Canon Powershot SX30 IS Review

0Comments

They’ve got to be kidding!

No…. It’s true. The Canon PowerShot SX30 IS has a 35x zoom lens! Stabilised and with a reasonably fast f2.7 maximum aperture.

canon-powershot-sx30.jpg

I had an early preview of this gem a few months before its official release and was stunned at the range of the hyper zoom. Then, more recently, spent a day with one, chasing cars, boats and choppers. At one stage I was sitting in the back of a limo, shooting another 20 metres behind and was surprised not only at the tele stretch but at the way the auto focus and stabiliser managed things, even though both cars were doing a bit of bumping around.

canon-powershot-sx30IS.jpg

This latest fixed lens digicam from Canon shows how far the game has come. The 35x zoom would be almost useless but for the improvements Canon has made to the auto focus, equivalent to approximately 4.5 f stops in terms of shutter speed. As I found out!

canon-powershot-sx30-back.jpg

Canon Powershot SX30 Features

But back to the show.

I’m a bit sad that the CCD is only 11cm in size but welcome the 14.1 megapixels of shooting power. Maximum image size is 4320×3240 pixels, leading to a 37x27cm print.

Movies? Not so hot, with a maximum res of only 1280×720 pixels at 30 fps. It’s a shame Canon didn’t make the leap to 1920×1080 in this model. The good news is that auto focus, exposure and the stabiliser are fully in play while shooting video.

Aerial city overpass.JPG

Aerial shot made at ISO 1600 setting: noise is visible but at least I could use a fast shutter speed for shooting out of the chopper. Lens: f7.1. Shutter: 1/1250 second.

You get the usual array of exposure options: auto, Program AE, aperture and shutter priority as well as manual plus a group of scene modes directly accessible from the mode dial. Enter the viewfinder menu and you can find more: fish-eye effect, miniature effect, fireworks etc.

The rear LCD screen is highly mobile: laterally 175 degrees; vertically 270 degrees.

Ferry 2.JPG

A nice trick is a framing assistant which is handy when you are out at full zoom: touch the button and the scene momentarily widens out so you can find where you are! Unfortunately, I found my right gripping thumb kept firing the framing assistant, when I didn’t need it.

Harbor Bridge 2 wide.JPG

Harbor Bridge 2 tele.JPG

Full wider and full tele: this is how a 35x zoom performs. Even I had to admit I was surprised at the amazing stretch of the camera’s zoom. Both of these very sharp shots were made with the camera tripod-mounted.

Handling: thanks to the hunky speed grip you can hold the camera steadily with one hand for stills and movie shooting. There is a slight penalty with the camera’s 600 grams weight, so you find you won’t be able to hold it up for extended periods.

ISO Tests

Canon PowerShot SX30 IS ISO 80 f4 1/15 sec

Canon PowerShot SX30 IS ISO 400 f4 1/100 sec

Canon PowerShot SX30 IS ISO 800 f4 1/160 sec

Canon PowerShot SX30 IS ISO 1600 f4 1/320 sec

For me, all settings up to ISO 800 could be used for general photography: clean image, low noise, excellent definition.

The top ISO — 1600 — was the first to show any signs of noise: but it is a useable setting when you need it.

Startup Time

A little on the slow side, the camera took three seconds after power up to shoot the first shot; follow-ons came in at about two seconds each.

Distortion

Aside from its amazing zoom stretch, this lens is quite a performer, with no sign of any distortion at the wide or the tele end of the zoom. Terrific!

Comment

Quality: the camera showed it could handle wide contrast ranges, with excellent colour and very good resolution.
Why you’d buy the G11: love that 35x zoom; great stabiliser.
Why you wouldn’t: a little heavy, thanks to the big glass out front; not Full HD video.

A rare, powerful piece of kit. I could find little fault, except that the power button could have been picked out in white to make it more visible.

And… the card/battery compartment is super hard to open.

Canon Powershot SX30 IS Specifications

Image Sensor: 14.1 million effective pixels.
Metering: Evaluative, centre-weighted average; spot.
Sensor Size: 11mm CCD.
Lens: f2.7-5.8/4.3-150.5mm (28-840mm as 35 SLR equivalent).
Shutter Speed: 1 to 1/3200 second.
Continuous Shooting: 0.6 to 1.3 fps.
Memory: SD, SDHC, MMC, MMCplus, HC MMCplus, HC MMCplus cards.
Image Sizes (pixels): 4320×3240 to 640×480. Movies: 1280×720, 640×480, 320×240 at 30 fps.
File Formats: JPEG, RAW, Motion JPEG.
ISO Sensitivity: Auto, 80 to 1600.
Turret viewfinder and rear 6.9cm LCD screen (230,000 pixels).
Interface: USB 2.0, AV, HDMI mini, DC input.
Power: Rechargeable lithium ion battery.
Dimensions: 122.9×107.7×92.4 WHDmm.
Weight: Approx. 552 g (body only).
Price: Get a price on the Canon SX30IS at Amazon where it is currently 14% off.

Summary
Review Date
Reviewed Item
Canon Powershot SX30 IS
Author Rating
3

Read more from our Cameras & Equipment category

Barrie Smith is an experienced writer/photographer currently published in Australian Macworld, Auscam and other magazines in Australia and overseas.

  • Santanu Bera

    I am worried about the shots, taken in low light, look like granny compare with other camera. Is it true or not? If not what will be the proper setting ?

  • Scott Hamm

    My Sister owns that camera, it’s awesome! Just wanted to make a note that it does not CREATE RAW files. Please update this article.

  • Philip George

    I bought this camera in Sept 2011 coz of high lens costs associated with SLRs. I’m a beginner but I did notice:
    1) It’s really slow(upgrading to the sports mode compromises on quality)
    2) NIght shots are grainier than those of much cheaper cameras
    3) Macro shots are not great but a tripod can make a world of difference

  • Milos

    I own this camera since Feb.2011. Am not a professional, just an enthusiast and I have to say that it’s the best camera I have ever used.
    My experience with Panasonic, Sony, Nikon and Canon puts Canon on the first place in regards to photo quality.
    This SX 30 IS provides an advantage in world of super zoom, which was my field of interest when I was purchasing it. Now I appreciate it’s wide angle and lens equiv. 24mm.
    The lence distortion is in acceptable limits for this class of camera and if used properly it can even be usefull.

    In combination with proper tripod, this could easily become a world class camera for enthusiasts. Specially if you are interested in taking good quality night shots ( ISO 80-100 ). I always recommend Manual mode and playing with possibilities.

  • LD3340

    I am sure this won’t be read, but it is at least a 4 star camera for me. Canon was the first of the super zooms and a good 2 years ahead of the rest. I’ve had mine for 3 years now and other than wanting the sx50 I have no complaints! From beautiful night shots at the stars and moon to the full zoom, which til now wasn’t possible with a fixed body lens, this camera has so many possibilities. Some get these for the zoom only, but I’m telling you, the more I play with it the more it does. The sx50 will be the next for me, but actually, it’s long enough now, I may wait for the next one coming!! Enjoy, you will not be disappointed. Should be able to find a used one for around 200. usd, mine new was 379.

Some Older Comments

  • Milos May 17, 2012 09:30 pm

    I own this camera since Feb.2011. Am not a professional, just an enthusiast and I have to say that it's the best camera I have ever used.
    My experience with Panasonic, Sony, Nikon and Canon puts Canon on the first place in regards to photo quality.
    This SX 30 IS provides an advantage in world of super zoom, which was my field of interest when I was purchasing it. Now I appreciate it's wide angle and lens equiv. 24mm.
    The lence distortion is in acceptable limits for this class of camera and if used properly it can even be usefull.

    In combination with proper tripod, this could easily become a world class camera for enthusiasts. Specially if you are interested in taking good quality night shots ( ISO 80-100 ). I always recommend Manual mode and playing with possibilities.

  • Philip George May 8, 2012 01:12 am

    I bought this camera in Sept 2011 coz of high lens costs associated with SLRs. I'm a beginner but I did notice:
    1) It's really slow(upgrading to the sports mode compromises on quality)
    2) NIght shots are grainier than those of much cheaper cameras
    3) Macro shots are not great but a tripod can make a world of difference

  • Scott Hamm February 18, 2012 02:45 am

    My Sister owns that camera, it's awesome! Just wanted to make a note that it does not CREATE RAW files. Please update this article.

  • Santanu Bera February 16, 2012 05:22 am

    I am worried about the shots, taken in low light, look like granny compare with other camera. Is it true or not? If not what will be the proper setting ?

  • Sudip January 28, 2012 03:25 am

    Ok . Night mode photography is always very interesting and we need to do lots of R&D here . Always its prefer to use a tripod of taking the pictures so that camera will not shake too much . So use a tripod. Go to manual mode . This camera has got funny functionality on ISO 200 that I have set. If I set ISO 200 - shutter speed comes down automatically in p or M mode. So set it 100 or 400. Then select slow shutter . If you select shutter <1/30 you will be able to see the object in your screen . then aperture will be selected based on the zoom / non zoom etc . 2.7 means more light coming to your camera and the whole of the lens is big , 8 means less light. so doing a perfect combination of shutter speed and aperture keeping in mind of ISO and using the tripod one should get a picture which is near the satisfaction . Please take more than one shots so that best can be selected . It tool 3 months to get the above learning ... Enjoy .

  • Jenny Butterworth January 27, 2012 08:43 am

    Can someone help with the night mode on this camera? We've tried all the different modes on the dial but nothing seems to take a good shot at night time. My parents are going to the Northern Lights in a few days and taking my camera with them. Can anyone help and tell us the best mode to capture the evening glory of the Northern Lights?

    Jenny

  • Preston Ahimaz January 18, 2012 01:08 am

    I have a Powershot sx30is which is supposed to have the most powerful zoom in its category (840 mm) but find that the images I see in the viewfinder appear smaller than those seen in the viewfinders of cameras with lesser focal lengths -- like 700 or even 600 mm. Why is this? I'm certain I'm not imagining this.
    Preston

  • Sudip Sinha December 26, 2011 06:53 am

    Dear Colleague

    I have purchased Canon PS SX 30 IS and enjoying the super zoom. When I am under sunlight the image quality is super but when I am in the room - indoor then shutter speed comes down if I am not using flash - usage of flash is not permitted in all the cases , pictures are getting blurred and getting pix elated . Can you please guide me recommend settings iso - shutter speed - aperture based on your experience so that I can try that. I have spend a lot for SX 30 IS , though SX 40HS has come up but still can I get some good quality of picture using my SX30 IS ? Kindly help ! Upgrade price is also huge so I want to use 30IS to have satisfactory pictures being taken .

    Best Rgds
    Sudip

  • Helen December 9, 2011 05:44 am

    I love this camera power shot sx 30 IS but its not a very good camera for lets say in this Christmas times were its so much beautiful decoration outdoors to truly capture what your eye see its not possible without using flash an even with flash on low its way either to dark or to light but i love my camera the zoom lens capture the moon so well up close woow am so fascinating by it but if anyone can recommend a good outdoors camera in dark light that can capture a true Christmas scene am in price no matter.i also do have an old old non digital canon that i use that's takes better quality picture an even dark night scenes much better referring to canon EOS 3000 thank you so much.Helen

  • caitlin November 22, 2011 10:26 am

    You cant change the lens correct? I'm thinking of getting another camera for lesiure purposes, any suggestions on brand? I take photos of nature and people.

  • john September 26, 2011 02:48 pm

    Laura-
    I just got the camera and noticed that under the scenes option on the dial you can have it take a photo when someone smiles, winks or a new face enters the frame. Not sure if that will help you but just thought I would mention it.

  • Laura September 13, 2011 06:57 am

    esli, you select it in the camera's menu, just as you would any other photo format, such as jpg, etc.

  • Laura September 13, 2011 06:55 am

    Can someone tell me if it's possible to plug in a wired trigger? I'm a quad and being able to use a trigger is essential if I'm to invest in this camera. I know that the G12 has one, but like the higher zoom on the sx30 since changing glass is no longer an option.

  • madhan September 8, 2011 10:35 pm

    hey friends can we change the lens for sx30is canon

    pls tell me that we can change

    pls mail me
    madu15v@gmail.com

  • Lana September 1, 2011 09:40 pm

    Is this a good camera to take pictures of babies and kids?

  • Esli August 23, 2011 09:36 pm

    How does one shoot "RAW"? According to your review this is one of the formats available on this Camera.

  • Linda Liljehorn August 23, 2011 12:47 pm

    I bought this camera a few weeks ago and love it!!! It takes crisp clear pictures and the zoom is amazing. I took a picture of my husband on his slalom ski and the detail of the water breaking the ski and the various forms of water spray are nothing short of stunning. All this done from a boat going about 28 mph. The picture pulled him in so closely, it looks like you are right there. I also like taking pictures of nature and have found it to take very good still pictures with nice color. I found where there is a way to boost the flash and that made an amazing difference in a darker room. I got a nice shot of the moon using the low light setting. The background was black on the picture even though it wasn't quite dark out, and you can see the craters on the moon. I have found that the auto setting isn't the best for a lot of pictures, but I like the scene options as well as the action mode. My only negative is that I thought there was something wrong with the camera because it made a clicking noise. I read in the manual that it is the camera sizing up the scene, so that made me feel better. This camera is a keeper and I would highly recommend it!!

  • rightslot June 21, 2011 04:51 am

    Hey All,

    After a long debate with myself, and reading all in this forum, I ordered and received the Sony HX100V

    I had previously held the Sony HX1.

    I looked at the Canon in the stores and I wasn’t impressed. I’m sure this is a prejudice because I believe that all cameras are now MUCH BETTER and can give great results with the right user.
    But the Sony just seems to do it better. The controls are a bit more intuitive (almost like Nikon), and at least initially the photos seem a bit more warm—also like Nikon.
    And I’ll give you a look into the future. (So now I put on my forecaster hat!)
    In the not too distant future, SOMEBODY—like Sony, will produce a all in one, no changing lenses, super zoom that will equal or even exceed the DSLR’s of today. I think you can see it going that way.
    Now, at this moment, the HX100v is NOT on par with a DSLR. No, not really.
    I have the a55 also. I put both cameras side by side, and shot the same scene from the same spot. Same focal length, same aperture, same ISO, same everything.
    When I looked at the results I was amazed at the HX100v. Very Nice! That was until I looked at the a55.
    Wow! Actual difference. The a55 was much sharper on the details. Big Time. In fact the a55 showed details that the HX100v didn’t even approach.
    So… It’ll be a while. For now? I will TRAVEL with the HX100v.

  • jgahlot June 20, 2011 08:01 pm

    hi guys... i am going to order a camera and got stuck on these models. my expectations are from top -- good image quality, good image stabilization while taking photo at far distance, high zoom but not prime concern (at least 25X or more). also if continues photo shoot is there, then which camera will lead in below listed.

    - FZ100
    - P500
    - SX30IS
    - HS10 or HS20

    please suggest.

  • sachin_ss June 11, 2011 11:15 pm

    I bought SX 30 IS just a week ago and took some photos. I am happy with the images it produced, so also people around me. You can take a look at some photos uploaded to my flickr page thr the link below:
    http://www.flickr.com/photos/63044650@N08/

  • Barrie Smith June 8, 2011 12:27 pm

    To abe:

    make sure you are not using a high ISO setting. ISO 400 is a good point.

  • Abe June 8, 2011 12:00 pm

    I have a camera like that and for some reason the pictures appear grainy and not very clear once I transfer them to my computer. I just shoot pictures in Auto mode and they are still very grainy.
    Any help/advise would be appreciated

  • Taran Rampersad April 21, 2011 04:05 am

    @fuzz g - night mode does suck, it doesn't really exist. My way around it is playing with the aperture priority, like you would with HDR. I use the bracketing and pick the best one - and if it's worth it, I might fuse them after the fact (requires stable shots). There's little on the camera itself that can boost the ISO, so... aperture is the way I go.

  • Fuzz G April 18, 2011 07:00 am

    Can someone help with the night mode on this camera ...some reviews say it has a night mode after the landscape and portrait modes on the main dial ...but it really doesn't
    What is the best setting for taking pics of say a few people sitting outside at night ...with lamp lighting ...or candles ....
    Increasing iso and using low light setting produces just way too much noise on the pic ..
    SOS !

  • Barrie Smith February 20, 2011 08:54 am

    Sorry. To Lea:

    you may like to consider the Canon SX230 HS: 14x zoom and 3.2 fps or (high speed mode) 81. fps.

  • Barrie Smith February 20, 2011 08:53 am

    To Tam

    you may like to consider the Canon SX230 HS: 14x zoom and 3.2 fps or (high speed mode) 81. fps.

  • Barrie Smith February 19, 2011 08:25 am

    To Lea

    possibly not the ideal camera for sports shooting. It's continuous sped is only 1.3 fps.

    You may have to move to a DSLR to get speeds of 3fps or more.

  • Anita Cawley February 17, 2011 01:49 am

    Just thought I'd share my thoughts on this camera's macro ability. I have taken quite a few macro pictures and I am very pleased with the results. The photo's have been very clear and focused showing amazing colours. You just have to make sure that you hold the camera very still at the moment when you press the shutter. I am so glad I found this camera. It really delivers!

  • Lea February 15, 2011 03:45 pm

    How many pics does it take at one time? Would this camera be good for football pictures?

  • Kebiana January 23, 2011 05:42 am

    I love this camera. Have had it for a couple months now after my sx10is broke down. It's just creepy how far the zoom goes... I was able to spot hikers in detail on a mountain from over a mile away! I would agree with a couple points made above though.. not the world's best for macro, I often find myself having to zoom out and crop the image later, which looks good quality wise, but extra work. My workaround is to carry around a SD1300IS point n shoot for nicer macro shots (and low-light). Also, totally have the same issue with auto-zoom-out framing button, actually thought it was some strange defect and brought the camera to the shop before the salesman showed me the I was accidentally hitting this button all the time! Lastly, there's mention above of the rechargeable battery... my SX10is failed in the middle of a shot due to battery, lens error ensued, new camera is result. The rechargeable battery will refuse to take another picture before it gets to that situation, and it lasts quite nicely - I thought I'd hate the new battery, but ended up liking it.

    Other than that, images are really lovely. It's a dream for birding and other wildlife images, because you don't have to be ANYWHERE near them for a crisp shot. Totally recommend!

  • Danny M Long January 11, 2011 05:13 pm

    Bought this camera recently and one of my favorite features is that when shooting in Manual it magnifies the subject when shutter button is half way down to make sure you are getting clear image. All in all of the dslr's that I've owed it out performs them all. Price is extremely reasonable as well.

  • garry December 30, 2010 11:54 pm

    Im sorry to say the most important thing about most types of photography is speed ,it took 3 seconds from turning on the camera to taking a shot ,a lot can happen in that time ,i think they need to speed it up alot .my camera is so fast i can take photos as soon as i turn it on dont waist time and money get a slr !

  • Marielle van Dop December 23, 2010 12:01 am

    Hi, Just when I decided I wanted to buy this camera I read in the reply's that the macrofunction does not perform well. And that is important to me, being a nature photographer. And is it just me or are the testpictures you took a little 'fussy', just not quite sharp. I have compared them to pictures of the S95 and those are much sharper, and even the sx20 gives sharper pictures.
    I had a sx2 IS but that one broke down (I took lots of pictures with it), and that one had the same problem with the sharpness for me, but a very very good macrofunction.

    So I do wonder is this a good choice for me? I do like the long rangezoom though ! Maybe another tip?

    Thank you ( I seem to get lost in all the information :-) )

    ps I will be buying a dslr as well. haven't decided on that one yet. the canon 60D seems indeed like a good choice, or the Nikon D7000

  • Taran Rampersad December 21, 2010 09:16 am

    For those asking about RAW - yes and no, Canon handicaps cameras that way for some oddball reason that defies the imagination.

    Fortunately, there are people who maintain CHDK ( http://chdk.wikia.com/wiki/CHDK ) that remedies the problem for most Canon models - and add a few more things as well. The SX30is does not have a CHDK script yet, but it's probably only a matter of time. When you read this, follow the link and check the list of supported cameras (presently on the right of that page).

  • Barrie Smith December 12, 2010 07:56 am

    The SX30 IS il shoot up to 1.3 fps with focus and exposure set.

  • Connor McCarthy December 12, 2010 04:24 am

    I love this camera and im wondering if you can take several photos fast. like 1 picture per second

  • Larry Lourcey December 7, 2010 04:39 am

    It is truly amazing how far things have come with Point and Shoot cameras. The size is really only limited by the need to have a reasonably large lens for good image quality. If not for that, people would probably be walking around with 20MP fountain pen cameras by now!

  • Warren Lyons December 1, 2010 04:31 am

    I have owned a Canon Powershot SX30is for nearly two months, which I use for boating, landscape, and wildlife photography, and for the most part, I am delighted. I do notice purple fringining of buildings at full zoom, and some noise at high iso/low light settings, especially when used at the full 14MP resolution. I have not taken too many macro shots, but this camera does seem a little lacking in that department. My advise to anyone using this camera and wanting the best image quality is to resist the temptation to zoom in fully and carry around a quality compact camera for macro shots. I think its image would be greatly improved were they to place a larger sensor in it. Their powershot G series has one and so does my pocket sized Kodak Easyshare Z1485. I suspect they don't for fear of cannibalizing sales of more profitable DSLR lenses and bodies. For much the same reason, Toyota doesn't sell its Lexus vehicles in the same showroom as their Toyota branded models. Customers looking at a Lexus can see a Toyota model with similar amenities and performance for less cash

  • Barrie Smith November 27, 2010 07:29 am

    My error: this camera does not shoot RAW. Sorry about the G11 intrusion!

  • Nandaka November 26, 2010 04:48 pm

    there is slight distorsion on the wide portion as you can see in https://digital-photography-school.com/wp-content/uploads/2010/11/Harbor-Bridge-2-wide.jpg (top left corner), maybe you can check it using grid card

  • MJ November 26, 2010 02:44 pm

    I'm glad you did this review.

    I'm about to purchase this one or a similar. For sale will be a Nikon D70, Canon 40D, and Sony HX 1. The resulting dollars will provide the SX30 IS or maybe a better choice come January.

    Thanks again,

    MJ

  • Fawn November 26, 2010 10:55 am

    This camera DOES NOT shoot in RAW. Otherwise it's a very good buy

  • denise November 26, 2010 10:15 am

    I just bought this camera a few days ago... :) NIce review.. I had an SX 1 IS but it got stolen..

  • LVI56 November 26, 2010 09:57 am

    I've got the SX20 model While I'd love to have additional zoom, that's about the only significant difference on the positive side I see. I see they went with rechargeable battery on this model, I like having AA's on mine, especially for long days and because the HD video sucks up power very quickly. Don't think I'll be upgrading soon.

  • Simon November 26, 2010 06:59 am

    Nice... I have the older SX10 model (20x zoom), which I'm very happy with. It sounds like the successor is pretty good too...

  • jNevitt November 26, 2010 04:20 am

    Would like to see a burst mode like Sony's 10 fps.

  • Ajay November 26, 2010 02:55 am

    @pearle No, you cannot add lenses.

    In the comment, the G11 is mentioned accidentally, I guess. This is a great camera which I guess is just one stop behind an SLR but look at the amazing variety it gives. Of course, bounce flash needs to be bought, if you want to get outstanding shots indoors.

  • Nic Thornton November 26, 2010 02:33 am

    Pearle you can not change lenses on this camera. I have shot with the SX5 and the SX10. Very nice reliable cameras. The SX20 did not get many good reviews so I held off. I am thinking about getting the 30 though. I do have one question for the author. At the end you said it shoots in raw. Is this so? This would be the first time for this camera and a feature I have been hoping for for a long time.

  • Benjamin November 26, 2010 01:04 am

    Couple corrections:

    "The 35x zoom would be almost useless but for the improvements Canon has made to the auto focus, equivalent to approximately 4.5 f stops in terms of shutter speed."

    I think you mean "improvements Canon has made to Image Stabilization"

    Also I am pretty sure that it does not have an 11cm sensor.

    And lastly you might want to correct... "Why you’d buy the G11:"

  • sumit jain November 26, 2010 12:59 am

    hi barrie,
    nice piece of review you have written here.
    can you suggest some accessories which could be handy for this cam (bought one a month back) for eg. will adding a polarizer be any good and if yes which one.

    regards,
    sumit

  • Joost van der Borg November 26, 2010 12:37 am

    Never mind the last bit, just saw the Opera House example, that ís impressive!

  • Pearle November 26, 2010 12:36 am

    Can you add lenses?

  • Joost van der Borg November 26, 2010 12:35 am

    I'm afraid the review is a bit hard to read in places, for instance:

    The 35x zoom would be almost useless but for the improvements Canon has made to the auto focus, equivalent to approximately 4.5 f stops in terms of shutter speed. As I found out!

    I assume you mean image stabilisation instead of autofocus in this sentence? I'm not sure what autofocus has to do with shutter speeds. (Not quite sure what 4.5 f stops in terms of shutter speed means either, I assume this just means 'stops', as in halving of the light necessary, in this case it allows for longer shutter speeds).

    With this one "I’m a bit sad that the CCD is only 11cm in size but welcome the ..." I assume you meant 11mm? Not to be a nit-pick but especially the first example makes things very confusing for readers who are less familiar with things like image stabilisation.

    As far as the content goes, since this is an ultra-mega-zoom, any chance of a series of images from the same position from completely zoomed out to fully zoomed in. That would be interesting to see for this camera!

  • JW November 26, 2010 12:31 am

    Good straight to the point review.

    Spotted 2 odd things though. First, you typed 'Why you’d buy the G11:'? Shouldn't it be SX30? Second, does this camera shoot RAW?

Join Our Email Newsletter

Thanks for subscribing!


DPS offers a free weekly newsletter with: 
1. new photography tutorials and tips
2. latest photography assignments
3. photo competitions and prizes

Enter your email below to subscribe.
Email:
 
 
Get DAILY free tips, news and reviews via our RSS feed