing into the world of food blogging lately and this book would be the final push to get me going. What a great resource!!

  • jen September 1, 2011 03:31 am

    I dont really take pictures of food, probably because the pictures never turn out well! would love to learn more!

  • Andrea September 1, 2011 03:00 am

    As an amateur photographer, I LOVE to take photos, and for my job as a web designer and BBQ-chef-blogger, I have to take images of food. I need to have a look at this book, your review helped me narrow down the multitudes to choose the right one for me. AND a behind the scenes section? How fun!!
    Thanks for the review!

    ~Andrea

  • Adrienne September 1, 2011 02:42 am

    This books looks awesome! I'm particularly interested in the lighting and setup for the photos...

  • Paul September 1, 2011 02:39 am

    I'm an amateur photographer and an amateur foodie -- and I'd love to get better at both AND improve my food pictures enough that I am better at making the time to take them before eating!

  • Jenn September 1, 2011 02:37 am

    funny article :) and definitely made me even more interested in the book. Love food photography!

  • Joni Charles September 1, 2011 02:34 am

    My 25 year old nephew is getting married in March to a young woman whose family hails from India and Trinidad. I am planning a special wedding present for them: a family cookbook that incorporates recipes from both their heritages. My 10 year old daughter and I plan to make several of the recipes so we can include photos of the dishes in the cookbook, along with photos of our family gatherings where food has always taken center stage. We are a family of foodies. Nicole’s book would help ensure that the photos are as gorgeous as the food is delicious.

  • Judy Kaspar September 1, 2011 02:32 am

    I've been interested in food photography for a very long time, but have not found a book that fit my needs until now. I think this is the perfect book from what I've just read in this review. I would so love a copy of it!

  • Christi Nielsen September 1, 2011 02:11 am

    My two passions are photography and food. I had to choose between art school and culinary school. I always said someday I'd somehow combine the two.

    Thanks for the review. I'd so love to have this book!

  • Praveen September 1, 2011 02:11 am

    Photography is a 'relaxing' hobby for me. It calms me down and makes me think. I like reading photography books that explain 'how' and 'why' a photo was taken and still leave room for interpretation. Learning to 'see' photographs has opened up a new world for me. Photographing food is one of the latest things I have started exploring. From your excellent review, seems like I will enjoy it a lot. So please sign me up for the sweepstake. :-) But more importantly, keep the reviews like these coming on photography books. It is very helpful for amateurs like me. Thanks,

  • ELaurvick September 1, 2011 02:11 am

    LOOOOOOOOOOVE. This. Book. And I haven't even read it yet!

    The instruction in this book touches something very specific and personal in my life. My father retired from his 40+ years as an electrical engineer and opened a golf course restaurant in a small town in Eastern Washington. I have routinely volunteered my time and camera to photograph the buildings, golf course, events, and food in his establishment. He (a bit old fashioned) insisted that he have pictures on his menu, and I've fudged (no pun!) my way through the photographs but they aren't as great as they could be.

    I'd love the chance to learn more, apply some of that knowledge to the pictures and bring his food to life. The food created in his restaurant is wonderful, but we eat with our eyes first and I don't think I currently do it justice.

    Thank you for the opportunity and the post!

  • Ruth September 1, 2011 02:04 am

    I love the photo with the french toast and maple syrup. Overall, your review caught my interest and is causing me to consider taking more food shots. I love food and photography...thinking this book might be for me. Before reading your review, I don't think I would have taken my camera into this direction but now think I will.

  • Melanie Wolczuk September 1, 2011 01:49 am

    What a wonderful sounding book!! I love to take photos of food and anything to improve that would be awesome!! Thanks for the great review, this book is going on my list!!

  • John V September 1, 2011 01:44 am

    I'm actually here to see if anyone has an invite for Google+.... Thought it would be worth a mention. Winning the book would be bonus though because my older brother is a sous chef in an upscale restaurant. I have been dying to take photos of his creations but have lacked in processing. Being a beginner, any help would be greatly appreciated.

  • LSharp September 1, 2011 01:38 am

    "Poring over the picture" is a powerful learning tool for me. Dissecting a shot, particularly lighting sources and positions really present a technique in concrete terms that my old brain can easily understand and commit to memory. Great luck with the book Nicole!!

  • Jan W September 1, 2011 01:30 am

    I LOVE Photography and LOVE to cook. I cook a different dinner every night and when friends come over they are my ginnea pigs! I used fresh foods and healthy menus...I love to experiment with both food and photography! This book would be awesome, because I have said so many times I should have taken a picture of that dish. I do want to become a photographer for making money too and people say I have
    "An eye" for photography...so with both combined I have thought about taking pics of the food and now with my Nikon I actually have a "food" setting! So this would help me greatly as I am a "see" kind of person to where seeing a picture of something that I am having trouble with like taking pics of food would help give me more ideas...and the knowledge on how to do it would also help. It always nice to hear from other photographers that like to share... and now that I am retired, I have lots of time to be able to dive into books such as this to help me get on with a career of things that I love!

  • Brooke September 1, 2011 01:26 am

    This is a very thorough review! Really makes me want to purchase the book today. I would be honored to win a copy.

  • Rich September 1, 2011 01:16 am

    The snapshots series is great, I have it for my D7000.

  • David September 1, 2011 01:16 am

    Sounds just the book I should read before attempting to write a recipe book for diabetic lap banners! In other words for people with low fat, low carbohydrate needs, and with reduced size stomachs that limit type and recruits of food they can eat. A freebie would be nice and I would publish a review and credit three book in my book once it got written. There can't say hauteur than that's

    Otherwise I hope Amazon UK have it now as we Aussies get free post deals from them!

  • Cheryl September 1, 2011 12:55 am

    I will graduate this December with my Graphic Design degree and I am working this semester on putting together my portfolio. My goal is to provide food photography for the Graphic Design world, so this book would greatly benefit my endeavors and help make my portfolio stand out.

  • vivien September 1, 2011 12:42 am

    Love food, love photography. Questions? :)

  • Annabelle Almodovar- Ramos September 1, 2011 12:40 am

    I love to cook and I love photography but Never thought of combining the two until now. Thanks for the great tips. This will certainly give me more to post about on my blog!

  • Ariane Le Comte September 1, 2011 12:36 am

    I want in!

    My friend loves to cook and she often asks me to take pictures of what she does, so it would help me improve on those pics and make them look even more yummy!

  • Marciana September 1, 2011 12:33 am

    Photography is about light, but also about telling a story. I would love to learn how to capture mouth-watering images of food. Another opportunity for learning in my newly started photography journey.

  • Cindy September 1, 2011 12:28 am

    I would love to learn what this books promises to offer. My food shots never look nearly as appetizing as I would like.

  • Joni Charles September 1, 2011 12:27 am

    My 25 year old nephew is getting married in March to a young woman whose family hails from India and Trinidad. I am planning a special wedding present for them: a family cookbook that incorporates recipes from both their heritages. My 10 year old daughter and I plan to make several of the recipes so we can include photos of the dishes in the cookbook, along with photos of our family gatherings where food has always taken center stage. We are a family of foodies! Nicole’s book would help ensure that the photos are as gorgeous as the food is delicious.

  • Charlene Anderson September 1, 2011 12:27 am

    I would love to learn more about food styling. I think it is fascinating...

  • Veronica September 1, 2011 12:15 am

    I love to cook and and shoot photos. I'd really like to learn any tips about food photography that I can. I think this book would be very helpful to me.

  • Ovidiu September 1, 2011 12:14 am

    I'm a hobby cook as well as a hobby photographer and have recently purchased some lighting equipment. I'd love to delve deeper into food photography and I'd like to win this book.

    Btw. your review is excellent. If I won't win, I'll buy it :-)

  • Jim September 1, 2011 12:08 am

    I landed on this review by clicking on a random tweet link, and was surprised how useful it was. You've done a great job reviewing the book by describing the content and detail in a manner that makes me want to read more. My chances of winning your extra copy are miniscule, so I've already added this to my Amazon wishlist.

  • Blake September 1, 2011 12:03 am

    I have been doing a lot of food photography lately for the web company I work for. I would love the chance to win a copy of the book and I believe it would help my understanding and my web company's understanding of what all goes into food photography for our clients.

  • Allan Høgholm August 31, 2011 11:57 pm

    Well, I have already ordered the book from Amazon, because of this review and it was quit cheap. So I don't really need the win the extra copy, but I just wanted to let you know. Im really looking forward to receive the book :)

  • Cheryl Terranova August 31, 2011 11:47 pm

    I would love to get a copy of this book! I'm a Registered Dietitian and would love to incorporate some great shots of some of the food I may be talking about in articles or handouts I might create for people. This book could not only support my career as a dietitian but it could support my hobby and ambitions as a photographer :)

  • Nicolas Boivin August 31, 2011 11:47 pm

    What a timing to talk about that book! A series of events jut got me right into the possibility of being employed as a food photographer and I would really need all the help I can get from this book. It does seem to be a great book to work with and Nicole's photos are really what I' trying to get to!

  • Silke Force August 31, 2011 11:44 pm

    The article is as tempting as the food photography itself! Thanks for the invite to Google + too -- hadn't heard of it and took advantage of your sweet offer

  • LC Brooks August 31, 2011 11:38 pm

    I've been a Nikon D90 owner for about a year now and am progressing pretty well (I never had and 35mm film experience). I have a wonderful daughter-in-law from Ireland who as a young bride 20 years ago could barely boil water. She has taught herself to become a gourmet cook and baker and presentation is one of her passions. She's a stay at home mom of a "Hemi-Kid" (a child who has had the right half of her brain removed at 19 months old due to seizures) and I am constantly amazed at her ability to juggle the stresses in her life. I want to work with her on a recipe book one day and to be able to take excellent photographs of the food she prepares. That would be my gift to her... She is an amazing woman, cooking 90% of everything organically and from scratch. For me to be able to learn the ins and outs of food photography and to be able to do her food justice with photographs would be, not only a physical gift to her, but bonding between the two of us. I hope you will consider me for the extra copy of the book.....

  • Alice Mueller August 31, 2011 11:29 pm

    I am new to blogging and will be posting recipes among other things. Photography has been a hobby of mine since I was little, passed down from my father. I know just the basics and would LOVE to be able to get creative with my digital camera.

  • Suz August 31, 2011 11:29 pm

    Free + Food + Photography, the three phonetic F's...what's not to like?

  • Len Moser August 31, 2011 11:28 pm

    I need that book! I'm a professional portrait photographer and also have a food website. But my photographs are pretty boring compared to the ones you see in cookbooks and magazines. This book would be very helpful.

  • Lyssa Oberkreser August 31, 2011 11:03 pm

    Food photography is my new obsession. I would love a copy of this book.

  • Ibrahim Alghamdi August 31, 2011 10:59 pm

    As a 16 year old photographer, I would love to win this book and improve my food photography skills to work in this amazing field. Thank you.

  • Sarah Van Wie August 31, 2011 10:49 pm

    Food for Thought: Never look at beautiful photos of strawberry crepes before breakfast! it really gets those digestive juices flowing. Thanks for a great article. Hope that Nicole does very well with her new book.

  • Niki August 31, 2011 10:43 pm

    Oh the book sounds wonderful! I LOVE food and I LOVE photography! Currently my photography is just a hobby but I am hoping to turn it into a part time business. I have been reading and learning as much as possible and this book sounds amazing! My 17 year old niece loves to bake and recently she has been asking me to take photos of her amazing baked goods and this book is exactly what we both need!

  • Vince Young August 31, 2011 10:36 pm

    If nothing else, the book will force me to make absolutely stunning-looking (and tasting, I hope) cheesecakes!

  • Ian August 31, 2011 10:20 pm

    I would love this book, I'm going to Spain soon and would like to take some great foodie shots while I'm over there.

  • Sarah August 31, 2011 10:20 pm

    Wow! This book sounds truly amazing! I've just begun photography and I've been cooking for a little while now, and was hoping to blend the two together and this sounds like the perfect book for me.

  • Kristin @ eat healthy. be happy. live well August 31, 2011 10:10 pm

    I am a fairly new blogger and I like to feature pictures of my recipes, but I really need some help in styling my photo shoots! Plus, I love food and photography, so I know I would enjoy this book :)

  • Andrea August 31, 2011 10:08 pm

    Definitely a type of photography I've always wanted to pursure...you make the book sound, well, tasty! :D I'll definitely be buying a copy. Great article. :)

  • Charlotte August 31, 2011 10:07 pm

    I have a friend who has just started up her own cafe and I promised her I would help take some photos for her website but I have no idea around food photography - this book would be so useful!

  • Karin Allmendinger August 31, 2011 10:06 pm

    I'm trying to find my photo niche. Food is something that really interests me. I do much better when people aren't involved in my images LOL! Would love this book!

  • Iris August 31, 2011 10:05 pm

    Nicole's photography is incredible. I have one of her books and her explanations on 'how to...' are very beneficial. I would love to receive a copy of her latest book.

  • Michelle Pearson August 31, 2011 10:04 pm

    I would love to win this food photography book because I've not photographed food before, but our little island is known for its food.

  • Amy E, August 31, 2011 10:02 pm

    I would love to know more about food photography. My daughter loves to experiment in the kitchen and I am often frustrated with trying to capture just how yummy her creations look.

  • Wayne Sheridan August 31, 2011 10:00 pm

    Great loking book. Super book and review but made me hungry!

  • Agacz August 31, 2011 09:43 pm

    This is amazing! Just when I was thinking about getting a food photography book! Definietly going on my (too long:( ) wish list!

  • Kristin August 31, 2011 09:33 pm

    I've been told I should be a food photographer after everyone sees the photos I take at various weddings and events. I think winning this book would be a huge help in perfecting this type of photography niche that I seem to have. :)

  • Widdi Turner August 31, 2011 09:25 pm

    I was just talking to a food blogger friend of mine yesterday about my fascination with food photography! I credit it for some of the success I've had with a new food venture I started, but I have so much more to learn. Thx for the great article & intro to this book.

  • Bob August 31, 2011 09:25 pm

    Looks amazing. Would love to win one. Thanks for sharing.

  • Mai August 31, 2011 09:23 pm

    As a newbie of food blogger myself it would be awesome to help me improve photography and food styling skills.

  • Marcus Walters August 31, 2011 09:17 pm

    Fantastic review, has even given me a few ideas for a food shoot with a Masterchef winner I have set up for tonight. Got a feeling if I had this book it would be a lot more interesting though!

  • Jennifer August 31, 2011 09:16 pm

    I would LOVE this book. I absolutely love to cook and bake and am having a hard time getting just the right picture of my creations. I'm one of the people that asked DPS to write about food photography a bit ago. If I don't win it, I'll probably buy it anyway (but free is always better, right?). It will be held on the shelf with all my cookbooks! Thanks for the giveaway!

  • Simon August 31, 2011 08:57 pm

    I love food and photography so this book sounds perfect!

  • Ham and Pickle August 31, 2011 08:32 pm

    I would love to get into food photography and I am sure this book would help. Great write-up and the book looks to cover all I would need to know in great detail.

  • Tanat August 31, 2011 07:31 pm

    Even your sample photos from the book fascinated me.
    I've always wanted to be able to take food photographs properly, but I don't have enough resources to find a good coach.
    Well, keep up the great work, and many thanks for sharing your insight into food photography. ^^

  • Tracy Alexander August 31, 2011 07:10 pm

    Thanks for the article and the G+ invite link! I would love to have Nicole's book and I can't wait to learn more from you both through G+.

  • Gregory Cortez August 31, 2011 06:52 pm

    I've been practicing food photography lately and think this book would help me take it to the next level, I'd be so excited to win something :)

  • Sorin Irimias August 31, 2011 06:26 pm

    This book sounds like an interesting read.

  • Sugar August 31, 2011 05:51 pm

    This is EXACTLY what I need for improving my blog ! Seriously, my food pictures are just crappy :(

  • Anna-Maria Erik August 31, 2011 05:46 pm

    It looks like this is the book I have been waiting for at least 2 years. My sister loves cooking and she has a cafe. She is always asking me to take photos of her food. I hope this book will help me to improve my skills in food photography.

  • Laiza August 31, 2011 05:44 pm

    I just love food photography and would love to get better at it

  • Neil Allgood August 31, 2011 05:44 pm

    What a great looking book! A friend of mine takes really cracking food photos and I've not been able to quite manage the same level myself but I reckon with this book, I could learn a lot.

  • stoney August 31, 2011 05:33 pm

    Great review. It would be nice to have this book, to improve my photography skills in this area.

  • luca godina August 31, 2011 05:16 pm

    I'm a great checf and a passionate photographer :D any other good reason?!?! eheh I'd love to improve my "in house" photography!

  • Szee Lynn chew August 31, 2011 04:56 pm

    Love food + love photography!!

  • Jo August 31, 2011 04:26 pm

    My diary is a picture of the kids, a picture of something we ate that day (why you may ask? because we spend so much time getting to know and love each other over food! precious moments!) and a random shot or two of the beautiful world around us. I love photographing my kids and even landscape but food has always eluded me, just never taken the time or effort to learn. But in looking back over my random snapshots, the food ones just let it down. I would love to be as proud of my food photographs as my other photography. And after spending hours in the kitchen each day, I would so appreciate having my efforts remembered for longer than the 10 minutes it takes to scoff it all down! Can't wait to get my hands on this book, thanks for reviewing it. :)

  • Dewan Demmer August 31, 2011 04:23 pm

    I admit I wouldn't know the first thing about food photography, its an art in itself. After looking seeing this blog I am intrigued enough to contemplate doing some food photography and it can only help me be better with my photography, so now I just have to understand some basics, more in depth than what was mentioned above and go from there.
    Perhaps some time soon I will have something instructive to add.

  • jj August 31, 2011 04:22 pm

    Looks interisting, thanks for the tip.

  • Mykolas August 31, 2011 04:11 pm

    Hi, I really like pictures of food which makes me want to eat. I would like to learn create ones! And this book would help me :)

  • Chubfort August 31, 2011 04:08 pm

    Food + Photography = MWPOA (mouth watering piece of art) :)

  • Bryn August 31, 2011 03:38 pm

    The weather here has been really bad keeping me indoors and looking at my camera gear longing to pick it up again. Enter Food Photography. What better way to spend a wet afternoon than cooking up a feast, taking photos of it and then eating it ;)
    Not being an expert on Food Photography, i'd love the book to start my journey

  • Jeppe S August 31, 2011 03:37 pm

    Nicole is one of those photographers who is a real pleasure to follow in her work. She generously shares her insight and especially her blog is a great resource of information.

  • PALMERSANCHEESE August 31, 2011 03:28 pm

    Love the look of this book!

    I've always taken photos of my kitchen creations, but have never been able to get the photos to look as scrumptious as the food tastes.

    Hope that your extra copy = mouth watering magazine-quality food shots from the amateur kitchen.

  • Zignat August 31, 2011 03:18 pm

    I'm living on my own in a house with a decent sized kitchen and cooking all sorts of wonderful things for the 1st time in my life...and my mother doesn't believe a word of it. I'd love to start taking beautiful photos of my food and prove to her and that I'm not useless!!

    I've heard so many great things about this book, from so many different blogs, google+, etc. I'd love a chance to get it!

  • Jason Teale August 31, 2011 02:55 pm

    Wow, I wish I had known about this book a few weeks ago. I had to shoot a series of Korea side dishes and I could have used the help. Free book or not, I am looking into this one.

    One of the most popular things I think people do when they are in a new country (I am living in Korea) is photography food. The sad part is that it never looks as good as it did on the plate. From your review I can totally get an idea of how to get the most mouth-watering shots. Thank you for sharing this with us all.

  • Michele August 31, 2011 02:16 pm

    I have been working on selling photos through microstock sites and have sold some food shots, but still have a lot to learn! There is more to it than you think. Thanks for the review; it looks like an excellent book.

  • Johanna H.. August 31, 2011 01:58 pm

    Photography is my new passion and I need a lot of tips to take better pictures. And I love food ;-)

  • Jannette D. August 31, 2011 01:54 pm

    I've been trying my hand at some food photography and I've got looks to learn yet. This book would help me alot. Thanks for the chance to win this.

    Jannette D.

  • Morris Kong August 31, 2011 01:48 pm

    I am doing some photography work for some food blog, this book will definitely help me enhance the website!!

  • Holly Sisson August 31, 2011 01:33 pm

    I do a food shoot every other month, my client doesn't want it too look too polished, but like real food (we eat everything we shoot!), so it would be handy to pick up some tips for the upcoming shoots. :-)

  • Jessie August 31, 2011 12:47 pm

    I have a blog, Http://thewaytoonesheart.blogspot.com, about the different recipes I cook and if you take a look at the pictures on the blog (eek!) you'll see I could really use a book like this. Help! :)

  • pizzahut51 August 31, 2011 12:08 pm

    The book sounds great! I'd love to win one and start trying food photography!

  • Virginia Smith August 31, 2011 12:04 pm

    I have a recipe blog and I am always looking to improve my food photography so that people will want to try my recipes. This book sounds wonderful to learn from!

  • Rosalynn August 31, 2011 12:03 pm

    Such an eye candy! would love to start learning more about food photography as well! Thanks for the giveaway!

  • Brett Cox August 31, 2011 12:03 pm

    Another great article James. Thanks for giving such an in depth review of this book. Great read. I had planned on purchasing this book in the near future. Nicole has always been very friendly, supportive and responsive when I have chatted with her. Can't wait to read the book

  • Shelley August 31, 2011 11:58 am

    Photography is a new passion of mine. Although I take decent pictures, there is so much I don't know. I'm teaching myself how to use my digital camera, as well as what it takes to improve my photography.

    Not only does this book cause a person to drool, but I would think the information could be applied to any subject matter. All that's missing are the recipes!

    Whether I'm chosen or not, I'd be willing to purchase one for myself. Thanks for sharing this.

  • Bob Cooper August 31, 2011 11:52 am

    Please. please FEED me with more information on food photography, I find it an extremely tasty subject.

  • Sarah Clarke August 31, 2011 11:48 am

    I would love this book because I'm a total foodie,I'm a home cook, and I'm always craving a delicious meal, chasing beauty, and would love to make people hungry with my photographs!

  • Chen Wei Li August 31, 2011 11:43 am

    Wow response is amazing haha.

    I shoot mostly portraits but like you, am considering moving into food photography in the future. It would be great to win a copy of Nicole's book.

  • Laquawana Hill August 31, 2011 11:43 am

    Me me me....I'm such a newby that I NEED it all. Actually I loved your story, and Nicole's, and I want the book even if I have to buy it. Thanks for the chance tho....... :D

  • David August 31, 2011 11:38 am

    Seems like an interesting book. I'd love to check a copy out.

  • Scottc August 31, 2011 11:25 am

    Looking hard at this one....anyone who can make mussels look good in a photograph gets my attention immediately! Great article.

    My fav food photograph, it's work but very pleasurable when the end result turns out:

    http://www.flickr.com/photos/lendog64/4371198620/

  • Kevin August 31, 2011 11:23 am

    Love a copy of this book. I always forget that "food" is the subject in food photography, somehow always get distracted by the background.

  • Ana Banana August 31, 2011 11:15 am

    I am a huge foodie and this book would help me take better mouth-watering photos! Also making me the envy of all my friends :)

  • Cindy Bajema August 31, 2011 11:12 am

    Looks like a great book and I would love a chance to score a copy ;) Thanks for the review as well. Food photography is something that I have considered entering into, and I am often shocked at how bad so much of it can be!!

  • Bernadette Field-Dodgson August 31, 2011 10:54 am

    Great review, thanks :) I would love to win the book as I am working on my food photography skills before I start my own recipe blog. Those pics look amazing, hope to be able to produce something near that standard some day.

  • astrid August 31, 2011 10:40 am

    I'd love a book like this! I really need to learn how to frame my food shots and make them more interesting-usually I resort to the boring birds-eye-looking-down viewpoint that works, but is totally boring after a while.

  • Julie McMillan August 31, 2011 10:34 am

    Looks like an interesting book. It's nice to see the topic covered all the way from set up through post production, ver useful.

  • girlrobot August 31, 2011 10:25 am

    I am obsessed with food photography but I feel like I am missing something. I would love to read this book so I can't take my photos to the "next level"!

  • Darrin Gagnon August 31, 2011 10:25 am

    Have a friend who is a caterer and would like to help her get good photos for web site

  • Marisa August 31, 2011 10:18 am

    Count me in! I love Nicole's blog for her behind-the-scenes secrets. i would love to have a handy reference on my bookshelf.

  • Rob L August 31, 2011 10:17 am

    My wife is contemplating starting a food blog and this book would help her greatly in taking great photos for the site.

  • Nancy McKee August 31, 2011 10:13 am

    This book looks fabulous. And it's the perfect learning tool for me. I have actually been taking a lot of food pictures because I have been collecting family recipes and wanted make a cookbook out of them for family members and friends. I have a lot of trouble with light and the pictures aren't coming out too great. This book would be a trememdous help for me.

  • Carla Maddox August 31, 2011 10:09 am

    Hey James and Nicole - great article about taking food pictures. I am currently a budding photography taking as many courses, reading blogs, etc., but ultimately taking pictures in various areas of my life. I have not decided yet what area I want to focus on, but food photography is one area on my list. Last year, I became injured on my job and while on medical leave, my boss terminated me. Of course, that set me in a real nose-dive, but one thing it forced me to do was to start looking "outside the box." This past summer, I just started taking a few snapshots of some of our meals we ate out while on vacation. I know I can do so much more with the right direction. I believe your book would catapult me along my journey, for I am seriously considering "food photography" as a sideline in developing my own photography business. Also, I would be interested in discussing your success as a stock photographer.

  • Benton August 31, 2011 10:07 am

    I would definitely love to get my hands on this book, either buy getting it for free or buying it. I love photography and cooking as a hobby and have tried several times to take pictures that capture how good my food is, but every time, they come out blah (the pictures of course ^_^). I think this would help me improve my skills in both food photography and photography in general. And I also know some people who would probably look through it too!

  • Ovidiu August 31, 2011 10:06 am

    I'd love to win this book

  • Alla Ponomareva August 31, 2011 10:04 am

    I currently reside in South Korea and to be able to capture Korean food in its best light would be a great skill to have in order to show my friends and family what I'm eating around here. Would love to learn more about Food Photography from this book!

  • sandra ramos August 31, 2011 09:56 am

    What a great resource! I began shooting farmers markets and progressed to helping a friend's pizza shop. Would love to learn more...

  • Courtney K. August 31, 2011 09:52 am

    Seems like a really neat book. I could definitely some tricks and tips to help out my food photography. Thanks for this giveaway!

  • Kelly Kardos August 31, 2011 09:33 am

    I'm a foodie...plain and simple, I love to look at it, shoot it, eat it, talk about it...you name it. Photographing food is a new passion of mine and this book would be a a great edition to my photography library. I need help in the styling dept.
    Thanks!!
    Kelly

  • Through the Lens of Kimberly Gauthier, Photography Blog August 31, 2011 09:31 am

    Thanks for this review, James. I love food photography and have been following Nicole's blog for a while and waiting for the release of this book. I'm excited to pick it up a couple - one for me and one for a giveaway on my blog. She's so talented and I love the easy way she explains a niche that is pretty involved. I haven't gone as far as food styling - but I do take my camera to restaurants and have gotten some great shots using natural light. What blows me away is how steam is created and captured. Wow!

  • Ian Brodie August 31, 2011 09:29 am

    I really need this book. It looks so beautiful I could eat it. Food photography is a branch that I am moving into and I do not yet have the recipe to achieve results like this. This book will help me so much!!!!

  • Melissa August 31, 2011 09:27 am

    I am intrigued by food photography - would love to expand my capabilities and portfolio! Looks like a great book for it!

  • Amarie August 31, 2011 09:26 am

    I would loooove this book! Aspiring food photographer here! Check out "Food Photography For Real Foodies" on Flickr!

  • Angie August 31, 2011 09:21 am

    Wow, just looking at the photos in your post made me hungry… I guess that's a sign of great food photography, eh? I'll search out the book on my own, if I don't win it! Thanks for the post!

  • silvia August 31, 2011 09:14 am

    Would love the book! I am currently a photography student interested in shooting food photography!

  • Saša August 31, 2011 09:05 am

    It seems the book covers it all, useful and fun to read I'm sure

  • JC August 31, 2011 08:53 am

    Two of my fav things wrapped up in one! Food and photography :). This would be awesome to have as I have always had an interested in shooting food. Awesome review.

  • Allison August 31, 2011 08:53 am

    A friend of mine is getting into food blogging and would love this book!

  • Jairo Lopez August 31, 2011 08:49 am

    I'd love to win this book for my wife. She is a "foodie" and has her own home baking business, and although she's not a photograph she has managed to capture very good pictures of her creations.

  • Iain August 31, 2011 08:49 am

    I think this book would help me take great photos of food rather than eating all of it... :)

    Winning it would help my photography, my wallet, and my waistline... :)

  • Katheryn August 31, 2011 08:47 am

    That book sound amazing! I would love to win a copy of it!

  • Brad Dixon August 31, 2011 08:41 am

    I am an aspiring food/commercial photographer. Putting two of my fav. things together: Food and Photography. Would LOVE to have a copy of this book.

  • Matt August 31, 2011 08:39 am

    It would be great to win this book! Today I was searching the inter webs looking for basic info on how to photography food better. I LOVE to cook, and take photos, and have been wanting to combine my two passions into one. This could really help me out!!! As always I love the reviews thanks!!!!

  • Laneishia August 31, 2011 08:31 am

    I love cooking! I love taking photos of my food and post daily, but I do not know how to display my food and I use the same 3 dishes lol.. This would really help me out and make me very happy as well make my food look more appealing to everyone that looks at my pictures.

  • Ryan Orr August 31, 2011 08:25 am

    PLEASE PICK ME! I would LOVE to get my hands on this book. I'll shoot a good number of local restaurants and typically they cook up their food for us to shoot (I shoot EFP video regularly and take photos occationally, so I'm sure this would help indefinitely!). It would be great to get it for free, but I would seriously think about buying this book anyway.

  • Frances Ren Huang August 31, 2011 08:17 am

    I love the review that you have given about this book. I have started food photography since last year on The Lost Asian, touching upon the food scene of Buenos Aires. Would love love this book to refine my way of looking through the lens as well as editing!

  • Jackie McKeever August 31, 2011 08:13 am

    Hi, I trained as a cookery teacher, but they phased us out! Photography is my hobby but I tend to concentrate on portraits as my few attempts at food photography have been very disappointing. This book seems just what I need. Please pick me for the free copy.

  • Shruti August 31, 2011 08:11 am

    I cant wait to get my hands over this book! Seems like the right book for a beginner like me.

  • Tim Childers August 31, 2011 07:59 am

    This book looks to be exactly what I need to step up my photography by several notches. Thanks for the review!

  • Ded August 31, 2011 07:58 am

    Looks great. I've just started with food photography, so tih might be pretty useful!

  • Joyce August 31, 2011 07:58 am

    I love food (cooking/baking *and* eating) - and I am just starting to get into photography (purchased my first DSLR this year). I would love to have this book!

  • Connie @ Daydream In Color August 31, 2011 07:53 am

    I'm such a foodie, but even though I finally got a DSLR, there's something lacking about my food photos. I'd love to dive into this book and get all the tips!

  • Eugene August 31, 2011 07:52 am

    Man, I could use this book... family's starting a food catering venture soon, and I'll be charged with pic taking... Help!! Me needz book

    P.S. Hope Nicole's settled in nicely in Seattle now.. hung out with her a couple of times.. she's cool!

  • Sara August 31, 2011 07:52 am

    I loved this article! To the point and full of great info as to why I should buy this book or hopefully win it. :) I love food photography and I try to improve every time I work in the kitchen and then move my food by a window for some good light, yet I still can't seem to get the photos I want. I believe this book would be a wonderful for me to read through almost in one sitting, like your wife, and the post-production chapter would be very helpful also. On my blog I write about my general life events but I hope one day it morphs into a food/photo/craft blog more as I pick up the skills needed, and stop burning the bacon for my potato soup! So yes, I'd love this book!!

  • Connie @ Daydream In Color August 31, 2011 07:51 am

    I'm such a foodie, but even though I finally got a DSLR, there's something lacking about my food photos. I'd love to dive into this book and get all the tips!

  • Vasili August 31, 2011 07:49 am

    My friends already say that my food pictures make them drool but I know that the pictures could be much much better. I know that I'll be the one drooling if I can work some of these tips into my pictures!

  • Vasili August 31, 2011 07:46 am

    I already do food photography for fun and all my friends say that the pictures are really good but I know that they could be much much better. With this book, I could easily make them drool on command!

  • Przemek Hybel August 31, 2011 07:43 am

    Reallnice review. The books sounds great

  • Ann M August 31, 2011 07:39 am

    I need this book in my life, I've been contemplating starting a food blog for months now but I'm not confident in my shots of food.

  • Alina August 31, 2011 07:37 am

    Because I'm turning 30 and would love to pursue food photography!

  • Kevin Williams August 31, 2011 07:37 am

    This book sounds great! Gonna buy it for sure. Thanks for the review!

  • Lori M August 31, 2011 07:33 am

    My second career journey has begun. I am going to be a photographer and I can't wait to try shooting food. Sounds like Nicole laid out lots of great information and with a little confidence I think I can do it too. Would love a free copy of the book!

  • randiemac August 31, 2011 07:32 am

    I have already won by reading this article as you have provided me with the much sought after google+ invite. Least to say I am an aspiring food photographer and will certainly take a good look at this book.

  • Marg August 31, 2011 07:31 am

    I would love to win a copy of this book, as a food blogger this would be very helpful. I would like to learn more about composition and lighting.

  • Angela August 31, 2011 07:27 am

    Just recently I photographed my sister-n-laws wedding and was complimented on how well I photographed the food. My mother-n-law kept telling me that I needed to look into it. I never thought about it until she said something, then I started to get excited because I love to cook and I love photography. I also love making things pretty especially the presentation of food. It's all about the napkins, table accessories, the dishware etc. I still live the college life with my husband and would like to know whether or not this new subject is for me. Thank you.

  • Angela P. August 31, 2011 07:25 am

    Just recently I photographed my sister-n-laws wedding and was complimented on how well I photographed the food. My mother-n-law kept telling me that I needed to look into it. I never thought about it until she said something, then I started to get excited because I love to cook and I love photography. I also love making things pretty especially the presentation of food. It's all about the napkins, table accessories, the dishware etc. I still live the college life with my husband and would like to know whether or not this new subject is for me. Thank you.

  • Eugene August 31, 2011 07:25 am

    I would love to get this book (for free would be even better!! haha) and yeah, hung out with Nicole a couple of times on Google+.. she's nice and friendly. Hope her move to Seattle's all sorted out and all.

  • Angela P. August 31, 2011 07:23 am

    Just recently I photographed my sister-n-laws wedding and was complimented on how well I photographed the food. My mother-n-law kept telling me that I needed to look into it. I never thought about it until she said something, then I started to get excited because I love to cook and I love photography. I also love making things pretty especially the presentation of food. It's all about the napkins, table accessories, the dishware etc. I still live the college life with my husband and would like to know whether or not this new subject is for me.

  • C August 31, 2011 07:16 am

    I've always wanted to learn the ins and outs of food photography. Nicole is a gifted photographer and a good writer. I would love to have this book.

  • Jamal Aladdin August 31, 2011 07:14 am

    Great review. When I started my 365 project, I wasn't quite sure about any particular style or direction to my photography. Recently I've realized that I've been gravitating more and more towards food and product photography. This book seems to be a real boon to that pursuit!

  • Cameron August 31, 2011 07:12 am

    This looks like a fabulous book that I would love to win! I love food and cooking and enjoy photography, so inevitably, a lot of my pictures are of my cooking, but I could definitely use some pointers!

  • Matt August 31, 2011 07:12 am

    I love food and photography. I would love to win this book.

  • Jan Gemeinhardt August 31, 2011 07:11 am

    I keep looking for my niche in photography, this book just may help to make up my mind. Thank you for allowing me to participate in giveaway.
    Jan

  • Jeff August 31, 2011 07:10 am

    My wife and I are starting a new project where we're going to cook through Mark Bittman's (thoroughly daunting) How to Cook everything.

    This books would be a great resource to help us share things that looks half as interesting as they are going to taste.

  • Will McA August 31, 2011 07:10 am

    Just looking at the photos in this article I can see how good this book is gonna be, well written article too. I'm setting up a business as a commercial photographer, and I live in a touristy area so the hospitality industry is likely to be my main area. I've already taken a few photos for my portfolio and the thing that draws me to food photography is just how much of a skill it is. You have a clear objective and I feel people are always most impressed by good photographs of food,

  • Isoterica August 31, 2011 07:04 am

    So here is my question, are the recipe's included? :D Every attempt I have made to shoot food has been snapshot grade not conveying the beauty let alone the imagined taste of what I am photographing. I would very much love to learn this art and it sounds like this is just the book for me so this is my shameless plea.

  • Gabi Butcher August 31, 2011 07:03 am

    It looks like a great book... I'm so into reading everything about food photography lately and I'm sure this would be an awesome reading

  • Acibi August 31, 2011 07:03 am

    Nice article! Food photography is awesome, I should get more into it.

  • Kryton August 31, 2011 06:58 am

    Liked what I saw and read so much, bought two copies. One for me, and for the school where my wife works as a Food Technology teacher. If by chance I am drawn, happy for it to go to someone else.

  • Kelly August 31, 2011 06:57 am

    Perfect timing! My husband and I (self-proclaimed foodies) have been tossing around the idea of starting a food blog. This would be a great guide for us to start with!

  • Mike August 31, 2011 06:53 am

    I would love a copy of this book. I have started a food blog and I am looking for ways to improve my food photography.

  • Kristan Kershaw August 31, 2011 06:53 am

    What a great review of what sounds like a great book!! I've been someone who loves baking then taking a picture to show friends & family the results (& to make their mouths water haha) for ages! I hope I'm in the running to win the book - if not, such is life! Might just have to share the link with family as a Christmas gift idea ;-)

  • Steve August 31, 2011 06:51 am

    Good review - definitely sounds like a good book. I have been really interested in food photography for a while and I think this could help take me to the next level. I enjoy your site immensely.

  • Kate Schnur August 31, 2011 06:49 am

    This book looks terrific and I would love to have it! I've been playing with food and photos for a while now. I recently attended a food photography workshop and have been busy trying to combine my love of food with my love of photography. I would love to have a book like this that would give me tips and inspire me at the same time. I will probably buy the book even if I don't win it, but I'd really rather win it!!!

  • Rachel August 31, 2011 06:47 am

    I'm trying to improve on my photography skills with my new DSLR and this would be so helpful! Thanks for the giveaway!

  • Lisa August 31, 2011 06:44 am

    Great review! I'm doing a food blog/recipe collection for my family. This book would be great a great resource.

  • Jeremy August 31, 2011 06:43 am

    The topics covered in the book sound like it would not only be good for food photography but product photography as well.

    Food Photography: From Snapshots to Great Shots sounds like it will be a very useful book for me as my daughter explores her inner chef.

  • Jessica Teji August 31, 2011 06:43 am

    Living in NY and being surrounded by foods from around the world, I'm always looking for ways to improve my photography skills for capturing food. I would love to receive a copy and continue my adventure on improving my skills. Thanks for the article and look forward to utilizing some of the tips mentioned above.

  • Dawn of Dawn's Recipes August 31, 2011 06:43 am

    I am buying this book based on this review. Thank you, and thanks to Nicole too! This is exactly the kind of book I've been looking for. I'm a "hobbyist" food photographer and always looking for ways to improve my photos,

  • Branislav Dudas August 31, 2011 06:41 am

    I want to learn how to take screen-licking photos too :)

  • Branislav Dudas August 31, 2011 06:41 am

    I want to learn how to take monitor-licking photos too :)

  • aluisius August 31, 2011 06:40 am

    It is interesting to know about styling techniques and keep the food edible. I think food presentation is part of the food, the other part is to enjoy it.

  • sheri neville August 31, 2011 06:39 am

    How terrific! I would love to learn more about food photography. It's great that you and your friend, Nicole, are making this possible for one of us.

  • Jeff Sevier August 31, 2011 06:35 am

    I love food and love photography

  • Ryan Nashif August 31, 2011 06:31 am

    This would be a great book for me to use in my high school photography class. We give the students a food photography assignment as their midterm and use it to teach dof as well.

  • Kristie August 31, 2011 06:29 am

    My food pics never look this YUMMY. I really need this book!

  • Kerry August 31, 2011 06:27 am

    I'd love a copy of this book - I'm new photography and my favorite subject is my favorite thing - food!

  • Caroline @ chocolate and carrots August 31, 2011 06:26 am

    I love how Nicole has broken down food photography. I have a feeling that it will be an easy read and the photographs and instructions are going to improve my photography drastically. Thank you so much for the giveaway! :-)

  • Nick August 31, 2011 06:26 am

    This post reminded me I want to shoot root beer overflowing a mug! :)

  • pedro welch August 31, 2011 06:23 am

    I always loved the way food looks on plate. I often whip out my camera and take snap shots but somehow capturing it on a camera never comes out like the images i see in cook books or magazines. An active imagination is the brain child of photography but there are some techniques that I believe this book will introduce me to. It would be greatly appreciated if i received this book :)

  • Donald Sgontz August 31, 2011 06:21 am

    I would love a chance to win this book. It looks and sounds great. Thanks

  • Marilynn August 31, 2011 06:21 am

    I am a closet photographer. I love to take pictures and then they sit in the closet. :D I also love food. My husband has been documenting some of his food expeditions so this is great information to help us get good photos of his stuff! (it is usually really yummy too!)

    Thanks!

  • Ka Ning August 31, 2011 06:20 am

    I just started a food photoblog with different recipes that I've tried/planning on trying. This book will definitely help me become a better food photographer!

  • PG August 31, 2011 06:20 am

    Thanks for the thorough review and for revealing your friendship to allow for any possible bias. This book looks like just what I would need to get started in food photography. I've only just begun following NSY and her work, but I am learning much. She's a great resource.

  • Michael August 31, 2011 06:19 am

    Great write up! I have recently forayed into both the world of cooking (home cooking) and photography. My Wife has also gone on a recent baking binge and throughout our venture I have tried my hands at taking pictures of our various creations with mixed results.... It is really surprising how many quirks and nuisances there are to simply taking a picture of food, let alone the art of plating a meal for the picture in a way that creates a feast for the eyes.

    I've started following you both on Google+.

    Though creepy that last bit may sound thanks for the great article and Google+ Additions!

  • Kelly August 31, 2011 06:17 am

    I am taking a lighting class and our last section is all about food photography. This book sounds like it would be incredibly useful for it!

  • Jessica August 31, 2011 06:16 am

    I love to cook, but even though I got my first DSLR a few months ago my pictures of food are still lacking. Would love to win this book,

  • Didier Kaade August 31, 2011 06:11 am

    It's actually a Karmic message that I get this article at this point in time, seeing as I need to setup a full food line shoot that will be starting in a week. So I think It's perfectly timed that I win this book at this point in time!!

    Make it happen James!! :D

    D-

  • Charlie Lembach August 31, 2011 06:11 am

    Thanks for the article. Going to purchase the book and add you both to G+. :)

  • Teddy August 31, 2011 06:11 am

    As my own skills continue to emerge as a food photographer, it would be great to add Nicole's insightful book to my reference library. I've followed her blog for a couple of years and would enjoy reading her thoughts on food photography.

  • Amy August 31, 2011 06:09 am

    Please enter me! I think you did a great job writing this article, and definitely made me want the book!

  • Brian August 31, 2011 06:08 am

    Great review

    Just started looking into adding food and restaurant reviews to my site, so this book would certainly help ...

  • Nikki August 31, 2011 06:06 am

    Photography is my hobby not a profession but I am loving learning all these new tips and techniques! I have always wondered why my food photos seem sub par and I think I could benefit greatly from this book!! Oh and I LOVE food! :)

  • SGToliver August 31, 2011 05:58 am

    I would love a chance to 'win' a copy of this book but if not I will be buying this regardless. I have a good friend who is an up and coming pastry chef here in Belgium and he has been asking me to take some photos of his desserts for his website. I have been reluctant because I have never done food photography but this book may be just enough to teach me the basics of food photography.

Join Our Email Newsletter

Thanks for subscribing!


DPS offers a free weekly newsletter with: 
1. new photography tutorials and tips
2. latest photography assignments
3. photo competitions and prizes

Enter your email below to subscribe.
Email:
 
 
Get DAILY free tips, news and reviews via our RSS feed